This page links to inmate locators in a number of US States. Each locator is a little different. They can be searched in different ways and the amount of information about a particular prisoner can vary widely from state to state. Additionally some states place restrictions on how information from penal databases may be used.
A database of individuals currently incarcerated in Alabama correctional facilities. Users can search by AIS (Alabama Institutional Serial) number or by first or last name. No more than 50 results will be displayed for any search.
Locate status of inmates imprisoned in 1985 and later. Records include description, parole status and prison location, if available. According to the website, information obtained from this database should not be mailed to AZ inmates and will be treated as contraband. Database is only searchable by name and prisoner number, although some limiters are available.
Prisoner database that can be searched not only by name, gender, age and race, but also by type of crime including: Assault, Drug Crime, Forgery/Counterfeiting, Fraud/Embezzlement, Kidnapping, Manslaughter, Murder, Other Crime, Other Violent Crime, Property Crime, Racketeering, Robbery, Sex Crime, Theft, Weapon Offense. Records include weight, height, sentencing history and prisoner photos when available. This system even lets you electronically send money to prisoners.
Unlike a number of states, this database includes information on people incarcerated while awaiting trail, so as the web site says, being in this database doesn't necessarily mean that one is a convicted criminal. Database is searchable by name, date of birth or state identification number. Records include offense imprisoned for an projected release date.
If the inmate is in the state of Florida prison system and not on probation or parole in Florida; in a Florida county jail; in a Federal prison; in prison or jail in another state; or already released from the Florida prison system.
Prisoners may be searched by name, aliases, gender, age, primary offense (incl abuse of gov't office), sentence status, conviction county and more. Prisoner records include photos, offense details, project release dates, and aliases and identifying marks when available.
Search and Register for Offenders - Hawai‘i SAVIN offers victims and concerned citizens free, anonymous, and confidential access to timely information and notification 24-hours a day, 365 days a year on the custody and parole status of offenders under the jurisdiction of the State Of Hawaii's Department of Public Safety. Search by Offender ID or Offender's First and Last Name and enter the Date of Birth and age range if known.
The Idaho Department of Correction offender search database provides information about offenders currently under IDOC jurisdiction: those incarcerated, on probation or on parole. This includes a listing of felonies for which an offender is serving time.
Locate state prisoners by name, control number or date of birth. Records include description, photos, distinguishing marks, project release date, information on conviction leading to current sentence and holding institution.
Prisoner locator service is searchable by name, birth date range, gender, location, offense, and county of commitment. Inmate records include name, offense (while incarcerated), state identification number, holding facility, and projected release date.
After reading/confirming a disclaimer on this Department of Corrections site, databases of offenders, parole absconders, and community corrections absconders can be searched by name and/or KDOC number.
Prisoners may be searched by name, gender, race, conviction county, etc. Search may be limited to death row inmates. Inmate records include photo, sentenced offenses, facility, gender and appearance. From the website "Entries and updates to improve accuracy are done daily in order for the public to have the information that current technology and public resources will allow."
From the web site: "OTIS is intended to offer information to the public that can then be verified through the Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC), Michigan Courts, the Michigan State Police or other law enforcement agencies. A search of OTIS will provide information about offenders previously or currently under the jurisdiction or supervision of the MDOC. A search result will provide information about any offender who is, or was, in a Michigan prison, on parole or probation under the supervision of the MDOC, has transferred in or out of Michigan under the Michigan Interstate Compact, or who has escaped or absconded from their sentence." The database can be searched by a number of criteria, including marks, scars and tattoos.
The New Mexico Corrections Department Offender Information is intended to provide law enforcement agencies and the general public with information about offenders who are incarcerated or on probation and/or parole supervision. You must know an offender’s first and/or last name or NMCD Number to begin the search process.
Prisoners may be looked up by name, birth year and state identification numbers. According to the web site, "Everyone sentenced to state prison since the early 1970's is listed in the database, except youthful offenders and those who have had their convictions set aside by a court. There are several reasons for this policy." Records include name, ethnicity, holding facility, crimes of conviction, projected release date and more.
Search by name, gender,ethnic group, age range or ID number for public information on inmates, probationers or parolees since 1972. This system allows users to view and download any/all public information from the NC Department of Public Safety database for convicted offenders. Also includes information on inmate releases and escapees.
Inmate database searchable by number of criteria including name, committing county, citizenship status, date of birth or age. Records by be sorted by name, race, location, inmate number, committing county or date of birth