LibGuides: Connecticut State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Connecticut state agencies. It was last checked for broken links on January 2, 2024.

To return to the State Agency Databases Project home page, click here.

Agriculture & Food Sources

UConn Plant Database
Hosted by the University of Connecticut’s College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources, this database is “dedicated to the ornamental attributes, appropriate use, and identification of woody landscape plants.” Plants are searchable by common or scientific names, as well as by many traits, such as size, hardiness, color, texture, flowering period, and soil pH.

Business, Finance & Economy

AdvanceCT Site Finder
A database of available commercial and industrial properties in Connecticut. In addition to the property finder, an interactive map (under "Explore Communities" in the top menu) illustrates labor force, demographic, and consumer data by town. Use the "Map Layers" menu to see details about communications and energy infrastructure, tax incentives, flood zones and wetlands, and more. AdvanceCT is a public-private partnership.
Connecticut Patents
This database covers patents issued to Connecticut residents between 1800 and 1890. It allows searching by invention, inventor's or co-inventor's name, town, year, patent date, patent number, and more. From the Museum of Connecticut History, part of the Connecticut State Library.
Connecticut Siting Council (CSC) telecommunications databases
Two downloadable Excel files. The first is a database of telecommunications tower sites under the CSC's jurisdiction. The second is a database in which the CSC aims to collect information on the location, type, owner, and height of as many telecommunications towers in the state as possible.
Labor Market Information
Statistics on employment, unemployment, wages, and economic conditions. Includes data by industry and by occupation, employment projections, and information on specific employers. From the state Dept. of Labor.
License Lookup
Individual and business license, permit, certification, and registration information. The site states: "All data within License Lookup is maintained by the State of Connecticut, updated instantly, and considered a primary source of verification."
Production Resource Directory (for film, television, and digital media production)
Lists of individuals and companies available for crew or support services work are searchable by job category, location, or keyword. From the state Office of Film, Television & Digital Media (OFTDM).
Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA) databases
Includes open and closed case dockets, final decisions, transcripts, tariff filings, and more.
Secretary of the State - Business Services Division filings
Offers records on businesses registered in Connecticut, Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) debtor filings, and trademark records.
Unclaimed Property Owners List
Searchable by last name, business name, or property ID. Also called the "Big List." From the Office of the Treasurer.

Community & Social Services

CT Housing Search
Listings of affordable rental housing can be searched by location, number of bedrooms, rent range, proximity to public transit, accessibility for people with disabilities, and other criteria. Funded by the state Dept. of Social Services.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Attorney/Firm Lookup
A database of attorneys and law firms; shows the licensing and disciplinary history for each attorney. From the Judicial Branch.
Dept. of Correction - Inmate Information Search
This database includes information about individual inmates, such as current location, bond amount, and maximum sentence. Unlike many states, Connecticut's Dept. of Correction holds not only people who have been convicted of a crime, but people awaiting trial; therefore, not all inmates in this database have been convicted of a crime.
Sex Offender Registry
Searchable by name or geographical area. Records include photograph, date of birth, description of the offense, conviction date, and more. From the State Police.

Earth & the Environment

Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) events calendar
Events such as public hearings, discussions, and hikes.
Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) GIS Data
This page links to a DEEP list of current and historical Geographic Information Systems (GIS) datasets. See also the link to archived GIS data.
Endangered Species Maps
Maps searchable by town showing "general areas of concern with regard to state and federally listed endangered, threatened, and special concern species and significant natural communities." Maps are updated approximately every six months. Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. From the Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection.
Hazardous Waste Manifest Data, 1984 - 2008
This database contains records of manifests submitted to the Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection for shipments of hazardous waste within, into, or out of Connecticut. This is a very large database, and what's shown at the bottom of the page is just a preview. To filter the data, first click on "View Data" at the top of the page, even if that button appears to already be selected. This opens a new view of the database that has a "Filter" option in its menu. Click "Filter" and then "Add a New Filter Condition" to set parameters for the data you are looking for.

