LibGuides: Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues Sources in State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

The Document Specialists for the states listed below have indicated their state has one or more databases in this subject area. If a state is not listed below it means we do not know of any searchable databases produced by that state government on this subject.

If you know of other state-produced databases in this subject, please use the "email me" link in the "Project Coordinator" box at the left to drop us a line.

Return to the main State Agency Databases Project home page.

Alabama

Alabama Attorney General Opinion Search
Search the full text of opinions from 1979 to the present. Search by opinion number, number range, date, date range, agency, or operator.
Alabama Bill Search
Search bills from current legislative session.
Alabama Civil Law Notaries Search
Search for notaries by name or by county.
Alabama Commission Advisory Opinions
Search for Ethics Opinions issued beginning with October 1, 1995 (Opinion 95-67). Search by opinion number or keyword.
Alabama Legal E-Forms
Browse lists of state legal forms. Select your form type from the list of categories on the left.
Alabama Legislative Acts Search Options
Search for legislative acts by act number, bill number, legislative Author, description, subject, or year. (Each search option opens a search in a new window).
Alabama Legislative Directory
Search for legislators by zip code, name, party, or chamber. Selects links to browse all officials.
Alabama Nursing Board License Lookup
Search for registered nurses by license number or name (choose between top tabs).
Alabama Resolutions
Browse or search legislative resolutions by name, status, selected matter transaction, house sponsor, senate sponsor, house committee, or senate committee.
Alabama State Bar Member Search
Search by name, city, state, firm name, or law school.
Code of Alabama 1975
Search the Code of Alabama 1975 by keyword.

Alaska

Alaska Appellate Courts Case Management System
Database of appeals court materials searchable by the Appellate Case Number, the Last Name of a Party, or the Trial Court Number.
Alaska Case Law Service
This database provides opinions and some supporting documentation for cases decided by Alaska's appellate courts since 1960. It is searchable by keyword, citation, decision date, party name, judge and opinion type and by docket number or counsel. This service is operated by Westlaw on behalf of the Alaska Court System.
Alaska State Legislature Folio Infobase
Searchable database of laws, statutes, bills, executive orders and more.
Legislative Citations Search
Keyword searchable index of commendation citations given by the Alaska State Legislature to individuals and institutions. No apparent way to sort or limit by date.

Arkansas

Acts
Search Arkansas Acts 1987-current. Search by keyword, act number or by sponsor.
Arkansas Code Unannotated Search
Searchable by Terms and Connectors or Natural Language.
Arkansas Ethics Commission - Decisions in Contested Matters
List of decisions in contested matters, including matter number, date ordered and respondent.
Attorney General Opinions Search
Attorney General is charged by statute with the responsibility of providing written legal opinions requested by state officials. The purpose of the Opinions Department is to assist in fulfilling this statutory duty by preparing drafts of formal, written opinions. While opinions of the Attorney General do not constitute binding law or precedent, they do provide a significant source of legal interpretation, often with respect to questions that have not been addressed elsewhere. The database provides full text searching. The user may also enter, category, requester name, date of release or opinion number.
Bills
Search Arkansas Bills 1987-current. Search by keyword, bill number or by sponsor.
CourtConnect
Searchable by case-related information for Supreme Court, Court of Appeals; District Courts; some Circuit Courts.
Interim Study Proposals and Resolutions
Interim study proposals and resolutions from Arkansas Legislature. Search by keyword, name or proposal/resolution number.
Legislator Search
Search by the House and the Senate by name or committee.
Licensed Court Reporters
Searchable by name, city, county or report type (freelance or official) from the Arkansas State Board of Certified Court Reporter Examiners.
Official Opinions of the Arkansas Supreme Court and Arkansas Court of Appeals
Large, searchable database of over 59,000 opinions. Includes scanned copies of the Arkansas Reports from Vol. 1 (1837) to Vol. 375 (2009)and the Arkansas Appellate Reports from Vol. 1 (1981) to Vol. 104 (2009).

California

California Code of Regulations
The California Code of Regulations (CCR) is the primary compilation of state regulatory law, decided by individual agencies, as opposed to the statutory law passed by the legislature or through the initiative process, and the case law decided by the courts. Searchable by keyword, title or section number, and browsable by titles and agency names. This website is maintained by West under contract.
California Rules of Court
The court rules, updated twice a year, presented in a searchable .pdf or webpage format. The rules can also be downloaded as a .zip file.
Judicial Council Court Forms
Standardized California court forms in .pdf format, searchable by name, subject or form number.
California Courts Case Information
This system compiles information for open cases in the California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal, updated hourly. Searches can include the trial court case number, case caption, attorney, or party information. Notifications by e-mail of specific case activity can be set up by providing a case number and e-mail address.
Official Reports of the California Courts
Searchable database of the official reports and closed case law from 1850. Opinions are usually current to within 60 days of filing. This database is hosted by LexisNexis® with multiple search methods. Newer decisions are either slip opinions or unpublished opinions.
Slip Opinions
Published slip opinions from the previous 120 days can be found here for all California courts, before they are annotated for the Official Reports (above); the opinions can be viewed by district or the most recent 100 hours of all districts.
Unpublished Opinions
Unpublished opinions of the California Courts of Appeal are posted here for 60 days; the opinions can be viewed by appellate district or the most recent 100 hours of all districts.
Research and Statistics
Detailed reports, trend data and searchable information on a variety of court business, such as demographic data on California State justices and judges, trial court workloads, and general court statistics.
Superior Courts
A directory of all the Superior Courts in the state, searchable by location.
Bill Information
The full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, with their status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages are available from 1993 to current. Searchable by bill number, author or keyword.
more...less...
A beta version of http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billSearchClient.xhtml an updated interface is also available.
California Law
A searchable database of California's 29 codes, covering various subject areas, including the State Constitution and all statutes. The entries are not annotated and can only be browsed or searched by keyword.
Statutes
California statutes are the chaptered bills, after a bill has passed through both houses of the Legislature and been signed by the Governor or becomes a law without the Governor's signature. Statutes are available starting from 1993, searchable by year or chapter number.
Legislative Document Archives
This searchable archive of the California State Legislature includes Assembly and House journals from 1849 to 2012, histories and indexes from 1881 to 2009, and statutes from 1850 to 2008.
Sections Affected by Commission Recommendations
Over 20,000 sections of California law have been added, amended or repealed on the recommendation of the Law Revision Commission; this page provides access to a searchable database of those sections, by code section number or by the volume and page number of the Commission recommendation.
Staff Memoranda
A searchable database of all memoranda prepared by the Commission's staff. Memoranda prepared in 1997 or later can be downloaded in PDF format; memoranda that are not available for download can be ordered.
Law Library Research Guides
An excellent compilation of research guides compiled by the Hastings College professors and librarians, searchable by keyword, with information on how to do legal research in dozens of kinds of law, with access to printed and online sources.
Library Catalogs
Access to the Hastings Law Library catalogue, searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, Library of Congress call number or course. There are convenient links to seven other legal collections in the Bay Area.

