LibGuides: Colorado State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Colorado State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on September 1, 2023.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About Colorado

Colorado County Profile System
Provides statistical information on population, births, deaths, housing, and building permits in each Colorado county.

Agriculture & Food Sources

Brand Search
Use the "BrandAbetical" database to search active livestock brands in Colorado
Colorado Market Maker
Provides names, addresses and contact information for companies producing or using agricultural products in Colorado. Search by business type, product, city or county, company name, and market segment.
Colorado Product Search
Find Colorado grown, raised, or made products (Colorado Proud)
Licensed Seed Dealer Search
Search by business name, city, county or zip code
Pesticide Applicator Search
This resource from the Colorado Department of Agriculture provides a search for Qualified Supervisors, Certified Operators and Private Applicators Licenses, Commercial Applicators Licenses, and Limited Commercial and Public Applicator Registrations.

Business, Finance & Economy

Business Search
Search business names, trademarks, tradenames, or check for name availability.
LMI Gateway
a portal for labor market information from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment. Links lead to several databases including job listings, education and training providers, labor market information, and economic and demographic data.
Minority and Women-Owned Businesses
A searchable database of minority and women-owned businesses from the Office of Economic Development and International Trade. Find businesses by name, topic, or NAICS.

Community & Social Services

Colorado Child Care Facility Search
Locate child care providers based on location or by name or license number. This website is helpful not only in finding a nearby provider, but also allows you to search for information on providers' licensing activity, inspections, complaints, and investigations.
Colorado Housing Search
Search for affordable housing through this database from the Colorado Division of Housing, and the Colorado Housing Finance Authority. Information is available for renters and buyers.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Colorado Bureau of Investigation Internet Criminal History Check System
The "central repository of the criminal history arrest records for the State of Colorado." (Note: a fee is charged for each search)
Colorado Cold Case Database
The Colorado Cold Case Database features unsolved homicides, missing person, and unidentified person cases. This is an effort by the Colorado Bureau of Investigation to aid law enforcement agencies in the development of information that may lead to an arrest in these unsolved cases.
Colorado Convicted Sex Offender Registry
Searchable by street name, city, county, zip code, and personal name, this database includes information on convicted sex offenders in Colorado.
Offender Search
"This application provides limited information about inmates housed in Colorado correctional facilities to the public." Search by name, birth date, or number.
Underage Drinking Enforcement
Web application from the Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division. Look up the number of Minor in Possession tickets by region and view the results of compliance checks on establishments for selling alcohol to minors.

Earth & the Environment

Colorado Energy and Carbon Management System (COGIS)
This database from the Colorado Energy and Carbon Management Commission includes information on facilities, production, levies, and inspections/incidents.
Colorado Renewable Resource Database (CORRD)
"CORRD makes solar and wind resource data, maps, and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) software accessible to a wide variety of users via the Internet." From the Governor's Energy Office.
Division of Water Resources Online Data Search
Annual statistics on ground and surface water activity.
GIS Online
from the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission. Search by address, or use the map layers to access information on wells, oil and gas permits, and water/gas sampling data.
Instream Flow and Natural Lake Level Water Rights Database
from the Colorado Water Conservation Board. Search by county, water division, watershed, case number, or stream/lake name.
Mining Data
Information on Colorado mines, searchable by county, name, permit number, operator, and more.
Water Conservation Board Document Search
An online clearinghouse for publicly available documents and materials. Includes minutes, reports, and presentations.
Water Quality Database System
from the Agricultural Chemicals and Groundwater Protection Program.
Provides groundwater quality monitoring results by year and geographic location for pesticides and inorganic compounds from 1992 to present.

Education

Colorado's Higher Education Data Tools
Search enrollment data, degrees awarded and offered by colleges/universities and demographics. Reports and publications created, published or maintained by the Colorado Department of Higher Education are also available from the year 2000 to present and can be searched by category or keyword.
Data Dictionary
"This education dictionary is an online glossary of standard education terms, their definitions, business rules, data relationships, and reporting." The dictionary serves to define the terminology associated with data collection at the Colorado Department of Education. Search by keyword, by collection, or browse terms alphabetically
SchoolView Data Center
Information about Colorado's public education system at the state, district and school levels. It provides data on federal and state accountability results, academic performance, and student and school demographics. Use the Data Lab to create custom reports from raw assessment data.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Colorado Legislators Past and Present
A database of biographies on Colorado state legislators, both current and historical. A detailed description of the project can be found on the Colorado Legislative Council website. (https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/biograpies.pdf)

Government Finances & Contracts

The Great Colorado Payback
A source for unclaimed property information. Search for personal and business property, or check the status of a claim.

