LibGuides: Agriculture & Food Sources in State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

The Document Specialists for the states listed below have indicated their state has one or more databases in this subject area. If a state is not listed below it means we do not know of any searchable databases produced by that state government on this subject.

If you know of other state-produced databases in this subject, please use the "email me" link in the "Project Coordinator" box at the left to drop us a line.

Return to the main State Agency Databases Project home page.

Alabama

Search Commercial Pesticide Applicators - Alabama
Search by last name, certification number, category, county, or expiration date.
Search Private Pesticide Applicators - Alabama
Search by last name, certification number, county, or expiration date.

Alaska

Fish & Aquaculture

Alaska Freshwater Fish Inventory (AFFI)
From the website, "The Fish Resource Monitor displays an interactive map of sample site locations where fish species have been collected or observed combined with USGS base maps, aerial photos, communities, roads, streams. The Alaska Freshwater Fish Inventory (AFFI) data sets are provided for general reference and to aid users in generating various natural resource analyses and products. Interactive mapping provides you with the ability to create custom maps by zooming in and out to an area of interest, selecting features of interest, searching for specific locations or species, and viewing detailed reports."
Alaska Seafood Recipes
Searchable set of recipes utilizing salmon, halibut, crab and other Alaskan seafood. May be searched by type of dish (appetizer, salad, entree, etc), Seafood type, and consumer/food service.
Alaska Sport Fishing Survey
From the website, "The Sport Fish Division has conducted a mail survey to estimate sport fishing total harvest (fish kept) since 1977 and total catch (fish kept plus fish released) since 1990. The estimates derived from this survey are available online through this application for study years 1996 through 2015." Data available include number of anglers in a given area.
Anadromous Waters Catalog
Interactive map. From the website, "The Catalog of Waters Important for the Spawning, Rearing or Migration of Anadromous Fishes and its associated Atlas (the Catalog and Atlas, respectively) currently contain over 19,000 streams, rivers or lakes around the state which have been specified as being important for the spawning, rearing or migration of anadromous fish. Based upon thorough surveys of a few drainages it is believed that this number represents less than 50% of the streams, rivers and lakes actually used by anadromous species. It is estimated that at least an additional 20,000 or more anadromous water bodies have not been identified or specified under AS 16.05.871(a)."
AYK Salmon Database Management System
From the website, " The ADF&G, Division of Commercial Fisheries, Arctic-Yukon-Kuskokwim (AYK) Region has created a salmon database management system (DBMS) for public use. The goal of this system is to provide managers, researchers, and the public involved in salmon fisheries in the AYK Region with a system to enter and process new data, as well as to retrieve historical data. The AYK salmon DBMS provides access to AYK project descriptions, biological measurements of age, sex, and length, escapement data, and Norton Sound test fisheries data through this internet site. The website also includes a demonstration of extraction and reporting of subsistence and commercial harvest data for Norton Sound only."
Fish Count Database
The department counts the numbers of migrating fish, primarily salmon, using weirs, sonars and counting towers in a number of streams throughout Alaska. Searchable by location, species and year using drop-down menus. Information is presented in tables and graphs.
Fishing and Subsistence Publications Searchable Database
From the web site, "This page allows you to search all of the reports and publications published in the scientific and technical reporting series by ADF&G's Commercial Fisheries, Sport Fish, and Subsistence divisions. There are three approaches you can use for searching these publications - The first two search through data fields in our publications database and the third will search through the text of the PDF documents themselves. Each method offers distinct advantages - roll the cursor over each search type to find out more!"
Permit/Vessel Database
This Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission database allows you to get information on fishing vessels working in Alaska as well as fishing permit holders. The database can be searched in many ways including by company/fisher name, home port zip code, vessel name, type of fishery and more. Data is also available as CSV downloads.

Arkansas

Commodity Charts & News
Commodity and marketing data from the Arkansas Farm Bureau.

