California State Agency Databases

The California Online Directory is a service provided by the Department of Technology. The Online Directory provides access to government information and services for state employees, local government and the general public. The directory services include state employee information, state agency information, and a state government organization chart, as well as a keyword search.

A list of most California government services, which can be sorted, searched by keyword, and limited by broad categories and service types (such as online or in-person.)

A comprehensive list of most applications and datasets available through the State of California's webpages, searchable by keyword or listed by department.

A keyword-searchable archive of research reports concerning the California stone fruit industry from 1939 to 2010, created by the Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of California. The research encompassed a wide range of production topics, from cultivar development to postharvest treatment. Annual reports from 1980 to 2011 are currently available.

Looking for a plant specimen in California? This database allows you to search the collections of all the major botanical gardens and herbaria in the state, from the California Academy of Sciences to Yosemite National Park. Searchable by scientific name, location, county, and geographic region; you can narrow the search by type of plant, date collected, the name of the collector, the name of the herbarium where the plant ended up, and other criteria. Records from the California Floristic Province portion of Baja California, Mexico are also included. The database includes over 2 million specimen records from 35 institutions.

Ecosystem Services in agriculture is the defined as the multiple benefits gained from farming and ranching, including crop and livestock production. The information contained in this database is collected from farm and ranch websites and online case studies, updated annually by the Department of Food and Agriculture. The database is designed to show the many social and environmental benefits offered by growers and ranches in California, including food production. The database can be searched by keyword and many categories, such as recreation or conservation, as well as through an interactive map.

Produced by the Inspection Services Division of the Department of Food and Agriculture, FREP funds and coordinates research to advance the environmentally safe and agronomically sound use of fertilizer materials. This database consolidates access to the wealth of information contained in this research. Searchable by keyword, the name of the crop, county, and the date range going back to 1990.

Pulldown menus lead to data and maps on farmland conversion in California, produced by the Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP) of the Department of Conservation. County data are available from 1984 to the present (with some back to 1982); regional and statewide data can be accessed back to 1992.

The NEMAtode-PLant EXpert Information System (NEMAPLEX) is a virtual encyclopedia on soil and plant nematodes. This unusual database provides information on individual plant nematode species and files on their management, ecology and tools for selecting cover crops and making economic threshold decisions.

The online catalogue for the library of the Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics at the University of California, Berkeley, Orpha lists materials acquired since 1987, and also includes thousands of links to web accessible materials in Agricultural and Environmental Economics studies.

Use this database of images to identify weed species, especially the most common weeds found in California lawns. Because flowering parts are often mowed and not seen in turf, this key was developed using vegetative characteristics. The key goes from general to specific images of the plants; work through the key until you get to a summary page of your weed. The summary pages include control methods. There are related keys for invasive ants, aphids and other pests.

A searchable database of the information returns that charities file annually with the IRS (Forms 990, 990-PF, and 990-EZ). The database allows donors to research a charity before making a decision to give. Searchable by name, location, the activity and type of the charity, the EIN (Employer Identification Number) or the NTEE (National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities) code. The returns available in this database are those filed with the IRS directly, not with the Registry of Charitable Trusts.

This search page will allow you to locate unclaimed property that already has been sent to the State for safekeeping, as well as property that is about to be sent to the State by a business as required by law.

The CalGOLD website was created to provide businesses with the information they need to comply with environmental and other regulatory and permitting requirements. CalGOLD offers direct Internet links and contact information to state, local, regional, and federal permitting authorities. Users can search for information by business type and then by local geography (county/city) to discover the permits they need.

This search provides access to domestic stock, domestic nonprofit and qualified foreign corporations, limited liability company and limited partnership information of record with the California Secretary of State.

This search allows you to search for all publicly traded corporations that have filed a Corporate Disclosure Statement with the Secretary of State, search the full text of information contained in a specific statement, and view abstracts of reported information. Searchable by corporation name, the names of officers, or an auditor name; there is also an advanced search.

This database allows public access to documents and other information related to securities filings.

Searches by numeric value only to validate the various permits given by the BOE; seller's permit verification is available to help you determine if a seller's permit account number included on your customer's resale certificate is currently valid. Cigarette and tobacco product retailer license verification is available to help you determine if a cigarette and tobacco product retailer's license is currently valid. E-Waste account verification is available to help you determine if a vendor of covered electronic devices (CEDs) is registered to collect and remit the electronic waste recycling fee. Underground Storage Tank Maintenance Fee Account verification is also included.

Search for licensed care facilities in California, including child care facilities, children's residential facilities, adult & elderly facilities, and special agencies such as adoption agencies, foster family agencies, and certified family homes.

GuideStar finds information on nonprofit organizations located or doing business in California that are federally recognized tax-exempt organizations. Searchable by organization name, city, or employer identification number (EIN); approved by the California Department of Justice.

The "Megan's Law" database; this database provides access to information on the location of registered sex offenders in California. Searches can be performed by offender name and address, or by geographic location (city, zip code, county, proximity to a given school or park). The database can be set to display in a number of languages besides English, including Cambodian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Spanish, Tagalog and Vietnamese. Searches can also be performed by clicking on a given county on a reference map, and then zooming down to the neighborhood level.

The missing persons database is searchable by name, description, county and several other categories.

This database can find the location of an inmate in California State Prisons, and some inmates transferred to county or Federal facilities; searchable by name and birthdate or by CDC number.

This database contains decisions on all public judicial disciplinary cases since the inception of the Commission in 1960. Cases not involving public charges or public discipline remain confidential under the California Constitution and the Commission's rules. The database can be searched by name, date range, county, court level, the type of judicial misconduct and the disposition of the case.

Proposition 65, more formally known as the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, is a California law passed by citizen initiative. Enforcement is carried out through civil lawsuits brought by the California Attorney General, by a district attorney or city attorney of a city with a population exceeding 750,000. However, private parties acting in the public interest can also bring Proposition 65 lawsuits, but only if they have provided at least 60 days notice of the alleged violation to the business, as well as to the Attorney General and the appropriate district attorney and city attorney, and the Attorney General, district attorney or city attorney has not taken action. If a business is found to be in violation of Proposition 65, a court may order the business to stop committing the violation or post warning signs. This database enables you to search for these notices, by year or date range, AG number, the names of plaintiff or defendant, and the product or chemical involved.

CEQAnet contains key information from all California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) documents submitted to the State Clearinghouse for review since 1990. Some Federal National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) documents are submitted to the Clearinghouse for state review and these are also included in this database. Provided are summaries of Environmental Impact Reports (EIRs), Negative Declarations, Environmental Impact Statements, and other types of CEQA and NEPA documents. The summaries include the project title, project location, lead agency name, contact information, and project description. The full text of these documents is not provided; also, because not all environmental documents are submitted to the State Clearinghouse, CEQAnet is not a comprehensive database of all CEQA and NEPA documents in California. Searchable by date, type of document, producing or reviewing agency, location and keyword.

Part of the California Planners' Information Network (CPIN), in the State Clearinghouse and Planning Unit. This directory includes contact information and a hotlist for federal, state, regional, county, city and other local planning agencies, along with California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) judges for the Superior Courts.

The results of a smog check are public record...you can find them here by license plate number or vehicle identification number (VIN).

A comprehensive list of the many databases maintained by the California ARB.

A full text search of the ARB website and archive, which can be limited by the type of document.

