LibGuides: Oregon State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Oregon State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on February 8, 2023.

Oregon's flag (shown here) is the only one of the 50 United States to have a different image on the reverse. The reverse shows the state animal, a beaver, perched on a log. Learn more about the flag's history.

For an overview of Oregon facts, history, and governance, see the Oregon Blue Book, updated yearly by the Secretary of State.

About Oregon

State Of Oregon Information Portal
Keyword search comprehensive listings of state services by agencies, topics, and more.
Explore Cities & Regions of Oregon
Discover more about Oregon by searching by town or region of the state. Provided by the Oregon Tourism Commission.
Oregon Census QuickFacts
QuickFacts > US Census information for the state from the US Census Bureau.
Oregon Encyclopedia
From the "about us" page, "The Oregon Encyclopedia provides definitive, authoritative information about the State of Oregon, including significant places, culture, institutions, events, and people."

Agriculture & Food Sources

All Ag Databases
Narrow searches by specific data sets: Oregon Products Database, Available Livestock Brands, Oregon Veterinarians and Clinics, Wholesale Seed Dealer licenses, Agricultural Resources Directory, Pesticide Related Licenses, and Nursery and Christmas Tree Licenses.

Fish & Aquaculture

StreamNet Library Catalog
The Library provides access to technical information and research on the Columbia River basin fisheries, ecosystems and other relevant subjects for states in the Pacific Northwest.
Water Rights Mapping Tool
Browse by basin, search for a township, or search for an application for water rights. - other pertinent information such as ground water limited areas, watermaster districts, and water availability basins.

Business, Finance & Economy

Business Registry Name Search
Use the Business Registry to check for available business names with license information, including related individuals.
Charity Search
Review registered charities by name, location, category and funding. Provided by the Charitable Activities Division of the Justice Department.
Consumer Complaints Search
Consumer Complaints Search. Search by business name, location, date, type of business. Provided by the Consumer Protection Division of the Department of Justice.
Insurance Agency Search
Provides database of active Oregon insurance companies, which can be searched by name and location and/or license class. Also allows downloading of the data file and links to other insurance division reports.
License Directory Search
Consolidated search portal for business licenses, permits, and registrations. Quick links to specific license holder searches, and license application application requirements.
Office for Business Inclusion and Diversity (COBID) Certified Firms
A database of firms certified in Oregon as disadvantaged, minority, women, and emerging. Allows searches by vendor name, certification number, location, and keyword. Also allows searches by NAIC, NIGP, or ODOT commodity codes.
Trademarks, Active - Data Set
Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Debt Records
Search public records for commercial debt records by company or individual name.
Workers' Compensation Insurance Proof of Coverage Search
Search for proof of coverage by Business Name and other elements for carrier-insured, self-insured, or worker leasing arrangements.

Community & Social Services

211Info - Community Resources Referral
Comprehensive database provides referrals to social services and other community resources for all of Oregon and Southwest Washington.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Oregon Judicial Department Online Records Search
Free online search access to limited case information in the circuit courts and Tax Court of Oregon. Read the FAQ to learn more about how to access full court system records.
Oregon Offender Search
Search for inmates incarcerated in state institutions.
Sex Offender Inquiry System
Oregon State Police database search for sex offenders in the state of Oregon by name or location, including proximity search within 1 mile of an address.

Earth & the Environment

Environmental Quality Data Sets
Search across DEQ databases, including Air Quality, Enforcement, Cleanup Sites, Underground Storage Tanks, Waste Disposal Solid and Water Waste Permits,.
Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Cleanup Database
Search for existing and former locations of underground storage tanks by property location and other attributes.
Oregon Explorer - Natural Resources Digital Library
Sponsored by OSU Libraries, the Institute for Natural Resources (OSU), and state DAS.
Streamflow & Lake Level Data - Historical
Searchable by basin, gaging station, station status, and date range. Includes searchable watershed and hydrological unit maps in Google Earth or Maps format, with information on gaging stations, including number and description, township, range and section, longitude and latitude, and date range.
Streamflow (Real-time) Information
Provides links to sites, mostly U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), and U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (USBR), giving preliminary realtime streamflow data. USACE and USBR provide graphic data in cubic feet over a course of days, and USGS data also includes station number and name, location (including map), drainage area, period of record, gage, remarks, and extremes for period. Offers a choice of discharge or gage height parameters, as well as a choice of output format and number of days.
StreamNet Library Catalog
The Library provides access to technical information and research on the Columbia River basin fisheries, ecosystems and other relevant subjects for states in the Pacific Northwest.
Water Rights Mapping Tool
Browse by basin, search for a township, or search for an application for water rights. - other pertinent information such as ground water limited areas, watermaster districts, and water availability basins.
Well Logs Database
Searchable by township, range, and section, street address, county, constructor, owner name, company, completed and received dates, start card, well log ID, well tag, and taxlot numbers. Shows strata of well, first water, completed depth, static water level, and yield.