California

California Stone Fruit Research Database
A keyword-searchable archive of research reports concerning the California stone fruit industry from 1939 to 2010, created by the Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of California. The research encompassed a wide range of production topics, from cultivar development to postharvest treatment. Annual reports from 1980 to 2011 are currently available.
Consortium of California Herbaria (CCH)
Looking for a plant specimen in California? This database allows you to search the collections of all the major botanical gardens and herbaria in the state, from the California Academy of Sciences to Yosemite National Park. Searchable by scientific name, location, county, and geographic region; you can narrow the search by type of plant, date collected, the name of the collector, the name of the herbarium where the plant ended up, and other criteria. Records from the California Floristic Province portion of Baja California, Mexico are also included. The database includes over 2 million specimen records from 35 institutions.
more...less...
This database is currently hosted by the University and Jepson Herbaria of the University of California at Berkeley; it was funded and created by the California Digital Library, the National Science Foundation, the USDA Forest Service, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Global Biodiversity Information Facility, and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Ecosystem Services Database
Ecosystem Services in agriculture is the defined as the multiple benefits gained from farming and ranching, including crop and livestock production. The information contained in this database is collected from farm and ranch websites and online case studies, updated annually by the Department of Food and Agriculture. The database is designed to show the many social and environmental benefits offered by growers and ranches in California, including food production. The database can be searched by keyword and many categories, such as recreation or conservation, as well as through an interactive map.
Fertilizer Research and Education Program (FREP)
Produced by the Inspection Services Division of the Department of Food and Agriculture, FREP funds and coordinates research to advance the environmentally safe and agronomically sound use of fertilizer materials. This database consolidates access to the wealth of information contained in this research. Searchable by keyword, the name of the crop, county, and the date range going back to 1990.
Important Farmland Data Availability
Pulldown menus lead to data and maps on farmland conversion in California, produced by the Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP) of the Department of Conservation. County data are available from 1984 to the present (with some back to 1982); regional and statewide data can be accessed back to 1992.
Nemaplex
The NEMAtode-PLant EXpert Information System (NEMAPLEX) is a virtual encyclopedia on soil and plant nematodes. This unusual database provides information on individual plant nematode species and files on their management, ecology and tools for selecting cover crops and making economic threshold decisions.
more...less...
Nemaplex is developed and maintained by the Department of Entomology and Nematology at the University of California, Davis.
Orpha Online Library Catalogue
The online catalogue for the library of the Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics at the University of California, Berkeley, Orpha lists materials acquired since 1987, and also includes thousands of links to web accessible materials in Agricultural and Environmental Economics studies.
more...less...
Produced by the UC Berkeley Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Policy. The catalogue is occasionally offline.
Weed Identification Key
Use this database of images to identify weed species, especially the most common weeds found in California lawns. Because flowering parts are often mowed and not seen in turf, this key was developed using vegetative characteristics. The key goes from general to specific images of the plants; work through the key until you get to a summary page of your weed. The summary pages include control methods. There are related keys for invasive ants, aphids and other pests.
more...less...
Produced by the statewide Integrated Pest Management (IPM) program for the University of California's Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Colorado

Brand Search
Use the "BrandAbetical" database to search active livestock brands in Colorado
Colorado Market Maker
Provides names, addresses and contact information for companies producing or using agricultural products in Colorado. Search by business type, product, city or county, company name, and market segment.
Colorado Product Search
Find Colorado grown, raised, or made products (Colorado Proud)
Licensed Seed Dealer Search
Search by business name, city, county or zip code
Pesticide Applicator Search
This resource from the Colorado Department of Agriculture provides a search for Qualified Supervisors, Certified Operators and Private Applicators Licenses, Commercial Applicators Licenses, and Limited Commercial and Public Applicator Registrations.

Connecticut

UConn Plant Database
Hosted by the University of Connecticut’s College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources, this database is “dedicated to the ornamental attributes, appropriate use, and identification of woody landscape plants.” Plants are searchable by common or scientific names, as well as by many traits, such as size, hardiness, color, texture, flowering period, and soil pH.

Delaware

Locations Directory
Locate Delaware Fresh (farm markets and vendors); Delaware Polling Places; Delaware Recycling; Delaware What's On (arts); Delaware Libraries; and Delaware Tourism by location.

Florida

Licensed Dealers by Commodity
Licensed dealers for agricultural commodities: eggs & milk, fruits & vegetables, grain & field crops, hay, honey, livestock, nursery products & flowers, poultry, saw palmetto, sod, tropical foliage, and watermelon.

Hawaii

Farmer's Markets
Searchable database of farmer’s markets throughout the state.
Hawai‘i Agriculture & Food Products Database
Find a specific producer or product (i.e. Dole), or just browse the listings by category to view the large variety of products Hawai‘i has to offer. You can search by business type, specific services, by a specific island, and more. Each result gives you the company’s details, including contact information, a website, types of services, markets, and products.
Seals of Quality
Dataset of Hawaiʻi-grown or made products that have received the Seal of Quality certification.