A searchable list of executive orders by the ARB, regarding approval of aftermarket or modified parts for vehicles that affect emissions.

The ARB, with assistance from aftermarket catalytic converter manufacturers, has developed a database to store and retrieve information on aftermarket catalytic converters that have been approved for use in California. These catalytic converters comply with the new regulations that became effective 1 January 2009. The database contains converters approved for OBD II vehicles. Once finalized, it will also include catalytic converters for non-OBD II vehicles.
The database is searchable by vehicle information or ARB Executive Order number.

Information on maximum ozone concentrations, ozone exceedances, preliminary and official air quality data by time frame, an area of the state, and the type of report, real-time or historical meteorological data, and visual display of air quality or meteorological parameters using color-coded dots at site locations.

This database, formerly called iADAM, allows you to create tables and charts of air quality based on various parameters, such as time and duration.

The table summarizes the expedited BARCT schedules adopted by required air districts.

This database contains approximately 2000 air toxics emission factors calculated from source test data collected for the Air Toxics Hot Spots Program; most of the source test data is based on emission measurements from the early 1990s. The emission factor data has not been updated since 1996. The CATEF database may be used to estimate air toxics emissions, including individuals and facility operators required to report air toxics emissions for the Air Toxics "Hot Spots" Program. Users should be aware that the sampling method puts the acrolein emission factors in doubt and until they resolve this issue, the ARB does not recommend using these emission factors.

An emissions projection database, with actual data and compared projections from 1975 to 2020. This database includes a simple [http://www.arb.ca.gov/app/emsinv/emssumcat.php Almanac Emission Projection Data] generator.

The CCAQS comprise two studies, the California Regional Particulate Air Quality Study (CRPAQS) and the Central California Ozone Study (CCOS), both multi-year efforts of meteorological and air quality monitoring, emission inventory development, data analysis, and air quality simulation modeling. CRPAQS monitoring occurred during a 14-month study period, between December 1999 and February 2001; CCOS monitoring took place during the summer of 2000.

This mapping tool allows you to look at a map to view sources of air pollution. Currently, most of the data are from 2001, although some of the data about toxic emissions can be from various years from 1990 to 2001. You can use these maps to answer questions like: "What are the major sources of air pollution within several miles of my home?" "What are the relative contributions of mobile sources and stationary sources?" "What sources are near my son or daughter's school?" "Which chemicals are emitted by a particular facility or mobile sources in this area?" To answer these questions you must provide CHAPIS with a location of interest (e.g., county or zip code) and choose which types and sources of pollution you would like to explore. From the CHAPIS map there are also links to other data sources, such as tools to query the statewide emission inventory database and the network of air monitoring stations.

The ARB has made available this small database identifying the more significant solvent compounds used in consumer products available in California. You may select a solvent by name, chemical class, or by Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number.

Find which of California's 35 air districts you are in by zip code, city or county. This database is also available in comma-delimited zip files for download.

California's local Air Pollution Control Districts (APCDs) and Air Quality Management Districts (AQMDs) provide the Air Resources Board with electronic versions of their district rules which regulate stationary sources in California. You may access a list of districts for viewing and downloading district rules and regulations.

Finds criteria and toxics pollutant emissions data for facilities in California. Choose a year from 1987 to 2008; then limit your search results by the name of the facility or the air district and the name of the pollutant.

The California ARB library collection consists of some 10,000 books and reports, and over 200 journals, covering all aspects of air pollution and related fields. The collection is part of the Cal/EPA Library, 1001 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814; open 8:00 to 4:00, Monday – Friday. The catalogue can be searched by keywords and limited by date and broad subject categories.

Provides a database of emissions certification information for off-road engines, such as construction equipment or boat engines; searchable by engine type, year and manufacturer.

Using a combination of inputs, such as agency, county, basin and specific pollutants, this database compiles lists the actual monitoring sites, with links to their specifications, location and photographs.

This interface was designed to assist the user in finding a retrofit device that is verified for their on-road or off-road engine. You can browse by Diesel Emission Control System (DECS), engine family name, engine year, manufacturer, or displacement.

The RLDB chronicles the history of rules controlling sources of air pollution, as developed and adopted by California's 35 air pollution control and air quality management districts, the dates the district board first adopted and subsequently amended or rescinded a rule, and the date the California Air Resources Board received the rule. The RLDB also lists the date the rule was submitted, on request of the district, to the United States Environmental Protection Agency for inclusion to the State Implementation Plan (SIP). Finally, the database gives the dates and types of U.S. EPA rulemaking actions on the rule. Currently, the RLDB contains records for rules that are intended by the districts to be revisions to the SIP and which were adopted or amended during the period 1 January 1981 to the present.

The California Wildlife Biology, Exposure Factor, and Toxicity Database (Cal/Ecotox) is a compilation of ecological, physiological, and toxicity data for a number of California mammals, birds, amphibians, reptiles and fish. The database is searchable by species or chemical; complete species reports are available for downloading.

CalEnviroScreen is a mapping tool identifying California communities that are most affected by many sources of pollution, and where people are often especially vulnerable to pollution’s effects. This interactive map uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information to produce scores for every census tract in the state. The scores are mapped so that different communities can be compared. An area with a high score is one that experiences a much higher pollution burden than areas with low scores, based on data that are available from state and federal government sources. The interactive maps compile many types of pollution and many types of vulnerabilities, such as average age, poverty, and asthma rates.

A database of toxic chemicals as defined by the OEHHA, browsable by chemical name and searchable by common name, CAS number, use or synonym.

An overall index of databases produced by this department.

CalPIQ retrieves the most frequently requested information from the Pesticide Illness Surveillance Program (PISP) database. In the PISP program, all reported pesticide illnesses are investigated by the county agricultural commissioners. DPR evaluates the reports and compiles them into a database, which is used to improve the state's program to protect workers and others from the adverse effects of pesticide exposure. Searchable from 1992 through the most recent year summarized in a PISP annual report.

Search for a pesticide or chemical ingredient or registrants by name, CAS number, or DPR chemical code.

This database yields a list of companies registered to handle pesticides in California, by name, DPS number or address. Detailed reports include company name and address, DPR's registration specialist, and product information available from the Product/Label Database. A [http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/label/chemcomp.htm separate interface] locates registrants by the DPS chemical codes or the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number. There is also an [http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/license/currlic.htm alphabetic searchable list] of DPR licensees.

A collection of databases that includes the PRESCRIBE search engine, providing location-specific measures to protect endangered species from pesticides; searchable land use data; Federal Register Notices searchable by species; and United States EPA Interim Measures Bulletins, searchable by county.

A major library of pesticide data, including more than 81,900 volumes of data containing more than 222,000 studies. The index is updated each Sunday.

An annual database, going back to 1994, of domestic and imported produce analyzed for pesticide residues.

An entry page for the California Pesticide Information Portal (CalPIP), which generates customized information from DPR’s Pesticide Use Report Database; and access to Pesticide Use Annual Summaries, indexed by chemical or by commodity. The summaries include analyses of pesticide use trends and are available from 1989 to present. (Note: In 1989, full use reporting requirements were not in effect.)

Look up pesticide products registered in California by product name, registration number, single chemical code, single site code or multiple variables. This database includes additional entries for [http://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/label/restricted.cfm pesticides registered as restricted materials] at the state and Federal levels. An alternate database at the [http://npirspublic.ceris.purdue.edu/state/state_menu.aspx?state=CA California page of the National Pesticide Information Retrieval System] is hosted by Purdue University for the Department of Pesticide Regulation and the United States EPA.

