Skip to main content

State Agency Databases Project: Blog

State Agency Databases Project: Connecticut - Call for co-editor

by Daniel Cornwall on 2017-04-23T10:25:11-04:00 | Comments

Connecticut  (http://godort.libguides.com/Connecticutdbs) has been adopted by Jenny Groome BUT she is looking for a co-editor. There are a few pages on the project that have two guide editors.

 

The Connecticut page has been visited 14 times so far this year. A few of the databases that can be accessed from the Connecticut page are:

 

Arthropod (i.e. bugs) Management Database - Intended for commercial tree growers, this database "allows you to search for insects and mites that are pests on trees, shrubs and other plants in the landscape, the nursery or Christmas tree farm." Searchable by damage type, pest and plant. One of each, plus a "profession" must be selected to ensure a successful search.

 

CT HousingSearch - Find affordable rental housing by picking a city and using search criteria including number of bedrooms, rent range, zip code and access to public transit.

 

Connecticut Schools on the Web - From the website, "You can search by School Name, Town/City, or Category -- elementary, middle school, high school, regional vocational tech schools and charter schools. Enter any partial string of letters" Records include contact information and school website, if available.

 

Connecticut, still revolutionary - Tourism site; search box in upper right corner. Also has interactive map.

 

These are the subject areas for which we have not identified Connecticut agency produced databases:

 

  • Science & Technology

  • Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

  • Transportation

 

If you are interested in being Jenny’s co-editor  on Connecticut, review the Volunteer Guide at http://godort.libguides.com/volunteerstatedatabases. If you can meet the requirements, please contact Daniel Cornwall at danielcornwall AT gmail DOT com. Include the information asked for in the “getting started portion of the volunteer guide. Your e-mail will be forwarded to Jenny, who will make the final decision on a co-editor.

 

If you don’t want to take Connecticut on as a co-editor, but do know about a database in one of the “no databases” subjects above, please let me know.

 

If this orphan doesn’t call to you, perhaps another does. See our dashboard at http://godort.libguides.com/statedatabases/dashboard for the current list of orphan states.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.