LibGuides: Massachusetts State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Massachusetts state agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on November 15, 2023.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About Massachusetts

Local Services
List of databases that provide information on municipal/district offices, finances, and land parcels.
Municipal Databank (Data Analytics)
Includes links to databases and data dashboards with financial and demographic information on Massachusetts cities and towns. Spreadsheets containing current and historical socioeconomic, financial, budget, property tax and assessment data for all 351 cities and towns are available for downloading.

Agriculture & Food Sources

Farming

MassGrown Map
An interactive map with a variety of search options to Massachusetts-grown farm products and agricultural activities.

Business, Finance & Economy

Corporations Search
Search for licensed corporations, rejected filings, trademarks, UCC (Uniform Commercial Code), liens, and name reservations.
Department of Economic Research Data and Resources
Provides links to various employment, labor market, and industry data sets and dashboards.
Foreclosure Sale Information
This tool allows for users to generate sales reports based on date and zip code. Reports include the city, sale date, sale price, and sold to.
Home Improvement Contractor Registration Lookup
Search for a home improvement contractor by their registration number, by their company or personal name, and/or by their location.
Find An Insurance Agent
This database, provided by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and promoted by the MA Division of Insurance, allows users to search for insurance agents and companies by jurisdiction.
Lobbyist Public Search
Contains lobbyist data from 2005-current. Categories users can search by include: lobbyist, lobbyist entity, or client; industry type; campaign contribution; and activity or bill. Data is collected from registration records and disclosure reports submitted by lobbyists, lobbying entities, and their clients.
Public Charities Annual Filings Database
Allows users to search for public charity annual reports and other documents filed with the Attorney General's Office (AGO). Users can search by AG Account Number, Employer Identification Number (EIN), and by Charity Name. The search will only return those charitable organizations that are registered with the AGO.
Statements of Financial Interest
The Statements of Financial Interest (SFI) database is maintained by the State Ethics Commission. The database includes the names of individuals required to file an SFI and status of the SFI going back to 2015. Other information includes the individual's agency and position, as well as the filing type. Data can be organized by clicking the headers in each column.

Community & Social Services

Housing

Nursing Home Database
Users can search nursing homes in Massachusetts by either city/town or by facility name. Results include name, address and phone number of the nursing home, as well as a link to the facility's performance data & summary.

Planning

MA Metropolitan Planning Council (MAPC) Datasets and Data Tools
Explore hundreds of MAPC's tabular datasets on the economy, demographics, education, environment, energy, housing, land use, public health, regional indicators, public safety, transportation and civic vitality.

Public Utilities

DPU File Room
This database allows users to search for dockets, public hearings, gas and electric suppliers, and licensed carriers, as provided and maintained by the MA Department of Public Utilities.
Electric Customer Choice Data
Data and reports relating to tracking of the number of electric utility customers switching to competitive supply services.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Courts

Mass. Appeals Court Summary Dispositions Pursuant to Rule 23.0 (formerly Rule 1:28)
A database of unpublished decisions issued by the Mass. Appeals Court, pursuant to Rule 23.0. Users can: search the database by docket no., party name, date, and by search terms; download a pdf of the decision; or view the text of a decision without having to download it.
Massachusetts Cases
This database, maintained by the MA Trial Court Law Libraries, includes opinions from the Supreme Judicial Court, Appeals Court, Land Court, and District Court Appellate Division. Search by party name, keyword, citation, date, or docket number
SJC and Appeals Court Public Case Information Database
A frequently updated database of cases heard by the Supreme Judicial Court and Appeals Court. Searches may be conducted by docket number, involved party, attorney appearance, lower court, or lower court judge.
Trial Court Electronic Case Access
A database of cases of various trial courts in Massachusetts, including the Housing, Land, District, Probate/Family, Superior, and Boston Municipal Courts.

Missing Persons

MA Missing Persons
The Massachusetts State Police promotes the use of the National Missing and Unidentified Persons System database (NamUs) to search for missing, unidentified, and unclaimed Massachusetts residents.

Offenders

Sex Offender Registry
This database includes information about Level 3 sex offenders.

Earth & the Environment

Climate, Weather

Climate Change Vulnerability Map
Interactive data map including community and census tract level indicators, and flood zones.