The DPR, under the authority of Section 24(c) of FIFRA (Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act), may register an additional use of a federally registered pesticide product or a new end-use product to meet a special local need (SLN) if certain conditions exist. This application is designed to allow users to search for active and inactive SLN registrations issued by DPR. Users can enter search criteria (for example, crop/site, U.S. EPA registration number, chemical) to generate a list of matching special local need registrations with their associated labels.

This database contains data from a wide variety of environmental monitoring studies designed to test for the presence or absence of pesticides in California surface waters. The monitoring data available through this web site was updated as of June 2011.

A listing of the many CalRecycle databases.

A portal to the data and maps of the California Department of Resources, Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) and the related databases of other agencies.

A database of notices from this agency, searchable by keyword, date range, the type of notice and the subject of the notice.

This is a keyword searchable database of the hundreds of publications produced by CalRecycle, most of which are available electronically.

Meetings of the California Integrated Waste Management Board, searchable by keyword, from 1994 to 2009.

Unwanted electronic devices should be reused or recycled. Disposing of computers, monitors, televisions and other electronic equipment with regular garbage is illegal in California. Functioning electronics can be sold or donated thereby prolonging their useful life. Nonfunctioning electronics that cannot be repaired should be recycled by an organization qualified to do so, as listed here by county. This database includes links to hazardous waste programs sponsored by local governments, and information on battery and fluorescent bulb disposal.

This search is intended for use by organizations seeking to conduct business with each other within the context of the Electronic Waste Recycling Act of 2003 system; it is NOT intended as a general locator of reuse and recycling opportunities.

The Facility Information Toolbox (FacIT) is an inventory of California's solid waste handling, recycling, and market infrastructure, and a capacity projection model. The facility inventory includes primary processors (transfer stations, materials recovery facilities, compost facilities, etc.) and secondary processors (recycled feedstock producers, recycled product manufacturers, etc.), emerging technology facilities, disposal facilities, and some primary collection facilities. The capacity model predicts future waste amounts and the need for new recycling and solid waste facilities in California. This database can generate maps based on categories, or be searched by location, activity and the material recycled. The databases for the disposal or recycling construction and demolition debris, plastics, tires, sharps and medical waste are now incorporated into this toolbox.

Locate the popular used oil recycling centers by city, county or zip code. You can also call the Earth 911 hotline (1-800-CLEANUP).

This database locates beverage container recycling centers or drop-off donation location by zip code, county or name.

A database of the local CalRecycle contacts, searchable by county or jurisdiction.

Local enforcement agencies are designated by the governing body of a county or city to implement delegated CalRecycle programs and locally designated activities; they also have responsibility for the proper storage and transportation of solid wastes. Searchable by county.

The RCPM directory showcases innovative recycled-content products made by California manufacturers who use recycled waste as a feedstock. RCPM puts you in touch directly with the manufacturers who make earth-friendly products, whether you are a wholesale buyer, Procurement and Contracting Officer (PCO), or an individual consumer. Use this listing to find manufacturers who make products, or intermediate products, designed with your needs in mind. Buying from these manufacturers also supports green jobs in the California economy. Searchable by keyword, business name, county, zip code, and the category of feedstock, intermediate product or final product.

A browsable database of all WRAP winners from 1993 to 2011, by business type, county, keyword or year.

The SWIS database contains information on solid waste facilities, operations, and disposal sites throughout the State of California. The types of facilities found in this database include landfills, transfer stations, material recovery facilities, composting sites, transformation facilities, waste tire sites, and closed disposal sites. Searchable by county, LEA jurisdiction, regulatory status, facility type, operational status or SWIS site name or number. For each facility, the database contains information about location, owner, operator, facility type, regulatory and operational status, authorized waste types, local enforcement agency and inspection and enforcement records.

This database provides estimates of the types and amounts of materials in the waste streams of individual California jurisdictions, for 1999 only, searchable by jurisdiction; multiple jurisdictions can be compared. The data for 1995 is also available.

The State Agency Annual Report tracks the information in the integrated waste management plans and annual reports submitted by state agencies and large state facilities. Search this database by agency name, zip code or city to learn more about a particular agency's or facility's waste diversion programs.

The EnviroStor database allows the public to search for properties regulated by the DTSC's Site Mitigation and Brownfields Reuse Program, where extensive investigation and/or cleanup actions are planned or have been completed. Search is available by city, county, or zip code; results can be limited to certain types of sites (superfund, school cleanup, etc.), and can be displayed either as a list or as a map.

This database allows the public to search for registered transporters of hazardous waste material, by county, city, business name or registration number. Also links to reports that list the entire database (over 1000 entries) by city, business name, registration number, county and zip code, etc.

A master list of databases maintained by the state and regional water boards in California.

The eWRIMS is a database developed to track information on water rights in California, containing information on "Statements of Water Diversion and Use" that have been filed by water diverters, as well as registrations, certificates, and water right permits and licenses that have been issued by the State Water Resources Control Board and its predecessors. Searchable by location and many different kinds of IDs.

CEDEN is an extensive database to find and share information about California's water bodies, including streams, lakes, rivers, and the coastal ocean. Many groups in California monitor water quality, aquatic habitat, and wildlife health to ensure good stewardship of our ecological resources; CEDEN aggregates this data and makes it accessible to environmental managers and the public. Besides the Water Resources Control Board and the Regional Water Quality Control Boards, collaborators include the Surface Water Ambient Monitoring Program, US Environmental Protection Agency, Central Valley Regional Data Center, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories, San Francisco Estuary Institute, and the Southern California Coastal Water Research Project. Searchable by many parameters including location, the names of reporting stations, the programs or projects maintaining the stations, the names and types of chemicals or other pollutants, and many others; the database can produce data in text or map form.

GeoTracker is a data management system for managing sites that impact groundwater, especially those that require groundwater cleanup (Underground Storage Tanks, Department of Defense, Site Cleanup Program) as well as permitted facilities and land disposal sites. Searching by address, case ID or the facility name, GeoTracker provides the public records for a site from over 350,000 documents, including regulatory communications, regulatory actions such as records of decision documents, and all data and documents submitted by the responsible parties using the Business to Government Reporting Module for Electronic Submission of Information (ESI).

The California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES) is a program of the Natural Resources Agency established to facilitate access to the variety of data describing California’s rich and diverse environment. CERES is made possible by a close working relationship between the CNRA and the Department of Land, Air and Water Resources (LAWR) at UC Davis. LAWR provides experts in remote sensing, programming using open source technologies, network operations and design, and informatics. CERES also replaced the California Environmental Information Clearinghouse (CEIC), an online directory for environmental information resources, including cities, counties, utilities, state and federal agencies, private businesses and academic institutions that have spatial and other types of data resources. The current catalogue is a collaborative effort with the California Geographic Information Association, California Environmental Resources Evaluation System, and the Federal Geographic Data Center, and may be viewed as a "Yellow Pages" of environmental information by indexing and organizing metadata that facilitates identification and access to the data. Environmental resource data itself is not stored, only data resource descriptions, including information on how to find out more about the data or obtain it. Most of the other information portals described below can be accessed here.

The Map Viewer has partially replaced the GeoFinder, a tool that helps find and retrieve geographic and environmental data from the California Resources Agency, its consituent departments and other partner organizations. '''CERES is being updated, and should be available by late 2016.'''