Illinois

AgriHapperings
The Illinois Department of Agriculture along with the Illinois Specialty Growers associations are very pleased with the number of Illinois producers that have signed-up to participate in the ILLINOIS “ WHERE FRESH IS” logo program. This program is made available to producers to use as a tool to help sell Illinois grown produce, fruits and other horticulture commodities.

Iowa

Farming

The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship maintains a list of searchable directories at http://www.iowaagriculture.gov/.

Iowa Century and Heritage Farm Directory
The Iowa Century Farm program recognizes owners and families that have owned farm land for over a century. Heritage Farms acknowledge farm lands owned for 150 years. The directory can be limited by name, city and county.
Licensed Businesses & Ag Directories
A comprehensive portal of businesses licensed through the Iowa Department of Agriculture. Basic directory searches by business name or county are included for animal and livestock, grains and other crops, fertilizer dealers, and nursery and seed sellers.
Iowa Farm to School Producer Directory
A collaboration between the Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and the Department of Education, this program aims to connect farmers to schools for nutritional and educational activities. This directory can be searched by product, growing method, and county.
Iowa Fruit and Vegetable Growers Directory
Maintained by the Ag Diversification and Market Development Bureau, this database can be searched by type of fruit grower, business name, city and county.
Meat and Poultry Inspection Bureau - Licensed Plants
Search for licensed meat and poultry plants by county, city, name or class. Results include basic contact information and description of state or federal classification.

Kansas

Farming

Department of Agriculture Food Safety and Lodging Inspection Results
Searchable by establishment name, location, date, and in/out of compliance
Kansas Farm Facts
Facts and statistics about crops, livestock and economics.

Maine

The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP) Search
Search for food assistance by county or town.

Maryland

Certified Pesticide Applicators Database
One can search this database by applicator last name, certified applicator number, category, or search for an applicator in your area.
Find Products from Maryland Farmers
One can search for farm products ranging from cut flowers to seafood, and where are the farmers market located in your area, to vender list of a farmer’s market.
Maryland Department of Agriculture Business License Database
The business license database can be searched by business license number, company name or business license category.
Maryland Seafood
One can search about a specific interest of a seafood, or where are the oyster aquaculture facilities in the State of Maryland by using an ArcGIS application.
Pesticide Database
The pesticide database can be searched by company name and company ID; product name and product EPA ID; by pest, by site,by pesticide type and formulation type; by active ingredient and by restricted use (RUP). It can also be searched using multiple criteria.
Restricted Use Pesticide Dealers Database
This database can be searched dealer name or license number, or search for a dealer in your area.
Waste Kitchen Grease Transporters Search
From the website, "Search here for certified transporters of waste kitchen grease. You may search by the type of certificate, the name of the company registered, or the license plate of the vehicle registered."

Massachusetts

Farming

MassGrown Map
An interactive map with a variety of search options to Massachusetts-grown farm products and agricultural activities.

Michigan

Michigan Farm Run
This is a guide to farm markets, u-pick farms and agro-tourism opportunities. You can search by farm name, crop, county or region. There are separate listings for community or municipally sponsored farmers markets and cider mills.
Michigan Nursery Stock Growers and Dealers (Nurseries)
This is a list of licensed individuals and businesses engaged in selling nursery stock or herbaceous perennials licensed in the state of Michigan. It is searchable by name, city, county or zip code.
Summer Food Service Program
Welcome to the Michigan Department of Education’s Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) site locator. The SFSP was created to ensure that children in lower-income areas could continue to receive nutritious meals during long school vacations, when they do not have access to the National School Lunch or School Breakfast Programs. Use the SFSP site locator to find a SFSP site near you.

Mississippi

Agriculture Resources
Includes some federal information, but Mississippi-specific links include catfish processing report, cattle prices, and grain prices.

Missouri

Licensed Grain Dealer/Warehouse Database
Searchable by company name, manager name, address, zip code, phone number, or county.
Nursery Grower/Dealer Search
This database of certified Missouri nursery growers and dealers is searchable by dealer name, county, business type, or stock type. This listing of stock codes can be useful when searching. For more information on certified nurseries and dealers, see the MO Department of Agriculture's page on Nurseries & Greenhouses.
Pesticide Business/Applicators Search
Search for certified pesticide applicators by applicator name, company name, certified applicator number, location or category.
Pesticide Recertification Course Locator
Search for pesticide recertification courses among US states and territories.
Agricultural Chemical Applications Map
Build your own map by year (2007, 2012, or 2017) to see chemical usage across Missouri.