Colorado

Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR)
Administrative rules of the executive agencies of the state of Colorado. Search by keyword, agency or CCR citation.
Colorado Session Laws
from the William A. Wise Law Library at the University of Colorado Boulder
A digital replica of the print Colorado Session Law volumes published by the state of Colorado between 1861 - 1992.

Connecticut

Advanced Legislative Document Search
Databases for many different types of documents produced in the state legislative process. For best results, choose at least one database from the lists in the bottom half of the page before searching. Historical information can be found by choosing one or more years from the drop-down menu on the right.
Bill Files of the Connecticut General Assembly
Search the full text of bills from selected years. Depending on the bill, bill files can contain items such as amendments, roll call votes, and fiscal notes. From the Connecticut State Library.
Case Look-up: Civil and Family Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of civil and family cases. Cases can be searched by party name, docket number, attorney or firm juris number, or, for eviction and foreclosure cases, property address.
Case Look-up: Criminal and Motor Vehicle Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of criminal and motor vehicle cases. Convictions and pending cases can be searched by defendant or by docket number; dockets can be searched by court or by defendant. Conviction information is generally kept online for no more than 10 years; see details at the bottom of the page.
Case Look-up: Supreme and Appellate Court Cases
This page links to several databases that allow searching of Supreme and Appellate Court cases filed from 1991 to the present. Cases can be searched by case name, party name, Supreme or Appellate Court docket number, trial court docket number, or attorney.
The Connecticut Constitution, 1965-2008: Legislative History of Amendments
This database includes the legislative history for each of the 31 amendments made to the current state constitution since its adoption in 1965, as well as each amendment's date of adoption and popular vote totals. From the Connecticut State Library.
Historical Bills and Acts Index
Includes bills, resolutions, joint resolutions, and petitions from 1913 to 1982. Search by number, year, title, or committee. From the Connecticut State Library.
Legislative History
This page provides important background information about the legislative history materials available at the State Library. To access the database of those legislative histories that the State Library has electronically compiled, click the "Search our compiled histories by act number" link.
Regulations of State Agencies
Search the regulations of executive branch agencies by keyword or by section number. The advanced search allows filtering by agency.
Statutes Text Search
Searches the Connecticut General Statutes as of January 1, 2022.

Delaware

Bill Tracking
Information on legislation in Delaware's General Assembly. Covers 1998-
Delaware State Courts Connect
"Not for official use," the Judicial Case Database supports searching by person name, business name or case type; judgments against a person or business; or judgments against a person or business.
Delaware State Courts: Opinions and Orders
Opinions and orders from all levels of Delaware's court system.
Public Service Commission database
Search for a docket or report related to investor-owned public utilities, e.g., cable, electric, natural gas, wastewater, water and telecommunications services.

District of Columbia

Residential Permit Parking Block Data Inquiry
Residential Permit Parking (RPP) is a program initiated by the District to increase access to on-street parking for residents in their neighborhoods. Residents can search for streets designated for permit parking."
DC Municipal Regulations and DC Register
Search DC Municipal Regulations, DC Register and Mayor's Orders
Legislation Information Management System
The home page allows a user to enter any portion of a legislation title or number to find all legislation related to the search criteria. Available documents now include: bills, resolutions, contracts, grant budget modifications, reprogrammings, Housing Finance Agency documents, Inspector General
and Auditor reports and agendas. The site supports legislation for Council Period 8 through 21

Florida

Bills Search (1998-2010)
Searchable by keyword, chamber and bill number.
Bills Search (2010 - present)
Searchable by keyword, bill number, and chamber. Results filterable by committee.
Case Search [Administrative Hearings]
Retrieves dockets, filings, and Recommended Orders for cases heard at the Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH) from 1975 to present. The Division of Administrative Hearings is the forum where final agency action can be appealed for most administrative matters.
Compensation Claims Case Search
Retrieves information from the Office of the Judges of Compensation Claims from 1950 to present. This court hears all workers compensation appeals, and nothing but workers compensation appeals.
Florida Administrative Code (1971 to 1982)
From 1971 to 1982, the F.A.C. was published by the Division of Elections as a loose-leaf with monthly updates. This database contains pages published during this time. Provided by Florida State University College of Law.
Florida Administrative Code (1970)
The Florida Administrative Code was first published as a looseleaf resource from 1963 to 1970. This website contains a digitized version of all pages which were in effect at the end of that run, in 1970, when the code was renumbered and reprinted in full. Provided by Florida State University College of Law.
Florida Administrative Code (2006 to present)
The Florida Administrative Code is equivalent to the federal Code of Federal Regulations. This database includes versions of all rules in place as of 1999, and all versions released since then. Current versions of a rule may be retrieved by browsing. Older versions of a rule may be retrieved by searching the rule number.
Florida Attorney General Opinions
Full text of opinions 1974+. Indexes are available to opinions issued from 1895 to 1981, but no opinions. Contains all published and unpublished opinions.
Florida Bar Ethics Opinion Search
Searchable by keyword or opinion number.
more...less...
While not an official state agency, the Florida Bar association has a strong relationship to the judicial branch.
Florida Historical Legal Documents
From the website, "The Florida Historical Legal Documents collection is a growing collection of primary source materials surveying changes in Florida law from the time it became a territory in 1822 through 1845 when Florida became a state. Anchoring the collection, Florida Territorial Laws is a time capsule of Florida history. The Laws document the establishment of the territorial court system based on British Common Law as of July 4, 1776. Taxation and licensure, establishment of the boundaries of counties and the incorporation of cities, administration of wills and estates, regulations pertaining to slaves, as well as the creation of roads, ferries and mail routes are recorded here. Religion was regulated by the state's incorporation of churches and naming of Trustees. Payments made to sheriffs and other individuals for state business, dissolutions of marriages and the reasons for the dissolution, as well as the regulation of the militia can be found in the Laws. Other materials in the collection offer supplementary information about the legal, political and social history of Florida before and after its Territorial period."
more...less...
Collections searchable here include:
Session Laws: Laws of Florida (1997 to present) hosted by the State Library and Archives of Florida.
Session Laws: Acts and resolutions of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida(1840-1845) hosted by University of Florida Libraries and available through the PALMM Project in the Florida Historical Legal Documents collection.
Session Laws: Acts of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida(1837-1839) hosted by University of Florida Libraries and available through the PALMM Project in the Florida Historical Legal Documents collection.
Session Laws: Acts of the Governor and Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida(1835-1836) hosted by University of Florida Libraries and available through the PALMM Project in the Florida Historical Legal Documents collection.
Session Laws: Laws of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida (1834) hosted by University of Florida Libraries and available through the PALMM Project in the Florida Historical Legal Documents collection.
Session Laws: Acts of the Legislative Council of the Territory of Florida (1822-1833) hosted by University of Florida Libraries and available through the PALMM Project in the Florida Historical Legal Documents collection.
Florida Statutes (1997 to present)
Searchable by keyword.
Florida Supreme Court Online Docket
Searchable by Case number, party or attorney, lower tribunal case number or date filed. Data is updated every 15 minutes.
Revenue Law Library document search
Includes Court Cases, Statutes, Rules, Attorney General Opinions, Declaratory Statements, Technical Assistance Advisements, Taxpayer Information Publications, Post Legislative Reviews and Final Orders (1990 to present).

