Cataloging Toolbox for International Government Information

Dag Hammarskjöld Library

The Library supports the work of the United Nations member states.

• DAG Discovery is the online catalog for the Dag Hammarskjöld Library's print and online collections.
• UN Documents research guide is one of many topical research guides, including guide to UN Documentation for many UN bodies, for example, the General Assembly, the International Counrt of Justice, the Security Council, and UN System Documentation.
• Services for researchers and librarians

United Nations Depository Library Programme

• Since 1946, the Dag Hammarskjöld Library has arranged for the distribution of United Nations documents and publications to users around the world through a network of depository libraries.
  • It provides a Depository Library Directory.

United Nations Digital Library (UNDL)

• The UNDL is the Library's online catalog for UN content, both UN documents and sales publications. It provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. UNDL replaces UNBISnet, their traditional online catalog. The User Guide provides more information about the Digital Library and search help.

Ask DAG knowledge base

UN System Documentation

Provides an overview of the UN system and documentation with a focus documents, publications and information resources. It includes a system chart and directory. It also provides a list of important research resources that also support cataloging, such as the UN Yearbook and handbooks on the United Nations.

UNBIS Thesaurus

The multilingual UNBIS Thesaurus contains the terminology used in subject analysis of documents and other materials relevant to United Nations programmes and activities. Available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

Dag Hammarskjold YouTube Channel

This general resource also has a few short videos that introduce some categories of UN documentation in bitesize pieces.

Directory of United Nations System Organizations

Good resource for name authority work. The Directory lists funds and programmes, specialized agencies, regional commissions, research and training institutes, jointly financed bodies, related organizations, and other entities.  Provides an alphabetical list and links.