History, People & Culture Sources in State Agency Databases

Search the 131 volumes of the 1867 Voter Registration Records, which was one of the first statewide government documents that record African-American males living in Alabama. Search by name, race, county, or comments.

Search by denomination or county.

Search Civil War service records by name, branch, company unit, regiment unit, or co. unit name.

Browse or search through over 30 digital collections. Contains photographs, documents, audio, and video material drawn from the vast holdings of the Alabama Deptment of Archives and History.

Search maps available via the website of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama.

Search executive orders issued by Alabama Governors from 1943 (Gov. Chauncey Sparks) to 2015 (Gov. Robert Bentley).

This collection contains the 119 issues of the Alabama Historical Quarterly published by the Alabama Department of Archives and History in 1930 and between 1940 and 1982.

Searchable guide to records from local, county and municipal offices, such as the probate office, tax assessor, and orphan's court. Most of the original records remain in the originating office. Search by county, record type, or creating office.

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials from 1850-2000 on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Search Alabama newspapers available on microfilm from the ADAH. Search by county, title, or newspaper type.

Search Alabama service people who died during the WWI or who had been awarded distinguished service recognition. Search by name, branch of service, regiment/unit, race, town, or county.

Search for bound newspapers available from the ADAH. Search by county, title, or newspaper type.

From agency description, "Use this site to search case files for state and BLM land. Summary records include all current data and case abstracts include historical data."

Search types include: Plat Search, Name Search, Survey Search, Date Search, MTRS Search, Document Number Search, Subdivision Name Search, Document Type Search, No Plat Subdivision, Book and Page Search, and Document input & Unverified Status.

Index to journals, magazines and newsletters relating to Alaska and the Earth's polar regions. Coverage goes back decades. Results show availability in University of Alaska Fairbanks Rassmuson Library, but many articles are available elsewhere or through interlibrary loan.

Multiagency database managed by the University of Alaska Anchorage. Rich collection of media including photographs, video, and audio.

NOTE 7/10/24: This page links to the landing page before the search which indicates a catalog migration is in progress.

Keyword searchable catalog of state and territorial records held by the Alaska State Archives.

Alaska State Library's portal to the multi-library Joint Libray Catalog. Bibliographic access to over two million items system wide.

Institutional repository for theses, dissertations and other research by University of Alaska Students and Faculty. May be searched or browsed by campus, issue date, author, subject, titles or type of resource.

Indexing for a number of Fairbanks Newspapers from 1900-1975 and for the Juneau Empire for 1992-1999. Searchable by headline and year for all newspapers. Juneau Empire may also be searched by reporter or abstract.

Database is maintained by Library of Congress, but the Alaska State Library digitized the Alaskan newspapers available there. Full text searchable or browse by newspaper title.

Over 100,000 entries covering mentions of people in the Library's collection of books, newspaper articles, periodicals, obituaries and vertical files.

Database of images of publicly accessible birth and death certificates issued in Arizona. Birth coverage currently (1887 - 1931 ) and Death coverage currently (1878 - 1956 ). Searchable by name, years and county. Search results indicate birth and death dates when known as well as parents. All this for free. Great for genealogists.

Search historic Arizona newspapers. Newspapers are browsable by title and county.

Search for libraries in the state of Arizona. Includes Google Map of libraries that can be filtered by library type.

Photographs, documents, artifacts and more available from a *number of AZ cultural institutions. Searchable by keyword with limit to a specific collection. A RSS feed of newly added items is available.

Photography collection from the combined collections of the Arizona Offices of Tourism, Arizona State Museum, and Arizona State Parks.

The State And Local Arizona Documents (SALAD) collection contains documents published by the State of Arizona, its Counties, incorporated Cities or Towns, or affiliated Councils of Government; documents produced under the auspices of a state or local agency, board, commission or department, including reports made to these units; and Salt River Project, a licensed municipality. Digital documents are searchable by keyword or through ASU Libraries Catalog.

From UA News, "The Indigenous Governance Database, recently launched by the UA’s Native Nations Institute for Leadership, Management and Policy, pulls together in one central location articles, case studies, videos and other resources focused on governance, sovereignty, leadership, and sustainable economic and community development." The database may be searched by keywords, resource type (books, case studies, films, etc), Format type (text, audio, video), Topic (civics, education, laws & code, etc), Native Nation (organized by state, then tribal organization). Keywords MUST be entered. A two minute demo video is available

Searchable database of public domain MIDI files from the following genres - Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, International Folk and Ethnic, Colonial American, and Pop Standards. Searchable by composer name, file title, nationality, genre, tempo (fast, moderate or slow) and by keywords. Some items also have public domain sheet music.

Searchable by name, region, and county.

You can learn about many of Arkansas' beautiful communities and the counties or even the regions in which they are located. If you know the name of the community, you can search by name or even part of a name. Hosted by the Arkansas Economic Development Commission.

Search or browse digitized documents, visuals, maps, broadsides, pamphlets, and three-dimensional objects significant to Arkansas history and culture.

Search historic districts by resource number, name, district, address, contributing, and construction year.

Searchable by county, city, name and description.

Search or browse one of five online digital collections: Arkansas Digital State Publications Collection containing state government documents, Arkansas Proclamations and Executive Orders, Arkansas Rules and Regulations, Legislative Audit Reports Digital Publications, and Medicaid Rules and Regulations.

Search by subject, county, location, city, year dedicated, and sponsoring organization.

Searchable by county, city, name and description.

The California State Archives collection is composed of records from California state agencies, the governor's office, the state legislature, the State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal, organized under the name of the agency or office that transferred the records to the Archives. The collections also include some private papers that have been donated to the Archives. Minerva provides access to summary descriptions of the California State Archives. Within more than 300 million items in the collection are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.

This database contains more than 50,000 references to California people, places, events, and subjects.

Find books, legal materials, journals, photographs, manuscripts, maps, videos, audio books and more in the collections of the California State Library, including the Sutro Library in San Francisco.

Useful for a variety of purposes from determining historic business information to tracking an ancestor, most of our directories are not online. However, we do list what directories we have in our various databases.

The Gladding McBean Company manufactured decorative terra cotta architectural elements at its factory in Lincoln, California from 1888 to 1966. This database is an index to over 6,500 of their job files, searchable by location, the building name, and the architect.

Similar to city directories, phone directories can be used to identify where an ancestor was at a certain time, which is especially useful when tracking movement in between the census years (i.e. every 10 years). The bulk of the Sutro Library’s telephone directories exist on microfiche and cover more recent years from 1970s – 2000s. This database includes information on the title of the directory (often the city or county is represented here), year of publication, type (yellow or white pages), and some entries include a notes field detailing communities that are included in that directory. Click on the green plus (+) sign to the left of the result in order to expand the notes field, if there is one. We are currently uploading the entries for every 10 states that we complete so you may not yet return results for your area of interest. Check back soon if that's the case!

This database offers information for over 1500 shipwrecks in California. Search is allowed by ship name, type (barge, schooner, two-masted ship, etc.), county, latitude and longitude. Information provided for each wreck (varies by entry) can include owner, year built, year sunk, cause of wreck, captain, length, tonnage, and mode of power (steam engine, sail, etc.).

This resource provides listings by county of buildings, structures, sites, or places that have been determined to have statewide historical significance.

An annotated bibliography of novels, along with some short stories, poetry and drama, on the subject of the oceans or seafaring. Searchable by author. This site was temporarily down in 2017 while the library switches to LibGuides.

An exhibition of digital documents and images concerning Fascist activities around Los Angeles before and during World War II. Searchable by keyword.

One of the world's largest digital collections of guitar sheet music. Also included are correspondence, periodicals, and discographies of the thousands of obscure records in the collection, available at the Oviatt Library. Searchable by keyword.

A wonderful group of special digital collections related to Latino history in Los Angeles, including the papers of Rodolfo Acuña, the Community Service Organization (CSO), Culture Clash, the Mothers of East Los Angeles (Madres del Este de Los Angeles), and the Supreme Council of the Mexican American Movement. Searchable by keyword.

An image database of significant documents, manuscripts, photographs and related graphic materials from public and private collections in the San Fernando Valley. Searchable by topic and keyword.

