Interactive applications, created by the Census Bureau, to help you find, customize, and even visualize, statistics and information from multiple censuses, surveys, and programs.
A table on data.census.gov showing the demographic estimates of the American Indian and Alaska Natives.
This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics.
A directory of the 574 federally-recognized tribes in the U.S. From the U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs Department.
From the NCAI, includes information on working with tribal communities on research projects, recommendations on research policies and projects, data resources, publications, and data disaggregation information.
Launched in September 2012, the free Indigenous Governance Database (IGD) features online educational and informational resources on tribal self-governance and tribal policy reform that foster Native nation building, promote tribal sovereignty, disseminate Indigenous data, encourage tribal leadership development, support the development of capable governing institutions, highlight sustainable economic and community development in Indian Country. This database is brought to you by the University of Arizona's Native Nations Institute. (Includes information for native nations in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, and the U.S.)
The United States Indigenous Data Sovereignty Network (USIDSN) helps ensure that data for and about Indigenous nations and peoples in the US (American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians) are utilized to advance Indigenous aspirations for collective and individual wellbeing. USIDSN’s primary function is to provide research information and policy advocacy to safeguard the rights and promote the interests of Indigenous nations and peoples in relation to data.
Available from the National Archives online. You can browse Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940.
A webpage containing various tools including web maps, static maps, data, and other resources for federally-recognized American Indian and Alaskan Native Tribes.
The U.S. Geological Survey's National and Regional Climate Adaptation Science Centers (CASCs) is a partnership-driven program that teams scientific researchers with natural and cultural resource managers and local communities to help fish, wildlife, waters, and lands across the country adapt to changing conditions. You can browse past and current projects on the topic of Indigenous Peoples in the U.S.
The National Pipeline Mapping System (NPMS) is a dataset containing locations of and information about gas transmission and hazardous liquid pipelines and Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) plants which are under the jurisdiction of the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA). The NPMS also contain voluntarily submitted breakout tank data. The data is used by PHMSA for emergency response, pipeline inspections, regulatory management and compliance, and analysis purposes. It is used by government officials, pipeline operators, and the general public for a variety of tasks including emergency response, smart growth planning, critical infrastructure protection, and environmental protection.
Health statistics and data from the National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Includes data on health by region and/or disease, publications, census reports, and links to other resources.
The Indian Health Service continues to work closely with our tribal and urban Indian organization partners and state and local public health officials to coordinate a comprehensive public health response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
The Tribal Law and Order Act of 2010 (TLOA; P.L. 111-211, 124 Stat. 2258 § 251(b)) requires Bureau of Justice Statistics to establish and implement a tribal crime data-collection system, and support tribal participation in national records and information systems.
Can't find the data you're looking for? Try the two following data search engines:
Read the "About" page on data.gov to learn more on who developed the database, how to search, and what types of data are included.
Works just like Google! Take a 5 min. training course on how to use it here.