Nebraska State Agency Databases

The Blue Book is Nebraska's official reference manual, with information about the state's government, geography, economy, history and culture.
All Blue Books (1899-date) are available online.

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) encourages and promotes the interests of agriculture through advocacy and education. In addition, NDA regulates the agriculture industry to ensure the health and safety of all Nebraskans.

Animal and Plant Health Protection (APHP) is mandated by specific program statutes to meet the needs of those being regulated and protected by those statutes and accompanying regulations ~ vested with the power to, and charged with the duties of, protecting both general livestock and plant health, and thus maintaining commerce opportunities for Nebraska products. Ongoing surveillance, testing, certification, outreach, tracing, inspecting, and eradication efforts are some of the regulatory duties charged to APHP.

Mission Statement: To implement and enforce the sanitation and quality standards relative to the dairy and food industry through service, education, and regulation. To protect the integrity of commercial measurements through certification of weighing and measuring equipment.

The Agricultural Laboratories Focus Area provides testing services for the various regulatory Focus Areas within the Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) by performing chemical, physical, bacteriological, and microscopical analyses on submitted samples. Samples are submitted by NDA inspectors for routine analysis as well as part of regulatory investigations.

Search for everything from Cattle to Farmer's Market locations.

Search the Corporate and Business database for information on all entities, trade names, trademarks, service marks, appropriate forms, and associated filing or application fees.

Search for Administrative Orders, Financial Institutions, Regulated Industries, Securities Search & Online Verification, and Unicameral Statutes.

The Nebraska Department of Economic Development (DED) is focused on growing and diversifying the state’s economic base, bringing new dollars, new businesses, and new people into the state. Its' mission is to provide quality leadership and services that enable Nebraska’s communities, businesses, and people to succeed in a global economy.

The Nebraska Secretary of State has responsibilities over the following areas: elections, business registrations, occupational licensing, state rules and regulations, records management, international relations and youth civics programs. The secretary of state is the keeper of the Great Seal of the State of Nebraska, and the office is the repository for official state documents. By law, the secretary of state serves on a number of state boards.

Locate child care providers based on location or by name or license number.

Alphabetical list of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Centers in Nebraska.

Directory of social services resources in Nebraska

Inmates are searchable by name or state identification number. Inmate records include photos, sentenced offenses, race, gender, projected release date and aliases.

The Crime Commission was established to develop comprehensive plans and coordinate activities related to the improvement of criminal justice administration among state and local agencies. Since its inception, additional statutory responsibilities have been assigned to the Crime Commission, which now serves as an umbrella agency for many criminal and juvenile justice programs.

Search for contact information for other criminal justice and law enforcement agencies in Nebraska.

The Nebraska Department of Correctional Services’ (NDCS) mission is: 'Keep people safe.' The agency operates 10 prisons in five communities in Nebraska. It is the second largest state agency and employs approximately 2,300 team members in more than 200 different job classifications.

Serving Nebraska since 1937, the Nebraska State Patrol (NSP) is committed to professional public service reflecting recognition of the inherent value of each individual in our society. Our officers strive to earn and maintain trust, respect, and confidence by exemplifying the belief that the freedoms, rights, and dignity of all citizens must be protected and preserved. To this end we pledge ourselves to the highest standards of morality, fairness, honesty, dedication, professionalism and courage.

The Board assures geological practices in Nebraska are carried out by qualified individuals to safeguard life, health, property, and to promote the public welfare. This Mission is carried out by: Assuring that those who serve the public through the practice of geology have the education and experience needed to be competent in the field; Enforcing the Geologists Regulation Act through education and compliance oversight; and Providing quality and responsive regulatory services.

The Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality’s mission is to protect the quality of Nebraska’s environment – our air, land, and water resources. We enforce regulations and provide assistance, but to fully accomplish this vital mission we need your assistance. We encourage you to work with us to ensure future generations can use and enjoy the precious natural resources we enjoy today.

The NDNR is a State agency with responsibilities in the areas of: Surface Water, Groundwater, Floodplain Management, Dam Safety, Natural Resources Planning, Water Planning and Integrated Management, Storage of Natural Resources and Related Data, and Administration of State Funds.

Implements and maintains the comprehensive statewide plan to guide Nebraska’s higher education system.

Responsible for the statewide coordination of the community college system.

Mission Statement: To lead and support the preparation of all Nebraskans for learning, earning, and living.

