LibGuides: 2025 Presidential Transition: Previous Presidential Transitions

Intro

This page is not currently being developed.

At this point, it includes resources found while working on Friday Chat for Feb. 7, 2025

Perhaps, in the future, there can be a volunteer collaborative project on presidential transitions in general as well as specific administrations.

Archived Presidential White House Websites
NARA site: "White House websites are Presidential records. The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in our Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive. In order for the public to easily access the websites, the National Archives has taken an additional step to "freeze" the White House websites and make them available online. Because the archived websites are hosted by the National Archives and are historical material, they are no longer updated. Any broken links (internal or external) will not be updated."

Trackers

Climate Reregulation Tracker
Site: "he Climate Reregulation Tracker identifies steps taken by the Biden-Harris administration to reinstate and expand federal climate mitigation and adaptation measures that were rolled back or eliminated in the preceding four years, as well as new policies to address previously unregulated areas of climate law. The tracker is linked to our database of climate change regulations, related news, and our two other climate regulation trackers: the Climate Deregulation Tracker covering the first Trump administration and the Climate Backtracker covering the second Trump administration."
Inflation Reduction Act Tracker
Site: "IRATracker.org is a joint project of Columbia Law School’s Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and Environmental Defense Fund. The IRA Database, linked below, compiles information about the climate change-related provisions of the 2022 Inflation Reduction Act (IRA). Actions taken by federal agencies to implement those provisions are recorded in the IRA Tracker. For tips on using the Database and Tracker, visit the About page."
Federal Environmental Web Tracker
“From January 2017 to 2021, EDGI’s website monitoring team monitored thousands of federal government webpages to track changes under the first Trump administration. This tracker is a collection of documented changes to environment-related federal webpages that the team deemed noteworthy.”
Azimuth Climate Data Backup Project
Site: "From 2016 to 2018 we backed up up 30 terabytes of US government databases on climate change and the environment, saving it from the threat of a government run by climate change deniers. 627 people contributed a total of $20,427 to our project on Kickstarter to pay for storage space and a server. The project is done now, with the data stored in a secret location."
Silencing Science Tracker
Site: "The Silencing Science Tracker is a joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. It tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information, since the November 2016 election."
more...less...
"The tracker does not include federal legislative proposals affecting scientific research, education, or discussion. State-level proposals are included, however."
Tracking Trump’s Conflicts of Interest
Sunlight Foundation: "Sunlight’s “Tracking Trump’s Conflicts of Interest” project provides a free, searchable database detailing President Donald J. Trump’s known business dealings and personal interests that may conflict with his public duties as President of the United States. The project also documents news coverage of these potential conflicts. Read our reporting to stay current on related news, explore our database, and learn more about the project."
Attacks on Science
Union of Concerned Scientists
Published Jan 20, 2017 Updated Jan 31, 2025
U.S. Climate Regulation Database
Site: "This is a database of climate change-related regulations, guidance, and other policy documents issued by federal agencies since the start of the Obama administration in January 2009. The database includes links to proposed and final regulations as well as technical support documents, regulatory impact analyses, agency guidance, and other relevant resources."
more...less...
"This database includes steps taken to address the causes and impacts of climate change, as well as attempts to roll back or undo such actions. Our Climate Deregulation Tracker provides additional information about the first Trump administration’s efforts to weaken climate policies adopted during the Obama administration. Our Climate Reregulation Tracker includes a detailed list of actions taken by the Biden administration to advance action on climate change mitigation and adaptation. The Climate Backtracker records actions taken by the second Trump administration's to, again, weaken or eliminate climate protections."
Climate Deregulation Tracker
Site: "The Climate Deregulation Tracker identified steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or wholly eliminate federal climate mitigation and adaptation measures. The tracker is linked to our database of climate change regulations and our two other climate regulation trackers: the Climate Reregulation Tracker covering the Biden administration and the Climate Backtracker covering the second Trump administration"

Articles

Sidelining Science Since Day One. How the Trump Administration Has Harmed Public Health and Safety in its First Six Months
Published Jul 13, 2017 Union of Concerned Scientists
Includes a section "What Can We Do"
The State of Science in the Trump Era. Damage Done, Lessons Learned, and a Path to Progress
Jacob Carter, Emily Berman, Anita Desikan, Charise Johnson, Gretchen Goldman. Published Jan 23, 2019, Union of Concerned Scientists. Includes Fact Sheets, Timeline, and other helpful information.