LibGuides: Alaska State Agency Databases: Home

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Alaska State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last updated on 7/10/2024.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About Alaska

Alaska Census data
Number of searchable databases related to Alaska specific census data.
Community Photo Library
Locate Alaska-themed photographs by category and geographic location.
DCRA Open Data
Map and list based website that allows you to access and view a variety of current and historical community data thru interactive maps, apps, and reports with the ability to download and print different datasets. If you have any questions please contact the agency at DCRAResearchAnalysis@alaska.gov
Open Data Geoportal
Keyword searchable directory of geographic datasets, maps, story maps and other geospatial data produced by local, state and federal agencies. Also browseable by Featured Maps and Apps, Framework Datasets (Transportation, Imagery, Parcels, Geodetic Control, Hydrography, Boundaries, Address and Elevation), by agency, or by theme (Community, Hazard, Natural Resource, Vegetation, Fish and Wildlife, Government, Utilities and Environmental Health).

Agriculture & Food Sources

Fish & Aquaculture

Alaska Freshwater Fish Inventory (AFFI)
From the website, "The Fish Resource Monitor displays an interactive map of sample site locations where fish species have been collected or observed combined with USGS base maps, aerial photos, communities, roads, streams. The Alaska Freshwater Fish Inventory (AFFI) data sets are provided for general reference and to aid users in generating various natural resource analyses and products. Interactive mapping provides you with the ability to create custom maps by zooming in and out to an area of interest, selecting features of interest, searching for specific locations or species, and viewing detailed reports."
Alaska Seafood Recipes
Searchable set of recipes utilizing salmon, halibut, crab and other Alaskan seafood. May be searched by type of dish (appetizer, salad, entree, etc), Seafood type, and consumer/food service.
Alaska Sport Fishing Survey
From the website, "The Sport Fish Division has conducted a mail survey to estimate sport fishing total harvest (fish kept) since 1977 and total catch (fish kept plus fish released) since 1990. The estimates derived from this survey are available online through this application for study years 1996 through 2015." Data available include number of anglers in a given area.
Anadromous Waters Catalog
Interactive map. From the website, "The Catalog of Waters Important for the Spawning, Rearing or Migration of Anadromous Fishes and its associated Atlas (the Catalog and Atlas, respectively) currently contain over 19,000 streams, rivers or lakes around the state which have been specified as being important for the spawning, rearing or migration of anadromous fish. Based upon thorough surveys of a few drainages it is believed that this number represents less than 50% of the streams, rivers and lakes actually used by anadromous species. It is estimated that at least an additional 20,000 or more anadromous water bodies have not been identified or specified under AS 16.05.871(a)."
AYK Salmon Database Management System
From the website, " The ADF&G, Division of Commercial Fisheries, Arctic-Yukon-Kuskokwim (AYK) Region has created a salmon database management system (DBMS) for public use. The goal of this system is to provide managers, researchers, and the public involved in salmon fisheries in the AYK Region with a system to enter and process new data, as well as to retrieve historical data. The AYK salmon DBMS provides access to AYK project descriptions, biological measurements of age, sex, and length, escapement data, and Norton Sound test fisheries data through this internet site. The website also includes a demonstration of extraction and reporting of subsistence and commercial harvest data for Norton Sound only."
Fish Count Database
The department counts the numbers of migrating fish, primarily salmon, using weirs, sonars and counting towers in a number of streams throughout Alaska. Searchable by location, species and year using drop-down menus. Information is presented in tables and graphs.
Fishing and Subsistence Publications Searchable Database
From the web site, "This page allows you to search all of the reports and publications published in the scientific and technical reporting series by ADF&G's Commercial Fisheries, Sport Fish, and Subsistence divisions. There are three approaches you can use for searching these publications - The first two search through data fields in our publications database and the third will search through the text of the PDF documents themselves. Each method offers distinct advantages - roll the cursor over each search type to find out more!"
Permit/Vessel Database
This Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission database allows you to get information on fishing vessels working in Alaska as well as fishing permit holders. The database can be searched in many ways including by company/fisher name, home port zip code, vessel name, type of fishery and more. Data is also available as CSV downloads.

Business, Finance & Economy

Corporations Search
Search for corporations by corporation name or entity number. Records list contact information, registered agents and links to filed documents. Good way to get contact information for a business. The new version (September 2011) does not allow for searching by officer name, which makes it harder to locate connections among corporations. There is a downloadable version of this database, but it doesn't contain listings of registered agents or principal officers.
Regulatory Commission of Alaska Quick Searches
Several searches of files of the Regulatory Commission of Alaska, which regulates utilities in Alaska.

