LibGuides: 2025 Presidential Transition: Home

Friday Chat 2/7/2025

Friday Chat, February 7, 2025 1 pm Eastern time.

Federal web site changes/disappearance

This guide was created to gather resources for Friday Chat.

GODORT Friday Chats
by Lynda Kellam Last Updated Feb 3, 2025 818 views this year

Welcome

See something save something

In order to be efficient - links to other resources are included.

We are currently not duplicating their links here. If you know of a comprehensive site, let us know and we will switch efforts to help them.

This guide will most likely be re-organized. As of 2/10/2025, we will focus on adding content from the Feb. 7 Friday Chat and other collaborative efforts.

Transitions from one presidential administration to another usually involve some changes to federal government websites. January 2025 saw an increase in such changes.

Some sites have changed terminology - example “climate resilience” has replaced "climate change". Other terms and topics being scrubbed are: diversity; equity; inclusion/inclusive; pregnant people; gender; gender identity; transgender

From Friday 2/7/2025 Chat

From the chat box of 2/7/2025 discussion.

We will flesh out context as time permits.

Bluesky @datarescue2025.bsky.social
Have confirmed IA content is mirrored in Canada so that's a bit of good news
The ProQuest Congressional, etc PDFs should be safe, as they're hosted by ProQuest. ERIC documents via ProQuest (and EBSCOhost?) point to the ERIC website, so they're endangered. Coherent Digital claims to dark-archive a lot of material, to be unlocked if the linked source documents are lost ... but I don't know of any cases they've activated stuff and whether they're free to the world or for purchasers only.

Get involved - this article has great suggestions

Call to arms: What government information librarians can do to help save critical federal information from being lost
By James R. Jacobs in post on February 5, 2025. Free Government Information

Resources from 2/7/2025 discussion's chat box:

Data Rescue Efforts
IASSIST (and partners) data rescue efforts - Lynda Kellam's google doc on notes for a data organization meeting preserving
ICPSR member institutions
DataLumos
Site: "DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos."
Mattermost
End of Term Web Archive
Site: "The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020."
End of 2024 Term Web Crawl and Archive Presentation SLIDES
GODORT Chat September 6, 2024
EOT Nomination tool
DataHoarder
Lots of Copies Keep Stuff Safe - LOCKSS Site: "The Digital Federal Depository Library Program, or the “USDocs” LOCKSS network, replicates key aspects of the United States Federal Depository Library Program. The content is held in geographically-distributed sites and replicated many times. Citizens have oversight and responsibility for the long-term care and maintenance of the content. All of these characteristics mean that the content will be preserved so that any alteration of the content (either deliberate or accidental) will be detected and repaired. For all documents, preservation in a tamper-evident environment is important, but for government documents, this is essential."
LOCKSS USDOCS and the Digital FDLP program slides
October 4, 2024 GODORT Friday chat
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) Archive
ERIC documents are available in the Internet Archive
Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) ARCHIVE
Site: "You are entering the 2017-2020 Archive for the United States Agency for International Development web site. If you are looking for current information, visit www.usaid.gov."
Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC) ARCHIVE in WayBack Machine
Site archived in WayBack Machine
Free Government Information (FGI)
Site: "Free Government Information (FGI) is a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information. FGI promotes free government information through collaboration, education, advocacy and research."
Blue Sky's datarescue2025 in RSS
@datarescue2025.bsky.social
Bluesky