Georgia

State Administrative Hearings
Search for state hearings by date and judge, docket number, county and last name, or agency.
Georgia Courts Directory
Search for Georgia Courts personnel.
Opinions of the Attorney General
Provides a searchable database of opinions 1994+.
Georgia Legislation Search
Search the previous Georgia legislation going back to 2001.
Supreme Court of Georgia docket search
Search by case number,
E-file Court Records
Civil and criminal e-filing documents for Georgia.

Idaho

Idaho Administrative Code
Use the Search box at the top of the page to search the Code and Bulletin. Keyword search of Idaho Administrative Code (a compilation of all administrative rules that are currently in effect) and Idaho Administrative Bulletin (the monthly publication of amendments to or repeals of current rules, newly-proposed rules, Executive Orders of the Governor, and other related rules documents) from 1996 to the present.
Idaho Constitution
Idaho Rules and Laws
Includes Session Laws, Senate Rules, House Rules and Joint Rules in addition to Statutes, and the Constitution.
Idaho Statutes

Illinois

My Legislation
Searchable database of House and Senate legislation from 1997 forward. Includes bill tracking capabilities. Free registration is required.
Illinois General Assembly
Contains several searchable resources including: searching through the Illinois Compiled Statutes; Administrative Rules; Legislative Reports as well as pending bills and public acts.

Indiana

Oral Arguments Online
Oral arguments are webcast live and are available in Windows Media format. The link to view a live webcast will be available two minutes prior to the start time of an argument, and no sooner, unless the courtroom proceedings are delayed. The link to the archived video and the audio podcast (if available) will be accessible two hours after the start time of the hearing. Can search the arguments by keyword, title, case number, summary, etc. Also able to browse by year,court, month, and county.
State Supreme Court Cases
The database contains historic Indiana Supreme Court cases from 1817 to approximately 1880. Search options include keyword, name, year, location and court.
Supreme Court Justices
Roster of Indiana Supreme Court Justices since the establishment of the Indiana Supreme Court in 1816. Also contains brief biographical information of each Justice. Can also select Court of Appeals judges and Tax Court Judges. Judges appear in chronological order current to oldest.

Iowa

Find Legislation
Provides searchable databases allowing the tracking of House and Senate bills, amendments, and resolutions through all their processes.
Iowa Attorney General Opinions
Provides a searchable database of opinions 1898 to the present.
Iowa Law & Rules
Searchable databases of Iowa Code, Iowa Acts, Iowa Chamber Rules, Iowa Administrative Code, Iowa Administrative Bulletin, Iowa Election Laws, Iowa Constitution, and Iowa Court Rules.
Legislative Document Research
A complete search of Iowa Legislature publications, Legislative Document Research allows users to search codes, legislation, committee hearings, published reports, and education and promotional materials in multiple databases at one time. Searching by a category (i.e. Environmental Protection) returns a variety of publications related to a subject. There is a basic and advanced search.

Kansas

Current Kansas Legislators
May be searched by first name, last name, chamber, or party affiliation. Also listed alphabetically.
Full-text of Bills
Browse the list by bill number or search current legislature by bill number or keyword by using the "Find a Bill" tab on the left side of the page.
Bills and Resolutions from the 2019-2020 Session
Also includes links to Resolutions, Concurrent Resolutions, and Executive Reorganization Orders.
Legislative Historical Data
Includes Regular and/or Special Sessions since 1997.
Archived Supplemental Notes
Archived 1997-2021
Kansas House Journals
View house journals by year, month, and day, or search for a journal by keyword or bill number.
Kansas Senate Journals
View journals by year, month, and day, or search for a journal by keyword or bill number.
Archived House and Senate Journals
Organized by year and chamber, from 1997 through 2010.
Kansas Register
The official state newspaper provides a wide range of information such as proposed and adopted administrative regulations, new state laws, bond sales and redemptions, notice of open meetings, state contracts offered for bid, attorney general opinions, and many other public notices. Searchable by year and issue number back to 1994.
Archived Session Laws
Searchable by year (1996-2010), chapter number, or keyword.
Kansas Statutes
Search by number, keyword, or chapter.

