LibGuides: District of Columbia State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by District of Columbia Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on 1/12/2024.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About District of Columbia

City wide Calendar
Search and find events in DC and create a custom calendar.

Business, Finance & Economy

Department of Small and Local Business Development’s (DSLBD’s) Certified Business Enterprise (CBE) Business Online
"Department of Small and Local Business Development maintains a database of all certified local, small, and disadvantaged business enterprises. The database is updated on a monthly basis, and includes CBE contact information, business description, and NIGP code

Community & Social Services

Volunteer Opportunity Database
Volunteer.dc.gov is a free, online District of Columbia-specific volunteer opportunity database and search engine. Volunteer.dc.gov connects residents with meaningful District-based volunteer opportunities and connects community-based organizations and others with the city’s cadre of dedicated, experienced volunteers.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

General

Police Service Locator
This web page provides an overview of police service geographies for given locations in the District of Columbia

Courts

Court Cases Online
Includes all open Civil Division cases (including civil actions, landlord-tenant and small claims) as well as closed cases dating back to 2000; all Criminal Division cases; certain Probate Division cases (including large estates, small estates, disclaimers of interest, major litigation, wills and foreign estate proceedings); all Tax Division cases.
Legislation Information Management System
The Council’s Legislative Information Management System (LIMS) is available for the public to view the status of a Bill or Resolution, Legislation by Council Member, Legislation by Committee, Text of a Bill or Resolution, A Council Member’s Voting Record, Contract Summary, Legislation by Co-Sponsor, A List of Legislation, Text of an Act, Legislative Meeting Agendas.

Offenders

Sex Offender Registry

Education

Public Schools Database
Provides information about specific schools, school changes and has the ability to compare up to 4 schools at a time. Can narrow search by grade level, type of program (e.g. Montessori, International Baccalaureate, Career Pathways etc.) Listings also include the school type, address, name of principal, and website address.
DC School Profile Search
Allows you to filter by performance, enrollment, school climate, college readiness, and school type.

Government Finances & Contracts

Office of Contracts and Procurement Online Contracts
OCP is in the process of posting copies of contracts awarded by the District government." Dropdown menus allow you to search by contract number, vendor or agency.
Real Property Tax Database
From the website, "The Office of Tax and Revenue's (OTR) real property tax database provides online access to real property information that was formerly available only through manual searches and at various DC public libraries. You can obtain property value, assessment roll, and other information for more than 180,000 parcels using the links below." Interesting search by neighborhood gives you a quick sense of property values.
Real Property Sales Database
Allows you to search and display real property sales records. You can obtain property value, assessment roll, and other information.
Unclaimed Property Database

Health, Medicine & Safety

Coronavirus (COVID-19) DC
DC Health Search
This site provides the public with information about Health Professionals licensed to practice in the District of Columbia. It contains information that is provided by the DC Boards and information that is self-reported by the doctors.
Health Profession License Search
"DOH provides an online professional license search for your convenience. To begin a search select license type or enter key words or criteria in the fields below. As a search tip, use the asterisk (*) at the end of partial information in a search field to encompass a wildcard search. Do not use dashes within social security numbers.
Department of Health Facilities License Search
District of District of Columbia Department of Health Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Web Query System.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Survey (BRFSS) is a monthly telephone survey conducted in every state in the US, as well as some possessions and territories. The survey collects data on chronic diseases and related health behaviors from a randomly selected adult in each household that participates. The results are used to monitor trends and to guide policy and funding decisions. The BRFSS Web Query tool. allows you to compute frequencies, trends, and cross-tabulation analysis from 2003-2010.

History, People & Culture

Public Library Catalogue
Find book information and availability through the DC Public Library's online catalog.

Jobs & Unemployment

DC Government Career Opportunities
Search of current job opportunities within the DC Government
District of Columbia Job Search
Labor market information and information for both job seekers and employers. At this website, you can post a resume, apply for a specific job or do a self-directed job search.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Residential Permit Parking Block Data Inquiry
Residential Permit Parking (RPP) is a program initiated by the District to increase access to on-street parking for residents in their neighborhoods. Residents can search for streets designated for permit parking."
DC Municipal Regulations and DC Register
Search DC Municipal Regulations, DC Register and Mayor's Orders
Legislation Information Management System
The home page allows a user to enter any portion of a legislation title or number to find all legislation related to the search criteria. Available documents now include: bills, resolutions, contracts, grant budget modifications, reprogrammings, Housing Finance Agency documents, Inspector General
and Auditor reports and agendas. The site supports legislation for Council Period 8 through 21

Licensing

Business License Verification Database
This website allows you to check if a business entity has active license(s). You can search by License Number, address, name or the entire category list.
Health Profession License Search
Office of the Superintendent of EducationChild Care Connections (My ChildCare DC)
Here you will be referred to a list of licensed child care providers in the District of Columbia that meet your specific criteria such as type of care, age of child, location, services needed and more.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Recreation Centres and Pools
Find swimming pools, basketball courts, before- and after-school care programs, and other programs at parks and recreation centers in the District of Columbia. Also can find status of projects improvements and permit facilities.
Washington.DC Portal
DC's official travel website.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Open Data Catalog
The District of Columbia provides citizens with the access to 501 datasets from multiple agencies, a catalyst ensuring agencies operate as more responsive, better performing organizations.
Notary Public Map
The Notary Public Map displays data about DC notary public locations. Use the map to find a notary public location and display information about it.
Pavement Conditions Map
An interactive map showing the FY13 Pavement Conditions Index (PCI) scores for Washington, DC
Georgetown Sidewalks Service Requests
A map that shows enhanced Sidewalk SR''s and completed locations by SBM within and around Georgetown Business District.

Transportation

Washington Metropolitan Transit Schedules
Provides schedules for metrorbus and metrorail lines. You can also find your station service hours.

Voting & Elections

Voter Registration Status
You can search the voter registration directory to see if you have registered to vote.
Polling Place Locator
Registered voters can cast their ballot at 143 voting precincts within the District. The following website highlights those polling places.
Office of Campaign Financing
Office of Campaign Finance provides easy access to all contributions and expenditure reported from January 1, 2003 through the current reporting period.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of January 2018, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a DC Agency in these areas:

Agriculture & Food Sources
Earth & the Environment
Government Agencies & Elected Officials
Military & Veterans
Science & Technology (not including earth and environmental sciences)

If you know of District of Columbia produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.