Established in 1867, the Nebraska State College System (NSCS) consists of the three state colleges; Chadron State, Peru State, and Wayne State. An established partner within the rural communities they serve, the colleges provide an engaging, personalized and rewarding college experience. NSCS is committed to providing a high-quality four-year education that is affordable and accessible to all students.

One University. Four Campuses. One Nebraska. A land-grant flagship campus. An academic medical center. A metropolitan campus serving our urban citizens. And a campus focused on undergraduates. Collectively, these four unique institutions are known as the University of Nebraska. Each institution has distinct strengths, giving the University of Nebraska a scope of expertise that is hard to equal.

The Blue Book is Nebraska's official reference manual, with information about the state's government, geography, economy, history and culture.
All Blue Books (1899-date) are available online.

The mission of the Nebraska Department of Revenue is to serve the public by administering the state revenue laws with integrity, efficiency, and consistency.

The Department of Health and Human Services team contributes to the lives and health of Nebraskans every day. Our mission, “Helping people live better lives,” provides the motivation to make a difference.

Nebraska Medicine is the most esteemed academic health system in the region, consisting of 676 licensed beds at its two hospitals, more than 1,000 physicians and 40 specialty and primary care clinics in Omaha and surrounding areas. Nebraska Medicine and its research and education partner, the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), share the same mission: to lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care. Nebraska Medicine traces its roots back to 1869 with the founding of Omaha’s first hospital. In the decades since, it has built an international reputation for breakthroughs in cancer care, organ transplantation and treatment of infectious diseases. In 2016, Nebraska Medicine earned the Bernard A. Birnbaum, MD Quality Leadership Award from Vizient, Inc. which recognizes it in the top ten quality academic health systems in the United States. For three straight years, Nebraska Medicine has also been named to Becker’s Hospital Review’s list of 100 Great Hospitals in America.

The Nebraska Safety Council is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. Our Mission is to provide leadership and resources to promote a safe and healthy environment in our workplace and community.

Famous Nebraska Individuals

The Nebraska Authors database comes from The Jane Pope Geske Heritage Room of Nebraska Authors at Lincoln City Libraries.

Art, Music, Museums, Libraries, Historical Sites, Sports

"History Nebraska collects, preserves, and opens to all, the histories we share."

State government is one of the largest employers in Nebraska, and also one of the most diverse. From state trooper to nurse to engineer, the state offers a wide variety of career opportunities.

Find a job, post a job, or investigate labor market information

Hosted by the Nebraska Library Commission, this directory of current library job openings in Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Colorado, and Missouri.

Resources for unemployed workers including information and links to file a claim.

The Nebraska Legislature (also called "the Unicameral") is the supreme legislative body of the state of Nebraska. It has 49 members that are "senators." The legislature is officially unicameral and nonpartisan, making Nebraska unique among U.S. states; no other state has either a unicameral or a nonpartisan legislative body.

The Licensing Division protects the public interest by licensing or registering several occupations. The division oversees collection agencies, debt management agencies, credit services organizations, private detectives, truth and deception examiners, athlete agents and nonrecourse civil litigation funding companies.

Professions, Occupations, Children's Services, Facilities, Services and Establishments

Welcome to the Nebraska Department of Veterans' Affairs website. We feel privileged to serve the men and women who have so ably served our country in times of war and peace. Our goal with this site is to provide up-to-date and useful information for veterans and their families.
On this site veterans and their families will find information on their rights, benefits, Nebraska's veterans homes, county offices, and links to other federal and state sources of information.

Campus Recreation is committed to enhancing the educational experience and promoting lifelong wellness through excellent recreation programs, services and facilities.

Among the many duties of the Commission and staff are establishing hunting seasons and regulations for game species; managing Nebraska’s state parks, state recreation areas and other public lands; managing the fisheries at numerous public lakes across the state; helping landowners establish good conservation practices on their land; working to conserve Nebraska’s threatened and endangered species; and providing hunter and boater education, as well as other resources for those who wish to learn to enjoy the outdoors. We are committed to the idea that time spent outdoors, whether it be hunting, fishing, hiking, biking, bird-watching, canoeing, camping or one of the many other outdoor activities Nebraska has to offer, is time well spent.

Looking for the best Bike trails around Nebraska?
Find the top rated bike trails in Nebraska, whether you're looking for an easy short bike trail or a long bike trail, you'll find what you're looking for. Click on a bike trail below to find trail descriptions, trail maps, photos, and reviews.

Enjoy camping, picnicking, hiking, fishing, boating, swimming and more at one of Nebraska’s great State Recreation Areas (SRA).

