Maryland State Agency Databases

"A gateway to information and services within and around the State of Maryland."

Search by volume dated back from 1885 to 1997, 2001 and 2006. **Note: This Maryland Manual site does

Search for the most current government information by category.

One can search this database by applicator last name, certified applicator number, category, or search for an applicator in your area.

One can search for farm products ranging from cut flowers to seafood, and where are the farmers market located in your area, to vender list of a farmer’s market.

The business license database can be searched by business license number, company name or business license category.

One can search about a specific interest of a seafood, or where are the oyster aquaculture facilities in the State of Maryland by using an ArcGIS application.

The pesticide database can be searched by company name and company ID; product name and product EPA ID; by pest, by site,by pesticide type and formulation type; by active ingredient and by restricted use (RUP). It can also be searched using multiple criteria.

This database can be searched dealer name or license number, or search for a dealer in your area.

From the website, "Search here for certified transporters of waste kitchen grease. You may search by the type of certificate, the name of the company registered, or the license plate of the vehicle registered."

When one is obtaining a license, a license renewal or a loan settlement, the person is often required to obtain a “Certificate of Status” (generally called a “good standing” certificate) from the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation. One can use this website to search if a business is in good standing.

From the Maryland Department of Commerce, search for Maryland's 25 + business incubators offer early stage companies hared resources, business assistance and access to equipment and facilities. The searches are by industry sector and/or regions with the state.

From the website, "The Company and Producer Search provide information, including orders and exams , about Companies, Producer (Agents/Brokers) and Producer Firms (Agencies) currently licensed to conduct business in Maryland. The information is updated on a weekly basis."
Links for searching for Insurance Company, Producer (Agency/Broker) and Producer Firm (Agency) are on top of the page.

From the Maryland's Department of Commerce, one can browse the database for commercial and industrial properties all across Maryland. One can search basic information of a business, types of the business buildings. One can also compare cities within Maryland and cities in other states. Data can be displayed in GIS layers and in tables.

Search for real property in different counties by address, property identifier and etc...

Search the Trademarks & Service Marks Database in the State of Maryland. From the website, "The list which results from your search is made up of summary information filed with the Office of the Secretary of State of Maryland. This information may not reflect the most recent information on file. The last updated date below does not necessarily pertain to the database information to be searched."

Search for financing statements filed by banks, mortgage companies, and other lending institutions against secured collateral.

"Aging and Disability Resource Centers are programs that create a single, coordinated system of information and access for older adults and people with disabilities who are seeking resources to minimize confusion, enhance individual choice, and support informed decision-making. " -- from website.

From the website, "The list which results from your search is made up of summary information filed by charitable organizations with the Office of the Secretary of State of Maryland."

From the website, "Aging and Disability Resource Centers (ADRC), known locally as Maryland Access Point (MAP), were established as the single entry point for individuals seeking long term support services. The MAP program provides an online, searchable resource directory to serve the public and professionals in identifying, connecting and accessing private and public resources. Individuals can use the website to directly find and contact service providers or they can find an appropriate agency in their local area to contact for counseling and assistance."

Homepage for the health and human services resources database. Can search services by category or by keyword

A list of social services department in the State of Maryland.

Search the Notary Public database by a person's name or by county.

Find state inmates by name. Records show name and contact information for the prison they are being held at. Inmate Locator does not include people being held in pretrial facilities.

From the website, “On this site you will be able to find registered sex offenders living and working near you, be notified of registrants' movements, and explore resources that will help you to prevent and get treatment for sexual abuse.” One needs to agree to the terms and conditions of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services before searching the database. To read the terms and conditions click on the link “I have read the terms and conditions” on the upper right hand side of the webpage. Check the box after you have read the terms, and then click “search the registry” to begin searching.

From the website, "Make your region selection first, then choose a specific site, and lastly choose desired month (you may be asked to pick a start day, please ignore). The tidal information will pop up in a new window."

From the Maryland Department of the Environment, “[One can] search for approved TMDLs by county, by watershed or for the entire state [of Maryland.]” Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) are a requirement, found in §303(d), of the federal Clean Water Act (CWA) that became law in 1972. For more information on TMDL, please visit the TMDL website at http://mde.maryland.gov/programs/Water/TMDL/Pages/index.aspx.

From the website of Maryland’s Department of the Environment, one can search for the "stormwater or wastewater waste load allocations for an NPDES (National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System) permit."

The Classification of Instructional Program (CIP) is the accepted federal government statistical standard on instructional program classifications. Make a choice from the major CIP Category list to view approved postsecondary programs in Maryland by the associated CIP code.​​​

From the website, "Search for a program by area of interest, enter a word or part of a word that best describes the program you are looking for into the keyword box. To narrow your search by degree choose a degree level also."

From the website, "search for an Institution's approved program inventory make your choice from the Institution list and the degree listed."