Education

Academic Program Search
Search for degree and certificate programs by field of study. From the state Office of Higher Education.
EdSight
Profiles and performance data of Connecticut school districts, from the state Dept. of Education.
FAFSA Completion Rates
Shows the percentage of students at each high school who have completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Updated weekly by the state Dept. of Education.
Veterans Program Search
Search for degree and certificate programs that are approved for veterans education (GI Bill) benefits. From the state Office of Higher Education.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Connecticut's Archives Online (CAO)
Enables searching across the finding aids of many archival repositories across the state, including the State Archives at the Connecticut State Library, colleges and universities, historical societies, museums, and local libraries.
Connecticut General Assembly Members (historical)
This State Library database lists members of the state House of Representatives from 1849 to the present and members of the state Senate from 1776 to the present. Search fields include name, town, party, and year.
Find Your Legislators
A database from the Connecticut General Assembly that shows the currently serving state legislators and members of Congress for the address entered.
Lobbyist Filing System
This page has several downloadable lists of lobbyist information compiled in different ways. An interactive search is available through the "Lobbyist Filings" link near the top right of the page. From the Office of State Ethics.
State Agency Public Meeting Calendar
Displays public meetings on a calendar grid or in a list; meetings can be filtered by agency or searched by keyword.
State employee directory
Can be searched by employee name or agency. Lists phone numbers and email addresses for individual employees. Also lists all employees in each agency, and gives general contact information for each agency. Some names may be redacted by statute or regulation.

Government Finances & Contracts

Bond Allocation Database
This database from the Office of the State Comptroller tracks allocations approved by the State Bond Commission from 1995 to the present. Allocations represent estimated costs of projects, not actual expenditures. The database can be filtered by recipient category, funds use, program area, or municipality, and the project description field can be searched by keyword.
Open Connecticut
Within Open Connecticut there are several different databases to search for state financial information, such as payments made to vendors, state employee payroll, and pensions. The site pulls the data from different agencies into one location. From the Office of the State Comptroller.
State Contracting Portal Search
Includes active and expired contracts; invitations to bid, requests for proposals, and requests for information; and vendors. From the Dept. of Administrative Services.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Accidental Drug Related Deaths
Dataset provided by the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner that shows each accidental death associated with drug overdose from 2012 to 2018. Allows the user to create visualizations, such as charts and maps, with the data.
Compensation Review Board (CRB) Opinions
Opinions from 1993 to the present can be browsed by name or by statute/regulation. There is also an index of annotations of opinions that can be browsed by statute/regulation. The website states: "Please note that some of the cases contained in our site have gone on to the Appellate and/or Supreme Court(s), so the present state of Connecticut’s case law may not be fully reflected in these Opinions." From the state Workers' Compensation Commission.
Connecticut Crash Data Repository
Filter crash incidents by date, town, severity, and more. Data from the Dept. of Emergency Services and Public Protection (formerly the Dept. of Public Safety) and the Dept. of Transportation; hosted by the University of Connecticut.
Connecticut Network of Care for Behavioral Health
This website provides a directory of behavioral health service providers that can be searched by keyword or browsed by category. The website also includes databases of information about medicines, medical tests and procedures, and proposed state and federal legislation, as well as interactive tools such as a symptom checker. Trilogy Integrated Resources is a company that works with the State of Connecticut to produce the Connecticut Network of Care website.
Connecticut Nurses Census 1917
This database is based on the 1917 Connecticut Nurses Census. According to the website, "the census forms may give basic details such as birthplace, age, marital status, maiden name, and current residence, as well as more specific information such as the name of the nursing school attended, medical specialty, and year of licensure." The census is among the records of the Military Census Department that are held in the State Archives. This database is searchable by name, birthplace, age, place of residence, and more.
Death Records Index
Covers 1897 through 2001. Search by name, date, or town.
Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Verification Service
From the state Workers' Compensation Commission. Search by business name to see whether the business has current workers' compensation insurance coverage.