The 77,000 square miles that make up Nebraska are home to a diverse range of terrain. Unique trails and scenic byways are laced throughout the state. Through the rolling Sandhills, prairies, forests and bluffs the sights and views are spectacular. Our state is also home to many national monuments and a number of historic parks. It’s pretty safe to say, Nebraska is a one-of-a-kind wonder.

Once threatened with extinction, peregrine falcons are now flourishing throughout the Midwest. Our two popular falcon cameras provide live streaming video from the 18th floor of the Nebraska State Capitol in Lincoln, Nebraska

The Nebraska Academy of Sciences was first organized in Omaha in 1880. The Academy is classified as a 501(c)(3) Private Foundation. Donations are tax deductible. The Academy is not a state agency, and is not sponsored by a particular university, college, or other Nebraska educational organization.

The Nebraska Educational Technology Association exists for the purpose of providing leadership and promoting the application of technology to the educational process. Its span of interest includes all levels and aspects of education.

Nebraska Innovation Campus (NIC) is connecting the talents of experts, companies and the university to create a unique culture of innovation. NIC is a research campus designed to facilitate new and in-depth partnerships between the University of Nebraska and private sector businesses. NIC is adjacent to the University of Nebraska–Lincoln (UNL) and strategically provides access to research faculty, facilities and students. NIC aspires to be the most sustainable research and technology campus in the United States

The Nebraska Science Festival is designed to make science accessible, interactive, relevant and fun for kids and adults alike.

The Young Nebraska Scientists (YNS) program was founded in 2008 to provide exciting STEM enrichment activities for middle and high school students. YNS summer science camps at Nebraska colleges and universities integrate the research themes of current Nebraska EPSCoR grants. YNS also sponsors summer research internships in university laboratories for high school students.

Data, economic trends, research reports, statistics, profiles and demographics…you can find them all here. DED is eager to assist with tools, information and assistance to make your vision a reality.

These occupational employment and wage estimates are calculated with data collected from employers in all industry sectors in metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas in Nebraska.

University of Nebraska Huskers football statistics by year--choose from the dropdown menu in the lower right corner.

The Nebraska Geographic Information Systems Council was established by the Legislature in 1991 (Reissued Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, §86-569 through §86-573). The Council serves as the state's primary oversight group for the development of standards, strategies, and policies as it relates to the creation and use of geospatial data and technologies. The Council emphasizes cooperation and coordination among agencies, organizations, and government entities. These coordinated efforts lead to creating public and private partnerships, greater geospatial productivity, less redundancy, and more informed policy across all disciplines and business lines involving geospatial data and technologies in the state.

The NebraskaMAP.gov web site serves as a gateway to Nebraska’s geospatial data and information. It provides a centralized location to search and locate relevant authoritative geospatial data layers in Nebraska. Data made available through NebraskaMAP consists of both public and private information. Access to data and information can be made available either through file download, web map services or linkages to outside sources. Other relevant information pertaining to spatial data can also be accessed (i.e., static print maps, data tables, etc.).
The purpose of the NebraskaMAP Data and Content Management Policy is to clarify responsibilities and encourage cooperation among data stewards to share data through a centralized enterprise-level data-sharing platform for intended users needing access to geospatial data for Nebraska.
NebraskaMAP enhances the GIS Council’s mission by providing access to the state’s authoritative geospatial data and information. This type of data sharing will reduce duplicative efforts and costs of widely shared data sets. This policy further establishes a process that gives the GIS Council and Office of the CIO more control of the data and services through NebraskaMAP resulting in a collection of geospatial data and services that is more organized, more uniform and of higher quality.

QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

The State Data Center program was created in 1978 as a cooperative program between the U.S. Census Bureau and individual states to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments. The SDCs and their networks are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics produced by the Census Bureau.

Became a division of the Nebraska Department of Transportation as of July 1, 2017.

The Nebraska Department of Transportation is responsible for the planning, development, design, construction, maintenance and administration of the state highway system. Preserving the billions of dollars Nebraskans have invested in their state highway system, making the highways safe and efficient, and accomplishing this in a timely and cost-effective manner are the goals of the State Department of Transportation.

Working together to promote and support safe, affordable, and efficient public transit in Nebraska.

The Nebraska Secretary of State serves as Nebraska’s chief election officer. Working with election officials in the state’s 93 counties, the Elections Division oversees election law, the conduct of elections in the state, election tabulation equipment and the state voter registration system. The division accepts candidate filings and tabulates results for statewide, legislative, judicial retention and certain district elections. The division oversees filings for statewide initiative and referendum petitions.