Military & Veterans Sources in State Agency Databases

Search by keyword or browse by county or date.

Search Civil War service records by name, branch, company unit, regiment unit, or co. unit name.

Search Alabama service people who died during the WWI or who had been awarded distinguished service recognition. Search by name, branch of service, regiment/unit, race, town, or county.

Search by keyword or browse by county.

The ADVS Veterans Services Division (VSD) provides a network of Veterans Benefits Counselors (VBC's) who give information, counseling and assistance to veterans, their dependents and survivors in matters pertaining to federal and state benefits earned by honorable service in the armed forces of the United States. Use the Office Locator to find the VBC office nearest you.

Their mission is "to be the catalyst in response to the evolving needs of Arizona's veterans and their families".

DEMA consists of the Arizona National Guard (Air, Army, Joint Task Force), the Division of Emergency Management and the Division of Administrative Services. DEMA provides unique capabilities and services to the citizens of Arizona in three distinct roles: community, state and federal.

The Commission serves a critical mission in the State of Arizona to ensure that the missions of federal military installations located in Arizona are protected and can meet any future need that this country faces.

Searchable by name, region, and county.

A database of veterans memorials in California, searchable by county, city, the type of memorial, the specific veterans the memorial is dedicated to (World War II, Vietnam, Spanish-American War, women, Air Force, etc.), and a keyword search.

A searchable database of services available to California veterans, their survivors and dependents at the federal, state and local levels. It includes federal, state and county veterans offices, contact information for veterans organizations, services available for homeless veterans, veterans offices at educational institutions and other veterans-related material, searchable by keyword, location, and type of service.

Over 1,600 soldiers of color served in these Civil War regiments. This database of enlistment records can be searched by name; age; occupation; place of birth, residence, or enlistment; enlistment date; and more. From the Connecticut State Library.

Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War veterans. From the Connecticut State Library.

Records relating to Civil War and Spanish American War veterans. From the Connecticut State Library.

Search for degree and certificate programs that are approved for veterans education (GI Bill) benefits. From the state Office of Higher Education.

According to the website, "this database contains a collection of questionnaires filled out by Connecticut soldiers (or their families) who served in World War I." From the Connecticut State Library.

A database of state-wide public and private resources serving the State's military and veteran communities.

From the website, "include both veterans' and widows' applications interfiled, although approved and denied claims are filed separately. The veteran's application generally includes his full name, date and place of birth, unit of service, date and place of enlistment, date and place of discharge, brief description of service and/or wounds, proof of service, place and length of residence in Florida, as well as other miscellaneous documentation. The widow's application is filed with that of her husband and includes her full name, date and place of marriage, date and place of her husband's death, her place and length of residence in Florida, and proof of her husband's service. Some early applications also include the widows' date and place of birth. Confederate pensions were awarded to residents of Florida regardless of the state in which their service was rendered."

From the website, "provide name; age; serial number; race; place of birth; and residence; for service men and women who were either from Florida or who entered service in Florida."

From the website, "index of the three major Indianapolis daily newspapers (News, Star, and Times) for notices of casualties, missing military personnel, prisoners, and decorations of Indiana servicemen and women." Search database by name or location.

A database of service providers in Kansas, searchable by county or type of services needed.

From the website "Access information on 4748 Revolutionary War Warrants issued to Virginia veterans or their assigns prior to 1792 on the Revolutionary War Warrants database. View color images from the Warrants Register and all Kentucky patent files authorized by Revolutionary War Warrants."

From the website "Research and view color images of 242 patents in the Jackson Purchase authorized by warrants issued to Virginia Revolutionary War veterans or their assigns."

This database consists of alphabetically arranged pensions granted from 1898 for veterans and widows. The pensions may include service information, occupation, place of residence, and number of children. The collection also contains a few applications for individuals other than veterans or widows that were not granted.

Use this map to find providers willing to provide services to the military community.