Kentucky

Governor's Journal (Executive Orders)
From the website, "In most instances, the official acts of the governor are formatted as executive orders. After the governor signs an executive order, the order and any accompanying documents are delivered to the secretary of state for filing. The secretary of state attests the governor's signature and the Great Seal of the Commonwealth is affixed." The database permits searching by type, administration and keyword all of records in the journal.
Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) search
Keyword search of Kentucky revised statutes.
Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Searchable Opinions
From the web "This advanced search engine supports two types of search requests. A natural language search is any sequence of text, like a sentence or a question. After a natural language search, retrieved documents are sorted by their relevance to your search request."
Kentucky General Assembly
Find Your Legislator
Interactive map of Kentucky to find legislators for each district in the state.

Louisiana

Justices of the Peace & Constables Directory
The Attorney General's Office maintains an online system to search for Justice's of the Peace and Constables by name, title, region, or parish.
Louisiana Laws
Search the codified laws of Louisiana by a SPECIFIC article or statute, or by the text in an article or statute. You can also view a list of Louisiana Law Table of Contents, or get a list of all proposed and adopted constitutional amendments to the Louisiana Constitution.
Louisiana State Bar Association Member Directory
Search for active members of the Louisiana Bar Association.
Notary Database
Search this database for legally authorized notaries.

Maine

Lawmaker
Database of bills in the Maine Legislature since the 120th Legislature (2001). Includes bill text and other documents.
Bill Tracking & Text Search
Database of bills in the Maine Legislature since the 112th Legislature (1985) Legislature. Includes basic information about bills.
Maine Bill and Enacted Law Text Search
Quick access to legislative papers and documents since the 112th Legislature (1985)
Maine Revised Statutes
Searchable by text and title.
Legislators' Biographical Database
The database includes the legislator's name, years of service, legislative body, political party affiliations, town of residence, some birth and death dates, and incidental additional notes about Maine legislators primarily from 1820 forward.
Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library Digital Library
Contains the entire Maine Legislative Record, which began with the 68th Legislature (1897) through the latest available, all the Laws of Maine (1820-), bills going back to the 1940s, previous codifications of the Revised Statutes, Maine Public Documents (1833-1865), Legislative Council Materials, and other legislative history materials. Maintained by the Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library.
Maine State Legislature Exceptions to Maine's Freedom of Access Laws
This searchable database includes information about exceptions to Maine's Freedom of Access laws. Search results link directly to relevant statutory language.
Governor LePage's Official Documents (Archive)
Searchable and sortable database of former Governor LePage's actions on bills and veto messages.
Governor Mills' Official Documents
Executive Orders, Proclamations, news releases, etc. from Governor Mills
Maine Labor Relations Board Cases and Appeals
The database of decisions consists of MLRB Hearing Examiner decisions (unit cases only), MLRB decisions, and appeals of MLRB decisions to Maine Superior Court and the Maine Law Court. Searchable by Prohibited Practices Complaint Decisions or by Unit Composition and Representation Decisions.

Maryland

Appellate Court Opinions
From the website, "Only reported opinions are available here. Reported opinions appearing on this website may not be the final, official version of the text of Appellate Court opinions/orders. Only the bound volumes of the Maryland Reports and Maryland Appellate Reports contain the final, official texts of the reported opinions of the Maryland Court of Appeals and the Maryland Court of Special Appeals."
Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR)
Searchable by word, phrase, codification number and title. From the website, "In August 2003, the State Ethics Commission Advisory Opinions were no longer printed in COMAR Title 19A, but are available ONLY as part of COMAR Online."
Code of Maryland Unannotated and Rules
Form the website --“This website is not intended to replace professional legal consultation or advanced legal research tools.” Users need to agree to the Terms and Conditions to access the database. Users can search the code by keyword or by browsing the table of content.
General Assembly, Code of Public General Laws of Maryland
From the website, "The Code is arranged by subject matter and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc."
Judiciary Case Search
Search for Court Cases originated within the District Court system and the Circuit Courts. From the website, "This website provides public access to the case records of the Maryland Judiciary. Access to these records is governed by Maryland Rules 16-1001 through 16-1011, effective October 1, 2004. Acceptance of an agreement is required to [access the search page]."
Legislation by Session
Search the Legislation by Session number, Sponsor, Subject, Committee, Status Affected and/or Legislation List of the Senate and/or House. From the website, "Information may not be available for all numbers in each range."
Legislative Records
This database contains State of Maryland’s Proceedings, Acts and Public Documents of the General Assembly from Session 1 in 1634/35 to current years.
State Law Library Catalog
Search the catalog for print or online materials that are available in the library or from the library website
State Law Library Scanned Collections
There are a total of eight collections: a) County and Municipal Codes, b) Judicial Conference Proceedings, c) Judiciary Administrative Orders, d)
Legislative Bill Files, e) Legislative Council Materials, f) Rules Committee Materials, g) Task Force Reports, and h) Transactions of the Maryland State Bar Association. To access each resources listed above, click on the desired resources.

