Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2021 ALA Annual Virtual Conference

Access information about GODORT committee meetings and programs in conjunction with ALA Annual 2021 Virtual

GODORT Government Information for Children Committee | 10:00-11:00a CST

Government Information for Children Committee

June 15, 2021 | 8:00-9:00 PT / 9:00-10:00 MT / 10:00-11:00 CT / 11:00-12:00 ET

The purpose of the Government Information for Children Committee is to:

  • Promote government information in order to engage K-12 students in learning about history, culture, science, and government through games and other interactive activities.
  • Assist teachers, school librarians, public librarians, academic librarians, parents, and the general public with locating teaching aids, lesson plans, and exciting tools to enhance students' learning.
  • Provide all populations with a collection of free government resources – designed for children – to advance their personal and professional needs.

Agenda:
I. Welcome and Introductions


II. Old Business/Current Projects – New GIC Libguide https://godort.libguides.com/gic is up and running and the committee is continuing to improve/add new content.

  1. Two new (hidden) tabs are being developed devoted to kids:
    1. STEAM – Just for Kids (Grades K-6)
    2. STEAM – Just for Teens (Grades 7-12)
  2. Emily Alford created a new Guide Feedback box that links to a Google form.
  3. The GODORT GIC Libguide has been added to FDLP’s list of guides. https://libguides.fdlp.gov/k-12-resources-hot-topics

III. New Business/Plans for Coming Year

  1. Further promotion of GIC Libguide.
  2. Constitution Day Poster Contest.
  3. Call for new committee chairperson.

IV. Announcements


Link to Meeting Recording (Note: this recording does not include transcripts):

https://ala-events.zoom.us/rec/share/sZXT4nNUMQZwJLjAAuyviUvJbTf4ISETeDEL3u6Qph_hVsLkDBwiKNn_9tsZDB7D.SO9Z25Zn51miExNH?startTime=1623769207000

 

 

Legislation Committee | 1:00-2:30p CST

Legislation Committee

June 15, 2021 | 11:00-12:30 PST/ 12:00-1:30 MST/ 1:00-2:30 CST/  2:00-3:30 EST

The Legislation Committee:

  • identifies issues requiring legislative action;
  • prepares or advises on resolutions for the membership, Steering Committee, task forces and committees;
  • assists the ALA Washington Office on issues affecting federal government legislation; and
  • assists and coordinates legislative action with other ALA bodies.

Agenda:

  1. Welcome and introductions
  2. Review memorial resolutions
  3. Discuss advocacy action plan 

Link to Meeting Recording (Note: this recording does not include transcripts):

https://ala-events.zoom.us/rec/share/8243nIdTtn_5_KwFN4kwezPnkw_rgRzUw8Q3s9oVRhz60YahKfgaxvApT78Q_tD3.HJIW9fR9Tkp_yxTY?startTime=1623780351000

Rare & Endangered Publications Committee | 3:00-4:30p CSTĀ 

Rare & Endangered Publications Committee

June 15, 2021 | 1:00-2:30 PST / 2:00-3:30 MST / 3:00-4:30 CST / 4:00-5:30 EST

The Rare and Endangered Government Publications (REGP) committee seeks to identify rare, unique and/or endangered government publications, in all formats and from all levels of government; to evaluate materials for preservation and conservation; and to plan programs and workshops on the preservation of these materials.


Agenda:


Link to Meeting Recording (Note: this recording does not include transcripts):

https://ala-events.zoom.us/rec/share/358fPZafQ0K53GADsx1Qnpa2grPlW8gfNDUo7lPeOKuRxu4J1xsUeqSNupD7Fhn4.MAwcG3Qqwfv-L3wp?startTime=1623787246000