Education

Education Data Search
Provides Oregon school and school district data, searchable by year and district, and sometimes other criteria such as size of enrollment, county, spending per student, student teacher ratios, and math rank. Default view is Performance data.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Oregon Arts Commission Public Art Inventory
Use search box at bottom of page to review over 2,500 works of art funded and held by the State of Oregon. View more information through the full digital archive at Oregon Percent for Art Archive at University of Oregon
Find Your Legislator
Map and address-based search for legislative representatives.

Government Finances & Contracts

Office for Business Inclusion and Diversity (COBID) Certified Firms
A database of firms certified in Oregon as disadvantaged, minority, women, and emerging. Allows searches by vendor name, certification number, location, and keyword. Also allows searches by NAIC, NIGP, or ODOT commodity codes.
ORMAP - Property tax parcel map
http://www.ormap.net ORMAP - Statewide property tax parcel base map Searchable by county and township-range grid, which provides file links to scanned taxlot maps from county assessors.
OregonBuys - Eprocurement
Register of contract opportunities with the State of Oregon.
State Audits and Reviews Search
Review agency audits provided by Secretary of State's office.
Unclaimed Property Search - Oregon
This database allows the user to search for such assets as uncashed payroll checks, stock and bonds, safe-deposit box contents, insurance proceeds or refunds and bank accounts which may have been held by the state. Requires registration.

Health, Medicine & Safety

211Info - Community Resources Referral
Comprehensive database provides referrals to social services and other community resources for all of Oregon and Southwest Washington.
Domestic Violence Assistance
Provides list of Oregon organizations offering assistance to women in domestic violence situations, searchable by map and drop-down windows for county and city. Includes name, address, telephone number, email address, and web site, as well as a list of services.
License Holder Search Portal
Search for Oregon service providers by name, license number, or region. Narrow by type of license, including business, health, and services providers.
Health Licenses Inquiry - OHLA
The OHLA (Oregon Health Licensing Agency) regulates several smaller health-related professions. Database provides licensing information for the Athletic Trainer Registration Board, the Body Piercing Licensing Program, the Board of Cosmetology, the Board of Denture Technology, the Board of Direct Entry Midwifery, , Electrologists and Permanent Color Technicians, the Advisory Council on Hearing Aids, and the Respiratory Therapists Licensing Board

History, People & Culture

Historical Trademarks - Search
Use a variety of search terms to find, view and download iconic Oregon symbols spanning 1864-1933.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Keyword search 1,000s of historic Oregon newspapers with primary coverage from 1846-1922
Historic Photograph Collections
Over 10,000 viewable photographs and related descriptions from the holdings of the Salem Public Library, the Oregon State Archives, and the Marion County Historical Society. The images date from the mid-1800s to the 1990s and depict a wide range of subjects such as Oregon towns, homes, businesses, occupations, scenic vistas, disasters, festivities, and recreational pursuits. Maintained by the Salem Public Library.
Oregon Arts Commission Public Art Inventory
Use search box at bottom of page to review over 2,500 works of art funded and held by the State of Oregon. View more information through the full digital archive at Oregon Percent for Art Archive at University of Oregon
Oregon Encyclopedia
From the "about us" page, "The Oregon Encyclopedia provides definitive, authoritative information about the State of Oregon, including significant places, culture, institutions, events, and people."
Oregon Historical Records Index
Search many records by name, birth date and other criteria. These records are held by the state and by local jurisdictions. Types of records include asylum, coroner's report, probate, birth, death, naturalization, etc.
Oregon Historic Sites Inventory
Search Heritage reports and surveys by location, type, and many other facets. Great resource for local history and property research.
Oregon Newspapers Index
Digitized subject indexes to significant local newspapers for Eugene and Portland, including The Oregon Daily Emerald. Eugene (Or.), the University of Oregon campus newspaper, 1900-1979. 102,000+ records.; The Portland Oregonian. Portland (Or.), 1852 - 1987. 839,000+ records and The Register-Guard. Eugene (Or.), 1963 - 2004. 30,000+ records. Index may be searched by title, subject, author, or keyword. Records may be limited by date.

