LibGuides: Community & Social Services Sources in State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

The Document Specialists for the states listed below have indicated their state has one or more databases in this subject area. If a state is not listed below it means we do not know of any searchable databases produced by that state government on this subject.

If you know of other state-produced databases in this subject, please use the "email me" link in the "Project Coordinator" box at the left to drop us a line.

Return to the main State Agency Databases Project home page.

Alabama

Alabama Children Awaiting Adoption
Search children available for adoption by gender, number of children, age, race, disability, and profile activity.
Alabama Marriage and Family Therapists
Search by name, licensee number, or city to find a licensed examiner.
Alabama Notaries Public Search
Choose between four search options: name, bonding company, commission date, or expiration date. Each option will open a search in a new window.

Alaska

Planning

Planning and Land Management - Community Infrastructure Library (CIL)
From the website, "Contains a variety of community infrastructure and project development documents for bulk fuel, energy, marine, multi-use, sanitation, washeteria, and other public services.Database is searchable by community, year, or plan type. Search results are available via PDF document download or email notification.
Planning and Land Management - Community Plans Library (CPL)
From the website, "Contains standard community planning documents including comprehensive, capital improvement, land use, strategic, transportation, vision, and other community planning documents." Database is searchable by community, year, or plan type. Search results are available via PDF document download or email notification.

Arkansas

Arkansas Secretary of State Charities Search
Searchable database of charities that are registered in Arkansas. Searchable by name and type of charity
Arkansas Heart Gallery
Browse Arkansas children available for adoption by female, male, and sibling groups.
Child Care Provider Search
Search for licensed child care providers and ABC and Headstart facilities by name, facility number, location, child age, hours and voucher acceptance.
Community Service Information Search
Search for community service opportunities. Searchable by keyword, location, and proximity.
Notary Search
Search notaries by name, city, county, state or filing number.

California

California Licensed Facility Search
Search for licensed care facilities in California, including child care facilities, children's residential facilities, adult & elderly facilities, and special agencies such as adoption agencies, foster family agencies, and certified family homes.
Nonprofit Search
GuideStar finds information on nonprofit organizations located or doing business in California that are federally recognized tax-exempt organizations. Searchable by organization name, city, or employer identification number (EIN); approved by the California Department of Justice.

Colorado

Colorado Child Care Facility Search
Locate child care providers based on location or by name or license number. This website is helpful not only in finding a nearby provider, but also allows you to search for information on providers' licensing activity, inspections, complaints, and investigations.
Colorado Housing Search
Search for affordable housing through this database from the Colorado Division of Housing, and the Colorado Housing Finance Authority. Information is available for renters and buyers.

Connecticut

CT Housing Search
Listings of affordable rental housing can be searched by location, number of bedrooms, rent range, proximity to public transit, accessibility for people with disabilities, and other criteria. Funded by the state Dept. of Social Services.

Delaware

Delaware Joining Forces
A database of state-wide public and private resources serving the State's military and veteran communities.

District of Columbia

Volunteer Opportunity Database
Volunteer.dc.gov is a free, online District of Columbia-specific volunteer opportunity database and search engine. Volunteer.dc.gov connects residents with meaningful District-based volunteer opportunities and connects community-based organizations and others with the city’s cadre of dedicated, experienced volunteers.

Florida

Check a charity
Shows basic information about contributions to and expenditures by charities operating in Florida. Results include percentage of expenses allocated to program service costs, administration costs, fund-raising costs, and payments to affiliates. Searchable by charity name or registration number.
Children Available for Adoption (FL)
Searchable by gender, age, and level of disability.
Find an Affordable Apartment in Your Area
Florida Housing's programs have helped financed a number of affordable rental apartment communities around the state, searchable by county.
Florida Libraries and Grants
Information about most of the libraries in the state. Public, academic, and special libraries are included.
Objections, Recommendations and Comments (ORC) Reports, Notices of Intent (NOI) and Public School Interlocal Agreements
"All local governments in Florida are required to adopt a comprehensive plan pursuant to Chapter 163, Part II, Florida Statutes (F.S.), the Growth Management Act. The Department of Community Affairs reviews comprehensive plans and comprehensive plan amendments for consistency with the Act and issues reports on its findings."