Community & Social Services

Planning

Planning and Land Management - Community Infrastructure Library (CIL)
From the website, "Contains a variety of community infrastructure and project development documents for bulk fuel, energy, marine, multi-use, sanitation, washeteria, and other public services.Database is searchable by community, year, or plan type. Search results are available via PDF document download or email notification.
Planning and Land Management - Community Plans Library (CPL)
From the website, "Contains standard community planning documents including comprehensive, capital improvement, land use, strategic, transportation, vision, and other community planning documents." Database is searchable by community, year, or plan type. Search results are available via PDF document download or email notification.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Courts

Alaska Case Law Service
This database provides opinions and some supporting documentation for cases decided by Alaska's appellate courts since 1960. It is searchable by keyword, citation, decision date, party name, judge and opinion type and by docket number or counsel. This service is operated by Westlaw on behalf of the Alaska Court System.
Alaska Appellate Courts Case Management System
Database of appeals court materials searchable by the Appellate Case Number, the Last Name of a Party, or the Trial Court Number.
Alaska Trial Court Cases
Provides access to non confidential civil and criminal trial records back to about 1990. Database is searchable by personal name, business name or case number. Records include list of action dates and final disposition if case closed. May need to click on "docket" tab to identify court.

Offenders

Sex Offender/Child Kidnapper Registration Central Registry
This registry includes offenders who have been convicted of sex offenses specified under AS 12.63.100 who have registered and those who are required to register but may not be in compliance. Searchable by name and location. Databases include current address and often photos of registrant.

Earth & the Environment

Alaska Volcano Observatory Image Search
Database of volcano related photos. Database may be searched by name of volcano, year, image type (may refer to purpose or format), words in caption, author, recent images and "keywords." Keywords are in quotes because you are asked to choose form a list. Search can be limited to public domain images only. Credit for photographers and AVO/USGS is requested for use of these images.

Conservation

Alaska Pesticide Registration Database
All pesticides must be registered with Alaska's Dept of Environmental Conservation before being sold in the state. This database can be searched by brand, ingredient, company,type of pest and more. As of 2008, DEC is working with Kelly Registration Systems for this registry. From the website, "This website (http://www.kellysolutions.com) is owned, maintained, and provided by Kelly Registration Systems, Inc. (KRS), Covington, GA, as a free service to the public through the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (Division of Environmental Health). KRS is a private company that maintains this search program not controlled or managed by the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (Division of Environmental Health)"
Contaminated Sites Program Database Search
Database of Contaminated Sites and Leaking Underground Storage Tanks (UST). Searchable by facility name, address, borough, city, zip code and status. Database entries include extensive site reports and contact information for responsible personnel.
Labs Approved for Contaminated Sites Analysis Including Underground Storage Tank Sites
Use this database to find a DEC approved/certified laboratory to examine your site for contaminated materials. Database may be searched by keyword
Online Permit Search (For wastewater)
Search by keyword or point and click with map. Click on "hamburger menu" in upper right corner to access advanced search options. Records include link to PDFs of issued permits which explains how much can be dumped and how.
Operator Training and Certification Section Library Catalog
From the website, "The Operator Training and Certification Section of the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation maintains an operator lending library. Materials from the lending library are available for checkout. Materials may be checked out for a maximum of 45 days. Return postage is the responsibility of the requestor. Requestors who fail to return materials by the deadline will not be allowed to check out resources from the lending library and may be invoiced for the resources." Searchable by title or subject.
Wastewater Operator Certification Search
Searchable listing of all certified wastewater system operators. Search by name or city. Records list current certifications and expiration date along with current employer.
Wastewater System Classification Search -
Searchable by name of the community, the name of the facility or the owner. Records include what level of wastewater operator certificate is required for the facility.

Emergency Preparedness

No identified searchable databases on this topic.