Find planning documents by county or bioregion. '''CERES is being updated, and should be available by late 2016.'''

The California Natural Diversity Database (CNDDB) is a resource available by subscription that currently contains over 49,000 records on more than 2,600 California rare native plants, animals, and natural communities. The QuickView to the CNDDB is a public map application that provides access to CNDDB data at the 7.5" quadrangle and county levels.

This website displays the felt effects for selected historical California earthquakes. By selecting an earthquake from a clickable map, you can see a map of the area and intensity of shaking from that earthquake, then by clicking on a city on the intensity map (or list beneath the map) you can see what that location reported after the earthquake. These "felt reports" are usually from newspapers during the 1850 to 1930 time period. The felt reports were compiled and published in 1981 and 1982 with updates added through the years. Not all earthquakes have intensity maps and felt reports online.

This extensive catalogue of publications may be purchased, viewed or downloaded by anyone interested in geologic maps, geologic reports, seismic data and more. Searchable by keyword, or browsable by title, author, subject, date or the series of the geological publication.

CalFish provides direct access to nearly 150 different types of databases relating to fish and aquatic habitat data. These data include categories such as population monitoring, distribution, migration barrier, hatcheries, species recovery, habitat monitoring and restoration, and genetics. You can view these data by querying the database tables directly or by querying the data geographically with an interactive online mapping system. The mapping system provides access to a broad array of framework data (political boundaries, hydrography, quad maps, and many more), and users can move easily between the tabular and geographic systems. CalFish is a cooperative project with the Pacific States Marine Fisheries Commission, the NOAA, the US Fish and Wildlife Service, and the US Forest Service.

Besides CalFish, the Department of Fish and Wildlife maintains many databases in-house, which can be accessed through an index page. These numerous databases include searchable listings and mapping tools, with many specific subsets.

This database is a synthesized all-inclusive California species list, connecting related data that refer to the same species even if there are issues with outdated alternate scientific names or common names. It provides a common mapping to species codes across many systems for enhanced cross reference and creates a standard for referencing species in new data collection applications. The intention is to create the most complete list of animal and plant species found in California from any source. We include names for species with or without legal status for the purpose of data collection applications. Species status information (such as endangered or protected status) comes live from the [http://www.dfg.ca.gov/biogeodata/cnddb/ California Natural Diversity Database (CNDDB)] and is available in the Species Explorer on the Species Details page for only those species found in that system.

This interactive grants database will allow you to search for active projects funded under Proposition 84. To use the search tool for general results simply enter a keyword; results can be narrowed by status, county, fiscal year, grantee, deliverables, grant type and category. Results will be presented in table format.

Search for information on dams within the jurisdiction of the State of California. Search may be conducted by dam name or station id number, owner, stream or county. Each record includes general information about the dam (name, owner, year completed, etc.); location information (county, latitude, longitude, crest elevation, baseline meridian, etc., dam characteristics (type, crest length, heigh, material volume, etc.); and reservoir characteristics (storage capacity, drainage area, reservoir area, and usage).

This interface gives access to the current (last 12 hours) sensor data for all of California's river basins. The database is searchable by the name of the river basin and the type of sensor. There are over 200 kinds of sensors, including flow speed, snow depth, evaporation rate, rainfall, water temperature, etc., which can also be searched across the entire state.

This essential database allows you to search for any CDEC station in the state, by name, station ID, the sensor type, location, elevation, river basin, hydrological area, county or operating agency. For example, you could locate all sensors of a certain type or in a certain place, and then access current and historical data for a specific station, which can be downloaded or plotted.

This page provides links to dozens of databases and spreadsheets maintained by the various agencies of the IEP, some listed elsewhere in this wiki, including fish data, water quality, algae, water flow and water rights. This page also offers access to the defunct Bay Delta and Tributaries (BDAT) Project concerning the San Francisco Bay-Delta estuary, with data contributed by over 50 organizations. The database included biological, water quality, and meteorological data. Coverage varied but dated for the various categories from about 1975 (water quality data back to 1961); the project was suspended in 2008.

The most comprehensive statewide database of its kind in California, with over 8,000 natural resource projects, including watershed conservation and acquisition, restoration and noxious weed eradication, conservation, mitigation and restoration assessment, planning, and scientific studies. Projects are linked to the CERES California Environmental Information Clearinghouse (CEIC), GeoFinder, the California Digital Atlas, the California Watershed Portal, and Google Maps; searchable by many parameters including names, locations, types of habitats, and even a clickable map. A collaborative effort between UC Davis ICE and the California Biodiversity Council since 1997.

This searchable database covers over 660 groups dedicated to particular California watersheds, such as lagoons, rivers, creeks, etc. Keyword searches can be performed for group names, location or mission (e.g., "to protect and restore wild trout and steelhead"). Entries may include details such as membership information, data collection (and availability of data) by the group, contact information, and projects in which the group is involved.

An online questionnaire to calculate the carbon dioxide production of small businesses based on size, commute times, locations, etc.; a joint project of the California Air Resources Board, CalRecycle, the University of California at Berkeley and numerous other agencies. There is now an additional calculator for [http://www.coolcalifornia.org/calculator-households-individuals households and individuals].

KRIS organizes information relevant to fisheries and water quality in the Klamath Basin, so it can be shared among agencies, private land owners and citizens. A joint project of the non-profit Institute for Fisheries Resources in San Francisco and Kier Associates, with data contributed by many local and state agencies.

With the passage of Proposition 30 in November 2012, Californians temporarily raised tax rates to help prevent more than $5 billion in education cuts and restore the fiscal health of schools. This transparency tool was created to help taxpayers track every dollar raised for K-12 and community college agencies, where it was allocated, how it will be spent, and whether it was used in accordance with the law. The Track Prop 30 website promotes transparency and accountability by offering a one-stop resource where you can follow the monies generated by this voter-approved initiative, determine if the monies are being used lawfully, and even view key data demonstrating whether your school district, charter school and community college district is fiscally stable.

This database allows the public to check the credentials of public school teachers. Search is limited to first and last name or credential number, and to credentials issued after 1989.

Search for orders and decisions regarding special education due process and mediation since July 2005; archival links connect to hearings from [http://www2.cde.ca.gov/seho/ 1993 to June 2005]. This program is contracted with the California Department of Education.

Use this resource to find training schools that have been certified by the BAR for smog check or brake and lamp adjustment technicians. Search by county or city, or limit to type of course (basic, advanced, alternative, etc.)

A listing of all the CDE's statistical databases.

Searches grants, contracts, and apportionments from the California Department of Education (CDE) by fiscal year, status, type, and topic.

Information about all California public, private and nonsectarian schools, school districts, and county offices of education; searchable by county, district, name, County-District-School (CDS) code, city, zip code, type, or status.

Charter schools in California can be located by using a map, or by name. A list of all the charter schools in the state can be generated sorted by charter school number or district.

The CMD is a database of parental notification documents translated into non-English languages by local educational agencies and the CDE.

An online catalogue of the department's data products, including data collections, databases, and mandated reports. It contains information on what data the CDE collects, manages and stores, where the data are located, who is the point of contact for the data, and how the data can be accessed and shared. Like a library catalogue, the Data Resource Guide does NOT contain the actual data itself, but does link to the online records.

The essential data source about all California schools and districts; searchable by location, district or school, with data on test scores, performance, enrollment, demographics, staffing, misconduct, even health, technology and climate information.