From the website, "This calculator allow students to calculate an estimated net price of attendance at an institution (defined as cost of attendance minus grant and scholarship aid) based on what similar students paid in a previous year." Scroll down the list of institutions, click on an institution of interest, then follow the instruction.

"The Workforce Shortage Student Assistance Grant (WSSAG) program is for students who plan on working in specific career/occupational programs upon graduation. Eligible fields include: child care, human services, teaching, nursing, physical and occupational therapy, social work, and public service."--From website.

Search for the location of the institution, what they teach, how much they cost, admission standards and more...

List of Maryland government agencies and officials.

Search for your representatives in the Maryland General Assembly and U.S. Congress by entering your home address in the search box. Do not use a P.O. Box as your address.

From the website, "Use the Maryland Finance Tracker tool ​to see how business agency grants, tax credits, equity investments and loan enhancements were distributed in previous years. Search and sort by company, amount, location and program."

"The Maryland Transparency Portal, this is a public web site which allows citizens of Maryland and visitors to search and view summary information about the State's Operating Budget, State Grants and Loans, and Payments Made to Vendors."--Website front page.

From the website: " This is a public web site which allows citizens of Maryland and visitors to search and view summary information on payments made to vendors that received $25,000 or more for the respective fiscal year. The web site does not include payments made by the Maryland Judiciary, the Legislative Branch, the University System of Maryland, Morgan State University, and St. Mary's College. The charts, graphs, and tables below are all highly interactive and we invite you to explore."

State of Maryland, Department of Health provides updates on Coronavirus as they become available.

From the Maryland Department of Health, "This website allows you to search for a healthcare provider by name, specialty, location, insurance carrier, or insurance plan. Search results show the health plans your provider participates in to help you choose the right coverage for you. The provider directory is based on information submitted by each health plan participating in Maryland Health Connection. It includes information for providers in Maryland and its neighboring states."

Health Departments in Maryland counties, federal and state partners with the Maryland Department of Health.

One can request birth certificate, death certificate, commemorative birth certificate and more....

"The Division of Health Statistics compiles and publishes reports based on vital records registered each year for Maryland residents. Additional data are available by request, depending on the type of information that you need.​" -- From the website.

One can search State of Maryland's important archaeological collections by site and by map; or to perform basic or advanced search from its databse.

From the website, “The Beneath the Underground database features entries of over 300,000 individuals including, white and black, slave owners, enslaved and free individuals from primarily the years of 1830 through 1880 to review.” Instruction on how to search the database is included.

From the web site, "Historical markers have been a familiar sight on Maryland's roadways for more than half a century. Launched in 1933, the roadside historical marker program has proven an effective way to draw attention to the many events, people and places that have contributed to the richness of our state and nation." One can search historical markers by using the county map link or search the database by keyword, by town or thematic topic.

From the website, "The National Register currently comprises over 1500 listings in Maryland, including some 200 historic districts. Listed properties span a wide variety of types and periods, ranging from prehistoric archeological sites to buildings of the recent past, and include rural landscapes, urban and suburban neighborhoods, bridges, sailing vessels, and more." One can search the National Register by property, by location or by keyword.

From the website, "The Maryland Archeobotanical Database centralizes information on plant artifacts into a searchable database and links this information to cultural, temporal, geographical and archaeological information." Please read the introductory page before scrolling down to the bottom of page to access the database.

From the web site, “The Maryland Historical Trust Library is the State’s principal repository for information relating to Maryland’s architectural, archeological, and cultural heritage. The following types of resources are available to researchers: books, journals, site-specific reports, historic maps, written and photographic documentation about Maryland’s architectural and archeological sites, oral histories which capture the State’s cultural traditions through written transcripts as well as audio and video recordings, historic structure reports, preservation plans, and architectural drawings.”

From the website, “The Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties is a research and documentation instrument that serves as an archive of information to further the understanding of the State’s architectural, archeological, and cultural resources. The Maryland Inventory should not be confused with the National Register of Historic Places, the Maryland Register of Historic Properties, or local lists of locally designated historic resources, although resources listed in all of the above categories are included in the Maryland Inventory.” One can search by county, by property information such as site number, and by address.

From the website, "The Maryland Judiciary, the 24 elected Court Clerks of Maryland and the Maryland State Archives have joined in partnership to provide up to date access to all verified land record instruments in Maryland. This service is currently being provided at no charge to individuals who apply for a user name and password." Email account is needed to apply for an account.

The Guide to Government Records is the finding aid created to assist users in accessing both public and private records relating to the history of Maryland from the earliest times of Lord Baltimore to the present. Some of the records available for searching are birth, marriage and military records from the Colonial time, court records before 1776, insolvency records from the late 17th Century and many more. For detailed information on the guide and how to obtain these records, please read the introduction section before searching. To begin your search click on the “Reference and Research” tab, then select the desired database (records).