Conservation

Environmental Data and Information
Links to various environmental databases, maintained by the MA Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP), where users can search for information on asbestos projects, enforcement actions, drinking water, well drilling, municipal waste combustor emissions, and other topics.

Emergency Preparedness

COVID-19 Reporting
Includes an interactive COVID-19 Dashboard, as well as various COVID-19 datasets.

Natural Resources & Energy Sources

Energy & Environmental Affairs Data Portal
Through this data portal users can interact with regulatory data and search for MassDEP data on permits, facilities, inspections and enforcements.
Massachusetts Energy Efficiency Database
Downloadable data on energy efficiency in Massachusetts, including performance, costs & savings, investments, and benefits.
Public Water Supplier Document Search
Maintained by MassDEP Drinking Water Program, users can search for public water supply information by ID# and by Name. Forms available in the database include certificates of registration, water quality reports, compliance monitoring schedules, and lead/copper approved sampling sites plans.

Wildlife

Go Fish MA
Interactive and searchable map to find great fishing spots at lakes, ponds, streams, and rivers.
MA Pond Maps
Explore MassWildlife’s pond that provide bathymetry (pond depth), shore and boat access, and the types of fish found in the water body. Use this page to search by map or by list.
MA Rare Species Viewer
An interactive map that serves to provide information on all documented MA Endangered Species Act-listed (MESA) species observations in Massachusetts. Users can search by either the common name or scientific name of a species, as well as by the city/town in which it was observed.
Trout Stocking Report
Users can search this interactive map by waterbody or town to view seasonal trout stocking locations as well as the species being stocked.
Wildlife Management Areas by District
Map and list alphabetically by MassWildlife district. Click on the links to get more information or to see the WMA on a map.

Education

Child Care Resource & Referral Search
A searchable directory of all licensed and licensed-exempt programs including child care centers, family child care providers, preschools, and out of school time programs.
Community Resources for Families
A searchable directory for those seeking "child-specific information and resources available in their communities."
Licensed Child Care Search
A geographically-searchable online directory of licensed child care programs across the state.
MassGIS Data: MA Schools (Pre-K through High School)
This point datalayer shows the locations of pre-K-12 schools.
School and District Profiles
Select reports by type of school, school district, or individual school within a district. Contains reports and statistics on enrollment, MCAS results, per pupil expenditure, teacher data, and special education. Webpage also contains a general "School Finder" and "People Search".
School and District Profiles - Statewide Reports
Data reports on topics such as assessment, enrollment, finance, and educator preparation, that can be generated and downloaded.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Citizen's Guide to Massachusetts State Services
Information about state services, agencies, and contact points. You can find services arranged by broad subject headings, search for specific words, or use the index.
Find My Legislator
Search for Massachusetts state legislators that serve your district by submitting your home address.
Local Officials Directory
Search for local officials by jurisdiction type (city/town, county school district, or utilities district), jurisdiction, departments, and functional roles.

Government Finances & Contracts

Government Spending

Commonwealth's Financial Records Transparency Platform (CTHRU)
This database, managed by the Office of the Comptroller, allows users to search details on state and quasi-state spending, payroll and pension information, and financial summaries.
Goods and Services Bulletin and Central Register Search
Historical information is available for goods and services, designer services, general contracts, real property, contract awards and bid pickup list.
Local Services Gateway
Public databases relating to local official regularity review programs administered by the Division of Local Services.
Water Resources Authority (MWRA) Open Checkbook
Finances of the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority (MWRA), including data on payments by the agency, employee payroll, and retiree pensions.

Taxation

Corporations Book Search
Search for corporations, financial institutions, and insurance companies subject to taxation in Massachusetts.
Municipalities with Approved Tax Rate
Approved tax rate by year covering each community name.
Property Tax Data and Statistics
Reports relating to property taxes including: assessed values, average single family tax bills, excess and override capacity, motor vehicle excise trends, new growth, overlay, parcel counts, Proposition 2 1/2 overrides, debt exclusions, capital outlay exclusions, and stabilization fund overrides, tax levies, and tax rates as reported by cities and towns during the tax rate and certification process. Data on these reports come from the annual Tax Rate Recapitulation, LA-4, and LA-13 forms.