Established in 1982, the TV Archive preserves over 4000 hours of newsfilm, documentaries and other programs produced locally in the Bay Area and Northern California between 1939-2005. It is part of Leonard Library’s Department of Special Collections.

The Poetry Center Digital Archive makes available significant portions of early audio recordings from the Center's American Poetry Archives collection, supplemented by select archival texts and images. The Poetry Center, founded at San Francisco State College (now SFSU) in 1954 by English professor Ruth Witt-Diamant, has been recording and archiving tapes of its public events for nearly six decades. They have compiled and maintained one of the most significant public collections in the USA of original recorded performances by poets and related writers reading their work. This collection, together with the Poetry Center housed within the SFSU College of Humanities (Department of Creative Writing), today holds over 4,000 hours of unique original audio and video master-recordings.

The WorldImages database provides access to the IMAGE project, selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in a historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, organized into over 800 portfolios that appear alphabetically in the Portfolio List. You can also explore the database using Browse Collections, or with a keyword search.

The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, libraries, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images, 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories, and 8,000 guides to collections are available. This is a major project of the California Digital Library, the virtual campus of the University of California.

SPIRO is the visual catalogue to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL). The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs. '''This database is currently in transition.'''

A searchable database of over a million folk remedies, collected from individuals and books since the 1940s. The remedies are searchable by keywords, condition, belief, method of treatment, gender, age and ethnicity of the informant, place, date and region collected, place or region of origin, and the citation name. '''This database is often offline.'''

A searchable digital collection of nearly 8,000 recordings made on wax cylinders, most dating from the early 20th century. The recordings may be streamed or freely downloaded.

A digitized collection of Colorado newspapers from 1859 to 1923. Keyword searching is available by title, by region, or for the whole collection. Limits can be set for articles, photos, or ads. The collection is a joint endeavor of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historical Society, and the Collaborative Digitization Program (CDP)

from the Colorado State Archives. A searchable database of indexes for many of the archives' collections. Search by name, record type or time span.

Search by library name, location or library type.

History Colorado's Collection contains a rich array of archives, artifacts, and photographic material, all documenting the people, places, and events of Colorado. Two catalogs are available: the Online Collection, with images, records of artifacts and photographs; and the Library & Research Center Catalog for searching books, manuscript collections, serials, maps, and select photography collections.

Browse aerial surveys from the 1930s through 2000.

Search or browse historical newspapers contributed by the Connecticut State Library to the Chronicling America project, which is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. The American newspapers in Chronicling America are from 1770 to 1963. The site also includes a directory of American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.

Enables searching across the finding aids of many archival repositories across the state, including the State Archives at the Connecticut State Library, colleges and universities, historical societies, museums, and local libraries.

This database is based on the 1917 Connecticut Nurses Census. According to the website, "the census forms may give basic details such as birthplace, age, marital status, maiden name, and current residence, as well as more specific information such as the name of the nursing school attended, medical specialty, and year of licensure." The census is among the records of the Military Census Department that are held in the State Archives. This database is searchable by name, birthplace, age, place of residence, and more.

This database covers patents issued to Connecticut residents between 1800 and 1890. It allows searching by invention, inventor's or co-inventor's name, town, year, patent date, patent number, and more. From the Museum of Connecticut History, part of the Connecticut State Library.

(Click "Link to Full Connecticut Postcard Index" to access.) Search by description, location, or category. Includes links to scans of the postcards. From the Museum of Connecticut History.

A tool to find newspaper titles of Connecticut by town and/or date and to determine if, and where, the Connecticut State Library has the newspaper. Covers 1758 to the present. Most of the newspapers are on microfilm and many of these can be viewed at local libraries through interlibrary loan from the State Library. (This is not a database of digitized newspapers.)

This database and the Court Records databases that follow are searchable indexes of records held in the State Archives.

Covers 1897 through 2001. Search by name, date, or town.

(Click on the picture of the Capitol building to access.) List of governors, searchable by name, year, town of residence, and political party; includes links to archival records guides and to biographies with portraits. From the Connecticut State Library and the Museum of Connecticut History.

According to the website, this database "contains thousands of entries searchable by Name, Town, or Subject taken from a slip index found in the History & Genealogy Reading Room of the Connecticut State Library. It includes advertisements by name of merchant or tradesmen, though not by individual items for sale. Names of specific articles offered for sale may be found under Merchants in (name of town). Druggists in (name of town), etc. ... This database is of great significance as it will likely display entries for articles not found in the scanned and indexed Historical Hartford Courant as the machine readable software used may not have correctly read the printed word as found on the original newspaper correctly."

Covers 1897 through 2001. Search by name, date, or town.

A searchable index of the Warrants of Commitment for prisoners at the Wethersfield State Prison; covers 1800 to 1903. From the Connecticut State Library.

Also known as the "WPA House Survey," this 1934-1937 project described nearly 5,000 buildings and photographed most of those buildings. Some survey forms also included sketches of interior or exterior details and brief histories of the buildings. The database can be filtered by town, date, or building type. From the State Archives.

Comprehensive listing of all archaeology reports available from the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT).

Indexes of some public collections of the Delaware Public Archives.

Search by category, services provided, county, and awards.

Find book information and availability through the DC Public Library's online catalog.

From the website, "contains correspondence, writings, and other papers of Richard Keith Call and his family, 1788-1916, and Theodore Washington Brevard and Mary Call Brevard and their family, 1820-ca. 1920s."

Includes the ability to browse the search results by various call number systems and to refine the results using limiters by format, subject, language, etc.

Search the Folklife Database "for descriptions of photographs and audio recordings from the Florida Folklife Collection available at the State Archives of Florida. Approximately 46,000 photographic images and approximately 5,000 audio recordings are cataloged."

From the website, "The Florida Historical Legal Documents collection is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845 when Florida became a state. Anchoring the collection, Florida Territorial Laws is a time capsule of Florida history. The Laws document the establishment of the territorial court system based on British Common Law as of July 4, 1776. Taxation and licensure, establishment of the boundaries of counties and the incorporation of cities, administration of wills and estates, regulations pertaining to slaves, as well as the creation of roads, ferries and mail routes are recorded here. Religion was regulated by the state's incorporation of churches and naming of Trustees. Payments made to sheriffs and other individuals for state business, dissolutions of marriages and the reasons for the dissolution, as well as the regulation of the militia can be found in the Laws. Other materials in the collection offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period."

From the website, "Featuring over 135,000 digitized photographs from the State Archives of Florida, the Florida Photographic Collection is the most complete online portrait of Florida available--one that draws its strength from family pictures, the homes of Floridians, their work, and their pastimes."

From the website, "a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community and general citizenry of Florida." The collections include: Aerial Photography, Eric Eustace Williams Collection, Everglades Digital Library, Florida Environments Online, Florida Geological Survey Publications, Florida Heritage Collection, Florida Historical Legal Documents, Florida Historical Quarterly, Floridiana on the Web, Linking Florida's Natural Heritage, Literature for Children, Miami Metropolitan Archive, Milemarkers: Linking Keys History, Psychological Study of the Arts, Reclaiming the Everglades, Ringling Collection, Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida, Southwest Florida Environmental Documents, Type Specimens in the University of Florida Herbarium, United States Virgin Islands History and Culture, West Florida Photo History, Wolfsonian-FIU Modern Dutch Collection, World Map Collections, and Yiddish Children's Books.

From the website, "The Board of Land Commissioners was established in 1822 (3 U.S. Statute 709, May 8) to settle all outstanding Spanish land grant claims in the territory that Spain ceded to the United States in 1821. It set up offices in Pensacola and St. Augustine to ascertain the validity of all titles and private claims to lands in East Florida and West Florida. The Board either supported or rejected the land claims by studying the documents supplied by claimants.... The series consists of "dossiers" containing those papers, which were filed in evidence and confirmed as valid claims before the Board of Land Commissioners. Each land claim with its supporting documents is encased in a manila jacket on which appears the name of the applicant, the number of acres claimed, the disposition of the claim, and page reference to the American State Papers. The supporting documents include petitions or memorials to a governor for land; surveys or plats; gifts; attests; deeds of sale, gifts, wills, bequests, and exchanges; applications; and translations of Spanish documents. Most of the documents for claims in West Florida are missing."