Jobs & Unemployment

Job Search - Worksource Oregon
Office for Business Inclusion and Diversity (COBID) Certified Firms
A database of firms certified in Oregon as disadvantaged, minority, women, and emerging. Allows searches by vendor name, certification number, location, and keyword. Also allows searches by NAIC, NIGP, or ODOT commodity codes.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Initiative, Referendum and Referral Search
Oregon ballot initiatives and referendum by year, status and type; includes both historical and current records. 1998-present
Legislative Information Search
Portal to state legislature information - search for a legislator, current law, bills under consideration, and other related topics.

NOTE: The Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) are integral to governance and regulations in the state, but they are not in a searchable database.

Licensing

License Directory Search
Consolidated search portal for business licenses, permits, and registrations. Quick links to specific license holder searches, and license application application requirements.

Military & Veterans

211Info - Community Resources Referral
Comprehensive database provides referrals to social services and other community resources for all of Oregon and Southwest Washington.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Explore Cities & Regions of Oregon
Discover more about Oregon by searching by town or region of the state. Provided by the Oregon Tourism Commission.
Find a State Park
Search for recreation options throughout the state. Search by type of campsite or yurt, beach access, horse or hiking trails, setting (forest, desert, waterfalls, etc), events or ADA accessibility.
Places to Ride an ATV
Find locations that allow all-terrain-vehicle use. Search by county,region,season,class of ATV, and availability of camping, parking and restrooms.
Places To Stay
Search for hotels, B&B's, resorts, RV parks and other lodging options in Oregon, courtesy of the Tourism Bureau.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Open Data Portal - Oregon
Browse datasets from all across state and local government.
Oregon Census QuickFacts
QuickFacts > US Census information for the state from the US Census Bureau.
Oregon Explorer - Natural Resources Digital Library
Sponsored by OSU Libraries, the Institute for Natural Resources (OSU), and state DAS.
Oregon Spatial Data Library
Search for geospatial datasets and GIS frameworks for the state of Oregon.
ORMAP - Property tax parcel map
http://www.ormap.net ORMAP - Statewide property tax parcel base map Searchable by county and township-range grid, which provides file links to scanned taxlot maps from county assessors.
Water Rights Mapping Tool
Browse by basin, search for a township, or search for an application for water rights. - other pertinent information such as ground water limited areas, watermaster districts, and water availability basins.
Well Logs Database
Searchable by township, range, and section, street address, county, constructor, owner name, company, completed and received dates, start card, well log ID, well tag, and taxlot numbers. Shows strata of well, first water, completed depth, static water level, and yield.

Transportation

TransGIS - ODOT Map-based Discovery
TransGIS presents many levels of complex data in an interactive map format offering multi-level views of Oregon's transportation system.
ODOT Road Asset Inventory
Contains several tools, including The Digital Video Log, the visual road inventory system, showing images of every road managed by the state of Oregon.
DMV Business Regulation Search
Search for individuals and organizations licensed in Oregon to perform automotive vehicle services by location, brand of vehicle, license type or status. Businesses in this database have the authority to conduct business and activities as an agent of the DMV.
more...less...
Includes dealers, dismantlers, transporters, trip permit agent, vehicle appraisers and drive schools.
Places to Ride an ATV
Find locations that allow all-terrain-vehicle use. Search by county,region,season,class of ATV, and availability of camping, parking and restrooms.

Voting & Elections

Campaign finance search
ORESTAR- - Oregon Elections System for Tracking and Reporting - check on what candidates and organizations are spending.
Candidate Filing Search
Search for candidates for public office from 2008 - present and review filing status and type.
Initiative, Referendum and Referral Search
Oregon ballot initiatives and referendum by year, status and type; includes both historical and current records. 1998-present

Items to Add - Can you help?

If you know of Oregon produced databases in these or other subjects shown on this page, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.