A database of outstanding literature for children and adolescents, from preschool to 12th grade. The recommended titles reflect the quality and the complexity of the types of materials students should be reading at school and outside of class. Searches can be performed by author, title, keyword, grade level span, language, subject discipline, etc. Extensive explanations of the search indexes are available.

Summary results for the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) tests, back to 1998. There is also a link to the database for the California Reading List by grade, which is kept on a secure website.

The California Special Education Reference (CaSER) is a searchable database for all laws applying to special education in the state, including the United States Code, the Code of Federal Regulations and the US Department of Education, the California Education Code, Part 30, California Code of Regulations, Title 5, and other California laws relating to special education.

Search the catalogue of the California Maritime Academy Library for books and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Stiern Library of CSU Bakersfield for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the John Spoor Broome Library at CSU Channel Islands for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Meriam Library at CSU Chico for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the CSU Dominguez Hills University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the CSU East Bay University Libraries for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Henry Madden Library at Fresno State for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Pollak Library at CSU Fullerton for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Humboldt State University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the John F. Kennedy Memorial Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the CSU Monterey Bay Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Cal Poly Pomona University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search Eureka, the catalogue of the Sacramento State University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Pfau Library at CSU San Bernardino for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Love Library at San Diego State for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Leonard Library at SF State for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the King Library at San José State for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Kennedy Library at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the Kellogg Library at CSU San Marcos for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search Snoopy, the catalogue of the Sonoma State University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Search the catalogue of the CSU Stanislaus University Library for books, articles in databases, and other items.

Use this search engine to find the University of California certified course list for a high school or community college. All listed courses fulfill the "a-g" subject requirements for freshman admission to UC. The course list also indicates UC certified honors courses and Career and Technical Education (CTE) courses. You can search for schools or school districts, programs, and community colleges by name, ATP code, and geographic location, search for sample courses by subject area, or search for course titles by keywords.

Online catalogue for the University of California Libraries; individual campus libraries can also be searched from here.

Searches the online catalogue of most UC Berkeley Libraries, including subject libraries, the Pacific Film Archive, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, the Mark Twain Papers, the Center for Tebtunis Papyri, and the UC Archives.

The Instructional Media Collections and Services (IMCS) catalogue holdings are also searchable in the general UCLA Library Catalogue, but the collection does have a separately searchable database, by keyword, format, language, date, etc.

Start here to search the holdings of the various UCLA libraries and collections.

Scotty is the UCR library catalogue.

The most direct way to search the holdings at the UC Santa Barbara Library.

CruzCat is the catalogue of the UC Santa Cruz Library.

A searchable index to all California state agencies, including e-mail, websites, and social network contacts.

A gallery containing portraits, biographies, and inaugural addresses for each of our governors.

A database of the State Legislature, searchable by zip code, with links to contact information, web pages, and committee membership.

An extensive database of local government documents across the state; if a document is not online, a scanned copy is hosted by the Berkeley IGS. Includes access to local municipal codes and charters, searchable by city; documents related to land use and development issues, searchable by jurisdiction, type of planning document and year (at both county and city level); and budgets and financial reports for Bay Area cities, county budgets and annual financial reports, and annual reports from county grand juries, all searchable by keyword. A tremendous resource.

The Statewide Database (SWDB) is the official redistricting database for the State of California. Data collection and processing for redistricting are ongoing tasks conducted over a ten year period of time, starting with the collection of the census at the beginning of each decade. With each election between redistrictings, updated data sets are available as a free, public resource as soon they are processed; includes data and maps back to 1991.

The database contains information on the salary and other compensation of public employee positions in cities, counties, and special districts. The database also includes compensation information for employee positions in state government that are paid by the State Controller, including state employees; the California State University; legislators, and state-wide elected officials. Not included at this time are state positions that are not paid by the Controller, including staff of legislators and staff of the Lieutenant Governor; the Department of Food and Agriculture's agriculture associations and Division of Fairs and Expositions; and the University of California. California's community colleges are not included, but most have volunteered their salary information. A list of those cities, counties and special districts that have thus far failed to file salary and compensation reports as directed by the Controller -- or that have filed incomplete or otherwise noncompliant reports -- can be accessed here as well.

The Controller's Office has posted more than 60 million fields of financial information, provided by 58 counties, more than 450 cities and more than 4,800 special districts over the past 12 years. In addition to providing basic statistics about each city and county, this website details their revenues, expenditures, liabilities, assets, and fund balances. Also included are more than one million fields of data for California's 130 state and local government pension plans over 11 years, including information on assets, funded and unfunded liabilities employer/employee contribution levels, investment income, retiree benefit payments and much more. Easy-to-use interfaces are currently available for city, county and defined benefit pension and defined contribution pension data.

This website makes it easier to track $1.5 trillion in bonds, notes and other public debt issued over the past 30 years by more than 6,000 state and local governmental entities in California. More than 50,000 different financings involving public debt were used to build important public infrastructure and provide valued public services. About one-third of the total debt was issued to refinance outstanding debt, a strategy used by public agencies to lower interest costs, improve debt repayment terms and save taxpayer money. This site contains data on the debt that state and local government agencies issued and reported to the California Debt and Investment Advisory Commission (CDIAC), which is chaired by the State Treasurer. You can search for information based on the type of debt issuer, by county, or by a "data lens" which displays debt information in a variety of graphical forms.

This database contains information for each reported issuance of bonds, notes and other public debt sold or issued by the State and local governmental entities in California. Records can be accessed for a designated range (for example, dates or principal amounts) or by specific criteria (for example, bond counsel or county). Other optional criteria to narrow a search include issuer name, issue date, debt or bond type, revenue source, project, county, sale or interest type, the name of the underwriter, bond counsel, trustee, or financial advisor, the principal amount, interest rate, maturity date, and the Fitch, Moody’s, or S&P Rating.

The State Contracts Register is the primary source for information on state contracting opportunities. It lists open bids for services, commodities and contracts for state agencies, departments, school districts, universities, courts, cities, transit agencies, etc. The contracts can be searched by bid number, keyword, or NIGP, UNSPSC, and CSI classifications. The state now operates an excellent website on public procurement, with many sources of information, at [https://www.caleprocure.ca.gov/pages/index.aspx https://www.caleprocure.ca.gov/pages/index.aspx].

To search for current or expired contracts, use this database. Contracts can be searched by keyword, contract number and type, department, qualifications (DVBE, MB, NP, NVSA or SB), expiration dates, or the UNSPSC classification.

The State of California certifies certain businesses for preferential treatment in State contracts. This list can be searched by certification type, business type, keywords, zip code, city, service area, UNSPSC classification, NAICS classifications, or the contractors license code.

This website provides financial data and credit scores for counties and larger cities in California, roughly 500 local governments in all. The financial data comes from Comprehensive Annual Financial Reports or Audited Financials that each city is required to file. Data is also collected from pension plan actuarial reports. Each local government page includes links to the documents used as well as links to bond offering documents stored on the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board’s EMMA system. A joint project of the California Policy Center, Civic Partner, and the Sunlight Foundation.

Compiled by the Sacramento Bee. A searchable database of salaries by name, agency or state university. Sources: University of California President's Office; California State Controller's Office; California Legislature.

Transparent California is a database of public employee salaries and pensions, provided by the Nevada Policy Research Institute. This information is searchable by name, job title, by the type of agency or the name of the pension plan.