Massachusetts

Acts and Resolves (1692-2010)
Keyword search or browse the State Library of Massachusetts' collection of acts and resolves from 1692-2010. Documents are full text in PDF and can be downloaded.
Attorney General Bid Protest Decisions
The Attorney General's Office (AGO) is charged with enforcing public construction bidding laws. This searchable database includes the AG's decisions regarding filed disputes, ranging from 1972-current.
Bills (Legislative Documents) and Journals
Browse or keyword search the State Library of Massachusetts' collection of legislative documents, including bills, House and Senate Journals, special reports, and other legislative communications. Documents are in full text in PDF and can be downloaded.
Court Dockets, Calendars & Case Information
Users can search public records maintained by the MA Trial Court for the following court departments: Boston Municipal Court, District Court, Housing Court, Land Court Department, Probate and Family Court, the Appeals Court, and the Superior Court.
Mass. Appeals Court Summary Dispositions Pursuant to Rule 23.0 (formerly Rule 1:28)
A database of unpublished decisions issued by the Mass. Appeals Court, pursuant to Rule 23.0. Users can: search the database by docket no., party name, date, and by search terms; download a pdf of the decision; or view the text of a decision without having to download it.
Mass. Board of Bar Overseers Disciplinary and Reinstatement Decisions
Provides disciplinary and reinstatement bar overseer decisions regarding attorneys practicing in Massachusetts. Opinions cover the years 1997-present, and are filterable by case number, citation, or date.
Mass. Court Decisions
This database, maintained by the MA Trial Court Law Libraries, includes opinions from the Supreme Judicial Court, Appeals Court, Land Court, and District Court Appellate Division. Search by party name, keyword, citation, date, or docket number
Mass. General Laws (MGL)
Search Massachusetts General Laws (MGL), text of bills, journals of the House and Senate, and session laws from 1997 to the present. Users can also search or browse archived video of committee hearings, legislative sessions and other events going back to 2007.
Municipal Law Unit (MLU) Decision Lookup
A database maintained by the Attorney General's Municipal Law Unit (MLU). Users can browse the decisions of cities and towns by year, or search by city/town, date range, topic, and case number. Decisions can be downloaded as PDFs.
Open Meeting Law (OML) Determination Lookup
A database maintained by the Office of the Attorney General that allows users to search Open Meeting Law determinations issued by the AGO. Users can search for or browse determinations in various ways, including by year, determination number, keyword, and city.
Public Records Appeals and Petitions Status Database
A database of public records appeals and petitions as submitted to the Public Records Division of the Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office, as well as their statuses.
Public Records Request Database
Users can search for the details of a public records request using various qualifiers. Results of a search include the name of the agency to which the request has been submitted, a brief description of the nature of the request, request/response dates, whether the decision was appealed, etc.
Trial Court Electronic Case Access
A database of cases of various trial courts in Massachusetts, including the Housing, Land, District, Probate/Family, Superior, and Boston Municipal Courts.
Trial Court Law Libraries
Law Library catalog and locations, along with laws by source and type.

Michigan

Bill Search
Search bills since 1995 by keyword, bill number, sponsor, category, committee, or Public Act affected. Search results include bill text, legislative analysis, Senate and House journals, and law text when applicable.
Public Acts
Search public acts since 2003 by number and by keyword
Michigan Compiled Laws
Search for the full text of existing Michigan law by codification number, Public Act Number and keyword.
Michigan Administrative Code
The Michigan Administrative Code is the official collection of state regulations. Users can view the Code by department or numerically by code number.
Michigan Adminstrative Code Annual Supplement
DSTARS
DSTARS is a searchable database containing the full text of selected decisions of the Michigan Civil Service Commission (CSC), Employment Relations Board (ERB), and adjudicating officers.

Mississippi

State Legislature
Search active and stalled measures from both the State House and Senate, including: bills, concurrent resolutions, resolutions, amendments, conference reports and veto messages. 1997 - present.
Mississippi Code of 1972
Search state laws and regulations. Site maintained by a third party, Lexis Nexis, but linked through the Mississippi state judiciary.

Missouri

Administrative Rules Search
Search all administrative rules, the current edition of the "Code of State Regulations," the current year of the "Missouri Register", or the "Rulemaking Manual."
Code of State Regulations
Scroll down to search the current, previous, or all editions of the CSR.
Code of State Regulations Search
Search the current CSR, or search a specific title.
House and Senate Joint Bill Tracking
Basic searching by keyword, bill number, sponsor, or co-sponsor. Results include the bill text, summary, amendments and information on the sponsor.
Missouri Constitution
Search this page for the full Missouri constitution by keyword.
Missouri Register
Searches issues of the Missouri Register from Oct. 1, 1999 - present.
Missouri Revised Statutes
Search this database of current Missouri laws by keyword.
Missouri Revised Statutes, 1825-present
Online archive of all Missouri Revised Statutes from 1825 to the current edition.

Montana

Montana Supreme Court Cases
Search by case number, party name, or date.
Montana Legal Notices
Search public notices from newspapers in 56 Montana counties as required by M.C.A.
more...less...
Hosted by Montana Newspaper Association.

Nebraska

Nebraska Revised Statutes
Nebraska Constitution
Nebraska Unicameral Legislature
The Nebraska Legislature (also called "the Unicameral") is the supreme legislative body of the state of Nebraska. It has 49 members that are "senators." The legislature is officially unicameral and nonpartisan, making Nebraska unique among U.S. states; no other state has either a unicameral or a nonpartisan legislative body.

Nevada

Legislative Histories, 1865 to current
Do you want to see if the Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau has compiled a legislative history on a law you're interested in? Search by bill type, number, year or keyword.
Legislative Session Information
Find legislative session information back to the 63rd (1985) session with full text of bills and resolutions back to the 68th (1995) session.
Nevada Administrative Code
Simple and advanced search options allow you to search full text of the administrative regulations in the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC). It is easier to find relevant information by using the table of contents or index pages.
Nevada Legal Forms
You can find Nevada legal forms by location and category.
Nevada Register
Search administrative regulations including those not yet codified.
Nevada Revised Statutes
Simple and advanced search options allow you to search full text of the Nevada Revised Statutes. It is easier to find relevant information by using the table of contents or index pages.
Official Legislative Acts
To view a listing of recent legislation filed with the Secretary of State's Office, select a legislative session and a statute type, then click "View Legislation." The data on this site will be updated regularly when a legislative session is in progress.
Statutes of Nevada
Search each session, 10th Special Session (1964) to the present.
Water Rights Database
Water rights data for the entire state of Nevada is available on this site. The data includes information about current ownership, the point of diversion and place of use of the water right, diversion rates, manner of use, well log information, protest and ruling information, as well as dates required for filing various proofs. Other data available includes scanned documents such as certificates, book records (permits), maps, and rulings.

New Hampshire

Advanced Bill Status Search (NH)
Can search from 1989 to present for information on legislative bills. Numerous search fields are available. View Codes for certain fields for options.
NH General Court Roll Calls
After selecting year, can refine search by bill number, title keyword, session date(s), and legislator's name.
NH Revised Statutes Annotated (RSA)
Database of RSAs Revised Statutes Annotated with searching available by full text, browsing index of titles, list of sections affected (LSA) from 2000onward.
Statutory and Study Committee Search (NH General Court)
Search for information on active and archived committees through multiple access points.
Attorney General Opinions (NH)
Opinions since 1997. Filter by keyword and/or document type.