"The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives." From 1733 to the present.

"Provides links and information for over 600 cultural and historical institutions statewide." Search by keyword, county, city, organization name, or organization type.

"A gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. The Digital Library of Georgia connects users to 500,000 digital objects in 90 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies."

"Provides online access to approximately 50,000 black and white aerial photographs and indexes of selected counties from the State of Georgia. The photos and indexes are from the Map Room of the University of Georgia Libraries, which has a collection of 225,000 aerial photographs of Georgia covering the period from 1938 through the 1980s."

Search by the first letter of the county and then the topic of the marker. Information includes a map of the marker's location and a picture and the text of the marker.

from the holdings of the Georgia Archives - "Comprises nearly 18,000 photographs. Ranging from daguerreotypes to Kodachrome prints, the images span over 100 years of Georgia history."

Data provided by the Office of Language Access of the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

The AVA Konohiki database provides access to 12,400 land and natural resource related archival records including historical maps, Land Claim Awards, and other land documents from the 19th century.

"Citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available."

Index to the Honolulu Advertiser, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Honolulu Star-Advertiser from 1989 to present. The Index is a service of the Hawai‘i State Public Library System (HSPLS). The Hawai‘i Newspaper Index can be searched by subject or by keyword(s).

Access to a number of digitized collections including Japanese and Portuguese passenger manifest lists, the Mahele Book and World War I registration records.

Office of Hawaiian Affair's Kīpuka Database is an oasis of geographically linked ‘ike (knowledge) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into Native Hawaiian land, culture, and history. Kīpuka links historic data sets to geographic locations perpetuating the concept of information embedded in the ‘āina (land) and encoded in wahi inoa (place names).

Data on indigenous Native Hawaiians and part-Hawaiians compiled by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.

"'Database of Databases' consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events and documents in Hawai‘i's history."

[Stacks], the Idaho Digital Repository, is a cooperative project of the Idaho Commission for Libraries and all state agencies. It is a searchable centralized collection of digital publications that are created by state agencies for the purpose of public information.

This page has the following databases that can be searched all at once or one at a time. Please see State Archives page for direct access:

Records in the Illinois State Archives
Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Database of Illinois Servitude and Emancipation Records
Databases of Illinois Veterans
Database for the Illinois Veterans' History Project
Database of Illinois War of 1812 Veterans
Database of Illinois Winnebago War Veterans
Database of Illinois Black Hawk War Veterans
Database of Illinois Mexican War Veterans
Illinois Civil War Muster and Descriptive Rolls Database
Database of Illinois Civil War Veterans Serving in the U.S. Navy
Database of Illinois Civil War Veterans of Missouri Units
Database of Illinois Spanish–American War Veterans
Database of the 1929 Illinois Roll of Honor
Database of Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Home Residents

Illinois Statewide Vital Records Databases
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763–1900 - An Ongoing Project of the Illinois State Archives & the Illinois State Genealogical Society
Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre–1916 - An Ongoing Project of the Illinois State Archives
Illinois Statewide Death Index (1916–1950) - An index created by the Illinois Department of Public Health

Records in the Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD)
Local Governmental Records in the IRAD System
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments

Records at Eastern Illinois University
Arthur Local Registrar's Birth Certificates Index (1868–1925)
Mattoon Death Certificate Registers Index (1899–1918)
Mattoon Court of Common Pleas Case Files Index (1869–1873)
Shelby County Circuit Court Case Files Index (1828–1871)
Wayne County Coroner's Inquest Record Index (1888–1960)

Records at Illinois State University
DeWitt County Coroner's Inquest Files Index (1924–1977)
Livingston County Probate Case Files Index (1837–1958)
Logan County Circuit Court Criminal Case Files Index (1857–1945)
McLean County Probate Record Index (1834–1934)
McLean County Will Record Index (1838–1940)
Vermilion County Coroner's Inquest Files Index (1908–1956)
Woodford County Almshouse Registers Index (1868–1957)

Records at Northeastern Illinois University
Chicago City Council Proceedings Files, 1833–1871
Cook County Coroner's Inquest Record Index, 1872–1911
Chicago Police Department Homicide Record, 1870–1930

Records at Northern Illinois University Carroll County Birth Certificates Index (1877–1913)
JoDaviess County Almshouse Registers Index (1846–1938)
Kane County Circuit Court Case Files Index (1836–1870)
Lake County Circuit Court Case Files Index (1840–1898)
Ogle County Almshouse Register Index (1878–1933)
Ogle County Naturalization Papers (County Court) Index (1872–1906)

Records at Southern Illinois University East St. Louis City Court Naturalization Papers Index (1874–1906)
Madison County Probate Case Files Index (1813–1903)
St. Clair County Circuit Court Chancery Case Files Index (1815–1870)
St. Clair County Farm Board Record Index (1874–1879)

Records at the University of Illinois at Springfield Macon County Circuit Court Case Files Index (1829–1861)
Macoupin County Coroner's Inquest Files Index (1835–1928)
Morgan County Poor Farm Records Index (1850–1932)
Sangamon County Guardian's Case Files Index (1825–1901)
Sangamon County Probate Case Files Index (1821–1885)

Records at Western Illinois University Adams County Almshouse Register Index (1873–1898)
Brown County Almshouse Registers Index (1882–1963)
Fulton County Circuit Court Case Files Index (1825–1876)
Mercer County Almshouse Register Index (1859–1948)
Peoria County Probate Case Files Index (1825–1887)
Rock Island Probate Case Files Index (1834–1899)
Stark County Almshouse Register Index (1868–1941)

The Illinois Digital Archives is a repository for the digital collections of libraries, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions in Illinois.

From the website, "Indiana Legacy combines existing Indiana State Library databases with the Vital INformation Exchange (VINE), a collaborative statewide database composed of Indiana local history and vital records from Indiana libraries, historical societies, genealogy societies, and related organizations. It is designed to allow participants and users to obtain access to Indiana local history and vital records through searching across all indexes or a single index. The database is searchable by county, event, or through a general surname search of all records. These records are available to the public at no charge and include a host of records such as: birth, marriage, death, divorce, obituaries, court records, newspapers, scrapbooks, yearbooks, military records, and many other record types."

From the website, "This is an online version of the Indiana Biography Index, which indexes select books and periodicals with information about people with strong connections to Indiana."
"Each entry includes a first and last name, dates of birth and death (if available), and basic information about the source. This includes title of the book or periodical, title of the article, author, publisher, date of publication, and call number for the book in the Indiana State Library."
Search database by the last name of the person. The entries are images of the original card file housed at the state library. Entries include birth and death dates when available.

"Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available."

Information on the Indiana State Library's holdings (microfilm, digitized, subscription-accessible, and print collections).

"The database is by no means a complete index of these newspapers. The Indiana State Library's Newspaper Collection has all of the necessary issues available on microfilm for use within the library." The following cities are included within this index: Indianapolis (1848-1888); Indianapolis (1848-1888); Logansport (1848-1855); Madison (1849-1867, 1883); New Albany (1849-1889); Vincennes (1804 - 1827).

From the website, a "collaborative state wide database that is composed of Indiana local history and vital records from Indiana libraries, historical societies, genealogy societies, and related organizations." Database includes birth, death, marriage and other records contributed from participating libraries.

The Vital INformation Exchange (VINE) is a collaborative statewide database that is composed of Indiana local history and vital records from Indiana libraries, historical societies, genealogy societies, and related organizations. The database is designed to allow participants and users to obtain access to Indiana local history and vital records through an Internet searchable database. The database is searchable by county, event, or through a general surname search of all records. These indexes are available to the public at no charge and include a host of information such as: births, marriages, deaths, divorces, obituaries, court records, newspapers, scrapbooks, yearbooks, military records, and many other record types.

The Vital INformation Exchange (VINE) is a collaborative statewide database that is composed of Indiana local history and vital records from Indiana libraries, historical societies, genealogy societies, and related organizations. The database is designed to allow participants and users to obtain access to Indiana local history and vital records through an Internet searchable database. The database is searchable by county, event, or through a general surname search of all records. These indexes are available to the public at no charge and include a host of information such as: births, marriages, deaths, divorces, obituaries, court records, newspapers, scrapbooks, yearbooks, military records, and many other record types.