Search for government publications that were published from state agencies including annual reports and press releases.

From the website, “The JPPM Research Library holds one of the region’s largest reference collections on the archaeology and history of Maryland and the Middle Atlantic area. References dealing with such topics as Native American life, identification and conservation of artifacts and antique, agricultural history, historic buildings, museum studies,and archaeology around the world.”

From the website, “the Maryland State Archives is preparing a series of volumes in the Archives of Maryland series relating to the history of slavery in Maryland."

The Maryland State Archives Guide to Special Collections is a web-based tool to search and browse special collections of map, photographic, newspaper, private, business and religious records.
One can perform a general quick or advance search to search the entire collection.
One can also search for the desired category by clicking on the corresponding tab on top of the page.

Search for job by location, skill, education, employer, resume criteria and/or job number.

Homepage; can search for jobs and resources for help finding jobs by category

Search database for job openings for the state of Maryland

From the website, "Only reported opinions are available here. Reported opinions appearing on this website may not be the final, official version of the text of Appellate Court opinions/orders. Only the bound volumes of the Maryland Reports and Maryland Appellate Reports contain the final, official texts of the reported opinions of the Maryland Court of Appeals and the Maryland Court of Special Appeals."

Searchable by word, phrase, codification number and title. From the website, "In August 2003, the State Ethics Commission Advisory Opinions were no longer printed in COMAR Title 19A, but are available ONLY as part of COMAR Online."

Form the website --“This website is not intended to replace professional legal consultation or advanced legal research tools.” Users need to agree to the Terms and Conditions to access the database. Users can search the code by keyword or by browsing the table of content.

From the website, "The Code is arranged by subject matter and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc."

Search for Court Cases originated within the District Court system and the Circuit Courts. From the website, "This website provides public access to the case records of the Maryland Judiciary. Access to these records is governed by Maryland Rules 16-1001 through 16-1011, effective October 1, 2004. Acceptance of an agreement is required to [access the search page]."

Search the Legislation by Session number, Sponsor, Subject, Committee, Status Affected and/or Legislation List of the Senate and/or House. From the website, "Information may not be available for all numbers in each range."

This database contains State of Maryland’s Proceedings, Acts and Public Documents of the General Assembly from Session 1 in 1634/35 to current years.

Search the catalog for print or online materials that are available in the library or from the library website

There are a total of eight collections: a) County and Municipal Codes, b) Judicial Conference Proceedings, c) Judiciary Administrative Orders, d)
Legislative Bill Files, e) Legislative Council Materials, f) Rules Committee Materials, g) Task Force Reports, and h) Transactions of the Maryland State Bar Association. To access each resources listed above, click on the desired resources.

From the website, "This listing is an index of all attorneys who have been admitted to the bar in the State of Maryland. The list includes attorneys authorized to practice, as well as those who may no longer be authorized to practice because they are on inactive/retired status, are serving as judges, or because of a disciplinary or administrative action that affects their eligibility to practice. Any attorney whose status is listed as "active" is considered in good standing and is authorized to practice law."

From the website "This website provides public access to the business licensing system of the Maryland Judiciary. It allows you to search the licensing system of the Maryland Judiciary for issued licenses as well as provide you with the ability to apply, edit and renew your Maryland business licenses online." One needs to read the disclaimer before entering the site. Once you are in, click "Search License Records" from the top or bottom of page.

The business license database can be searched by business license number, company name or business license category.

Homepage, from here there's links to resources for finding jobs, financial information, and service programs

From the website, "A travel planning tool to discover fun and exciting places to visit, and see where they are on the map." One can search for heritage areas, historic places, scenic byways, driving tours, lodging information and much more.

"Click on the region below to view a map of the parks in that region. If you are not able to see the map, use the alphabetical listing of parks below, or please view Access for All for a list of facilities and programs that are accessible to visitors with disabilities." -- from the website.

Maryland Department of Information Technology; contains links to policies, services, and contracts

"Interactive maps provide a unique w​ay to explore a particular topic. The interactive maps in this gallery were developed using the MD iMAP infrastructure, services and application templates. The gallery contains interactive maps represen​ting a wide range of public services and initiatives." Maps such as economic development tax credits, bike routes, boat speed zones and etc....

MERLIN is part of the MD iMap mapping system. MERLIN online is a compilation of data from many sources. MERLIN Online allows users to produce a custom map of any location in Maryland, to include their choice of base maps and data layers.

One can search links to policy, business, and safety information

One can search the following MDTA Meetings' schedule, agenda and minute: MDTA Board Meeting, Capital Committee Meeting, Finance Committee Meeting, The Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group (BBRAG) Meeting, and Special Public Meetings .

One can search for public transit routes, fare and pass information, and regional public services.

Search for your voting districts, where to vote and your local board of elections.

Search for your voter registration record, request a duplicate voter registration card, status of absentee or provisional ballot and sample ballot.