New Jersey

New Jersey General and Permanent Statutes
This version of the complete unannotated New Jersey Statutes may be searched or browsed. Select the Statutes link from the "Laws and Constitutions" section of the menu at the left side of the page to begin.
Bill Search
The home page of the NJ Legislature includes this search interface for NJ State Legislative Session Bills from 1996 to the present. Search options include Bill Number(s), Legislative Session, Subject, Sponsor, Keyword, Last Date Of Action, and Governor's Action.
Find Your Legislator
Locate a State Senator or Assemblyman by municipality, legislative district, or using the alphabetical listing. Also includes links to the legislative rosters for the Senate and General Assembly, with information on committees, committee membership, and legislative leadership.
New Jersey Legislative Histories
The State Library compiles histories on all New Jersey laws which are general and permanent. Appropriations, temporary and executed, and repealer acts are excluded. Searchable by year, bill number, and chapter.
New Jersey Administrative Code
A codification of all rules and regulations made by the executive branch agencies of New Jersey. The Code can be searched or browsed. It's updated after the semimonthly supplement to the print edition has been distributed to subscribers. The Code may be updated by the Register, which is also searchable.
New Jersey Register
Newly proposed rules and regulations are published in the Register. This site includes a searchable version that covers the current issue back through the July 3, 1995 issue. Earlier issues, back to 1969, are available from the New Jersey State Library. Once passed, rules and regulations are added to the New Jersey Administrative Code. Select New Jersey Register from the menu to begin.
Local Code of Ordinances Directory
Links to all online municipal codes or ordinances and county administrative codes known to the Department of Community Affairs.
Board of Public Utilities Document Search
The board oversees "the regulated utilities, which in turn provide critical services such as natural gas, electricity, water, telecommunications and cable television." Offers a search tool for recent documents in addition to a legacy system that "offers all publicly-available documents filed with the Board via a single search field."
Government Records Council Decisions Search
Searchable GRC decisions related to the Open Public Records Act (OPRA). Intended to provided "guidance to requestors and records custodians in understanding how OPRA records requests must be submitted by requestors and fulfilled or denied by records custodians."

New Mexico

New Mexico Administrative Code
Includes all new rules, amendments and appeals with effective dates.
New Mexico Appellate Opinions
Search the New Mexico Appellate Opinions of the Supreme Court of New Mexico and the New Mexico Court of Appeals. These resources became available through the New Mexico Compilation Commission beginning January 1, 2011, and contains opinions of the appellate courts.
Find Your Legislator
Locate current members of the House of Representatives and the Senate by name, district or zip code. Former legislators can be searched by name. There are also documents available listing current leadership, addresses, phone numbers and seating charts for the New Mexico House of Representatives and the Senate.
New Mexico Register
Users select the year and issue.
New Mexico Register (new)
This is part of the new website.
Supreme Court Law Library
The online catalog for the New Mexico Supreme Court Law Library! Searches of the New Mexico Supreme Court Law Library can be accomplished using single or multiple keyword or exact phrase.
 Supreme Court Law Library Government Documents
Search the New Mexico Supreme Court Law Library's page of government information resources and databases for print, online, electronic, and microfiche items.

New York

Find your Senator
Laws of New York
Database listing of the Laws of New York State. Searchable by title or phrase.
New York State Bill Search
Search for a bill in New York. Search by Bill Number, Keyword, or Full-Text. Floor Vote search is also available.
New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations
Provides access to New York State Administrative Law. Search by Title or within the NYCRR using Natural Language.
New York State Register
Provides access to New York State Register. Searchable by Word or Issue.

North Carolina

Attorney General Legal Opinions
Keyword search of legal opinions from 1977-present.
Bill Lookup by Number
Number search of bills dating back to the 1985-1986 session.
Forms of North Carolina City Government
This database allows users to view and search information pertaining to the form of government and method of election for each incorporated municipality (city, town, and village) in North Carolina.
Lobbying Compliance Searches
Search for lobbyists, principals, liaisons, solicitors or state agency to find registration, authorization, principal expense and other information.
NC Court of Appeals Opinions
Keyword search of Court of Appeal decisions 1998-present.
NC General Statutes
The Statutes on the North Carolina General Assembly website include changes through September 27, 2019.
NC Supreme Court Opinions
Keyword search of Supreme Court decisions, 1998-present;.
Session laws
Full text of session laws 1777-present.

North Dakota

Attorney General Opinions
Opinions dating back to 1942 are available in PDF format and are divided according to year. A pdf index for the opinions is also available on this page.
North Dakota Century Code
The North Dakota Century Code on this website contain currently effective laws of North Dakota changes approved by the 63rd Legislative Assembly are now reflected on this website. Sections of law with expiration dates or delayed effective dates are indicated in the Section caption.
North Dakota Administrative Code
The Legislative Council publishes the Administrative Code which is the codification of all rules of state administrative agencies, as that term is defined by North Dakota Century Code Section 28-32-02. Many state agencies are not administrative agencies as defined by Section 28-32-02. Although rules of those agencies are not required to be published in the Administrative Code, some agencies have consented to placing their rules in the code. Those agencies are identified with an explanatory note on the title page for that agency. The Administrative Code was initially published July 1, 1978. The Administrative Code is updated with quarterly changes. The Internet version is derived from the database prepared by the North Dakota Legislative Council.

Ohio

Ethics Commission Advisory Opinions
Search the Advisory Opinion Index and the Digest of previously issued formal advisory opinions. Advisory opinions are organized by year in the order in which they are written.
Legislation
Search for bills and acts from the 122nd General Assembly (1997-1998) forward, Journals from 125th GA (2003) for the House forward and from 126th GA (2005) for the Senate forward. Browse for legislators and search for lobbyists.
Board of Building Appeals Web Database
This system is provided by the Board of Building Appeals (BBA) and is intended as a source to obtain public record information regarding the BBA case files from 2003 to present.
Supreme Court Of Ohio Attorney Directory
This directory includes attorneys who have been admitted to the practice of law in Ohio
Ohio Codes
Current versions of the Ohio Administrative and Revised Codes

Oklahoma

Attorney General Legal Opinions
Search Attorney General opinions from 1977 through present (search feature is through the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network).
Legal Information for Oklahoma
Search or browse legal information for the state of Oklahoma, including finding Legal Aid Services.
Oklahoma Bill Search
Use the basic search to search by bill number or use the advanced search to search by measure number, legislative session or author.
Oklahoma Constitution and Statutes Search
Has multiple search options, allowing you to search the Oklahoma constitution, statutes or both together by keywords or section number.
Oklahoma House Voting Records
Search voting records by date, measure number, bill information, author or action. Contains voting records back to 1999.
Oklahoma Legislative Measures Search
Search for House and/or Senate measures.
Oklahoma Legislator Search
Enter your address to find your state legislator.
Oklahoma Senate Voting Records
Browse voting records by session, 2006 - present.