Georgia

Local Area Agencies on Aging
Search by county or city for community-based service agencies for older Georgians.
Georgia Examples of Planning Successes
Georgia Examples celebrate the communities across the state that are successfully implementing their comprehensive plans in a variety of ways. It contains descriptions of each success story, including contacts for more information and indication of which QCO and Best Practices are represented in the success story. Search by issue, location, or quality community objective. You may also browse the examples.
Georgia Housing Search
Provides a search to find available rental properties. Sponsored by the Georgia Department of Community Affairs.

Idaho

Idaho Care Line

Kentucky

Kentucky Cities and Counties
From the website "Includes information on city filings submitted to the Kentucky Secretary of State's Office. This database also includes various listings of Kentucky cities, population information, and contact information for city and county government, if available."

Louisiana

Licensed Facilities (full time children and juveniles)
This website allows for searching current facilities licensed by the Department of Children and Family Services, Licensing Section. You can search by facility name, license number, or by parish map. Advanced search offers additional search fields and filters.
Volunteer Louisiana
This database provides information on volunteer opportunities in Louisiana. Searchable by interest, keyword, zip code or parish. An interactive map is also available.

Maine

Housing

Affordable Housing Dashboard

Displays actions and investments taken by the state to expand the supply of affordable housing in Maine.

Planning

No identified searchable databases in this area. Use the "email me" link to suggest an agency produced database.

Public Utilities

Case File
Filings and decisions of the Maine Public Utilities Commission since 1997, and selected earlier decisions.
Virtual Tariff
Tariffs (rate schedules) of regulated public utilities.
Annual Reports
Annual Reports from regulated public utilities.

Maryland

Aging and Disability Resource Centers 211 service
"Aging and Disability Resource Centers are programs that create a single, coordinated system of information and access for older adults and people with disabilities who are seeking resources to minimize confusion, enhance individual choice, and support informed decision-making. " -- from website.
Charitable Organization Division
From the website, "The list which results from your search is made up of summary information filed by charitable organizations with the Office of the Secretary of State of Maryland."
Maryland Access Point
From the website, "Aging and Disability Resource Centers (ADRC), known locally as Maryland Access Point (MAP), were established as the single entry point for individuals seeking long term support services. The MAP program provides an online, searchable resource directory to serve the public and professionals in identifying, connecting and accessing private and public resources. Individuals can use the website to directly find and contact service providers or they can find an appropriate agency in their local area to contact for counseling and assistance."
Maryland Community Services Locator (2-1-1 Maryland)
Homepage for the health and human services resources database. Can search services by category or by keyword
Maryland Local Department of Social Services
A list of social services department in the State of Maryland.
Notary Public Database
Search the Notary Public database by a person's name or by county.

Massachusetts

Housing

Nursing Home Database
Users can search nursing homes in Massachusetts by either city/town or by facility name. Results include name, address and phone number of the nursing home, as well as a link to the facility's performance data & summary.

Planning

MA Metropolitan Planning Council (MAPC) Datasets and Data Tools
Explore hundreds of MAPC's tabular datasets on the economy, demographics, education, environment, energy, housing, land use, public health, regional indicators, public safety, transportation and civic vitality.

Public Utilities

DPU File Room
This database allows users to search for dockets, public hearings, gas and electric suppliers, and licensed carriers, as provided and maintained by the MA Department of Public Utilities.
Electric Customer Choice Data
Data and reports relating to tracking of the number of electric utility customers switching to competitive supply services.

Michigan

Michigan Charitable Trust Search
The Attorney Generals office provides a database where you can search for a registered charity, public safety organization (police or fire group), or professional fundraiser by name, location, purpose, employer identification number (EIN), or Attorney General file number.
Statewide Search fo Child Day Care Centers and Homes
Search for licensed child care providers by county, zip code, name, type, or license number.

Mississippi

Charity Search
Search for Mississippi-based charities by name or type.
Chiidcare Faciliites Search
Search for licensed childcare facilities by county or name.