Unclaimed Property

MA Unclaimed Property Databases
Users may search for unclaimed property in MA as well as unclaimed property claim statuses. Does not pertain to land, houses, or real estate.

Health, Medicine & Safety

COVID-19 Reporting
Daily and cumulative reports on Massachusetts COVID-19 cases, testing, and hospitalizations. Additional reports include nursing facility data, cases by city/town, residents subject to COVID-19 quarantine, and data from State facilities. Data includes county-level data reporting and Chapter 93 data.
Environmental Public Health Tracking
MA city/town environmental and health data. Pages that include an "Explore Maps & Tables" button has data that can be searched and exported via a database.
Find Your Home’s Lead History
Users have the option of searching two databases to access a property’s lead history and view inspectional documents, including reports and Letters of Compliance through Lead Safe Homes.
Freshwater Fish Consumption Advisory Lookup Table
A searchable and sortable list of "public health fish consumption advisories issued at freshwater locations in Massachusetts".
Lead Inspection Histories
Look up the inspection history of a property by entering a street name or street name and number. The database will indicate whether a property has ever been inspected for lead, has had any lead hazards, or has a letter of compliance.
Massachusetts Health Professions License Verification Site
This database maintained by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health allows users to search and verify the status of a health profession license permit, certification, or MA Controlled Substances Registration (MCSR) online.
Nursing Home Survey
Look for nursing homes in Massachusetts by geographic location or facility name.
Physician License Verification Site
This database allows users to locate a particular physician practicing in Massachusetts, find physicians practicing in a particular region of MA, or to look for physicians in a specific specialty. Each physician's profile may contain information about the physician's specialty, medical training, accepted insurance plans, etc.

History, People & Culture

Arts & Entertainment

Mass Moments
Database of historical articles searchable by keyword, region, and topics including agriculture, immigration, maritime history and recreation.

Land Records

Foreclosure Sale Information
This allows for the creation of sales reports based on date and zip code.
Land Records
Land records, including deeds, declarations of homestead, and liens across the Commonwealth.
Mass. Land Court Cases
This database, maintained by the MA Trial Court Law Libraries, includes opinions from the Supreme Judicial Court, Appeals Court, Land Court, and District Court Appellate Division. Search by party name, keyword, citation, date, or docket number.
MA Cultural Resource Information System (MACRIS)
MACRIS allows users to search the Massachusetts Historical Commission database for information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth. It does not include all properties or reflect all of the information on file at the MHC.
MA Metropolitan Planning Council (MAPC) Datasets and Data Tools
Explore hundreds of MAPC's tabular datasets on the economy, demographics, education, environment, energy, housing, land use, public health, regional indicators, public safety, transportation and civic vitality.
Property Map
An interactive map, created by MassGIS, that allows users to view tax and property information.

Libraries, Library Catalogs, Archives

Digital Records at the Massachusetts Archives
Lists of searchable digitized historical records that have been made available through the Massachusetts Archives. Collections include vital records, military records, legislative and court records, and more.
Library Directory
Maintained by the MA Board of Library Commissioners, this database is searchable by Region, Municipality, Organization, Library Name, Library Type, Branch Name, Department Name, Individual First Name, Individual Last Name, and Individual Job Function.
Massachusetts Archives 1629-1799
328 digitized volumes of documents from the Massachusetts Archives, ranging from international affairs to local concerns. A range of documents covers the early statehood period, religious affairs, tax records, judicial actions, legislative activities, and relations with London, other British colonies, the French colonial government, and Indian Nations, and many other things. See the volume descriptions for more information. Volumes are searchable via FamilySearch.org.
State Library of Massachusetts Collections
The State Library has an extensive collection of materials dealing with the history of Massachusetts and its cities and towns. Resources include papers and photographs of political figures, historical newspapers, maps, and other historical documents dating back to the 1800s.
State Library of Massachusetts DSpace Electronic Repository
A searchable and browse-able collection that includes state documents that were received in digital format ("born digital") or have been digitized by the library. Documents are arranged in collections by agency name unless otherwise noted. Additional collections include digitized WWI photographs, real estate atlases, photographs of 19th century legislators, and monographs.
Trial Court Law Libraries
Law Library catalog and locations, along with laws by source and type.