Oregon

Initiative, Referendum and Referral Search
Oregon ballot initiatives and referendum by year, status and type; includes both historical and current records. 1998-present
Legislative Information Search
Portal to state legislature information - search for a legislator, current law, bills under consideration, and other related topics.

NOTE: The Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) are integral to governance and regulations in the state, but they are not in a searchable database.

Pennsylvania

House Committee Roll Call Vote
PA House of Representatives Committee Roll Call Votes
House Journals
Pa House Journals, transcripts and floor actions from 1935 to present; contact State Library of PA for earlier versions
House Roll Call votes
PA House of Representatives Roll Call Votes by date back to 2007. Earlier roll call votes in the House or Senate Journals
Legislation enacted
Pennsylvania Legislation enacted since 1975
PA Bulletin
Commonwealth's official gazette for information and rule making . Electronic version from 1996 - present. Contact State Library of PA for 1971-1995.
PA Code
the Pennsylvania administrative Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).
PA Senate Committee Roll Call Votes
PA Senate Committee Roll Call Votes
Pennsylvania Bill Information
Pennsylvania Bill information back to 1992
Pennsylvania Consolidate Statutes
Senate Amendments
PA Senate Amendments by date
Senate Journals
PA Senate Journals, transcripts of floor action from 1949 to present; contact State Library for earlier versions
Senate Session notes
PA Senate Session Notes goes back to 2003
Subscribe to email update
You can now subscribe to email legislative updates from the Pennsylvania General Assembly. You can request a daily email that will tell you about all the actions taken on the floor that day. You can also request hourly emails that track the activity on a piece of legislation
Unofficial Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes from West
The only online source for the Pennsylvania statutory code.

Rhode Island

Bill Status Search
Search for the status of a bill by report title, committee inventory, subject category, bill number, sponsor, or action.
Legislative Information (1990s - present)
Search current and past bills, session laws, journals and more.
LobbyTracker
Enter search terms or search by Lobbyists, Lobbyfirms, Entities, Bills, Topics, or Reports.
Rhode Island General Laws
Search the Rhode Island General Laws.
Rhode Island State Library
The State Library is a legislative library. Use the catalog to search for executive orders, state agency reports, federal documents, and more.
Rules and Regulations Database
Searchable database of rules and regulations promulgated by state agencies, boards and commissions from January 2002 to the present.
Search RI General Assembly
Search for general laws, House and Senate Bills, Public Laws, House and Senate Journals, Committee meetings, Legislative Calendars, and the RI Constitution. You can sort by date, title, file size, or criteria.

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Archives and History Record and Image Search
From the State Archives -- digitized finding aids for Criminal Court records from 1769 to 1944 and Legislative Papers from 1782 to 1866. Searchable by Individual, Location, Topic and more.
Code of Laws of South Carolina
Code of Regulations of South Carolina
Legislature Home
Has a link to the SC Legislature "Quick Search", which enables full-text searching not only of laws and regulations, but the budget, Constitution and House and Senate Journals as well .There is also a Legislator finding tool and voting history.
Search Decisions of the Administrative Law Court
Search using a variety of terms, including party names for documents after 6/1/2012.
Search Legislation
Search sessions from 1975 onwards
CDR Code Lookup
Designed for use by court officials and staff in processing case files for criminal defendants in summary court and circuit court.

South Dakota

Lobbyist Search
Search for Lobbyist information.
South Dakota Administrative Rules
Administrative Rules of the state of South Dakota.
South Dakota State Statutes
SD Constitution, Statutes, and Session Laws.
South Dakota Legal Self-Help
Legal information website from the SD Unified Judicial System.

Tennessee

Attorney General’s Opinions
Search for Attorney General opinions back to 2000.
Tennessee Lobbyist Portal
Uniform Commercial Code search (Unofficial)
Notary Commission
Summons/Service of Process Search

Texas

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
From the website, “Legislative Reference Library is to satisfy the reference and research needs of the Legislature, its staff, and its committees. Whenever possible within this framework, the library will assist the public and other state agencies with legislative research.” The Legislative Reference Library of Texas website provides a wealth of information on the Texas Legislature. The online collections included but not limited to legislative clips, Code of Criminal Procedure revision guide, past & present Texas Legislators, State budget, Legislative committees, the library’s online catalog for print collections and much more...
Texas Administrative Code
"The Texas Administrative Code (TAC) is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. There are 17 titles in the TAC. Each title represents a subject category and related agencies are assigned to the appropriate title." -- From the Texas Administrative Code home page.
Texas Constitution and Statutes
One can search for the Texas Constitution and Statutes by code(s), article/chapter, or article/section. One can also search the codes by text and the Statutes are searchable by date. In addition, codes are available for download in various formats.
Texas House of Representatives
Search for members of the Texas House, House Bills, committee membership, committee meetings, the House's daily business calendars and the House Research Organization.
Texas Legislation
One can search for status of bills from the 71st Regular Session (1991) to present. Reports representing bills authored, bills sponsored, bills reported to committee, and more... Vote Information can also be searched from this site. Some documents are available for downloads
Texas Legislature Committees
Search for specific date of committee meetings, for upcoming committee meetings schedules, for committee membership, for committee assignments, for meetings by committee, and conference committee membership by Bill.
Texas Legislature Online Search
The Texas Legislature Online site provides multiple ways to search for bills introduced in sessions since 1989, including text search (best for novice users) and bill search (best for advanced users looking for a specific known item). The site also provides a searchable index to the most current version of the Texas Statutes
Texas Register
"A weekly publication, the Texas Register serves as the journal of state agency rulemaking for Texas. Information published in the Texas Register includes proposed, adopted, withdrawn and emergency rule actions, notices of state agency review of agency rules, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, and miscellaneous documents such as requests for proposals. After adoption, these rulemaking actions are codified into the Texas Administrative Code. Issues are posted to the website no later than 5 p.m. on the publication day. " -- From Texas Register's home page.
Texas Senate
Search for members of the Texas Senate, committees, committee meetings, senate's daily business calendars and the Senate Research Center.
Texas State Law Library
From the website: "The State Law Library serves the legal research needs of the Texas Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the Office of the Attorney General, other state agencies and commissions, and the citizens of the state. We are a public law library.
To learn about the library materials available at the State Law Library, see our library resources page. Also see a description of the services we provide to the public. Our library policies are also available. Please contact us if you have any questions about the materials available at the State Law Library."