Although not strictly a database, Covered California is the online site to search for health insurance through California's exchange under the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare). The DHCS also provides low-cost health care through Medi-Cal, Denti-Cal, and AIM (Access for Infants and Mothers).

The Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI) produces over 150 datasets and products taken from reports submitted to HCAI by approximately 9,500 individual, licensed healthcare facilities including hospitals, long-term care facilities, primary care clinics, specialty clinics, hospices, and home health agencies. This page includes a list of all available datasets. For a list of featured visualizations and other curated content, please visit the A-Z Content Page.

Each health plan which uses arbitration to settle disputes with its members must file with the Department a copy of any written arbitration decision. The filed copy must include the amount of the award, the reasons for the award and the names of the arbitrators. By law, the names of the plan, member, witnesses, attorneys, provider, plan employees and plan facilities are deleted from the copy filed with the Department. These redacted copies of the decisions are filed each quarter and every effort will be made to post them on this site within the following quarter and make available to the public, searchable by the quarter and year of the summary.

The Office of Enforcement ensures compliance with the Knox-Keene Healthcare Service Plan Act through timely action against health plan violations. This database allows you to view significant enforcement actions, including actions against discount health plans, which have been the subject of an investigation by the DMHC since 1 July 2000. You can search by criteria including name of the Health Plan or organization (with Discount Health Plans), date range, penalty amount, document category, or violation by California Health and Safety Code section or California Code of Regulations, as well as a full text search of all documents issued by the Office of Enforcement. Alongside this database is an A to Z list of enforcement actions by the name of the health plan or organization.

This database compiles decisions made by the Independent Medical Review Board, affirming or overturning decisions made by HMOs and doctors regarding patient care, since the Board was created in 2001. The decisions are searchable by type, date range, gender, diagnosis, treatment requested, the outcome and by a keyword search.

The Knox-Keene Act also requires the DMHC to conduct a routine medical survey of each licensed full service and specialty health plan at least once every three years, a comprehensive evaluation of the plan's compliance with the law. This database allows you to search and view medical survey reports by the name of the plan.

This important database allows you to find doctors who are certified for workers' comp evaluations in California. You can search by name, city and specialty, or find a list of specialists within a certain distance of a zip code.

This database contains interactions involving at least one antiretroviral drug found reported in published articles, abstracts from major conferences, or information presented to the US Food and Drug Administration. Studies demonstrating the absence of an interaction or interactions inferred from predicted mechanisms of drug metabolism are included when judged to be of potential clinical significance. Search by antiretroviral or interacting drug names or classes.

Possibly the most interesting (and technical) database in this list, the Genome Browser compiles worldwide research on genomes and permits different ways to examine genes and chromosomes, including the DNA of humans, Neaderthals, rats, frogs and microbes.

The California State Archives collection is composed of records from California state agencies, the governor's office, the state legislature, the State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal, organized under the name of the agency or office that transferred the records to the Archives. The collections also include some private papers that have been donated to the Archives. Minerva provides access to summary descriptions of the California State Archives. Within more than 300 million items in the collection are documents from the state's first constitutional convention in 1849, land grant records of the Spanish and Mexican eras, campaign contribution statements, State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal case files, legislative committee files, original laws, papers of many of the state's leading politicians, and large collections of photographs, maps, drawings, and audio/visual materials.

This database contains more than 50,000 references to California people, places, events, and subjects.

Find books, legal materials, journals, photographs, manuscripts, maps, videos, audio books and more in the collections of the California State Library, including the Sutro Library in San Francisco.

Useful for a variety of purposes from determining historic business information to tracking an ancestor, most of our directories are not online. However, we do list what directories we have in our various databases.

The Gladding McBean Company manufactured decorative terra cotta architectural elements at its factory in Lincoln, California from 1888 to 1966. This database is an index to over 6,500 of their job files, searchable by location, the building name, and the architect.

Similar to city directories, phone directories can be used to identify where an ancestor was at a certain time, which is especially useful when tracking movement in between the census years (i.e. every 10 years). The bulk of the Sutro Library’s telephone directories exist on microfiche and cover more recent years from 1970s – 2000s. This database includes information on the title of the directory (often the city or county is represented here), year of publication, type (yellow or white pages), and some entries include a notes field detailing communities that are included in that directory. Click on the green plus (+) sign to the left of the result in order to expand the notes field, if there is one. We are currently uploading the entries for every 10 states that we complete so you may not yet return results for your area of interest. Check back soon if that's the case!

This database offers information for over 1500 shipwrecks in California. Search is allowed by ship name, type (barge, schooner, two-masted ship, etc.), county, latitude and longitude. Information provided for each wreck (varies by entry) can include owner, year built, year sunk, cause of wreck, captain, length, tonnage, and mode of power (steam engine, sail, etc.).

This resource provides listings by county of buildings, structures, sites, or places that have been determined to have statewide historical significance.

An annotated bibliography of novels, along with some short stories, poetry and drama, on the subject of the oceans or seafaring. Searchable by author. This site was temporarily down in 2017 while the library switches to LibGuides.

An exhibition of digital documents and images concerning Fascist activities around Los Angeles before and during World War II. Searchable by keyword.

One of the world's largest digital collections of guitar sheet music. Also included are correspondence, periodicals, and discographies of the thousands of obscure records in the collection, available at the Oviatt Library. Searchable by keyword.

A wonderful group of special digital collections related to Latino history in Los Angeles, including the papers of Rodolfo Acuña, the Community Service Organization (CSO), Culture Clash, the Mothers of East Los Angeles (Madres del Este de Los Angeles), and the Supreme Council of the Mexican American Movement. Searchable by keyword.

An image database of significant documents, manuscripts, photographs and related graphic materials from public and private collections in the San Fernando Valley. Searchable by topic and keyword.

Established in 1982, the TV Archive preserves over 4000 hours of newsfilm, documentaries and other programs produced locally in the Bay Area and Northern California between 1939-2005. It is part of Leonard Library’s Department of Special Collections.

The Poetry Center Digital Archive makes available significant portions of early audio recordings from the Center's American Poetry Archives collection, supplemented by select archival texts and images. The Poetry Center, founded at San Francisco State College (now SFSU) in 1954 by English professor Ruth Witt-Diamant, has been recording and archiving tapes of its public events for nearly six decades. They have compiled and maintained one of the most significant public collections in the USA of original recorded performances by poets and related writers reading their work. This collection, together with the Poetry Center housed within the SFSU College of Humanities (Department of Creative Writing), today holds over 4,000 hours of unique original audio and video master-recordings.

The WorldImages database provides access to the IMAGE project, selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in a historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, organized into over 800 portfolios that appear alphabetically in the Portfolio List. You can also explore the database using Browse Collections, or with a keyword search.

The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, libraries, historical societies, and archives. Over 120,000 images, 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories, and 8,000 guides to collections are available. This is a major project of the California Digital Library, the virtual campus of the University of California.

SPIRO is the visual catalogue to the 35mm slide collection of the Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL). The collection numbers over 250,000 slides and 20,000 photographs. '''This database is currently in transition.'''

A searchable database of over a million folk remedies, collected from individuals and books since the 1940s. The remedies are searchable by keywords, condition, belief, method of treatment, gender, age and ethnicity of the informant, place, date and region collected, place or region of origin, and the citation name. '''This database is often offline.'''

A searchable digital collection of nearly 8,000 recordings made on wax cylinders, most dating from the early 20th century. The recordings may be streamed or freely downloaded.