Searchable by keyword and limited by collection, this site provides a number of digital resources including various Abraham Lincoln memorabilia, information and images about poet James Whitcomb Riley, prominent African-American businesswoman Madam C.J. Walker, art from 19th century artist Karl Bodmer, letters from Ben Hur author Lew Wallace during his service as New Mexico's territorial governor, and many other resources.

From the website - "The database, comprising over twelve thousand separate entries, represents the telegraphic communications of Governor Morton, his personal staff, the Adjutant General of Indiana, and scores of correspondents, both prominent and obscure, who wired their queries, comments, and responses." The digital collection is hosted and maintained by IUPUI University Library in collaboration with the Indiana State Archives.

The Hoosier Homestead distinction is given to family farms that have made significant contributions to Indiana and have been held by the same family for one hundred years or more. Search the database by last name and/or county of the applicant.

Historical digital collections with grant funding from the Institution of Museum and Library Services to the Indiana State Library. The collection includes digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media from participating libraries, museums and historical societies across Indiana.

From the website - "contains the lot certificate numbers, original purchaser and as many as four subsequent buyers." Search the database by last name in the search form.

The database includes records prior to 1951. Users can search by name and county for naturalization records. Search results display surname, first name, nationality, date of arrival, and county book and page location.

An "online archive" for documents produced by state agencies and intended for the general public. Search title, abstract, subject, or keywords; or browse by agency.

The database currently contains over 28,000 names of Union veterans of the Civil War who lived in Kansas after 1865. The names are from rosters or reunion proceedings at the Kansas State Historical Society Library. Searchable by name, county of residence and/or state from which served.

Database includes over 50,000 individuals for whom a notice of death was published in the proceedings of a fraternal order. Fraternal orders included and dates of coverage are: Ancient Order of United Workmen, 1879-1908; Knights of Pythias, 1877-1918; Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 1873-1970; Rebekah Assembly of the IOOF, 1891-1953

The Kansas State Historical Society's historical collections shared via the Internet include letters, diaries, photographs, government records from the State Archives, maps, museum artifacts, and historic structures in Kansas. These may be searched by keyword, title or author; a subject breakdown is also provided.

A compilation of the names of Kansas medical practitioners from two sources, the Kansas Board of Health reports for 1887-1900 and Dickman's Medical Directory published in 1881. Searchable by surname and/or county.

Database of the state's historically significant properties. Properties listed in the National Register are automatically listed, but not all properties in the State Register are included in the National. The same criteria are used but the state register allows more flexibility. The database may be searched by property/district name, city, county, architect and/or category.

database contains more than 227,000 entries of male and female Kansas veterans of the armed forces who served between September 16, 1940 and June 30, 1946. This comprehensive data comes directly from Adjutant General Selective Service Board lists. Searchable by name of the veteran, the county from which s/he served, branch of service, whether enlisted or inducted (drafted), and/or the service/serial number.

Includes Regular and/or Special Sessions since 1997.

Locate cemeteries by parish (county) or city. Records include name, address and phone number.

Search for a historic site in Louisiana by city, parish (county), theme (African-American History, Rice Boom, Local History, etc), level and area of significance, style, architect and property type. Records include historic name, other names, city, parish, date registered, address, documents and pictures when available.

From the website, "The Louisiana State Museum's cartographic holdings, comprised of original works as well as photostat, photographic and facsimile reproductions, are dated 1525 to the present. Many of these works are housed in the special collections of Dr. and Mrs. E. Ralph Lupin, Helen and Solis Seiferth, Machrina Francois, Gladys Mossmeir, and Gaspar Cusachs. The museum’s collection contains maps related to the exploration and settlement of Louisiana during the colonial period as well as maps delineating Louisiana and her cities after the Louisiana Purchase, from 1803 to the present time."

Louisiana Death, Louisiana Birth, and Orleans Parish Marriage Records Indexes help you locate vital records maintained by the Louisiana Secretary of State.

Self-subscribed searchable database of Maine artists and arts organizations, hosted by the Maine Arts Commission. Search by keyword, county, discipline, or type of entity.

Searchable database of writers with a relationship to the State of Maine. The connection may be birth, residency, employment or works that are set in Maine.

URSUS is the online catalog of the University of Maine System Libraries as well as the Maine State Library, the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library and the Bangor Public Library. It also is a means to connect to other libraries in Maine as well as nationally.

Statewide Library Catalog

Statewide E-books through cloudLibrary

Archive of weekly poetry posts. The Maine State Library partnered with the State's Poet Laureate, Wesley McNair, and the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance in the initiative, Take Heart: A Conversation in Poetry.

Developed and managed by the Maine Historical Society (MHS), the Maine Memory Network (MMN) enables historical societies, libraries, and other cultural institutions across the state to upload, catalog, and manage digital copies of historical items from their collections into one centralized, web-accessible database.

Stereoviews and real photo postcards in this collection span nearly a century of Maine’s history from the 1850s to the 1950s.

You'll find thousands of magazines, newspapers, and reference books available through this expansive online resource to all Maine citizens! Our geolocation feature makes it faster and easier for you to access the resources you need anywhere within the State of Maine.

One can search State of Maryland's important archaeological collections by site and by map; or to perform basic or advanced search from its databse.

From the website, “The Beneath the Underground database features entries of over 300,000 individuals including, white and black, slave owners, enslaved and free individuals from primarily the years of 1830 through 1880 to review.” Instruction on how to search the database is included.

From the web site, "Historical markers have been a familiar sight on Maryland's roadways for more than half a century. Launched in 1933, the roadside historical marker program has proven an effective way to draw attention to the many events, people and places that have contributed to the richness of our state and nation." One can search historical markers by using the county map link or search the database by keyword, by town or thematic topic.

From the website, "The National Register currently comprises over 1500 listings in Maryland, including some 200 historic districts. Listed properties span a wide variety of types and periods, ranging from prehistoric archeological sites to buildings of the recent past, and include rural landscapes, urban and suburban neighborhoods, bridges, sailing vessels, and more." One can search the National Register by property, by location or by keyword.

From the website, "The Maryland Archeobotanical Database centralizes information on plant artifacts into a searchable database and links this information to cultural, temporal, geographical and archaeological information." Please read the introductory page before scrolling down to the bottom of page to access the database.

From the web site, “The Maryland Historical Trust Library is the State’s principal repository for information relating to Maryland’s architectural, archeological, and cultural heritage. The following types of resources are available to researchers: books, journals, site-specific reports, historic maps, written and photographic documentation about Maryland’s architectural and archeological sites, oral histories which capture the State’s cultural traditions through written transcripts as well as audio and video recordings, historic structure reports, preservation plans, and architectural drawings.”

From the website, “The Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties is a research and documentation instrument that serves as an archive of information to further the understanding of the State’s architectural, archeological, and cultural resources. The Maryland Inventory should not be confused with the National Register of Historic Places, the Maryland Register of Historic Properties, or local lists of locally designated historic resources, although resources listed in all of the above categories are included in the Maryland Inventory.” One can search by county, by property information such as site number, and by address.

From the website, "The Maryland Judiciary, the 24 elected Court Clerks of Maryland and the Maryland State Archives have joined in partnership to provide up to date access to all verified land record instruments in Maryland. This service is currently being provided at no charge to individuals who apply for a user name and password." Email account is needed to apply for an account.

The Guide to Government Records is the finding aid created to assist users in accessing both public and private records relating to the history of Maryland from the earliest times of Lord Baltimore to the present. Some of the records available for searching are birth, marriage and military records from the Colonial time, court records before 1776, insolvency records from the late 17th Century and many more. For detailed information on the guide and how to obtain these records, please read the introduction section before searching. To begin your search click on the “Reference and Research” tab, then select the desired database (records).

Search for government publications that were published from state agencies including annual reports and press releases.

From the website, “The JPPM Research Library holds one of the region’s largest reference collections on the archaeology and history of Maryland and the Middle Atlantic area. References dealing with such topics as Native American life, identification and conservation of artifacts and antique, agricultural history, historic buildings, museum studies,and archaeology around the world.”

