LibGuides: Michigan State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Michigan State Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links in June 2023.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About Michigan

State of Michigan A - Z List of Online Services
The state of Michigan provides this list that can be sorted by theme, department, or simply alphabetically. While not all databases, there are many useful resources on this list.

Agriculture & Food Sources

Michigan Farm Run
This is a guide to farm markets, u-pick farms and agro-tourism opportunities. You can search by farm name, crop, county or region. There are separate listings for community or municipally sponsored farmers markets and cider mills.
Michigan Nursery Stock Growers and Dealers (Nurseries)
This is a list of licensed individuals and businesses engaged in selling nursery stock or herbaceous perennials licensed in the state of Michigan. It is searchable by name, city, county or zip code.
Summer Food Service Program
Welcome to the Michigan Department of Education’s Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) site locator. The SFSP was created to ensure that children in lower-income areas could continue to receive nutritious meals during long school vacations, when they do not have access to the National School Lunch or School Breakfast Programs. Use the SFSP site locator to find a SFSP site near you.

Community & Social Services

Michigan Charitable Trust Search
The Attorney Generals office provides a database where you can search for a registered charity, public safety organization (police or fire group), or professional fundraiser by name, location, purpose, employer identification number (EIN), or Attorney General file number.
Statewide Search fo Child Day Care Centers and Homes
Search for licensed child care providers by county, zip code, name, type, or license number.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Crime Statistics
This page provides access to either state or county level data on crime in Michigan from 1887 to 2006. Incident-based data is available from 2008-Present. State-level data is available as an annual report from 2007-Present.
Offender Tracking Informatin System (OTIS)
From the web site: "OTIS is intended to offer information to the public that can then be verified through the Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC), Michigan Courts, the Michigan State Police or other law enforcement agencies. A search of OTIS will provide information about offenders previously or currently under the jurisdiction or supervision of the MDOC. A search result will provide information about any offender who is, or was, in a Michigan prison, on parole or probation under the supervision of the MDOC, has transferred in or out of Michigan under the Michigan Interstate Compact, or who has escaped or absconded from their sentence." The database can be searched by a number of criteria, including marks, scars and tattoos.
Sexual Offender Registry
Search for an individual sex offender by name or age and all sex offenders living in a city, county for zip code. Search results include the individual, a picture, address, and type of previous crime.
Michigan Internet Criminal History Access Tool FEE FOR SERVICE
The Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT) allows the search of public records contained in the Michigan Criminal History Record maintained by the Michigan State Police, Criminal Justice Information Center. All felonies and serious misdemeanors that are punishable by over 93 days are required to be reported to the state repository by law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, and courts in all 83 Michigan counties. Anyone can perform a search through ICHAT. At a minimum, the full name of the person and his/her date of birth is required. A fee of $10 is charged for each search.

Earth & the Environment

GeoWebFace
GeoWebFace is a mapping service provided by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. It can be used to access all kinds of geologic information. Accessible layers are too numerous to list here but include; mine and quarry data, geologic and hydrological information, land ownership and leasing information, and the location and type of oil and gas wells. There are also links to USGS topographic maps.
Michigan Oil and Gas Database
The Online Oil and Gas Information System allows the public user to search for selected oil, gas and UIC data from the division's databases. This includes basic well, production, disposition, injection, and inspection information. It also allows for the user to export query results.
Wellogic
Wellogic is the Internet-based data entry program developed by the state of Michigan in 2000 to provide an easy method for water well drilling and pump installation contractors to submit water well records. earlier records do exist in the database. The database of records is searchable.
MiTracking - Michigan Environmental Public Health Tracking
The MiTracking Program gathers existing Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provides them in one online location. The user chooses from a number of drop-downs to create a custom report.

Education

The Center for Educational Performance & Information (CEPI)
The Center for Educational Performance & Information (CEPI) collects data from school districts. On this page, you will find links to various data and reports about students including headcount, FTE, expulsions, graduation and dropout rates
MI School Data
This is a clearinghouse for much of the data collected on Michigan educational institutions.
MI School Data Quick Start Guide
A one page guide to constructing a report at the MI School Data site is available here

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Michigan Auditor General Reports
The Office of the Auditor General conducts financial and performance audits of Michigan state government operations. Reports of these audits are available for the last twenty years. The reports are arraned by year ant then by agency.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Michigan Community Health Information
This page provides health statistics tables for Michigan and its counties, health departments and cities. This web site has tables of numbers, rates and other figures regarding infant mortality, preventable hospitalizations, live births, mortality, population and sexually transmitted diseases.
Help Finding Health Care
This site provides information on where to find free or inexpensive health related services. Included are links to free clinics, mental health services, dental care, prescription drug programs, family planning, and cancer screening and treatment services. You can also find assistance with Medicaid enrollment here.
MiTracking - Michigan Environmental Public Health Tracking
The MiTracking Program gathers existing Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provides them in one online location. The user chooses from a number of drop-downs to create a custom report.

