Agricultural Resources for Teachers and Students

Covers every major agricultural subject, providing accessible agricultural information and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.

National Agriculture in the Classroom supports state programs by providing a network that seeks to improve agricultural literacy — awareness, knowledge, and appreciation — among PreK-12 teachers and their students. The National Agriculture in the Classroom Organization (NAITCO) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)–Agriculture in the Classroom Team, support state programs by providing a network of opportunities to improve agricultural literacy — awareness, knowledge, and appreciation — among K-12 teachers and their students.

Learning about sustainable agriculture issues can start at any age. Review instructional books, teaching aids, course outlines, support organizations and other teaching resources for all levels - kindergarten, high school and beyond.

The Food Access Research Atlas provides food access data for populations within census tracts.

Want to know the nutrients you get from a certain type of apple? FoodData Central contains data that provide information on nutrients and other food components.

The Food Environment Atlas visualizes the food environment, such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics. One can see a map of nearby Farmer's Markets, for example!

Do you love ants and want to learn all about them? FORMIS is a composite of several ant literature databases. It contains citations for a large fraction of the world's ant literature (about 77,000 references). FORMIS contains all known ant taxonomic literature (through 1996). It also contains comprehensive bibliographies of leaf-cutting ants, fire ants, and Russian wood ants.

From the National Agricultural Library, this site provides general educational resources for students K-12 for invasive aquatic, animal, microbe, and plant species.

Are you looking for resources for your classes that combine topics such as food and nutrition, farmers and farmers markets, and your state’s agriculture? The resources below include lesson plans around gardening, agriculture and nutrition, as well as new MyPlate, MyState activity sheets that can be used throughout the school year.

Soil education for grades K-6, 7-12, and college. Includes soil facts and lesson plans.