From the website, “the Maryland State Archives is preparing a series of volumes in the Archives of Maryland series relating to the history of slavery in Maryland."

The Maryland State Archives Guide to Special Collections is a web-based tool to search and browse special collections of map, photographic, newspaper, private, business and religious records.
One can perform a general quick or advance search to search the entire collection.
One can also search for the desired category by clicking on the corresponding tab on top of the page.

Database of historical articles searchable by keyword, region, and topics including agriculture, immigration, maritime history and recreation.

This allows for the creation of sales reports based on date and zip code.

Land records, including deeds, declarations of homestead, and liens across the Commonwealth.

This database, maintained by the MA Trial Court Law Libraries, includes opinions from the Supreme Judicial Court, Appeals Court, Land Court, and District Court Appellate Division. Search by party name, keyword, citation, date, or docket number.

MACRIS allows users to search the Massachusetts Historical Commission database for information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth. It does not include all properties or reflect all of the information on file at the MHC.

Explore hundreds of MAPC's tabular datasets on the economy, demographics, education, environment, energy, housing, land use, public health, regional indicators, public safety, transportation and civic vitality.

An interactive map, created by MassGIS, that allows users to view tax and property information.

Lists of searchable digitized historical records that have been made available through the Massachusetts Archives. Collections include vital records, military records, legislative and court records, and more.

Maintained by the MA Board of Library Commissioners, this database is searchable by Region, Municipality, Organization, Library Name, Library Type, Branch Name, Department Name, Individual First Name, Individual Last Name, and Individual Job Function.

328 digitized volumes of documents from the Massachusetts Archives, ranging from international affairs to local concerns. A range of documents covers the early statehood period, religious affairs, tax records, judicial actions, legislative activities, and relations with London, other British colonies, the French colonial government, and Indian Nations, and many other things. See the volume descriptions for more information. Volumes are searchable via FamilySearch.org.

The State Library has an extensive collection of materials dealing with the history of Massachusetts and its cities and towns. Resources include papers and photographs of political figures, historical newspapers, maps, and other historical documents dating back to the 1800s.

A searchable and browse-able collection that includes state documents that were received in digital format ("born digital") or have been digitized by the library. Documents are arranged in collections by agency name unless otherwise noted. Additional collections include digitized WWI photographs, real estate atlases, photographs of 19th century legislators, and monographs.

Law Library catalog and locations, along with laws by source and type.

Access to NY Times and Boston Globe articles, as well as popular magazines.

Search for details of a public records request.

Birth, death, and marriage records for all of Massachusetts from 1841-1930. Search by first or last name and/or town. Note: searching alternate spellings, e.g., Smith and Smythe recommended.

Record of immigrants who arrived by ship in Boston, MA from 1848-1891. Search by first or last name, name of ship, or date.

Michigan Memories provides access to collections from cultural institutions throughout the state of Michigan. These collections are created and maintained by archivists, librarians, and curators who are dedicated to the preservation of Michigan's history and heritage. Michigan Memories celebrates the diverse voices and communities of our state and serves to inform and enlighten students, teachers, genealogists, history buffs, and everyone with an interest in the Great Lakes State.

Michiganology.org began as SeekingMichigan.org 10 years ago when the Archives of Michigan and Library of Michigan partnered to deliver more than 1 million records online. Now, more than 10 million records ​are available online along with ​interesting educational materials and countless stories chronicling the everyday lives of Michiganders.

This database allows you to search by name, place and book title. You can also search by one of ten genres. A new feature allows you to browse alphabetically by last name. You can limit your search to authors or illustrators that do workshops which is valuable information for event planners. A sample entry include a resume, bibliography and contact information.

The Michigan Cemetery Sources web site is a directory of cemeteries in Michigan. Over 3,700 cemeteries are included. Frequently a book about the individual cemetery will be listed. The database does not include the names of those buried in the cemeteries.

A directory of public libraries in the state of Michigan.

Birth and death certificate indexes, historical census information, and other genealogical resources.

Newspaper article :The data comes from the American Community Survey five-year estimates, released Dec. 2018.

A Library Guide from the Minnesota History Center.

Search the online catalog for MDAH for titles and records pertaining to the history of Mississippi. Includes links to digitized sources.

Territorial, state, federal and special census records, as well as tax lists, from 1752 to 2004. Searchable by name, census year, or county.

Contains historical collections about MO from the State Archives, the State Historical Society, and other institutions across the state. Search by keyword or browse collections.

Contains information on the settlement of and uprising against the Mormons in MO in the 1830s and 1840s.

Searchable index to Provost Marshal records relating to Missouri available on microfilm at the Missouri State Archives.

This interactive database is a map of reclaimed abandoned coal mines and major coal reclamation projects completed by the Land Reclamation Program between 2000 and 2014.

"Contains over 280,000 entries from French and Spanish land concessions, federal land sales and state issued patents. The records may include names of purchasers, claimants and assignees, county, date of purchase, and legal land description (township, section, range and number of acres sold)." Searchable by name of purchaser or section of land.

A repository of land records in Missouri.

This catalog comprises bibliographic records from their book, microfilm and archival collections, but it does not yet contain the records for all of the materials available at the Missouri State Archives.

A collection of select publications from Missouri state government agencies contributed by the Missouri State Library. The Missouri State Archives is the official statutory depository for print publications. Users should consult the copyright notice for using digital state publications contributed by the Missouri State Library.

Searchable by name, institution, city, or type of library.

Search for books, journals, magazines, government documents, electronic resources, and newspapers in the Missouri State Library.

Search for audio books in the collection by keyword, title, author, or subject.

Use the Missouri map or list of newspaper titles to find digital collections of almost 200 Missouri newspapers. Newspapers are listed by their county, title and date range.

This catalog provides information regarding the newspapers on microfilm that are available from the State Historical Society of Missouri to the public on-site and through interlibrary loan. The Society's newspapers on microfilm offer information about the day-to-day lives of Missourians and the political, cultural, economic, and religious events that have influenced them. These Missouri newspapers document events and public opinion from the state's rural environs to its largest metropolitan areas. Use the search box to search for a newspaper by name; scroll down to the map of MO to find newspapers by counties.

Contains records from various counties, City of St. Louis, and St. Louis Medical Examiner. It is an abstract of records that have been indexed and are available for online research. The original records are available on microfilm at the Missouri State Archives. These inquests are not made available until 72 years after creation. Searchable by county, name of deceased, cause of death, year of death (or range of years), and/or keyword.

Produced by the MO Local Records Preservation Program, this is a compilation of inventories of local government records identified as having permanent or enduring value and housed primarily in county and municipal offices, but includes some libraries, museums, and historical and genealogical societies that maintain government records. Searchable by county or keyword.

Contains birth, stillbirth, and death records recorded in MO before 1910.

Links to a digitized image of the original death certificate issued in Missouri.

Contains immigration information from record books from various counties and the Supreme Court of Missouri. This is an ongoing project between the Missouri State Archives and the St. Louis Genealogical Society.

Find library, library employee or trustee.

The Montana History Portal provides access to digital collections and items relating to Montana’s cultural heritage and government.

Montana newspapers- historic and more current.

Compiled by Montana State Library and hosted by Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Historic collection of digitized Montana state publications dating from late 19th century.

Online archive of Montana state agency websites dating from 1996 in partial fulfillment of statutory mandate to identify, acquire, describe, and provide permanent public access to state publications.

Famous Nebraska Individuals

The Nebraska Authors database comes from The Jane Pope Geske Heritage Room of Nebraska Authors at Lincoln City Libraries.

Art, Music, Museums, Libraries, Historical Sites, Sports

"History Nebraska collects, preserves, and opens to all, the histories we share."

The role of UNR Digital Collections is to develop and manage digital collections and online exhibits in collaboration with other Library and University departments, and to provide long-term preservation of and access to UNR’s digital assets.

Search by keyword, city or county list or by map.

Customize a search of any or all of the Nevada Censuses data between 1860 and 1920.