Covers the War of 1812 to World War I and lists more than 576,000 Missourians who served in the military. It is abstracted from individual service cards. The database is searchable by name or unit and can be limited to a particular war. Images of the original service records are linked to most database records.

This benefits and resource portal serves as a tool to link veterans to potential benefits and resources available in Missouri. Covers topics such as mental health, legal assistance, transportation, and homelessness.

You can search from the home page or you can search the directory, news or calendar by keyword or location.

Welcome to the Nebraska Department of Veterans' Affairs website. We feel privileged to serve the men and women who have so ably served our country in times of war and peace. Our goal with this site is to provide up-to-date and useful information for veterans and their families.
On this site veterans and their families will find information on their rights, benefits, Nebraska's veterans homes, county offices, and links to other federal and state sources of information.

"Includes 15,770 payment receipts for military expenditures and wartime purchases made by the State of New Jersey from 1861 through 1866. It includes soldiers' discharge certificates for final pay, affidavits of family members for pay due to deceased soldiers, and quarterly returns of the counties and cities listing the names of soldiers’ families and dependant mothers who received subsistence pay during their service." Select the relevant database to begin.

"Provides access to 82,467 name entries in an electronic version of Adjutant General William S. Stryker's two-volume Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865."

Searchable database of more than 1,000 photographs collected by the New Jersey National Guard and ranging in date from the mid-19th century through the 1980s, with the majority taken before 1945.

"The index may be searched by any combination of first and/or last name, and limited by county and/or claims made for damage committed by the British or by the Americans."

Searchable database of "New Jersey men were killed in action or otherwise died while in United States service during World War I, 1917-1918."

There is an eligibility tool, online application and check status of application option for compensation for the Ohio Bonus Program.

Search or browse Confederate pension index cards.

Search or browse Confederate pension application files and the pension files.

Comprehensive database provides referrals to social services and other community resources for all of Oregon and Southwest Washington.

This series consists of more than 10,000 applications for Confederate pensions or pension transfer documents.

Scroll to the bottom of the page for resource information. Top of the page has a listing of SD Homeless Shelters.

Statewide listings by county.

Statewide alphabetical listing.

From the website, "This interactive search form provides access to an index of names, counties of residence, and pension numbers of some 54,634 approved, rejected, and home pensions issued by the Texas government between 1899 and 1975." Searchable by name and county. Records include Claimant Name, Application Number, County, Husband, and Husband's Application Number. Copies of pension applications may be ordered by e-mail.

he Republic Claims series of Comptroller's records includes claims for payment, reimbursement, or restitution submitted by citizens to the Republic of Texas government from 1835 through 1846. It also includes records relating to Republic pensions and claims against the Republic submitted as public debt claims after 1846. The Republic Claims database provides access to more than 48,500 indexed names included in Republic Claims documents. Search results provide links to digital images for each claim found for the individual.

The Service Records Series combines both official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies which contain records related to an individual's service in a military unit. The Service Records database The database provides the name, the military organization, and the call number for approximately 24,000 individuals. Please note that the listing does not include the names of ALL persons who served in Texas military organizations. It indexes only the names of persons who have files in this record series. Digital images of the records are available.

This collection contains information about the service of individual Virginian sailors, though it is not comprehensive. Searchable by keyword (including name), branch of service, and ship name.

The primary purpose of the Virginia Military Dead Database is to honor those Virginians that have given their lives in defense of freedom. It pulls together information from a wide variety of sources and makes that information more accessible. For more information consult the Introduction to the Virginia Military Dead Database and the Source Guides.

Search by name, county, war.

Allows searching for soldiers who participated in Wisconsin's Civil War regiments, listed in the digitized two-volume book, Roster of Wisconsin Volunteers, War of the Rebellion, 1861-1865.

This page links to all VA Health Facilities in Wyoming.

Wyoming Military Department encourages Wyoming veterans to meet with one of the Veterans Service Officers listed on this page to learn about federal and state veterans' benefits, health care, VA disability and pension claims.