Newspapers

Massachusetts Newspaper Databases
Access to NY Times and Boston Globe articles, as well as popular magazines.

Public Records

Public Records Request Database
Search for details of a public records request.

Vital Records

Vital Records, 1841-1930
Birth, death, and marriage records for all of Massachusetts from 1841-1930. Search by first or last name and/or town. Note: searching alternate spellings, e.g., Smith and Smythe recommended.
Passenger Manifest 1848-1891
Record of immigrants who arrived by ship in Boston, MA from 1848-1891. Search by first or last name, name of ship, or date.

Jobs & Unemployment

Department of Economic Research Data and Resources
Links to databases that provide information on: unemployment insurance claimant profiles; labor market areas (cities or towns); city or town unemployment rates and QCEW; and unemployment rate and labor force data graphs.
Employers Data
Links to databases that provide information on: largest employers by area; and location of businesses by city or town and NAICS industry.
Employment Information by Industry
Links to databases that provide information on: current job statistics; quarterly industry jobs data; short and long-term industry projections; and staffing pattern data by area and industry.
Employment Information by Occupation
Links to databases that provide information on: occupational employment and wages; major industry staffing pattern data; short and long term occupation projections; and STEM occupation projections.
Job Search Database for Veterans
Veterans can search for jobs by job title, job code, location, and keyword.
MASSHIRE JobQuest
Maintained by the Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development. Search for jobs, locate training, and search events.
State Job Listing Databases
Users can search the provided databases for state government employment opportunities posted by participating institutions in Massachusetts.
Unemployment Rates
Links to databases that provide information on: labor force and unemployment data; workforce development area unemployment rate reports; and interactive maps that reflect the Massachusetts New England City and Town Areas (NECTA), Workforce Development Areas, and Labor Market areas and cities and towns.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Acts and Resolves (1692-2010)
Keyword search or browse the State Library of Massachusetts' collection of acts and resolves from 1692-2010. Documents are full text in PDF and can be downloaded.
Attorney General Bid Protest Decisions
The Attorney General's Office (AGO) is charged with enforcing public construction bidding laws. This searchable database includes the AG's decisions regarding filed disputes, ranging from 1972-current.
Bills (Legislative Documents) and Journals
Browse or keyword search the State Library of Massachusetts' collection of legislative documents, including bills, House and Senate Journals, special reports, and other legislative communications. Documents are in full text in PDF and can be downloaded.
Court Dockets, Calendars & Case Information
Users can search public records maintained by the MA Trial Court for the following court departments: Boston Municipal Court, District Court, Housing Court, Land Court Department, Probate and Family Court, the Appeals Court, and the Superior Court.
Mass. Appeals Court Summary Dispositions Pursuant to Rule 23.0 (formerly Rule 1:28)
A database of unpublished decisions issued by the Mass. Appeals Court, pursuant to Rule 23.0. Users can: search the database by docket no., party name, date, and by search terms; download a pdf of the decision; or view the text of a decision without having to download it.
Mass. Board of Bar Overseers Disciplinary and Reinstatement Decisions
Provides disciplinary and reinstatement bar overseer decisions regarding attorneys practicing in Massachusetts. Opinions cover the years 1997-present, and are filterable by case number, citation, or date.
Mass. Court Decisions
This database, maintained by the MA Trial Court Law Libraries, includes opinions from the Supreme Judicial Court, Appeals Court, Land Court, and District Court Appellate Division. Search by party name, keyword, citation, date, or docket number
Mass. General Laws (MGL)
Search Massachusetts General Laws (MGL), text of bills, journals of the House and Senate, and session laws from 1997 to the present. Users can also search or browse archived video of committee hearings, legislative sessions and other events going back to 2007.
Municipal Law Unit (MLU) Decision Lookup
A database maintained by the Attorney General's Municipal Law Unit (MLU). Users can browse the decisions of cities and towns by year, or search by city/town, date range, topic, and case number. Decisions can be downloaded as PDFs.
Open Meeting Law (OML) Determination Lookup
A database maintained by the Office of the Attorney General that allows users to search Open Meeting Law determinations issued by the AGO. Users can search for or browse determinations in various ways, including by year, determination number, keyword, and city.
Public Records Appeals and Petitions Status Database
A database of public records appeals and petitions as submitted to the Public Records Division of the Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office, as well as their statuses.
Public Records Request Database
Users can search for the details of a public records request using various qualifiers. Results of a search include the name of the agency to which the request has been submitted, a brief description of the nature of the request, request/response dates, whether the decision was appealed, etc.
Trial Court Electronic Case Access
A database of cases of various trial courts in Massachusetts, including the Housing, Land, District, Probate/Family, Superior, and Boston Municipal Courts.
Trial Court Law Libraries
Law Library catalog and locations, along with laws by source and type.

