Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2021 ALA Annual Virtual Conference

Access information about GODORT committee meetings and programs in conjunction with ALA Annual 2021 Virtual

GODORT Sessions during ALA Annual 2021

NOTE: Registration for ALA Annual is required to attend the following sessions.

GODORT Juried Panel | COVID's Uneven Impact 

Thursday, June 24, 2021 | 10:15-11:15 PM PST | 11:15-12:15 PM MST | 12:15-1:15 PM CST | 1:15-2:15 PM EST

Events Scheduler: https://www.eventscribe.net/2021/ALA-Annual/fsPopup.asp?Mode=presInfo&PresentationID=872157

COVID-19 has disproportionately affected communities of color. Health disparities, environmental injustices, and access to resources impact the effects COVID has on these communities. This program will explore data and service gaps in these communities and ways that libraries can assist.

Panelists include:

  • Dr. Cassandra Logan, U.S. Census Bureau
  • Dr. Preetha Iyengar, DC Health
  • Dr. John Krueger, Undersecretary for the Chickasaw National Department of Health
  • Liza Weisbrod, Auburn University -- Panel Moderator

GODORT 101

Friday, June 25, 2021 | 12:15-1:15 PM PT | 1:15-2:15 PM MT | 2:15-3:15 PM CT | 3:15-4:15 PM ET

Events Scheduler: https://www.eventscribe.net/2021/ALA-Annual/fsPopup.asp?Mode=presInfo&PresentationID=891410

Come learn about the ALA Government Documents Round Table and how to get involved. We will follow with a discussion on learning more about government information. Come let us know how we can serve you!

GODORT Chairs Program | Eviction Crisis

Saturday, June 26, 2021 | 11:30-12:30 PM PT | 12:30-1:30 PM MT | 1:30-2:30 PM CT | 2:30-3:30 PM ET

Research Guide: https://godort.libguides.com/evictionscrisis

Events Scheduler: https://www.eventscribe.net/2021/ALA-Annual/fsPopup.asp?Mode=presInfo&PresentationID=891411

This panel will provide insight into some of the major issues related to evictions and tenants’ rights as well as the legal and policy landscape. In addition, it will provide resources for libraries to use to help inform their patrons. Our goal with this panel is to bring together a range of national and local voices in anti-eviction efforts and representatives who work with these communities.

The panelists are:

  • Deborah Thrope, National Housing Law Project
  • Sharon Sherman, Greater Syracuse Tenants Network
  • Kim Morrell, LawNY