Farming

Hay Directory
Search for hay by county, type of hay, and bale type both in and outside of Missouri.
Missouri Grown
Search or browse for consumer products grown by AgriMissouri members in the state of MO. Only AgriMissouri members are listed, so it does not include all MO agriculturally-related businesses.
Missouri Grown Locator
Find local and fresh food, products and businesses around Missouri, including baked goods, fruits and vegetables, meat, dairy and eggs, and much more.

Livestock & Aquaculture

Aquaculture Directory
Search for aquaculture products by category, company, species, or county.
Missouri Livestock Brand Book
Search for livestock brands used in Missouri

Food Assistance

Commodity Supplemental Food Sites Interactive Map
The Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) works to improve the health of low-income persons at least 60 years of age by supplementing their diets with nutritious USDA Foods.
Summer Food Sites Interactive Maps
Displays sites participating in the Summer Food Program, providing access to nutritious meals and snacks for children when school is not in session. Includes days, times and dates of service.

Montana

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service. Montana Field Office supplies state and county level data.

Livestock Per Capita Fees and Census Data
Includes goats, swine, bees, llamas, alpacas, poultry, bison, mules, horses, sheep, etc.
Pesticide Brand Search
Search by brand name, EPA registration number product type and other information.
Montana Brand Book
Lists registered brands by county.
Search Licensed Pesticide Applicators
Search by name, business name, and location.

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Agriculture
The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) encourages and promotes the interests of agriculture through advocacy and education. In addition, NDA regulates the agriculture industry to ensure the health and safety of all Nebraskans.
Animal & Plant Health Protection
Animal and Plant Health Protection (APHP) is mandated by specific program statutes to meet the needs of those being regulated and protected by those statutes and accompanying regulations ~ vested with the power to, and charged with the duties of, protecting both general livestock and plant health, and thus maintaining commerce opportunities for Nebraska products. Ongoing surveillance, testing, certification, outreach, tracing, inspecting, and eradication efforts are some of the regulatory duties charged to APHP.
Food Safety & Consumer Protection
Mission Statement: To implement and enforce the sanitation and quality standards relative to the dairy and food industry through service, education, and regulation. To protect the integrity of commercial measurements through certification of weighing and measuring equipment.
Agricultural Laboratories
The Agricultural Laboratories Focus Area provides testing services for the various regulatory Focus Areas within the Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) by performing chemical, physical, bacteriological, and microscopical analyses on submitted samples. Samples are submitted by NDA inspectors for routine analysis as well as part of regulatory investigations.
Nebraska Agriculture Development Directories
Search for everything from Cattle to Farmer's Market locations.

Nevada

Certified Applicators of Restricted-use Pesticides
Search for a certified restricted-use pesticide applicator by location, last name, certification number or certification category.
Nevada Agricultural Publications
This collection includes more than 1000 full-text publications, primarily from the Nevada Agricultural Experiment Station and Nevada Cooperative Extension, highlighting the history of agriculture in Nevada. 1888-present.

New Jersey

Farming

Department of Agriculture Photographs
Indexes more than 7,000 photographs, and displays more than 2,000, showing all aspects of farming, including events and celebrations, organizations, people, corporations, and more. These Department of Agriculture public information photographs range in date from the 1930s to the 1970s with a few items from as early as the 1880s.
Find Jersey Fresh
Searchable directory of community farmers markets, roadside markets, and places to pick your own fruits or vegetables.

Fish & Aquaculture

Seafood Product Search
Select a product (e.g., freshwater fish or marine fish) and then select a specific fish or seafood.
Seafood Suppliers Information Search
Search for suppliers, exporters, importers and brokers.

New Mexico

Weed Identification Tool
Use different categories to determine the identity of different weeds.
Lookup Corporations
Enter a New Mexico Entity Name (Corporation, Limited Liability Company (LLC) Name or a valid Entity ID and click on Search. When both Entity ID and the Entity Name are entered the Entity ID takes priority.

New York

Wineries, Breweries and Distilleries
Thirsty? Search for licensed wineries, breweries and distilleries all over New York. Use the box on your right to filter your search or search within the dataset using the search bar.
Retail Food Stores
Search for Retail food stores in New York. Search by county, license number, operation type, establishment type or name. Search within the database by typing into the search bar.

North Dakota

North Dakota Bee Map
"The North Dakota Department of Agriculture created this interactive map as a modern tool to assist with communication and efficiencies for landowners, beekeepers and pesticide applicators. The ND Bee Map allows the public to view North Dakota apiary locations, as well as other sensitive areas such as orchards and vineyards."