Search for statewide volunteer opportunities by interest (e.g., "Animals and Environment", "Arts and Culture") or keyword and also limit your search by zip code or county. There is also an advanced search.

Search for jobs with the State of California by keyword, location, category and the type of recruitment.

A gateway to detailed labor information, some searchable, including unemployment rates, industry data, economic indicators, and occupational profiles (including licensing requirements in California.) This database includes links to information on the United States as a whole and other states.

An index page that accesses some of the databases offered by the DIR and its divisions.

An online tool accessing a database of prevailing wages for journeyman craft workers (such as carpenters, iron workers, asbestos workers, etc.) The general determinations are issued twice a year and go into effect ten days thereafter; the database is divided by craft, type of wage, and county.

Dozens of professions in California require certification or registration with the Labor Commissioner; a full list is available here, which includes permit or license searches for garment manufacturers and contractors, farm labor contractors, car washing and polishing, talent agencies, and studio teachers. Databases for individual license lookups are listed under "licensing".

This database provides a listing of all California employers that have filed alternate workweek election results with the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement, such as a 4/10 or 9/80 workweek, whether the alternative won or lost. The database is searchable by company name, address, city, county, state, zip code, and date of the election.

EAMS is a case management system that simplified the DWC case management process. External users now have access to workers' comp case information online. The system is primarily for case filing; however, information on workers' compensation adjudication cases is public information. Each person who requests information through this database is responsible for ensuring the information is not used for purposes other than those allowed by law. The law requires that people requesting access to public information here identify themselves, state the reason for making the request, and not disclose the information to any person who is not entitled to it under Labor Code section 138.7. You will need either the name of the injured worker or the EAMS case number to use this database.

All investor-owned electric, gas, water and telecommunication utility companies with gross annual revenues in excess of $25 million and their regulated subsidiaries and affiliates, are to increase the utilization of woman- and minority-owned businesses. Certification of eligible suppliers was designed to encourage, recruit, and utilize woman- and minority-owned businesses by participating utilities. The Clearinghouse is a CPUC-supervised entity that maintains a database of verified woman, minority, and service-disabled veteran owned businesses that is accessible to the CPUC and to participating utilities.

The DBE database contains information on CalTrans-certified DBE firms and is updated daily. As of August 2013 a printout from this database is all that is necessary to qualify as a DBE contractor, as paper licenses are no longer issued. The database can be queried by CalTrans district number, county, work category, gender of the majority owner, race, contractor license type, NAICS number, firm name and location. Most government contracts in California require DBE quotas.

The searchable Career Resources pages contain all job postings that are received by the Information Studies Lab; this includes those received by post and those received through email (e.g. IS-NET postings). Records are listed in order of date received. This is a significant resource for librarians and information scientists in California.

The California Code of Regulations (CCR) is the primary compilation of state regulatory law, decided by individual agencies, as opposed to the statutory law passed by the legislature or through the initiative process, and the case law decided by the courts. Searchable by keyword, title or section number, and browsable by titles and agency names. This website is maintained by West under contract.

The court rules, updated twice a year, presented in a searchable .pdf or webpage format. The rules can also be downloaded as a .zip file.

Standardized California court forms in .pdf format, searchable by name, subject or form number.

This system compiles information for open cases in the California Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal, updated hourly. Searches can include the trial court case number, case caption, attorney, or party information. Notifications by e-mail of specific case activity can be set up by providing a case number and e-mail address.

Searchable database of the official reports and closed case law from 1850. Opinions are usually current to within 60 days of filing. This database is hosted by LexisNexis® with multiple search methods. Newer decisions are either slip opinions or unpublished opinions.

Published slip opinions from the previous 120 days can be found here for all California courts, before they are annotated for the Official Reports (above); the opinions can be viewed by district or the most recent 100 hours of all districts.

Unpublished opinions of the California Courts of Appeal are posted here for 60 days; the opinions can be viewed by appellate district or the most recent 100 hours of all districts.

Detailed reports, trend data and searchable information on a variety of court business, such as demographic data on California State justices and judges, trial court workloads, and general court statistics.

A directory of all the Superior Courts in the state, searchable by location.

The full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, with their status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages are available from 1993 to current. Searchable by bill number, author or keyword.

A searchable database of California's 29 codes, covering various subject areas, including the State Constitution and all statutes. The entries are not annotated and can only be browsed or searched by keyword.

California statutes are the chaptered bills, after a bill has passed through both houses of the Legislature and been signed by the Governor or becomes a law without the Governor's signature. Statutes are available starting from 1993, searchable by year or chapter number.

This searchable archive of the California State Legislature includes Assembly and House journals from 1849 to 2012, histories and indexes from 1881 to 2009, and statutes from 1850 to 2008.

Over 20,000 sections of California law have been added, amended or repealed on the recommendation of the Law Revision Commission; this page provides access to a searchable database of those sections, by code section number or by the volume and page number of the Commission recommendation.

A searchable database of all memoranda prepared by the Commission's staff. Memoranda prepared in 1997 or later can be downloaded in PDF format; memoranda that are not available for download can be ordered.

An excellent compilation of research guides compiled by the Hastings College professors and librarians, searchable by keyword, with information on how to do legal research in dozens of kinds of law, with access to printed and online sources.

Access to the Hastings Law Library catalogue, searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, Library of Congress call number or course. There are convenient links to seven other legal collections in the Bay Area.

Search for a liquor license by license number, address, owner name or business name.

This database compiles all the citations and other administrative actions taken against architects licensed by the Board, searchable by the last name of the architect.

The Board licenses individual architects, not firms or corporations. California architect licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month in each odd-numbered year and must be renewed every two years.

To obtain information on an individual licensee, the Board has provided an online tool which will allow you to search by name, city, county, and/or license number. The information is subject to change as license status is updated. Updates are performed nightly.

Accusations filed and disciplinary decisions that are effective on or after January 1, 2010 are displayed for affected licensees.

Search here to find a station by city or county, or to verify the status of licenses approved by the BAR, including auto repair dealers, brake stations, lamp stations, smog check stations, and also the names of licensed smog check technicians or brake and lamp adjusters.

Look up a contractor license or Home Improvement Salesperson (HIS) registration to verify information, including complaint disclosure; searchable by license number, business name, contractor name, or HIS name or number.

This resource covers disciplinary and legal actions taken against licensed physicians in California. Covers any felony convictions since 1991 and has varying coverage for other actions (malpractice judgments, etc.)

Verify the licenses of pharmacies, pharmacists, and pharmacy-related businesses by type, and discover any disciplinary actions taken against licensees.

Checks the current licensing status of engineers, surveyors and geologists by first or last name, license number, city or county.

Verify the licenses of alarm companies, repossessor agencies, locksmiths, private security companies, firearm training facilities and baton training facilities, or their employees, as well as many security guards and private investigators. Searchable by first or last name, license number, city or county.

Professionals working with artists or performers who are under 18 years of age must undergo a criminal background check and obtain a Child Performer Services (CPS) permit from the Labor Commissioner's Office. CPS permit holders must renew their permits every two years. Note that licensed talent agents and certified studio teachers are exempt from this requirement, and are certified separately.

A basic database of certified electricians; searchable by name, license number, or driver's license.

This is an updated list of individuals certified to practice as asbestos consultants or Site Surveillance Technicians, searchable by name, employer or city. This certification is renewed annually.