Streaming videos, special reports, and historic documents intended to complement the content of the Tahoe Research, Scholarship and Outreach website

This collection contains 299 paintings in the Special Collections Department of the UNR Library and features work by Western artists, including Maynard Dixon, Theodore Waddell, Will James, and Lorenzo Latimer, as well as Mildred Lane, Hildegard Herz, and Minerva Pierce, all of whom were founding members of Reno's Latimer Art Club.

Hundreds of menus from throughout the world in UNLV digital collections.

Drawings and photographs of Las Vegas showgirls in UNLV 's digital collections.

A collection of land patents comprising 24 volumes with nearly 14,000 patents. Searchable by name or patent number.or you can browse the collection by date range.

Searchable by name of patentee, township and range, and patent number. The official land patent records are at the Nevada State Archives.

Search for materials available at the Nevada State Library and Archives or other libraries across the state in the Cooperative Libraries Automated Network. You can also use the left side menu to find information on specific topics including searchable copies of several "old" Nevada newspapers.

Search the library's non-circulating collection by keyword, title or publication year.

Digital copies of original manuscripts, photos, records and publications produced by Nevada government agencies. You can browse individual collections or search individual collections or all collections.

Users who enter this website will discover a single portal that connects stories and historical evidence of the African American experience. This collection includes oral histories and photographs documenting the African American Experience in Las Vegas.

This collection includes 50 selected Paiute and Shoshone oral histories recorded by Margaret M. Wheat between the 1940's and the 1960's.

Transcripts of oral histories from interviews with a wide range of people associated with the Nevada Test Site.

This archive of 200+ primary source oral histories documents aspects of the history and culture of Nevada and the Intermountain West.

This collection of over 5,600 images reflect the University of Nevada, Reno's history from its founding in Elko to its present location and growing campus.

These 686 images were selected from 7,000+ photographs that relate to the University of Nevada School of Medicine; the Nevada State Medical Association; and the Reno Surgical Society. They document over 100 years of healthcare for Nevada's citizens, including 19th-century frontier military medicine in the Great Basin.

Lake Tahoe has been called the jewel of the Sierra. The 1,000+ images in this collection represent only a small portion of the photographic images of Lake Tahoe held by the Special Collections Department of the UNR Library.

The 170+ images in this collection document places and activities along the Lincoln and Victory highways as they cross Nevada, eastern California and western Utah, as well as Reno's Transcontinental Highways Exposition of 1927 celebrating the completion of the two roads.

The 3,300+ images in this collection are but a fraction of the more than 200,000 images housed in the Special Collections Department of the UNR Library that document life in Nevada and the surrounding region from the 1860's to the present.

Sagebrush Vernacular is an exhibition of 120 photographs selected from 463 photographs of rural Nevada architecture taken by advanced photography students from the University of Nevada, Reno.

Brings together a wide range of original source materials found in widely diverse collections from UNLV Libraries Special Collections, the Nevada State Museum, and Historical Society in Las Vegas and the Clark County Heritage Museum.

A collection of images of one of our most famous Nevadans, Howard Hughes.

Links to three juried rosters to assist organizations and schools to find professional, qualified artists for their programs: Arts Education, Arts in Health, and Traditional Arts & Folklife.

View Vital Records statistical information ONLY based on de-identified birth, death, marriage, and divorce events from 1995-current. Registration required.

Indexed by first and last name and location. Select the relevant database to begin.

"Indexes and displays nearly 4,000 images produced or collected by the Writer’s Project/Program for use as illustrations in their publications. They include original photography depicting New Jersey sites, people and activities in the 1930s-40s as well as copy work. Subjects include historic buildings, local industry (e.g., factory workers in Paterson; shipbuilding in Camden), recreation, famous New Jerseyans, etc. Some localities are more extensively documented than others depending upon the stories and articles published."

This official tourism website allows you to search for options by category, city, interest, and season.

"References many of New Jersey's earliest extant deeds and surveys found in over 120 record books. Both proprietary filings and transactions recorded by the Provincial Secretaries of the colony and the Secretary of State are indexed. Dates range from 1650 through 1996, but the vast majority of records date between 1675 and 1900."

Indexes record series, including print records and reels of microfilm held by the State Archives.

"Includes electronic New Jersey State government publications along with digital books, photographs and postcards about New Jersey but not published by state government (Jerseyana). This database is designed to address the long-term preservation and access requirements of electronic government publications and other digital material."

New Jersey Public Libraries contact information arranged by county.

Search historic newspapers from New Jersey, made available through a collaboration between the Rutgers University Libraries, the New Jersey State Archives, and the New Jersey State Library. Search them alongside other American historic newspapers or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about newspapers published from 1690 to the present.

"An index of all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey."

Index of marriage bonds searchable by first and last name (bride and/or groom), their respective places of residence, and/or the year of marriage. Select the relevant database to begin.

According to the site: "Indexes death records recorded by the New Jersey Department of Health. Records include death certificates, as well as some burial, reburial, transit, and disinterment permits." Select the relevant database to begin.

"The majority of the name changes indexed in this database belong to the record series, Department of State / Division of Commercial Recording / Name-Change Judgments, 1876-1947. The index also references earlier name changes done by legislative act, as well as a number of name-change judgments found among the Secretary of State’s Miscellaneous Fillings (Series II)." Select the relevant database to begin.

Index of marriages searchable by groom and/or bride, county of registration, and/or year of marriage. Select the relevant database to begin.

The New Mexico Film Office provides information for those in the film and television industry to find locations.The site is currently in transition.

Historic Scenic Marker Spreadsheet
A searchable database of Historic Scenic Markers throughout the state. .

The online catalog for the New Mexico State Archives is one of New Mexico’s most important historical and cultural resources. It houses records from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, including documents dating from New Mexico’s Spanish (1621-1821), Mexican (1821-1846), and territorial (1846-1912) periods of history. Some holding include photograph and motion picture film. Archival holdings are vast, so cataloging is ongoing. If you cannot find what you are looking for you can contact the Archives reference desk at (505) 476-7948 or via e-mail at Archives@state.nm.us. The catalog is updated regularly.

Originally intended as an electronic textbook of New Mexico History Search this site links users to images, transcripts of primary source documents, oral histories, films, songs and more. The primary search is by names with places, timelines, multimedia or topics presented as lists.

SALSA is a shared catalog which can be used to search one or all six separate library collections. Libraries included are:
New Mexico State Library Angelico Chavez History Library (Palace of the Governors) National Hispanic Cultural Center Library New Mexico Coalition for Literacy New Mexico Museum of Art Library New Mexico Office of the State Engineer Library.

The State library has been collecting and preserving state government materials since 2003. The state publications range from the Brand Book and Legislative Orders, to Fish Stocking Reports and traffic pattern maps. The digital archive is a work in progress.

Find information on past NYSCA grants. Search by organization name, year, program or location.

Do a Keyword search to find your public library. You may also choose to find your library by Community Name, Library Name, Public Library System, Senate or Assembly District.

Highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people and culture to enrich, educate and inform.

This biographical dictionary highlights architects and builders who have produced North Carolina's architecture for more than 300 years.

Searchable database of historical highway markers in North Carolina. May be searched by county, marker id or subject. Results include an essay on the significance of the site.

An online treasure house of thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today. Here you'll find a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies.

State Documents can be searched in the library catalog. Lists of recent arrivals can be viewed by agency name and then by document title.

The NDSU Digital Repository is an institutional repository provided by the NDSU Libraries that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material located at or produced by the NDSU community.

Search materials in the Libraries by keyword, title, author, subject, or ISBN/ISSN; limit by location, material type, year, or language.

This search will allow anyone to locate more than 10,000 recipes in cookbooks available for purchase at the website.

Bison Briefs (under previous titles) began in 1917 and, with some publication suspensions, continues today. Articles focus on college and alumni events, activities, and news.

This database indexes over 3,300 civil and divorce case files, spanning from the 1870s to 1942, handled in Cass County District Court. Individual entries include names of the plaintiff and defendant, attorneys, dates of proceedings, and miscellaneous notes.

This database indexes all marriage licenses recorded in Cass County between circa 1872 and July 1944.

This database provides access to over 5,900 individual Cass County probate files from circa 1875 to 1949.

The database contains over 151,500 names. Each entry includes: name, age, nativity, occupation, county of residence, and exact location of the entry in the census schedule.