Ohio

Food Recalls Database
List of recalls back to 2007. Use the drop down menus to narrow your search.
Ohio Agricultural Statistics
Statistics from the Ohio Office of USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service. Find state and county level crop and livestock statistics.

Oklahoma

Made in Oklahoma
Search for products made in Oklahoma and search for retailers where you can purchase them. Maintained by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry.
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry Form Search
Search license,permits, applications, and submitable forms by keyword or search for forms by division.

Oregon

All Ag Databases
Narrow searches by specific data sets: Oregon Products Database, Available Livestock Brands, Oregon Veterinarians and Clinics, Wholesale Seed Dealer licenses, Agricultural Resources Directory, Pesticide Related Licenses, and Nursery and Christmas Tree Licenses.

Fish & Aquaculture

StreamNet Library Catalog
The Library provides access to technical information and research on the Columbia River basin fisheries, ecosystems and other relevant subjects for states in the Pacific Northwest.
Water Rights Mapping Tool
Browse by basin, search for a township, or search for an application for water rights. - other pertinent information such as ground water limited areas, watermaster districts, and water availability basins.

Pennsylvania

Agricultural Online Services
different list of agricultural services in Pennsylvania from Organic Growers to dog kennels
Agricultural Statistics
agricultural statistics of PA (in cooporation with USDA)

South Carolina

South Carolina Market Maker
Designed to help connect markets and quality sources of food from "farm and fisheries to fork" in South Carolina. Features both market-demographic research and extensive listings of producers.
Where to Buy Local
Search to find markets and farms.

South Dakota

Animal Remedy Product Search
Before an animal remedy is distributed in South Dakota, it must be registered with the Agriculture Department, by the manufacturer or by the person responsible for distributing it.
Commercial Feed/Fertilizer Licenses in South Dakota
It is unlawful for any person to manufacture, or distribute as guarantor, commercial feed in the state without first obtaining a license to do so from the SD Department of Agriculture.
Nursery Certificates in South Dakota
Before any person accepts shipment of any nursery stock, decorative plant, annual plant or sod which is intended for resale or redistribution, the shipment must have a valid certificate showing that the contents have been inspected by an official state or federal inspector.
Seed Certificates in SD
Before selling, distributing, advertising, soliciting orders for, offering for sale, exposing for sale, or transporting seed, a person must obtain a seed permit from the Department of Agriculture.

Tennessee

Farming

Online Pesticide System
Search for information on pesticide products, applicators, plant & nursery dealers, and other related items and services that are regulated by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Tennessee Ag Statistics
From the USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Tennessee Field Office.

Texas

The National Pesticide Information Retrieval System (NPIRS) for Texas.
Search this database to determine which products have been designated as regulated herbicides or state-limited-use pesticides. When search enter EPA numbers with hyphens.

Utah

Brand/Earmark Registration Renewal and Lookup
Search for brands or earmarks by brand number, owner last name, owner first name, image number, letters in the brand image, zip code, and county name. This database is maintained by the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food.
Licensing Database
Search for agricultural licenses by license type, license number, last name, business name, city, and county. Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. This database is maintained by the Utah Department of Food and Agriculture.
Product Registration (Feed, Fertilizer, Pesticide)
Search for registered feed, fertilizer, and pesticide products by customer number, registrant, city, zip code, product name, guaranteed analysis, and EPA registration number. This database is maintained by the Utah Department of Food and Agriculture.

Vermont

Nursery/Dealer Search (VT Agency of Agriculture)
Searchable by name, county, business type, operation type, and stock type.

Virginia

Buy Virginia Grown
Search for CSAs, farms, farmers' markets, etc. and further refine by product and location. Map below search box offers resources by region.

Washington

Fertilizer Product Database
Database of fertilizer products currently registered for distribution in Washington. Two major pieces of information in the database are the nutrient guarantees and the levels of nine heavy metals (arsenic, cadmium, cobalt, mercury, molybdenum, lead, nickel, selenium, and zinc) found in the product and for which the state has developed soil loading standards.
Washington State Noxious Weed General Distribution Maps
Select from a list of know noxious weeds in the state to see a map of infestation levels in Washington counties.
Interactive Online Crop Location Map
An agricultural land use geodatabase to assess the effects of agricultural production on Washington's natural resources. The geodatabase can store, query, and manipulate geographic information and spatial data used to identify agriculture land use in state.
Pesticide and SPI Licensing Search
Search for pesticide or structural pest inspectors licensed in the state of Washington.