Natural Resources & Energy Sources

Alaska Oil and Gas Commission Public Data and databases-
Listing of publicly available databases and data sets available from the Commission.
Division of Geophysical and Geological Surveys (DGGS) Publications Search
DGGS has been very active in scanning older publications into this database. Find digitized copies of DGGS and Alaska-related USGS reports going back to 1900 using author, title, subject, publication year and/or Quadrangle of interest.
Water Quality Reports
Database uses drop down menus to search by waterbody name, town, area name, hydrologic unit name or hydrologic code. From the website, "Water quality data has been collected from a variety of both surface water and ground water sources by the Alaska Hydrologic Survey. This site is an index to the data that has been compiled in reports or manually collected by the Alaska Hydrologic Survey."
Web Geochem
From the website, "WebGeochem is a simplified search engine that uses predefined queries to select and display geochemical data from multiple published DGGS sources. (As of 6/15/2019, database not working. Still appears in search results so will check again.)

The Web Geochem search engine has three main components:

A search component allowing you to select specific sample types and analysis types of geochemical analyses.
A secondary search component based on either geographic parameters or on preexisting compiled datasets.
A resulting table of sample analyses."
A user guide is available. It is highly recommended that you review this guide before searching the database.

Well Log Tracking System
Search for water wells by driller name, property owner name, property description or well key. From the website, "The Division makes NO representation regarding well location, completeness or accuracy of the data in the database or data extraction procedures provided."

Wildlife

Community Subsistence Information System
From the website: "The CSIS is the repository of Alaska community harvest information gathered by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Division of Subsistence.
Harvest Information Databases
A group of databases providing information on animals hunted in Alaska. The databases currently include:Drawing / Tier II Hunt Harvest Summary,
Registration Hunt Harvest Summary, Harvest General Reports, and Harvest Lookup / Data Download.
Wildlife Publications from Fish & Game eLibrary
Contains digitized versions of Alaska Department of Fish and Game Publications from 1956 forward. Front page has canned searches which can be selected. "All Fields" goes to an advanced search screen where users can search by title, author, topic, year, species, project number and more.

Education

Alaska District Contact Information
Drop down search for school district contact information.
Alaska Public Schools Database
Searchable by school name, district name or Alaskan community name, this database provides contact and enrollment information for Alaska's public schools.
Teacher Certification Database
Searchable by teacher first or last name, this database will provide a list of that teacher's current certifications along with expiration dates. This database does not list expired certifications or any personal data.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

State Employee Directory
Searchable by employee name, phone number, email address, department, job title, and city. Database carries this warning "This employee directory is provided as a resource to aid in conducting business with the State of Alaska. Public users are responsible for using this directory and the communications systems in an efficient, effective, ethical and lawful manner. All email messages sent to the State of Alaska and its employees should follow the same code of conduct expected in any other form of written communication or face-to-face business communication. Specifically prohibited is the use of these publicly owned computing resources to distribute bulk email for profit or political purposes."

Government Finances & Contracts

Alaska Public Notices
List of all official public notices in Alaska State Government. Allows for notification updates by RSS and email. May be searched or browsed. Searchable fields include status, title, full text (keyword), department, category, subcategory, location and date.
Financial Documents Delivery System
Provides “access to every municipal budget and year-end financial statement submitted” to the Division of Community & Regional Affairs.
Grant Data Reports
All grants and revenue sharing funds to communities administered by this division are included in this database. Programs include Fisheries Business Tax and National Forest Receipts.

Taxation

Alaska Taxable
Data on local government taxes and tax practices. Map-based and keyword searching are available.- Converted to static publication in 2019.

Unclaimed Property

Unclaimed Property Searchable Database
Does Alaska owe you or your business money? Search this database by name to find out.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Spills Database Online Query
From web site: "This online query application searches the Statewide Oil and Hazardous Substance Spills Database. The period of record for this database is July 1, 1995 to present." Searchable by facility, location or substance. Database entries includes notes of site visits, remediation methods and final disposition.

History, People & Culture

Land Records

Lands Administration System
From agency description, "Use this site to search case files for state and BLM land. Summary records include all current data and case abstracts include historical data."
(Land) Recorder's Office
Search types include: Plat Search, Name Search, Survey Search, Date Search, MTRS Search, Document Number Search, Subdivision Name Search, Document Type Search, No Plat Subdivision, Book and Page Search, and Document input & Unverified Status.

Libraries, Library Catalogs, Archives

Alaska & Polar Periodical Index
Index to journals, magazines and newsletters relating to Alaska and the Earth's polar regions. Coverage goes back decades. Results show availability in University of Alaska Fairbanks Rassmuson Library, but many articles are available elsewhere or through interlibrary loan.
Alaska's Digital Archive
Multiagency database managed by the University of Alaska Anchorage. Rich collection of media including photographs, video, and audio.
Alaska State Archives Catalog Search
NOTE 7/10/24: This page links to the landing page before the search which indicates a catalog migration is in progress.

