LibGuides: New York State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by New York State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on January 16, 2018.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About New York

All NY Agencies
Browse or search for state agencies.
New York State Agency databases by NYSL
List of state agency databases compiled by the New York State Library.

Agriculture & Food Sources

Wineries, Breweries and Distilleries
Thirsty? Search for licensed wineries, breweries and distilleries all over New York. Use the box on your right to filter your search or search within the dataset using the search bar.
Retail Food Stores
Search for Retail food stores in New York. Search by county, license number, operation type, establishment type or name. Search within the database by typing into the search bar.

Business, Finance & Economy

Business Wizard
This database provides information about businesses. Find New York's requirements for your business, access listings of license profiles by agency, search for information on types of businesses.
New York Business Express
New York Business Express is the state's primary online guide to help you start, run, and grow a business in New York. It provides comprehensive information needed to get started on or expand your business journey. The information is organized and presented using customized tools that make it easy to find.

Community & Social Services

Electronic Tariff
Search the database for utility tariffs, such as Electric, Gas, and Water, that have been filed electronically. The site contains the most currently effective tariff schedules, those pending and those superseded.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Courts

Attorney Search
Search for registered attorneys in New York State. Search by name.

Missing Persons

Missing Persons Clearinghouse
Search for missing children, college students and adults.

Offenders

Inmate information
Prisoners may be looked up by name, birth year and state identification numbers. According to the web site, "Everyone sentenced to state prison since the early 1970's is listed in the database, except youthful offenders and those who have had their convictions set aside by a court. There are several reasons for this policy." Records include name, ethnicity, holding facility, crimes of conviction, projected release date and more.
Public Registry of Sex Offenders
Search for sex offenders in your neighborhood. Searchable by last name of offender, county or zip code.

Earth & the Environment

Environmental Conservation Databases
Access to a variety of databases and maps. Contains the following specialized searches:Database of Environmental Remediation Sites and Spill Incidents;
Current Ambient Air Quality Forecasts and Data; Oil and Gas Well Database; Searchable On-line Mining Database; DEC Permit Applications Search (DART); Water Well Contractor Search; Docket Management System; Certified Wastewater Facility Operators; Issued Title V Air Permits; Draft Title V Air Permits; Issued State Facility Air Permits; Draft State Facility Air Permits; and Breeding Bird Atlas Databases.

Health, Medicine & Safety

New York State Nursing Home Profile
This database provides information about nursing homes. The data describes the quality of care provided by the nursing home. Search by county/region.
New York State Hospital Profile
This database provides information about hospitals. The data provided here is a measurement of the quality of care given to the hospital's patients. Search by region/county.
OASAS Provider Directory Search
Find Prevention and Treatment providers for alcohol and substance abuse addicts in New York. Searchable by county, region, city, ZIP code or do a statewide search. Provides information on programs, addresses and contact information of treatment centers.
Mental Health Programs
Find mental health programs in New York State. Search by county or program category.

History, People & Culture

Past NYSCA Grants
Find information on past NYSCA grants. Search by organization name, year, program or location.
Find Your Public Library
Do a Keyword search to find your public library. You may also choose to find your library by Community Name, Library Name, Public Library System, Senate or Assembly District.

Jobs & Unemployment

New York State Job Bank
Search for jobs in New York State. Search by keyword and location.
New Yorkers Volunteer!
Find volunteer opportunities in your area. Search by Keyword or Zip Code.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Find your Senator
Laws of New York
Database listing of the Laws of New York State. Searchable by title or phrase.
New York State Bill Search
Search for a bill in New York. Search by Bill Number, Keyword, or Full-Text. Floor Vote search is also available.
New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations
Provides access to New York State Administrative Law. Search by Title or within the NYCRR using Natural Language.
New York State Register
Provides access to New York State Register. Searchable by Word or Issue.

Licensing

(Teacher) Certificate Holder
Search for a New York State teacher's certificate holder. Search by first and last name.
New York State Physician Profile
Information about licensed physicians in New York State. Search by physician's name. Profiles contain the following information: Education, Practice Info., Legal Actions, Professional Activities, and Personal Statements.
Child Care Facility
Search for child care facilities. Search by license/registration ID, facility name, type, county, or zip code. You can also limit your search by facilities that administer medication and facilities that offer non-traditional hours of care.
New York State Office of the Professions Verification Searches
Search all licensed health and non-health professions. Search within a profession by name or license number.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

GIS Data Set Inventories
Search data set inventories. Search by owner or theme, or do an advanced search and search by county, sector and theme.

Voting & Elections

Disclosure Reports Database
From the website, "you will find several ways to search the database: View Contributors -- Takes you to the Contributor Search Page (See below for detailed instructions) and allows you to search by type of contributor: Corporations; Committees, Partnerships, Unions, Associations, etc.; Individuals.
View Committee By Name -- Takes you to the Committee Search Page (See below for detailed instructions) and allows you to search by filer name. View Committees By Office -- Takes you to the Elected Office Search Page (See below for detailed instructions) and allows you to search by office and district."

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of March 2017, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a New York State Agency in these areas:

Education
Government Agencies & Elected Officials
Government Finances & Contracts
Military & Veterans
Recreation, Travel & Tourism
Science & Technology
Transportation

If you know of New York produced databases in these or other subjects shown on this page, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.