This Fargo Forum Newspaper Index database provides citations (currently about 8,000 entries) to selected articles published in a number of Fargo newspapers between 1879 and 1975, primarily the Fargo Forum, regarding events in North Dakota and to a limited extent in other states.

This database contains over 70,000 names from the Fargo Forum newspaper, October 1892 to 1909 and from November 1982 to 1995.

It’s Happening at State is a newsletter published by NDSU that covers campus news and events. The first issue was published in 1967 and continues through today. This database covers August 1967 – December 1998.

An ongoing project to provide access to biographical sketches found in a wide variety of North Dakota publications. It currently contains some 250,000 names to published biographical sketches of North Dakotans found in over 800 publications.

Sanitary Home, North Dakota Farmer and Sanitary Home, and North Dakota Farmer was a periodical published for rural North Dakotans from 1899-1918.

This database provides access to some 10,000 original arrangements used by the Welk Orchestra and individual performers spanning from the 1950s to 1980s.

The database contains over 212,000 names, giving the county where the declaration of intention (1st papers) was filed and the naturalization occurred (2nd papers), the date of both events, and from what country the person emigrated.

The Record historical magazine was published at Fargo, N.D. from 1895 to 1905. The magazine’s main focus was historical and biographical articles related to North Dakota, with numerous illustrations of persons, places and events. This database covers issues from 1895 through 1899.

The Spectrum is the student newspaper of North Dakota State University. This database contains digitized full text search from Dec. 1896 to Spring 1950. All pages are in PDF and can be printed or saved.

Search this growing archive of the Spectrum.

An online treasure house of thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today. Here you'll find a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies.

Photographs, political cartoons, newspaper articles, videos, and other materials digitized by the UND Chester Fritz Library.

Bygdebøker are published farm and family histories compiled by local Norwegian groups.

The Ohio Historical Society in partnership with the Ohio Association of Historical Societies and Museums has compiled and updated a Directory of Historical Organizations in Ohio since 1987. It’s last published form was in 2003. The online version is intended to make the directory more accessible and easier for people to locate historical societies, historical museums, historic sites, historic preservation organizations, genealogical societies, historical libraries and statewide/regional history-related associations in any part of the state.

You can now purchase photocopies of Ohio death certificates online. Use the Index to find and select your certificates, save them to your list and click on purchase to checkout through the . Copies cost $7 per certificate (Ohio residents pay 6.75% sales tax). You can now request copies of death certificates for the years 1909-1912 and 1945-1953 by completing an online request form and checking out through the Ohio History Store.

Search the records of more than 230,000 items in the Society's library, newspaper, manuscript, audiovisual, state archives, history, natural history, and archaeology collections.

Ohio History Central is an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia that includes information about Ohio's natural history, prehistory and history. Each section contains written information, maps, timelines, and images. Many of these pages link with one another to form a complete and informative perspective.

Discover 26,000 primary sources from 330 archives, historical societies, libraries and museums that document Ohio's past from prehistory through the present.

You can now purchase Ohio Historical Society images and permissions though OhioPix. Select your images, save them to your list and click on purchase to checkout through the Ohio History Store.

Search historic markers by marker title, marker text, marker number, category or keyword, zip code, county, city, address - you can even search by marker sponsor. The Ohio Historical Markers identify, commemorate and honor the important people, places and events that have contributed to the state's rich history. The Ohio Historical Markers Program, administered by the Ohio Historical Society, is a vital educational tool, informing residents and visitors about significant aspects of Ohio's past.

The information in this database was abstracted from the Application for Admission forms of the OSSO Home. Although it is not a complete registry, the database contains information from more than 3500 applications from 1877 to 1919. Beginning in 1886, The Grand Army of the Republic (GAR), the citizens of Greene County, Ohio and the State of Ohio founded The Ohio Soldier's & Sailor's Orphans' Home (OSSO), later renamed The Ohio Veteran's Children's Home (OVCH), in Xenia, Ohio. Before it closed in 1997, more than 13,500 children were cared for and educated at the OSSO/OVCH. Posted with permission from the Greene County Public Library.

Search or browse the online collection of publications and documents found in the State Archives at the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.

Search or browse the history of Oklahoma. Resources include documents, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps and audio/visual content. Content ranges from the late 1800s to the present day.

Search or browse Confederate pension index cards.

Search or browse Confederate pension application files and the pension files.

Search several databases with your ODL Library Account. ***Available only to Oklahoma residents.***

Use a variety of search terms to find, view and download iconic Oregon symbols spanning 1864-1933.

Keyword search 1,000s of historic Oregon newspapers with primary coverage from 1846-1922

Over 10,000 viewable photographs and related descriptions from the holdings of the Salem Public Library, the Oregon State Archives, and the Marion County Historical Society. The images date from the mid-1800s to the 1990s and depict a wide range of subjects such as Oregon towns, homes, businesses, occupations, scenic vistas, disasters, festivities, and recreational pursuits. Maintained by the Salem Public Library.

Use search box at bottom of page to review over 2,500 works of art funded and held by the State of Oregon. View more information through the full digital archive at Oregon Percent for Art Archive at University of Oregon

From the "about us" page, "The Oregon Encyclopedia provides definitive, authoritative information about the State of Oregon, including significant places, culture, institutions, events, and people."

Search many records by name, birth date and other criteria. These records are held by the state and by local jurisdictions. Types of records include asylum, coroner's report, probate, birth, death, naturalization, etc.

Search Heritage reports and surveys by location, type, and many other facets. Great resource for local history and property research.

Digitized subject indexes to significant local newspapers for Eugene and Portland, including The Oregon Daily Emerald. Eugene (Or.), the University of Oregon campus newspaper, 1900-1979. 102,000+ records.; The Portland Oregonian. Portland (Or.), 1852 - 1987. 839,000+ records and The Register-Guard. Eugene (Or.), 1963 - 2004. 30,000+ records. Index may be searched by title, subject, author, or keyword. Records may be limited by date.

Since 1946, the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission has administered a program of historical markers to capture the memory of people, places, and events that have affected the lives of Pennsylvanians over the centuries since William Penn founded his Commonwealth.
Search for historic markers by Title, County, Keyword or Category

A digital sampling of the historical documents in the PA State Archives

Access to discovering the collections of the State Library including, books, maps, newspapers, and digital collections

searching for file numbers for death records from 1906 to 1973

birth records file numbers for retrieval of birth certificates from 1906-1918

Search through this database of the artifacts of all Pennsylvania's Historic and Museum Commission's sites.

A database of currently registered artists. The search page gives many categories from which to select artists and entries include statements by the artists and contact information. Most have photos and links to webpages.

Online catalog that allows searching and browsing of information about the holdings of the SC Archives, including non-current state, county, and municipal records, as well as copies of records relating to South Carolina government and history from other government and private sources.

Selected portions of SC Archives holdings digitized for online access via the Online Records Index, including Confederate Pension Applications (1919-1938); School Insurance Photographs (1935-1952); Grand Jury Presentments to the General Assembly (1783-1877); Colonial Plats; National Register of Historic Places; Will Transcripts (1782-1855); and Militia Enrollments of 1869.

Electronic Records transferred to the SC Department of Archives and History by state and local government agencies for permanent retention. You will also find digitized copies of physical records held at the archives and made accessible online for your convenience.

Historic properties from the Statewide Survey of Historic Properties managed by the SC State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO).

Contains over 140 historic photos of Columbia from the Museum’s collection.

From the website, "This searchable database includes records that were cataloged as part of the WPA Cemetery Project (pre-1940s) plus any cemetery updates that our office has received. It is not a complete listing of all the burials in South Dakota."

From the website, "As the official repository of state records, the State Archives maintains and preserves the documents produced by the executive, legislative and judicial branches of South Dakota state government. Many counties, municipalities, and townships have transferred historical records to the State Archives. The Archives collection also includes copies of federal records such as censuses, land records, and files of the Bureau of Indian Affairs."

Naturalization is the process by which a foreign born individual becomes an American citizen. Information such as a person's birth date and location, occupation, immigration year, marital status, and physical description or photographs may be found in this record series.

Searchable fields include: Paper Title, Date, County, and City.