Find out if a contractor or building owner is registered by Cal/OSHA to perform asbestos-related work. Although this page is called a "database", it is merely a searchable list. Listing of a building contractor does not assure that the contractor license is current and active; be sure to check license status using the link to the Contractors State License Board provided at the end of the detailed information for each registrant.

You can view the entire database, or search this database of people certified to operate a crane in California by the name of the company or organization, certification number, city, county, or telephone area code.

A database of veterans memorials in California, searchable by county, city, the type of memorial, the specific veterans the memorial is dedicated to (World War II, Vietnam, Spanish-American War, women, Air Force, etc.), and a keyword search.

A searchable database of services available to California veterans, their survivors and dependents at the federal, state and local levels. It includes federal, state and county veterans offices, contact information for veterans organizations, services available for homeless veterans, veterans offices at educational institutions and other veterans-related material, searchable by keyword, location, and type of service.

A collection of over 200,000 images in the form of slides, negatives and photographic prints, with an additional 150,000 images transferred from various sources. The collections cover a broad range of California subjects including the history of the California State Park System, California's cultural and natural history, recreation, transportation, mining, geology, architecture, agriculture, plants and animals. As of 2014, over 109,000 images have been cataloged as part of the Department’s ongoing conservation efforts. This database currently exists as .pdf files. The files include indexes by park name, subject, the names of fungi, plants and animals, and even an index of campfire songs.

A database of vendors used by the California State Parks for interpretive services. You can search by company name, or by the type of service, from activity kits to workshops. The vendors are neither endorsed nor recommended by the Department of Parks and Recreation.

A database of farms and ranches that are open to "agritourism". Searchable by county or by the kind of agricultural activity. Includes a calendar of events.

This database allows you to search for registered pressure vessels (like a steam boiler). You can search by registration, board or serial number, by location, the year the vessel was built, or the name of the owner.

Looking for a new appliance? This database will help you compare the energy efficiency of many different products. Searchable by category, manufacturer, brand, and model. Results compare the average annual energy use in kilowatt-hours, and can be exported.

The Energy Almanac provides both a quick overview and in-depth statistics of California's energy industry.

The Energy Commission Library is the state's central repository for information on all forms of energy, consisting of more than 22,000 titles on energy policy, energy conservation, energy consumption, electric utilities, environmental issues, petroleum, natural gas, solar, wind, biomass, nuclear power, and related subjects. Materials may be borrowed through an inter-library loan program available at a university or public library.

An informal database using numerous electricity and natural gas consumption data sources. The data can be sorted by entity, county and planning area.

This extensive part of the California Energy Almanac includes a listing of all power plants in California of one-tenth (0.1) megawatt or larger, information on peak demands, maps of power plants and transmission lines, and the status of power plant projects. There is also a link to the Federal EPA's integrated eGRID database.

The Energy Commission publishes between 250 and 500 reports, papers, fact sheets, technical briefs, and other publications each year. This database will locate reports that are available to download; all reports since 2005 are available. Reports published from December 1994 to 2005 are mostly available online as well and can be searched through this database; for documents published prior to 1994, please check with the Energy Commission's library (link above).

The Energy Commission produces the Weekly Fuels Watch Report to cover refinery production and output in California from 1992 to the present. Each report compares the production numbers for the previous week and the previous year; reports are posted every Wednesday.

The Database for Energy Efficient Resources (DEER) is a joint project of the California Energy Commission and the California Public Utilities Commission, designed to provide well-documented estimates of energy and peak demand savings values, measure costs, and effective useful life for energy planning. The database is intended for program planners, regulatory reviewers, utility and regulatory forecasters, and consultants supporting utility and regulatory research and evaluation efforts; DEER has been has been designated by the CPUC as its source for deemed and impact costs for program planning. To use DEER you will need to enter User ID = DEER and password = 2008; rather than searching online, you download a special program to translate the online data.

A database of vendors of solar photovoltaic, small wind, and fuel cell systems; this database is a joint project of the California Public Utilities Commission's California Solar Initiative and the California Energy Commission's New Solar Homes Partnership Program. A search can be performed by company name, type of system, or zip code.

Decisions, resolutions, and rulings signed by the Commission are available online starting in July 2000, searchable by title, the type of document, date, proceeding number or the type of utility.

Current daily and hourly data from stations throughout California, plus long-term data for climate stations, searchable by location and date range. PestCast research networks provide hourly and daily values from selected locations.

The Human Mortality Database (HMD) provides detailed mortality and population data to anyone interested in the history of human longevity. At present the database contains detailed population and mortality data for over 35 countries. Registration is required but the database is free. In cooperation with the Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research in Rostock, Germany.

A searchable database of the over 600 planets currently discovered orbiting other stars, with more added daily. This database allows you to create tables and plots of exoplanets. Maintained with the cooperation of the Center for Integrative Planetary Science at the University of California, Berkeley, NASA, the National Science Foundation, and Penn State.

An interactive database of plants and the nematodes that are associated with them, searchable by plant or nematode name, or location; this is a highly technical database that requires some expertise in the field.

The California Geoportal provides easy and convenient ways to search, discover and use geospatial data resources. A primary goal of the California Geoportal is to improve access to California’s geographic data portfolio, and expand the creative use of those data resources. The California Geoportal strives to increase information transparency, and is committed to creating an open environment for accessing important government derived geographic data. This is a significant change from the previous GIS portal, Cal-Atlas, and requires downloading Microsoft Silverlight.

SWITRS is a major database that collects and processes data gathered from collision scenes. Custom reports can be created to capture data relevant to specified criteria such as jurisdiction, location, or reports by date. There are also a variety of standardized reports that meet pre-selected criteria as determined by the CHP. These reports are available as Adobe Acrobat PDFs or as raw data that can be imported. '''This database requires registration with an e-mail address'''; while crash reports are public records, for privacy reasons the search requests are also public records. To see the reports without providing this information, you will need to go to a CHP office in person.

The California Transit-Oriented Development Searchable Database allows users to access and search detailed information on 21 transit-oriented developments in California (also called transit villages). Available data include: land uses, site maps, implementation processes, financing, facilities, zoning, design features, pedestrian access, transit services, photos, travel benefits, contact information, etc.

This database contains contracts awarded from 1995 to the present, and is updated weekly. It provides the dollar amount of the contract, the name and phone number of the contractor, the location, and the type of work. Search is by contract number, and may be modified by bid opening or award date; a list of all contracts can be generated, which can be sorted.

This database contains cost data at the bid item level for contracts from 1993 to the present, and is updated approximately every other week. From 2002 to present, the data includes bid data from non-awarded bidders as well. Search is by item code/description, bidder, district/county, year, price and quantity.

A national level highway information system including data on the extent, condition, performance, use and operating characteristics of the nation's highways. Limited information on travel and paved miles is included in summary form for the lowest functional systems. Information on the functional classification of road types is available through index maps.

Cal-Access provides financial information supplied by state candidates, donors, lobbyists, and others. Searchable by contributors, candidate or ballot measures, late contributions, lobbying, or officers.

Searchable directory of election officials by county, including contact information. Search is also allowed through an interactive county map with links to county elections officials' websites.

Information on California ballot propositions and initiatives from 1911 to the present, searchable by keyword and date. The database contains the full text of the initiatives, accompanying material related to their filing and qualification, related legal and legislative history, and digital images of pertinent documents, including the original ballot pamphlets.