Utah

Search Bills / Bill Requests
Database of Utah state legislative bills searchable by year (1997-present) Senator, Representative, subject and committee recommendation.
Keyword Search for multiple sessions of the Utah legislature (1997-present).
Database of bills, codes, meetings, and more from sessions of the Utah legislature from 1997-present.
Lobbyist Search
This service allows citizens to view information on licensed lobbyists in the state of Utah, including contact information, client lists and financial disclosure information. Searches can be for individuals or organizations.
Utah Supreme Court and Appellate Court Opinions
Searchable by keyword, name and date.

Vermont

Bill, Act & Resolution Search (VT)
Can search for current legislation by keyword and/or sponsor, bill or resolution umber, and Act Number. Full text search is also available.
Find Legislative Reports (VT)
For current session, get lists of reports created by or submitted to the legislature. Can refine by keyword. Sortable by report name, date, and who submitted.
Statutes Search (VT)
Searchable by keywords and/or title

Virginia

Legislative Information System
Multiple searchable databases provides access to bills and resolutions, bill summaries, the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Administrative Code, and reports to the General Assembly (with some reports dating back to 1897). Uses can also search across sessions, generally from 1994 to present, by subject or within bill summaries or bills and resolutions.
Lobbyist Registration Database
Search by lobbyist name to see which organization(s) the lobbyist is working for, search by organization name to find out which lobbyist(s) are employed by that organization, or search by principal to find out how much an organization paid its lobbyist(s).

Washington

AG Opinions
Subject and keyword access to the full text of Washington State Attorney General opinions from 1949 to present. A list by date and by topic is also provided.
Bill Information & Detailed Legislative Reports
Search by bill number or keyword for the past 3 years. For bills back to 1991 link to Detailed Legislative Reports, then change the biennium in an individual report or log in to change the default biennium.
Legislative Search
A search that includes the Revised Code of Washington, Washington Administrative Code, Washington State Register, State Constitution, and bills back to 1985.
Unclaimed Property
Search by name, business name, or reference number for unclaimed property (such as insurance proceeds, safety deposit box contents, and utility and phone company deposits) turned over to the state.

West Virginia

Bill Status
Search for bill by number or text, contains bills back to 1993.
Code of State Rules
Search by agency, title, dates or text.
WV Code
Searchable WV statutes by keyword, can also browse.

Wisconsin

Eye on Lobbying
From the website, "Using the search options on the menu to the left, you may search for: 1) All lobbying principals, licensed lobbyists, and state agency officials or liaisons; 2) “Principal Interests By Keyword” allows you to search by keyword for the business interests and areas of lobbying interest submitted by lobbying principals; 3) "Changes To Lobbying Registry” allows you to search for recent changes to authorized lobbyists, lobbying principals, and licensed lobbyists."
Wisconsin Attorney's Professional Discipline Compendium
Maintained by the Office of Lawyer Regulation of the Wisconsin Court System. The Compendium contains Supreme Court decisions, consent public reprimands, and summaries of consent private reprimands of Wisconsin attorneys, along with an index and search function to facilitate research.
Wisconsin Briefs
Compiled by the UW Madison Law Library. Includes Published and Unpublished Cases from 173 Wis. 2d to 302 Wis.2d. Recent briefs are available at the Wisconsin State Law Library.
Wisconsin Circuit Court Access Case Search
Provides access to information from Wisconsin's Circuit Court system, including cases, civil judgments, and various reports. Searchable by party, business, case number, and birth date.
Wisconsin Court of Appeals opinions 1995 - present
Wisconsin Legislative Districts
A web map service for identifying the names and contact information for the Assembly representative or senator where you live. You may also search by address from the Legislature's home page: http://legis.wisconsin.gov/
Wisconsin Legislative Documents
This site allows a combined search of all current Wisconsin statutes and administrative code, as well as Legislative bulletins, acts, bills, and more, from the current legislative session. This resource also includes the Wisconsin constitution, executive orders, and Opinions of the Attorney General. The entire database is keyword searchable, or you may click into each sub-collection to search or browse content.
Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
A digital collection of publications and reports by the legislature and the legislative service agencies. It also includes a collection of reports by state agencies mandated by the Wisconsin Statutes. The collections are searchable by statute, agency, subject, date and more.
Wisconsin Supreme Court Opinions and Dispositional Orders 1995 - present
Wisconsin Tax Appeals Decisions
Full-text from the Tax Appeals Commission of the Wisconsin Dept. of Revenue (1999 - to date). The decisions are searchable by year or browsable by title. This site is hosted by the State Bar Association of Wisconsin.

Wyoming

Wyoming Legislation Online - Wyoming State Library
This library of legislative materials contains journals, or digests of the journals, from the first territorial legislature that convened in 1869 up to the present. It also contains digitized bills from 1873 to 2000, in addition to bill actions—a record of actions done on each introduced bill—from 1957-2000.
Wyoming Legislator Database - Legislative Service Office
Search the Wyoming Legislator Database to find information about current and former Wyoming legislators.
Orders - Wyoming Public Service Commission
Dockets - Wyoming Public Service Commission
Rules - Wyoming Public Service Commission
From the website, "The Wyoming Public Service Commission regulates the public utilities that provide services to consumers in the state. The three main industries it regulates are electricity, natural gas and telephone. In addition, the PSC also regulates some commercial water utilities and intrastate pipelines. It is the PSC’s responsibility to ensure the public utilities operating in Wyoming provide safe and reliable service to customers at just and reasonable rates."