History Day - Government Information Resources

Search for scanned or born-digital New Mexico state documents.

Cases in Context (CiC) is a joint outreach project between the New Mexico Supreme Court Law Library and the New Mexico State Library. This civics education program explores New Mexico history and law through New Mexico Supreme Court cases. Court rulings reflect a specific question at a specific time in history and are a fascinating starting point for further questions.

Historic Scenic Marker Spreadsheet
A searchable database of Historic Scenic Markers throughout the state. .

Originally intended as an electronic textbook of New Mexico History Search this site links users to images, transcripts of primary source documents, oral histories, films, songs and more. The primary search is by names with places, timelines, multimedia or topics presented as lists.

New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) provides access to finding aids for archival collections from 19 repositories across the state of New Mexico. The finding aids include information on the contents, historical context, creation, and organization of materials in the collections. Use the NMAO site to browse, explore and discover the exceptional collections of primary resources available in the state.

The online catalog for the New Mexico State Archives is one of New Mexico’s most important historical and cultural resources. It houses records from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, including documents dating from New Mexico’s Spanish (1621-1821), Mexican (1821-1846), and territorial (1846-1912) periods of history. Some holding include photograph and motion picture film. Archival holdings are vast, so cataloging is ongoing. If you cannot find what you are looking for you can contact the Archives reference desk at (505) 476-7948 or via e-mail at Archives@state.nm.us. The catalog is updated regularly.