Missouri

Community Mental Health Centers
Search by county for community mental health centers providing psychiatric services.
Cooling Centers Interactive Map
Displays designated sites open to the public during hot weather events, including hours and contact information.
County Quick Facts
Contains DSS information on each county, such as number enrolled for MO HealthNet (Medicaid) services, children adopted, etc.
Division of Developmental Disabilities Regional Offices
Search by county to see office locations.
Family Care Safety Registry
Registrants provide background information as potential caregivers. Searchable by SSN.
Governor's Council on Disability Resource Directory
Searchable by county, disability, service, or region.
Local Offices of DSS
Provides contact information for county and regional offices of the Children's Division, Child Support Enforcement, Income Maintenance & Self-Sufficiency Programs, Rehabilitation Services for the Blind, and Division of Youth Services.
Missouri Automated Child Support System Payment Information
Look up child support payment information for the last 24 months of payments and disbursements.
MO HealthNet Provider Search
Search for health care providers who take Missouri's version of Medicaid by name, location, provider type, or specialty.
Show Me Child Care Provider Search
Search by county, city, or zip code for licensed child care facilities.
Show Me Long Term Care
Recent nursing home inspections by county, city, or zip code. Search for home health care, hospice services, outpatient physical therapy clinics or comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities by agency type or location.
Show Me Service
Click on "Volunteer in Your Community" to search for hundreds of in-person and virtual volunteer opportunities statewide. Organizations can also add their needs to a list of service projects. Offered by the Missouri Community Service Commission.
Warming Centers Interactive Map
Displays designated sites open to the public during cold weather events, including hours and contact information.

Public Utilities

Consumer Confidence Reports
Search for and view public water supply system reports by county.
Current Boil Orders Map
Search by address or zip code, or view the map to find current boil orders in effect throughout Missouri.
Missouri Utilities Directory
Select a county to find a list of available electric, gas, water and telecom companies available in various cities within that county. List is compiled by the Missouri Public Service Commission.
Operator Certification Database
Search for drinking water and wastewater system operators or drinking water systems.
Orders
Public Service Commission: Orders handed down by the PSC from 1996-present. Searchable by month and year or keyword.
Public Notification Reports Heat Map
Select by county to view respective reports. Covers most years from 2003 - 2024.

Montana

Montana Public Service Commission.
The Public Service Commission reports on Telecommunication Carriers, Billing Aggregators, Service Providers. Search is for documents.

Nebraska

Licensed Child Care and Preschool Programs in Nebraska
Locate child care providers based on location or by name or license number.
Nebraska Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault Programs
Alphabetical list of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Centers in Nebraska.
Social Services in Nebraska
Directory of social services resources in Nebraska

New Jersey

New Jersey Aging and Disability Resource Connection: Find Services and Providers
Search by category, area, or ZIP code for disabled and senior services including day care centers, senior centers, support groups, places to apply for state and federal assistance programs, hospice programs, housing assistance, tax preparation assistance, transportation, and more.
Division of Developmental Disabilities Provider Search
Allows users to search for providers by name or services, and filter results further by services, provider location, location type, etc.
Search for a Charity
Records include contact information and a breakdown of expenses and income. Also gives date of latest report.

Housing

Find Housing (Housing Resource Center)
"A FREE, online searchable registry of affordable and accessible housing units throughout the State of New Jersey, including: Affordable Rental Housing, Affordable For-sale Housing, and Housing with Accessibility Features."
Site Evaluators, New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency (NJHMFA)
"Provides information on eligible programs and incentives for a specific location, such as Smart Growth and Urban Target Area designation." Includes locator tools with interactive maps for smart growth (to provide eligibility information for State loan and subsidy programs), municipalities, planning areas (to determine Planning Area Designation such as Metropolitan Planning Area or Pinelands), and census data location (to identify census tract and block group for an address.

Planning

Site Evaluators, New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency (NJHMFA)
"Provides information on eligible programs and incentives for a specific location, such as Smart Growth and Urban Target Area designation." Includes locator tools with interactive maps for smart growth (to provide eligibility information for State loan and subsidy programs), municipalities, planning areas (to determine Planning Area Designation such as Metropolitan Planning Area or Pinelands), and census data location (to identify census tract and block group for an address.

Public Utilities

Board of Public Utilities Document Search
The board oversees "the regulated utilities, which in turn provide critical services such as natural gas, electricity, water, telecommunications and cable television." Offers a search tool for recent documents in addition to a legacy system that "offers all publicly-available documents filed with the Board via a single search field."
DEP DataMiner
Searchable by site, category, or static documents. Categories covered include such topics as air and water quality, water supply, certifications and licenses, hazardous waste and site remediation, and more.
Solid Waste Companies Currently Issued a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN)
Searchable by name, solid waste number, city or zip code. The entire database can also be downloaded in a zipped Excel format file.

New York

Electronic Tariff
Search the database for utility tariffs, such as Electric, Gas, and Water, that have been filed electronically. The site contains the most currently effective tariff schedules, those pending and those superseded.