History, People & Culture

Aerial Photographs of Connecticut
Browse aerial surveys from the 1930s through 2000.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers: Digitized Newspapers from Connecticut
Search or browse historical newspapers contributed by the Connecticut State Library to the Chronicling America project, which is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. The American newspapers in Chronicling America are from 1770 to 1963. The site also includes a directory of American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.
Connecticut's Archives Online (CAO)
Enables searching across the finding aids of many archival repositories across the state, including the State Archives at the Connecticut State Library, colleges and universities, historical societies, museums, and local libraries.
Connecticut Nurses Census 1917
This database is based on the 1917 Connecticut Nurses Census. According to the website, "the census forms may give basic details such as birthplace, age, marital status, maiden name, and current residence, as well as more specific information such as the name of the nursing school attended, medical specialty, and year of licensure." The census is among the records of the Military Census Department that are held in the State Archives. This database is searchable by name, birthplace, age, place of residence, and more.
Connecticut Patents
This database covers patents issued to Connecticut residents between 1800 and 1890. It allows searching by invention, inventor's or co-inventor's name, town, year, patent date, patent number, and more. From the Museum of Connecticut History, part of the Connecticut State Library.
Connecticut Postcards
(Click "Link to Full Connecticut Postcard Index" to access.) Search by description, location, or category. Includes links to scans of the postcards. From the Museum of Connecticut History.
Connecticut State Library newspaper title index
A tool to find newspaper titles of Connecticut by town and/or date and to determine if, and where, the Connecticut State Library has the newspaper. Covers 1758 to the present. Most of the newspapers are on microfilm and many of these can be viewed at local libraries through interlibrary loan from the State Library. (This is not a database of digitized newspapers.)
Court Records: Conservators and Guardians, 1699 - 1900
This database and the Court Records databases that follow are searchable indexes of records held in the State Archives.
Court Records: Fairfield County Superior Court, 1841 - 1932
Court Records: Hartford County Superior Court, 1836 - 1951
Court Records: Inquests into Deaths, 1711 - 1892
Court Records: Litchfield County Minorities Collection, 1753 - 1854
Court Records: Loyalists, 1776 - 1784
Court Records: New London County African Americans Collection, 1701 - 1854
Court Records: New London County Native Americans Collection, 1698 - 1855
Court Records: New London County Superior Court, 1874 - 1974
Court Records: Windham County Superior Court, 1798 - 1883
Death Records Index
Covers 1897 through 2001. Search by name, date, or town.
Governors of Connecticut
(Click on the picture of the Capitol building to access.) List of governors, searchable by name, year, town of residence, and political party; includes links to archival records guides and to biographies with portraits. From the Connecticut State Library and the Museum of Connecticut History.
Hartford, Connecticut Courant Index 1764 - 1799
According to the website, this database "contains thousands of entries searchable by Name, Town, or Subject taken from a slip index found in the History & Genealogy Reading Room of the Connecticut State Library. It includes advertisements by name of merchant or tradesmen, though not by individual items for sale. Names of specific articles offered for sale may be found under Merchants in (name of town). Druggists in (name of town), etc. ... This database is of great significance as it will likely display entries for articles not found in the scanned and indexed Historical Hartford Courant as the machine readable software used may not have correctly read the printed word as found on the original newspaper correctly."
Marriage Records Index
Covers 1897 through 2001. Search by name, date, or town.
Wethersfield Prison Records
A searchable index of the Warrants of Commitment for prisoners at the Wethersfield State Prison; covers 1800 to 1903. From the Connecticut State Library.
Works Progress Administration (WPA) Architectural Survey: Census of Old Buildings in Connecticut
Also known as the "WPA House Survey," this 1934-1937 project described nearly 5,000 buildings and photographed most of those buildings. Some survey forms also included sketches of interior or exterior details and brief histories of the buildings. The database can be filtered by town, date, or building type. From the State Archives.

Jobs & Unemployment

Connecticut's Reemployment Portal
Browse occupations by industry or by occupational group. From the state Dept. of Labor.
Labor Market Information
Statistics on employment, unemployment, wages, and economic conditions. Includes data by industry and by occupation, employment projections, and information on specific employers. From the state Dept. of Labor.
Occupations in Demand
Filter occupations by their current employment trends and the education levels they require. From the state Dept. of Labor.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Advanced Legislative Document Search
Databases for many different types of documents produced in the state legislative process. For best results, choose at least one database from the lists in the bottom half of the page before searching. Historical information can be found by choosing one or more years from the drop-down menu on the right.
Bill Files of the Connecticut General Assembly
Search the full text of bills from selected years. Depending on the bill, bill files can contain items such as amendments, roll call votes, and fiscal notes. From the Connecticut State Library.
Case Look-up: Civil and Family Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of civil and family cases. Cases can be searched by party name, docket number, attorney or firm juris number, or, for eviction and foreclosure cases, property address.
Case Look-up: Criminal and Motor Vehicle Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of criminal and motor vehicle cases. Convictions and pending cases can be searched by defendant or by docket number; dockets can be searched by court or by defendant. Conviction information is generally kept online for no more than 10 years; see details at the bottom of the page.
Case Look-up: Supreme and Appellate Court Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of Supreme and Appellate Court cases filed from 1991 to the present. Cases can be searched by case name, party name, Supreme or Appellate Court docket number, trial court docket number, or attorney.
The Connecticut Constitution, 1965-2008: Legislative History of Amendments
This database includes the legislative history for each of the 31 amendments made to the current state constitution since its adoption in 1965, as well as each amendment's date of adoption and popular vote totals. From the Connecticut State Library.
Historical Bills and Acts Index
Includes bills, resolutions, joint resolutions, and petitions from 1913 to 1982. Search by number, year, title, or committee. From the Connecticut State Library.
Legislative History
This page provides important background information about the legislative history materials available at the State Library. To access the database of those legislative histories that the State Library has electronically compiled, click the "Search our compiled histories by act number" link.
Regulations of State Agencies
Search the regulations of executive branch agencies by keyword or by section number. The advanced search allows filtering by agency.
Statutes Text Search
Searches the Connecticut General Statutes as of January 1, 2022.