Licensing

Check a Commonwealth Licensee
Search to see if an individual or business has a valid license.
Department of Fire Services
Verify a license, permit or certificate issued to an individual, for blasting, cannon, engineer/fireman, engineer special, fire suppression/fire extinguisher, fireworks, hood cleaners, inspector of pressure vessels, oil boiler technician, or special effects.
DPH Check a License
Provides verification and data on health licenses and registrations in Massachusetts. Filter by License Board and License Type, or search the name of a person or organization.
Health Professional Licenses
This database maintained by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health allows users to search and verify the status of a health profession license permit, certification, or MA Controlled Substances Registration (MCSR) online.
Office of Public Safety and Inspections License Verification Site for a Company or Facility
On this site you can verify the status of a license issued to a Company or Facility by the Office of Public Safety and Inspections.
Office of Public Safety and Inspections License Verification Site for Individuals
On this site you can verify the status of a license issued to an Individual by the Office of Public Safety and Inspections.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Find a Park
Find a Division of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) park by name or address.
Visit MA
Site includes various databases that visitors can use to search for local MA dining, activities, places to stay, and more. Includes the interactive Visit Widget tool that can be used to map out travel plans.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

ArcGIS Interactive Maps Collection
This collection of interactive maps and applications provided by MassGIS includes property and parcel maps, a MassUtilities providers map, a year of settlement map, and others.
Division of Local Services City & Town Data Visualizations
Users can select a specific dashboard and then retrieve data by narrowing results by city/town and year.
MACRIS Maps
The Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System Maps (MACRIS Maps) tool helps users search the MACRIS database and locate information on historic properties and cultural resources in Mass. Search by ID, municipality, or specific address. Users can also use various inventory and overlay layers when viewing the map.
MA GeoDOT Transportation GIS
Interactive and downloadable maps, data layers, and applications created by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, Office of Transportation Planning.
MassGIS' MassMapper
MassMapper is MassGIS' premier data viewer and download application. Users may make or get maps, query all of MassGIS' data, download shapefiles, and edit data.
State Employee Diversity Dashboard
This dashboard contains demographic data charts for Executive Branch departments, including statistics on race and sex, as well as where state employees work. Data can be manipulated using 5 dropdown menu filters: Secretariat Name, Department Name, Job Category, Full-Time/Part-Time, and Fiscal Quarter. Raw data can be downloaded in an Excel spreadsheet.

Transportation

Boston Region MPO Interactive Applications
Interactive applications include databases on transportation and pedestrians in the Boston region of Massachusetts.
MA geoDOT Transportation GIS
Interactive and downloadable maps, data layers, and applications created by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation, Office of Transportation Planning.
MassDOT's IMPACT Crash Data Portal
IMPACT provides users with Massachusetts crash-related data that can be viewed and downloaded in a variety of ways, including pre-built reports, tabulations, custom queries, and interactive data dashboards.
Senior Transportation Services Database
This database, created by the Boston Region Metropolitan Planning Organization, serves to help seniors and individuals with disabilities find transportation services in their community that fit their needs.
Transportation Data Management System
Search transportation data by county, community, road, year, and location id.

Voting & Elections

Elections and Voting Information
Search by address for voting information, town clerk, and elected officials.
Election Statistics (PD43)
This database contains all Massachusetts election information, including voting results for federal, state, and county offices, and ballot questions. Data begins in 1970 through the most recent election, and can be viewed at state, municipal, and ward/precinct levels.
Office of Campaign and Political Finance
Search itemized contributions and expenditures and view campaign finance data visualizations.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of November 2021, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a Massachusetts State Agency in these areas:

Science & Technology (not including earth and environmental sciences)

If you know of Massachusetts produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.