State Agency Databases Project: Blog

Florida - State Agency Databases Project Orphan of the Week

Florida  (http://godort.libguides.com/floridadbs) is the State Agency Databases Project Orphan of the week for 4/30/2017. It has been visited 14 times this year since it was migrated to LibGuides in March 2017. A few of the databases that can be accessed from the Florida page are:

• Unlicensed Search for Construction Contractor - From the web page, "will provide a listing of public complaints against persons or entities of construction contractors that, at the time of the complaint, were not licensed by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation."
• Children Available for Adoption (FL) - Searchable by gender, age, and level of disability.
• Stolen Property Search - Designed to provide the public with the opportunity to assist law enforcement agencies in locating stolen property, including vehicles, vehicle parts, license plates, license decals, boats, boat parts, guns, and articles (appliances, TVs, stereos, etc.)

These are the subject areas for which we have not identified Florida agency produced databases:

• Science & Technology (not including earth and environmental sciences)

If you are interested in taking on Florida, review the Volunteer Guide at http://godort.libguides.com/volunteerstatedatabases. If you can meet the requirements, please contact Daniel Cornwall at danielcornwall AT gmail DOT com. Include the information asked for in the “getting started portion of the volunteer guide.

If you don’t want to take Florida on, but do know about a database in one of the “no databases” subjects above, please let me know.

If this orphan doesn’t call to you, perhaps another does. See our dashboard at http://godort.libguides.com/statedatabases/dashboard for the current list of orphan states.