Licensing

Connecticut Insurance Department - license verification
Verify an insurance license by license number, National Producer Number (NPN), agent or business entity name, company name, National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) number, or license type.
CPAverify
From the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). Lists licensed certified public accountants (CPAs) and public accounting firms.
License Lookup
This database includes individual and business license, permit, certification, and registration information from several different state agencies. According to the site, "all data within License Lookup is maintained by the State of Connecticut, updated instantly, and considered a primary source of verification."

Military & Veterans

29th, 30th, and 31st Connecticut Volunteer Infantry Regiment enlistment records index
Over 1,600 soldiers of color served in these Civil War regiments. This database of enlistment records can be searched by name; age; occupation; place of birth, residence, or enlistment; enlistment date; and more. From the Connecticut State Library.
Fitch's Home for Soldiers
Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War veterans. From the Connecticut State Library.
Noble Pension Records
Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War veterans. From the Connecticut State Library.
Veterans Program Search
Search for degree and certificate programs that are approved for veterans education (GI Bill) benefits. From the state Office of Higher Education.
World War I Veterans
According to the website, "this database contains a collection of questionnaires filled out by Connecticut soldiers (or their families) who served in World War I." From the Connecticut State Library.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) events calendar
Events such as public hearings, discussions, and hikes.
Find a State Park or Forest
Click "Find a Park" in the menu on the left side of the page to access an interactive map that shows state parks and forests. From the state Dept. of Environmental Protection (DEEP).
Visit Connecticut
Interactive map shows tourist attractions such as amusement parks, beaches, museums, events, and more; the map can also be searched for restaurants and lodging. From the state Office of Tourism.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Connecticut Open Data
This website provides raw datasets from a variety of state agencies. The user can download datasets or turn them into charts, maps, and other visualizations with the site's interactive tools.
Dept. of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) GIS Data
This page links to a DEEP list of current and historical Geographic Information Systems (GIS) datasets. See also the link to archived GIS data.

Transportation

211 of Connecticut
Search by keyword to find information on transportation services for senior citizens, people with disabilities, people who need rides to medical appointments, and more.
Connecticut Crash Data Repository
Filter crash incidents by date, town, severity, and more. Data from the Dept. of Emergency Services and Public Protection (formerly the Dept. of Public Safety) and the Dept. of Transportation; hosted by the University of Connecticut.

Voting & Elections

Campaign Reporting Information System (eCRIS)
Search for campaign finance information filed with the State Elections Enforcement Commission (SEEC).
Election Results
Results for local, state, and national elections from November 2016 to the present, including primaries. Start by choosing an election from the drop-down menu at the top of the page. From the Secretary of the State.
Polling Place Locator
Enter your town, name, and date of birth to retrieve the address of your polling location.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of August 2020, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a Connecticut state agency in these areas:

Science & Technology

If you know of Connecticut-produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.

Additional Resources

The resources listed here fall into two categories:

General subject matter - the database covers a larger topic than those listed here.
Not a database - the resource is worthy of inclusion, but does not meet this project's definition of "database"

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections
A broad array of digital materials from the Connecticut State Library, the Museum of Connecticut History, and the Connecticut State Archives.
findIT CT
findIT CT is the statewide library catalog. It includes over 25 million bibliographic records from more than 300 public, academic, special, and school libraries.
Primo (Connecticut State Library catalog)
Search the holdings of the Connecticut State Library and other libraries.
Real Estate Administrative Decisions
From the state Dept. of Consumer Protection.
State Agency Profiles
Information on current, predecessor, and defunct agencies, including name changes over time, statutory authority, locations of pertinent materials in the State Library, citations to agency histories, commissioner names, and more. From the Connecticut State Library.