LibGuides: Minnesota State Agency Databases: Home

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Minnesota State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on 04/11/2018.. The State of Minnesota also maintains its own list of data tools.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

Minnesota Government Data Practices Act: An Overview

Business, Finance & Economy

Made in Minnesota
State database of manufacturers

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Offender Locator
Public information about adult offenders who have been committed to the Commissioner of Corrections, and who are still under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections

Earth & the Environment

2019 Environment and Energy Report Card
Aerial photography and Remote Sensing Imagery
View PDFs of aerial photography holdings by Minnesota county in Borchert Map Library's extensive 365,000+ item collection. Holdings information includes paper, negative film, 35mm slide, and digital formats.
Climate Data
Current and hiastorical climate and agricultural climate data for the Twin Cities.
County Plat Maps and Atlases Minnesota
View PDFs of Minnesota county plat map and atlas holdings information. All holdings are in paper format unless otherwise indicated. Minnesota county plat maps and atlases do not circulate, but the plat maps themselves may be reproduced. For further information about reproduction options please contact the Borchert Map Library.
Find your watershed by city or town
Minnesota has 80 watersheds.
How's my lake or stream? Search for the water quality of lakes and streams.
LakeFinder
LakeFinder contains data for more than 4,500 lakes and rivers throughout Minnesota, including lake surveys, lake depth maps, lake water quality data, lake water clarity data, lake notes, and fish consumption advice.
Minnesota Natural Resource Atlas
The Natural Resource Atlas is meant to fill this need for data by providing mapped data to local decision makers in a useful form that does not require an enormous investment in software and training.
Minnesota Topographic Maps Online
While this list is not exhaustive, its goal is to highlight online collections of topographic maps that we have come across while answering questions for our patrons.
Park Finder
Water Chemistry Data
What's In My Neighborhood?
Online resource offering a way to access a wide variety of environmental information about a given community.

Education

Educator License Lookup
For Minnesota Education License information, by name or license number.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Minnesota Covid Portal
Minnesota COVID Update
Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety
Minnesota Public Health Data Access Portal
Environmental public health data can be used to inform policies, change behavior and help communities uncover issues to develop solutions...
more...less...
Provides links to a number of searchable databases that could be broken out further.

History, People & Culture

Age, Race and Ethnicity
Genealogical Resources
Birth and death certificate indexes, historical census information, and other genealogical resources.
Somalis in Minnesota
Newspaper article :The data comes from the American Community Survey five-year estimates, released Dec. 2018.
Hmong-Americans in Minnesota: Overview
A Library Guide from the Minnesota History Center.

Jobs & Unemployment

Occupations in Demand
Select, view and download high-demand occupation data by region.
Quarterly Employment Statistics and Data
Searchable by city, county and region
Employment Outlook
Short and Long term projections, searchable by state region

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Minnesota Geospatial Commons
Geospatial inventory searchable by keyword and browseable by category. Available material includes GIS data, web services, applications, static maps and collections of geospatial materials. Material geared towards use with Geographic Information System (GIS) software.
Minnesota Demographic Center
Minnesota data by topic.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of March 2017, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a Minnesota State Agency in these areas:

Agriculture & Food Sources
Community & Social Services
Government Agencies & Elected Officials
Government Finances & Contracts
Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues
Licensing
Military & Veterans
Recreation, Travel & Tourism
Science & Technology
Transportation
Voting & Elections

If you know of Minnesota produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.