Keyword searchable catalog of state and territorial records held by the Alaska State Archives.
Alaska State Library Catalog (JLC)
Alaska State Library's portal to the multi-library Joint Libray Catalog. Bibliographic access to over two million items system wide.
ScholarWorks@UA
Institutional repository for theses, dissertations and other research by University of Alaska Students and Faculty. May be searched or browsed by campus, issue date, author, subject, titles or type of resource.

Newspapers

Alaska Newspapers Index
Indexing for a number of Fairbanks Newspapers from 1900-1975 and for the Juneau Empire for 1992-1999. Searchable by headline and year for all newspapers. Juneau Empire may also be searched by reporter or abstract.
Alaskan newspapers at Chronicling America
Database is maintained by Library of Congress, but the Alaska State Library digitized the Alaskan newspapers available there. Full text searchable or browse by newspaper title.

Vital Records

No identified searchable databases on this topic.

Jobs & Unemployment

AlaskaJobs
Database of job listings, search by location, keyword, occupation and more. Click on Find a Job to get started.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Alaska Appellate Courts Case Management System
Database of appeals court materials searchable by the Appellate Case Number, the Last Name of a Party, or the Trial Court Number.
Alaska Case Law Service
This database provides opinions and some supporting documentation for cases decided by Alaska's appellate courts since 1960. It is searchable by keyword, citation, decision date, party name, judge and opinion type and by docket number or counsel. This service is operated by Westlaw on behalf of the Alaska Court System.
Alaska State Legislature Folio Infobase
Searchable database of laws, statutes, bills, executive orders and more.
Legislative Citations Search
Keyword searchable index of commendation citations given by the Alaska State Legislature to individuals and institutions. No apparent way to sort or limit by date.

Licensing

Business License Search
Over 100,000 business licenses that can be searched by line of business, business or owner name, license number, city and whether license is current. Database is also available for download.
EMS Provider Database
Search for EMS applicants by last name, level (type of certification) and region. Search results include name, certification number, level, effective date and expiration date.
Insurance Searches
Choose state, then type of search, (Licensee, Company or (Course or Provider) . Company records include business addresses and named points of contact, among other information.
Marijuana License Search
Search for licenses issued to marijuana businesses in Alaska. License types are Limited Marijuana Cultivation Facility, Marijunana Concentrate Manufacturing Facility, Mariajuana Product Manufacturing Facility, Marijuana Testing Facility, Retail Marijuana Store, and Standard Marijuana Cultivation Facility.
Professional Licensing
Searchable by last name, licensing board, license type, license number, DBA name, City. You can limit to current licenses only and order results by business name, last name or license.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Alaska Lake Database (ALDAT)
Interactive map to let you see what lakes have what fish. Can search by stocking date, management areas and lakes, stocked species and other species.
Fish Stocking Update Database
From the website, "This page is provided so you can search our stocking database to find which locations have been stocked, with what species of fish, and when specific locations were stocked." Searchable by area, species and date.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Alaska Geologic Data Index
From the website: “AGDI includes information about industry reports and maps, field notes, drill logs, and other unpublished geology-related data. The archived data are held and controlled by government agencies, institutions, and private companies; the index points to the physical location of the data, provides a basic description, and contains information on accessibility.” Data can be selected by clicking on a map or conducting a search. The "more options" search allows one to search by keyword, author, title, project, year range and location. The search may be limited by data source, data set type, themes or commodity.

Transportation

Alaska 511 Highway Conditions Interactive Map
Database of driving conditions and webcams. Searchable by area, highway or route. Information provided includes webcams and hazard advisories.
Technology Transfer Library Search
From the website: "This library contains over 1100 resources which can be downloaded from the web or requested through us. Use this library to search for Alaska DOT&PF reports & manuals, audio/video tapes, interactive resources, and software."

Voting & Elections

Alaska Public Offices Commission (APOC) Reports Search
Searchable database of Campaign Disclosures and Financial Disclosures for Alaska State Government. Searchable by candidate, officer holder, and contributor. Links to PDF lobbyist directories and reports.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of July 2024, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by an Alaska State Agency in these areas:

Military & Veterans
Science & Technology (not including earth and environmental sciences)

If you know of Alaska produced databases in these or other subjects shown on this page, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.