LibGuides: 2025 Presidential Transition: Resources

Resources for Archived Sites

Call to arms: What government information librarians can do to help save critical federal information from being lost
By James R. Jacobs in post on February 5, 2025. Free Government Information
End of Term Web Archive
Site: "The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020."
End of Term Web Archive Partners
Data Rescue Efforts
IASSIST (and partners) data rescue efforts - Lynda Kellam's google doc on notes for a data organization meeting preserving
Data Rescue Project
Purged Federal Agency Data Available on PolicyMap
Democracy's Library Internet Archive
Site: "Democracy's Library brings together more than 700 collections from over 50 government organizations, archived by the Internet Archive since 2006. With more than half a million documents (and counting) from local, regional, and national governments, we're just getting started!"
WayBack Machine - Internet Archive
Economic Justice Screening Tool - Unofficial
Site: "This is an unofficial copy of the CEJST Tool. We are working on an overhaul, but in the meantime some links and text may incorrectly suggest that this site is affiliated with the US Government."
Public Environmental Data Partners
Site: "The Public Environmental Data Partners are committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data. We are a volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work."
Government Information Data Rescue
American University: "Links to trusted repositories that have rescued U.S. government data. Below is a concise guide to help you locate US federal government data that may have been removed or redacted following the Presidential Executive Orders that went into effect on January 31, 2025. Please note that this guide only covers how to find removed information."
Why EDGI is Archiving Public Environmental Data
By EDGI Comms January 16, 2025
Blog (Environmental Data and Governance Initiative)
Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool
The Public Environmental Data Partners site: "This is Version 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Although the tool remains unchanged, public access through the White House was discontinued on January 22, 2025. We re-created Version 2 and made it publicly accessible."
Harvard Dataverse
CDC.Gov Archive Index
Site: "links to the Internet Archive's most recent mirrored versions of every public-facing web page on the Centers for Disease Control website prior to content being purged"
CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025 - Internet Archive
Site: "An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible."

Sites for Tracking

Government Information: Eliminated, Suspended, Etc.
Site: "Tracks the Trump's Administration of government U.S. Federal information." By Ben Amata
U.S. Government Information: Trump Trackers
UC San Diego "These tools may be helpful in keeping track of the many changes being made by the Trump administration."
Litigation Tracker: Legal Challenges to Trump Administration Actions
From Just Security: "This public resource tracks legal challenges to Trump administration actions" "The Tracker is part of the Collection: Just Security’s Coverage of the Trump Administration’s Executive Actions"
Silencing Science Tracker
Site: "The Silencing Science Tracker is a joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. It tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education or discussion, or the publication or use of scientific information, since the November 2016 election."
more...less...
"The tracker does not include federal legislative proposals affecting scientific research, education, or discussion. State-level proposals are included, however."
Climate Backtracker
Site: "The Climate Backtracker identifies steps taken by the Trump-Vance administration to scale back or wholly eliminate federal climate mitigation and adaptation measures. The tracker is linked to our database of climate change regulations, related news, and two previous climate regulation trackers: the Climate Deregulation Tracker covering the first Trump administration and the Climate Reregulation Tracker covering the Biden administration."
Project 2025 Executive Action Tracker
Site: "The Center for Progressive Reform and Governing for Impact are monitoring the Trump administration’s implementation of Project 2025, tracking the authoritarian blueprint’s executive action proposals across 20 federal agencies."

Federal Websites
list of federal websites that were missing on date checked. WayBack Machine URL included for most - as well as sites with content that may disappear.

Additional Resources

Free Government Information (FGI)
Site: "OUR MISSION. Free Government Information (FGI) — ISSN 2377-0910 — is a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information. FGI promotes free government information through collaboration, education, advocacy and research."
Digital Federal Depository Library Program LOCKSS
Site: "The Digital Federal Depository Library Program provides decentralized and distributed preservation of documents published by the U.S. Federal Government."
more...less...
The Digital Federal Depository Library Program, or the “USDocs” LOCKSS network, replicates key aspects of the United States Federal Depository Library Program. The content is held in geographically-distributed sites and replicated many times. Citizens have oversight and responsibility for the long-term care and maintenance of the content. All of these characteristics mean that the content will be preserved so that any alteration of the content (either deliberate or accidental) will be detected and repaired. For all documents, preservation in a tamper-evident environment is important, but for government documents, this is essential.
IPUMS
Site: "IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge."
Attacks on Science
Union of Concerned Scientists
Published Jan 20, 2017 Updated Jan 31, 2025
Open Environmental Data Project
Sidelining Science Since Day One. How the Trump Administration Has Harmed Public Health and Safety in its First Six Months
Published Jul 13, 2017 Union of Concerned Scientists
Includes a section "What Can We Do"
Governing for Impact

Other Guides

Some resources gleaned from GovDoc-L & PPIRS listservs, as well as other sources.

Searching the listservs' archives may reveal others that were missed.

Federal Government Information After the 2025 Transition
Kelly L. Smith's guide at UC San Diego Library.
Government Information Data Rescue
American University: "Links to trusted repositories that have rescued U.S. government data. Below is a concise guide to help you locate US federal government data that may have been removed or redacted following the Presidential Executive Orders that went into effect on January 31, 2025. Please note that this guide only covers how to find removed information."