The South Dakota State Historical Society prepared a list of statues in the state in 2020. “The idea of the list grew out of concern that controversial statues, such as those of Confederate leaders, may exist in the state, but we didn’t find any,” said Jay Vogt, director of the South Dakota State Historical Society and State Historic Preservation Officer.

The South Dakota State Archives Surname Research Form will allow you to search through a database of birth, marriage, death, and other notices printed in South Dakota newspapers.

From the website, "This site contains information from birth records with birth dates of over 100 years of age as required by South Dakota Codified Law 34-25-8. At this time this site contains 150,833 records." Searchable by first and last name of individual or parent, county and document number. Records include date of birth, date of certificate filing, parents and place of birth.

Searchable by free text, category, subcategory, region, county, and city.

A program of the State Library and Archives to create a digital repository of Tennessee history and culture. TeVA provides a searchable array of historical records, photographs, documents, maps, postcards, film, audio and other original materials of enduring value.

A state-wide, multi-institution digitization project that will provide access to primary sources that document Tennessee's rich history and culture. Volunteer Voices combines the collaborative efforts to Tennessee archives, historical societies, libraries, museums, and schools.

The Bullock Museum Artifact Gallery allows you to search the database for all things Texas, and to read spotlight stories about certain artifacts. The database can be searched by region, time period, or artifact type.

From the website, “The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. In the Portal you may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map.” Scroll down from the search home page, click on “Explore by”, from there you can filter by collection, subject, dates, publication title and many more.

Texas Government Code, Chapter 441.102, establishes TRAIL (Texas Records and Information Locator) "to allow electronic access, including access through the Internet, at the Texas State Library and other depository libraries to state publications that have been made available to the public through the Internet by or on behalf of a state agency."

Find descriptions of records using a keyword search.

From the website, "The Utah Geological Survey Library has over 14,000 items including topographic and geologic maps, professional journals, professional society publications, theses and dissertations, data CDs and DVDs, and references about Utah’s geology." Search the library catalog by title, author, keyword, subject, series, or call number.

A digital library service of the Utah State Library in cooperation with government agencies. It provides public access to the growing number of full text, "born digital" publications created by State of Utah agencies as well as those of some counties and cities. Most of the items in this growing collection are of recent publication. An advanced search includes agency, date, type of publication and more.

Specialized searches of a number of Utah records that carry business or personal names.

View the digitized collections of the Utah Division of Archives and Records Service. An advanced search includes title, subject, creator, publisher, date, format and more.

From the web site, "We have over 96,000 terrific digital photographs, manuscripts, and some artifacts. In addition to these items, our Research Center has thousands of additional photographs, manuscripts, books, and pamphlets that are available to researchers."

Database of people buried in Utah. May be searched by deceased name, dates of birth and death, and burial place (any, county, city/town, cemetary). Records contain name, birth date, death date, burial date, place of birth (when available), place of death, grave location, source (when available), comments, when available.

View the map of Utah cemeteries. Select a cemetery for more information or search by address.

Vermont newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 can be searched as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program organized by the Library of Congress.

Can view what is documented in the VT Architectural Resource Inventory, State Register of Historic Places, and more. Searchable by project name or number, file name or type, town, county, document type, and start or end date.

Keyword and numeric searches are available as well as browse.

This database contains a growing collection of records originally recorded in courts or jurisdictions that subsequently suffered record losses. These records are from higher or appeal courts, most of which do not presently exist. Among the jurisdictions included in this database are the General Court, the [Supreme] Court of Appeals, the High Court of Chancery, the various Superior Courts of Chancery, and the various District Courts. These records were found while processing chancery causes and other locality materials. The database contains records from collections housed and processed at the Library of Virginia as well as those processed in localities.

From the website, "This collection is comprised of survey records containing information about graves in Blandford Cemetery, located in Petersburg, Virginia. The survey was undertaken by the Historic Blandford Cemetery Foundation from 1987 to 1992 in support of the cemetery's nomination to the National Register of Historic Places." Database may be searched by first name, last name, year of birth, year of death. The survey database is not a complete record of all people buried in the Cemetery and stops at 1992.

Index covers the Will Books and Order Books of 53 VA cities and counties generally to 1800; a few extend beyond that. Full text is not available online. Basic and advanced search are available.

This database is a compilation of various card index files to marriages, so the dates covered and the amount of information vary with each county. Searchable by county, bride or groom name, or keyword; also available is a listing of marriages by free people of color. This isn't a comprehensive index to Virginia marriages.

State and local government, genealogical information, agency records, etc.

A searchable database of more than 160 scanned Washington history publications in 14 subject categories such as geography, territorial and state government, exploration and early travel, and women's stories.

The nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.

The rich collections of the society, such as Gustav Sohon 1855 Treaty Drawings and Paintings, Roger Cooke Paintings of Lewis & Clark Expedition, and Governor's Papers on Women's Issues 1904-1984,can be searched by keyword or catalog number.

Scanned content of 25 newspapers in the state from the second half of the nineteenth century.

A biographical database of Washington elected officials and activists. Entries include basic biographical information with a photo and links to other online information. The database covers the offices of governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, treasurer, and representatives of the U.S. House and Senate and will continue to be expanded.

A searchable GIS map tool and database of over 1800 registered historical sites including images, a summary of the significance, and a link to the nomination document. A search may be initiated via map or by text query for historic name, address, city, county, architectural style, built date, historic use, architect, and listing status. Information on archaeological sites is limited to prevent vandalism.

Search the state library catalog for state and federal documents, as well as materials on Washington state government, history, culture, and genealogy. The state library website also has access points to the Washington Newspapers database, historical collections, and Find-It! Washington.

Birth, death, marriage records.

From the website, "Search over 3,000,000 records including: birth, death and marriage record indexes; newspaper clippings; photographs and other visual materials; and property records from National Register and State Register of Historic Places and the Wisconsin Architecture and History Inventory (AHI)." Searchable by first and last name.

Original Field Notes and Plat Maps from the Wisconsin Board of Commissioners of Public Lands based on a survey conducted between 1832 and 1866 by the federal General Land Office.

The Wyoming Authors Wiki is a clearinghouse for information on book authors who've lived in Wyoming or who write about Wyoming. You can search the wiki using the box in the top right corner of every page, or you can browse by author, county or genre.

The goal of this Directory is to better represent Wyoming’s creative talent, and to serve as a platform and resource to connect artists and organizations.

This database indexes United States patents in which one or more of the inventors were from Wyoming. Each record provides a link to the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) website.

A clearinghouse for information on Wyoming place names. It is a project of the Wyoming State Library and the University of Wyoming Libraries using sources available from the Wyoming State Archives and other research collections.

This digital library contains publications produced by Wyoming governmental agencies. The bulk of the publications currently available online range from 1998 to present.

This database covers state trademarks issued between 1906-current located at the Wyoming Secretary of State’s Office. New applications and renewals are added monthly. This database will ultimately include the inactive applications and mark images for Wyoming trademarks located at the Wyoming State Archives, back to the first state trademark in 1881.

MARSS is a database for accessing information about microfilmed records at the Wyoming State Archives. Since the 1950's, the Wyoming State Archives has been microfilming records and receiving records on microfilm. Archives staff have compiled the index information in a Microfilm Database, allowing information about microfilmed records to be available through the Internet. The microfilm collection includes records from state and local government agencies, private collections, and a few federal documents. We have almost all of the Wyoming newspapers on microfilm. Database searches can be conducted using the agency name, county office, or record title or description. Most of the microfilm is available for research, but if the research copy is with the agency of record, you will need to contact that agency regarding access to the film.

This database contains details of all Wyoming governors starting with the first territorial governor in 1869. Each governor has a mini biography as well as a collection list of documents accumulated during their term in office. Use the search features below to select by state or territorial, terms in office, party affiliation, and governors born in Wyoming.

AHC collections go beyond Wyoming's or the region's borders and support a wide range of research and teaching activities in the humanities, sciences, arts, business, and education.

Available through this website are newspapers printed in Wyoming beginning with the 1849 Chugg Water Journal, in an easily searchable format. Browse or search the more than 900,000 newspaper pages converted from microfilm to a digital format. All text is searchable, including news articles, news briefs, obituaries and other items of interest.