The Department of Community Health provides a number of statistical resources that include:

History, People & Culture

Michigan Memories
Michigan Memories provides access to collections from cultural institutions throughout the state of Michigan. These collections are created and maintained by archivists, librarians, and curators who are dedicated to the preservation of Michigan's history and heritage. Michigan Memories celebrates the diverse voices and communities of our state and serves to inform and enlighten students, teachers, genealogists, history buffs, and everyone with an interest in the Great Lakes State.
Michiganology
Michiganology.org began as SeekingMichigan.org 10 years ago when the Archives of Michigan and Library of Michigan partnered to deliver more than 1 million records online. Now, more than 10 million records are available online along with interesting educational materials and countless stories chronicling the everyday lives of Michiganders.
Michigan Authors and Illustrators
This database allows you to search by name, place and book title. You can also search by one of ten genres. A new feature allows you to browse alphabetically by last name. You can limit your search to authors or illustrators that do workshops which is valuable information for event planners. A sample entry include a resume, bibliography and contact information.
Michigan Cemetery Sources
The Michigan Cemetery Sources web site is a directory of cemeteries in Michigan. Over 3,700 cemeteries are included. Frequently a book about the individual cemetery will be listed. The database does not include the names of those buried in the cemeteries.
Michigan Public Library Directory
A directory of public libraries in the state of Michigan.

Jobs & Unemployment

Talent Connect
Free database permitting job seekers to create online resumes and search for open positions in the state by keyword, employer, and/or city. Job postings provide a complete description, application information, and driving directions to the employer. Michigan employers can register to search resumes
Michigan Labor Market Information Fast Facts
This site was designed to provide quick access to many sources of labor market information all in one place. (from web site)
Data Search
Search this site for all of these:
Businesses (number by area)
Employment (by state or metro area)
Income & Taxes (by area)
Industry
Inflation
Licenses & Training
Occupation (employment & projections)
Population
Employment Projections
Unemployment
wages (by industry & occupation)

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Bill Search
Search bills since 1995 by keyword, bill number, sponsor, category, committee, or Public Act affected. Search results include bill text, legislative analysis, Senate and House journals, and law text when applicable.
Public Acts
Search public acts since 2003 by number and by keyword
Michigan Compiled Laws
Search for the full text of existing Michigan law by codification number, Public Act Number and keyword.
Michigan Administrative Code
The Michigan Administrative Code is the official collection of state regulations. Users can view the Code by department or numerically by code number.
Michigan Adminstrative Code Annual Supplement
DSTARS
DSTARS is a searchable database containing the full text of selected decisions of the Michigan Civil Service Commission (CSC), Employment Relations Board (ERB), and adjudicating officers.

Licensing

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs provides a wide range on online services. A number of them are listed here. A complete list is available here.

Licensed Health Professionals
The Bureaus of Health Professions and Health Systems registers or licenses health professionals in Michigan. You can verify the status of a health care provider here.
Lobbyist Information
In the Lobby Search section of this lobby disclosure page you can search for information on a single, registered lobbyist, or download a spreadsheet of information for all registered lobbyists.
Registered Casino Interest Search
This database allows you to search for registrants required by law to file a registration under the Casino Registration Act. Only the Greektown, MGM Grand Detroit and Motor City casinos are included in this database.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Michigan Beach Guard
The Beach Guard database reports on water quality tests done at many of the public beaches throughout Michigan. Closures and advisories are reported at this page. Users can drill down, by county, to specific beaches and find a history of water tests performed on each of the beaches.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Vital Statistics
On this page you can drill down to find statistics on births and pregnancies, deaths and infant mortality, marriages and divorces, fatal injuries, and popular baby names. You also find links to State and County Health Statistics Profiles.

Transportation

Mi Drive
Choose a combination or region, county, or route number and date for a detailed description of road maintenance, lane closures or road restrictions.
Transportation Data Management System (TDMS)
Provides up-to-date traffic monitoring data by traffic count station.

Voting & Elections

Campaign Finance Database
Search for campaign spending and contributions by All Committees, Expenditures Analysis, Contributions Analysis, Ballot Question Committee, Candidate Committee, Political Party Committee, Independent/Political(PAC)Committee, or Gubernatorial Committee. One can also search for Late Contributions. Information for committees include a Statement of Organization that includes the address information, treasurer information, and more.
Michigan Election and Voter Information
When you log in, you can: Determine if you are registered to vote, Find your polling location, Contact your local election official, Learn to use your voting equipment, Find answers to frequently asked questions, and View your sample ballot.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of September 2021, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a Michigan State Agency in these areas:

Business, Finance & Economy
Government Finances & Contracts
Military & Veterans
Science & Technology

If you know of Michigan produced databases in these or other subjects shown here, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.