Library Associations with Government Sections

Provides a forum for librarians working with government documents.

The Government Publications Interest Group (GoPIG) is a well-established, long-time committed network of government information librarians in Colorado. They meet a handful of times a year to share with one another their issues and best practices for all to learn from. “GoPIG allows librarians with differing responsibilities at their home institutions to get together and focus on this aspect of their position,” said Kate Tallman, head of CU Boulder's Government Information Library.

CT GODORT is the state Government Documents Roundtable. It is meant to be a networking, training, and communication tool for those interested in government documents in Connecticut and Rhode Island.

The purpose of the Government Information Interest Group is to promote the use and accessibility of federal, state, and local documents as well as foreign and international documents and to provide support, information-sharing, and instruction for government documents at all levels.

A special Interest group providing a forum for discussion of problems and concerns, and for exchanging ideas by librarians working with government information.

The purpose of the roundtable is the promotion of documents library service by
providing an avenue for discussion of problems and concerns and for exchange of ideas
among librarians working with government publications in all types of libraries.

The goals of the Government Information Literacy & Civic Engagement Community of Practice are to focus on public policy issues; to promote the education and training of library staff on international, foreign, Federal, state, and local document topics; to advocate for improved access to government information; to better organize politically in partnership with other stakeholder groups; to exert more influence within KLA and other professional associations of which we are members; and to use the advantage of our diversity as a group to share our differing expertise regarding government information resources.

The objectives of the Round Table, as stated in bylaws, are:
* To promote access to government publications at all levels through communication among interested librarians.
* To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas, concerns, and problems affecting this access.
* To increase awareness of resources available in government publications.

The purpose of GODORT is to provide a forum for discussion and exchange of ideas, problems and news about government publications and information from all levels of government and to provide a means for initiating and supporting programs and publications to increase availability, use and bibliographic control, and management of these documents.

The role of the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) of Michigan is to promote the effective use of government information and publications issued at all levels of government. GODORT MI is comprised of individuals with an interest in preserving and promoting the use of government information and serves as a venue for conversation, collaboration, and continuing education within the state of Michigan.

The Government Information Interest Group (GIIG) explores current and developing trends in the delivery of government information from all levels - international, federal, state and local. The Group seeks to provide Maryland Librarians, and other interested persons, with quality programming and professional development in this fast-changing field. The Group welcomes all members of the library community who are interested in the use and dissemination of government information.

The mission of the Reference and Government Information Community of Interest shall be to provide a forum for the discussion of all aspects of reference, government, and information services in all types of libraries.

The Special and Institutional Section has been established to reflect the diverse interests of librarians who work in specialized or in institutional libraries. Our members are employed in a wide variety of libraries throughout Nebraska, including law, corporate, governmental, prison, church, music, and medical libraries.

The purpose of this organization shall be:
a. To further the development and usefulness of government documents collections;
b. To increase communication between documents librarians and other librarians; and
c. To contribute to the development and improvement of education and training of documents librarians.

The Government Information SIG Promotes the curation, preservation and dissemination of government information: State, Federal, and International.

The Government Information Round Table is committed to the furtherance of knowledge and use of all types of government publications; planning and coordinating related programs; communication between librarians and other interested parties working with government documents; publishing materials relating to the government documents field; and encouraging legislation for the improvement of printing, distribution, and utilization of documents.

North Carolina Library Association's Government Resources Section (NCLA - GRS) promotes state-wide cooperation among library employees working with all types of government documents.

The Technical Services /Government Document Roundtable is for anyone interested in Government Documents, State Documents, and Technical Services (mostly cataloging).

NIDL exists to promote the education and professional development of librarians working with government documents by providing a forum for resource sharing and communications, to concern itself with government information at all levels of government: international, foreign, U.S., Illinois, state, county and municipal, to serve as a force for initiating and supporting programs to increase the availability, use and bibliographic control of documents and to promote public awareness and use of government information.

Founded in 1981, the Government Documents Round Table of Ohio (Ohio GODORT) has worked tirelessly to promote the use of government documents from all levels of government as well as to advocate the free public access to this information

The Documents Interest Group of Oregon (DIGOR), is dedicated to making government documents of all kinds more easily accessible and more useful to library staff and patrons. DIGOR promotes information sharing among people involved with, or interested in, government documents by sponsoring educational programs and giving documents librarians an opportunity to meet and interact.

The purpose of this Round Table is to further the collection, organization, and use of federal, state and local government publications by documents librarians and librarians with other fields of interest.

he purpose of this roundtable is to promote statewide cooperation among people working with all types of government documents, i.e., Federal, State, and Local. To provide a forum for those people to discuss their problems and share their ideas concerning government documents. To sponsor projects for increasing the use of documents and to improve bibliographic control of them. To contribute to the education and training of documents personnel. Section To encourage all levels of government to make their public documents readily available to all types of libraries. To continually review the laws, rules, and guidelines that affect the governance of our collections, and to actively support lobbying efforts to change these laws and rules when the need for change is necessitated.

The Government Documents Round Table’s mission:
To promote interest in free government resources
To improve bibliographic control and reference service in government resource collections
To provide opportunities for librarians to share information
To welcome into our ranks any member of TLA interested in free government resources!

The Government Documents Round Table is a dynamic forum where information professionals learn, discuss, advocate, and create scholarship on and about government information at all levels of government (local, state, national, international).

This special interest group will serve members with an interest in collecting, preserving, cataloging, or providing reference for government information. We will suggest and sponsor programs for annual conferences, and will plan and coordinate our own one-day annual conference, Government Information Day.

The purpose of this site is to act as a means of communication among the GPLNE members and provide links to relevant sites. On this site you will be able to learn more about the association, retrieve information on upcoming meetings, and find links to other regional Government Publications groups.

The Western States Government Information Virtual Conference is a free, biennial conference hosted by Government Information Librarians in the Western States and open to all.