Health, Medicine & Safety

COVID-19, Colorado
COVID-19 updates and facts from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Colorado Health Information Dataset
"allows access to local-level health data compiled by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to help users determine the health status of a neighborhood, community, county, or region in Colorado." Includes statistics on births, deaths, population, behavioral risk factors, birth defects, cancer incidences, pregnancy risk assessment monitoring systems, injuries and tobacco attitudes and behaviors.
VISION: Visual Information System for Identifying Opportunities and Needs
This data tool from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment provides data for chronic disease and behavioral health measures. Selections can be made by geography, health topics or demography.

Safety

Colorado Boiler Database
Search the Colorado Boiler Inspection Reporting System (COBIRS)for inspection data, violation information, locations and physical descriptions of boilers in the state.
Colorado Storage Tank Information System (COSTIS)
Data from the Division of Oil and Public Safety on storage tank locations in Colorado, tank type and capacity, and events associated with a particular location.
Conveyance Database
This online database from the Division of Oil and Public Safety contains registration and inspection information for escalators and elevators.

History, People & Culture

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection
A digitized collection of Colorado newspapers from 1859 to 1923. Keyword searching is available by title, by region, or for the whole collection. Limits can be set for articles, photos, or ads. The collection is a joint endeavor of the Colorado State Library, the Colorado Historical Society, and the Collaborative Digitization Program (CDP)
Colorado Historical Records Index
from the Colorado State Archives. A searchable database of indexes for many of the archives' collections. Search by name, record type or time span.
Directory of Colorado Libraries
Search by library name, location or library type.
History Colorado - Search Collection Catalogs
History Colorado's Collection contains a rich array of archives, artifacts, and photographic material, all documenting the people, places, and events of Colorado. Two catalogs are available: the Online Collection, with images, records of artifacts and photographs; and the Library & Research Center Catalog for searching books, manuscript collections, serials, maps, and select photography collections.

Jobs & Unemployment

Job Search
from the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment. A database of of job listings in Colorado. Search by profession, educational qualifications or employer.
Jobs by Sector (NAICS)
Economy and Labor Force data from the State Demography Office. Select a county and year (2001 to present)to pull up data on the number of jobs in each industry. Regional data is also available.
Labor Force Participation by County or Region
from the State Demography Office. Compare labor force participation rates by year, age and gender. Includes real data from 2010 to present and forecasts out to 2040.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR)
Administrative rules of the executive agencies of the state of Colorado. Search by keyword, agency or CCR citation.
Colorado Session Laws
from the William A. Wise Law Library at the University of Colorado Boulder
A digital replica of the print Colorado Session Law volumes published by the state of Colorado between 1861 - 1992.

Licensing

Charitable Solicitations Inquiry
Search for registered charitable organizations, fundraising consultants, paid solicitors, and past and current solicitation campaigns.
Division of Real Estate Licensee Database
Search for all licensed real estate brokers, agents, and companies in Colorado.
Licensed Professional Lookup
Lookup a Colorado License for professions regulated by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies. Lists of licensed professionals can also be generated by license type and status.
Online Lobbyist System
Online directory of registered lobbyists in Colorado. Search by name, business affiliation, or bill number.
Search for Permits Registered with the Public Utilities Commission
Permits searchable by number, company name, city, or type.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Find State Wildlife Areas
Search Wildlife Areas by name or region.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Colorado Information Marketplace
A portal to state agency datasets from the Governor's Office of Information Technology. This resource is still in development (only 8 searchable datasets, but more will be added in the future). Although the current set is a bit limited, there is a nice list with external links to state data that is not yet in the system.
Parks and Wildlife Maps
A portal to hunting and fishing maps, GIS data and GeoPDF maps for mobile devices
Population: Data and Lookups
Search through County and Municipal Population Timeseries, Historical Census Data, Household and housing information, race estimates and other demographic information from the State Demography Office.

Transportation

Transportation Statistics and Data
(CDOT Online Transportation Information System)
"Information is provided on current and projected traffic volumes, state highway attributes, summary roadway statistics, demographics and geographic data. Listings, calculators, GIS shape files, maps and database files are provided to access data that are used and maintained by CDOT."

Voting & Elections

Campaign Finance Database
Information from candidates, committees and parties who file campaign finance disclosure reports with the Secretary of State or a county clerk and recorder. The database contains records of contributions, expenditures, loans, notices of delinquent filings, requests for waiver of imposed fines, correspondence, and other important information.

Online Database of Statewide Ballot Measures Dating Back to 1880
This database of ballot measures from the Colorado Legislative Council Staff can be sorted by year, by outcome, or by type of change.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of May 2017, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a Colorado State Agency in these areas:

Military & Veterans
Science & Technology (not including earth and environmental sciences)

If you know of Colorado produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Librarian box above to drop us a line.