Ohio

Ohio's One-Stop Locations
Ohio has a statewide system of "One-Stop" locations in each county where staff are available to assist you in your employment and training needs. A One-Stop location consists of staff that are available to assist you in resume development, interviewing skills, training, access to computers, telephones, faxes, etc. If you are a Veteran, there may be additional services available to you. Click on the Ohio One-Stop Locations icon for a map showing you the locations and information regarding Ohio's One-Stop delivery system.

Oklahoma

Adopt OK Kids
Browse a photolisting of children available for adoption or limit by region.
Child Care Locator
Search by facility name, location, type of care, ages accepted, facility type, transportation, star level and subsidy acceptance. Maintained by the Oklahoma Department of Human Services.
Public Library Locator
Search by county or city.
Human Services Center
Find out how Oklahoma human services can help you, and how to apply.
Oklahoma Charity Search
Search by name or filing number. Maintained by the Oklahoma Secretary of State.
Oklahoma Health Counselor Search
Search by name, license number, license type, city or by a licensee's status as an approved supervisor. Maintained by the Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Oklahoma Notary Search
Search by name, commission number, county or city.
Oklahoma Public Meeting Notices
Search for State of Oklahoma public meeting notices by keyword.

Oregon

211Info - Community Resources Referral
Comprehensive database provides referrals to social services and other community resources for all of Oregon and Southwest Washington.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services - Domestic Relations Offices
search by county
211
Ability to search for various services such as shelters, local information, crisis centers by zip code, city or state
Pennsylvania's Education for Children and Youth Experiencing Homelessness Program (ECYEH)
Pennsylvania’s network of eight regional offices ensures that the educational needs of students experiencing homelessness are met. This site has a Homeless Shelter Directory, Homeless Liaison Directory

Rhode Island

RI Day Care Provider Directory
Find a day care center by name, city or browse the full list. Records include name of center and contact information.

South Carolina

South Carolina Foundations Directory
Contains information on active private foundations, community foundations, and grant-making public charities located within the state of South Carolina or registered in South Carolina, and that also give in South Carolina.

South Dakota

Child Care Provider Search
Search for registered or licensed child care providers in South Dakota communities.
South Dakota Housing
Locate or list rental housing opportunities in South Dakota.
Victim's Services Resources
If you or someone you know has been a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or another violent crime, your local Victims’ Services agency may be able to help.

Texas

Search for Children Waiting for Adoption
For families interested in adopting, this database includes profiles of children or sibling groups waiting to be adopted. Criteria can be searched to help match children with families. The program includes other information related to adoption and foster care.
Manufactured Housing Report Options
For those interested in information about manufactured homes in the state of Texas, this database provides records for ownership history, retailer data, tax information, and title, license, and inspection reports.

Vermont

Child Care Information System: Provider Directory (VT)
Search the regulated child care database to locate providers throughout Vermont. Searchable by name, town, program type, age, program participation, special services, and accreditation.
Vermont Housing Data (VT Housing Finance Authority)
Searchable database of federal/state subsidized rental housing in Vermont. Can search by county, city or zip code with ability to limit to senior or disabled housing. Separate search is available for community housing data profiles.

Virginia

Dangerous Dog Registry
Worried about vicious dogs? Search this database by city, county or town or by zip code. Records include owner address and description of animal. A phone number to report issues with dog is also included. Also includes resources for owners of dangerous dogs.
Search for Child Day Care
Searchable by facility name, type of license (or regulated unlicensed status). Information includes capacity, ages of children, inspection dates, and details about any noted violations and related remedial actions. Site alerts users that compliance history is not a rating for a facility.

Washington

Community Resources Database
Washington Information Network 211 database of resources such as transportation and health for veterans, seniors, individuals, and families.
Charities and Commercial Fundraiser Search
Organizations that fundraise for charitable purposes in Washington are required to register with the Secretary of State's Charities Program. The Charities database allows the public quick access to information from registration applications including purpose, federal tax status, and budget.
Washington Tracking Network
Sort, export, chart, and map data for environmental and public health measures such as community characteristics and drinking water.

West Virginia

Volunteer WV
"matches people who want to volunteer with organizations that need volunteers."

Wisconsin

Department of Children and Families publications database
A full-text catalog of multi-lingual informational brochures about child care, child support, equal rights and discrimination, and Wisconsin Works (W-2).
Wisconsin Licensed Child Care Search
Includes the location and licensing information, including compliance history and enforcement actions, of almost 6,000 child care centers and day camps licensed by the Department of Children and Families (DCF). Searchable by county, city, zip code or facility name.