LibGuides: Prisoner Locator Tools from State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This page links to inmate locators to all 50 States and the District of Columbia. Each locator is a little different. They can be searched in different ways and the amount of information about a particular prisoner can vary widely from state to state. Additionally some states place restrictions on how information from penal databases may be used. Most inmate/offender databases are run by that State's Department of Corrections, but some States' choose to work with Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE), an organization that works with corrections agencies to provide alerting information to crime victims.

If you know of other State/County produced inmate/prisoner locators that should be here, please use the Email Me button in the Documents Specialist box to send a suggestion.

Return to the main State Agency Databases Project home page.

This page was last updated on November 2, 2024.

Federal

Although not in scope for the State Agency Databases Project, we're listing known federal prisoner locators in an effort to be as helpful as possible to people locating incarcerated friends and family.

Online Detainee Locator System (ICE)
Use to find immigration detainees. Interface available in several languages. Can search by a person's "A-Number" or a combination of name and country information.
Bureau of Prisons Inmate Locator
Searchable by prisoner number, or by name, age or sex.

Alabama

Alabama Inmate Search
A database of individuals currently incarcerated in Alabama correctional facilities. Users can search by AIS (Alabama Institutional Serial) number or by first or last name. No more than 50 results will be displayed for any search.

Alaska

Alaska VINE Search
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Arizona

Inmate Datasearch
Locate status of inmates imprisoned in 1985 and later. Records include description, parole status and prison location, if available. According to the website, information obtained from this database should not be mailed to AZ inmates and will be treated as contraband. Database is only searchable by name and prisoner number, although some limiters are available.

Arkansas

Inmate Population Information Search
Prisoner database that can be searched not only by name, gender, age and race, but also by type of crime including: Assault, Drug Crime, Forgery/Counterfeiting, Fraud/Embezzlement, Kidnapping, Manslaughter, Murder, Other Crime, Other Violent Crime, Property Crime, Racketeering, Robbery, Sex Crime, Theft, Weapon Offense. Records include weight, height, sentencing history and prisoner photos when available. This system even lets you electronically send money to prisoners.

California

Inmate Locator
This database can find the location of an inmate in California State Prisons, and some inmates transferred to county or Federal facilities; searchable by name and birthdate or by CDC number.

Colorado

Offender Search
"This application provides limited information about inmates housed in Colorado correctional facilities to the public." Search by name, birth date, or number.

Connecticut

Dept. of Correction - Inmate Information Search
This database includes information about individual inmates, such as current location, bond amount, and maximum sentence. Unlike many states, Connecticut's Dept. of Correction holds not only people who have been convicted of a crime, but people awaiting trial; therefore, not all inmates in this database have been convicted of a crime.

Delaware

VINELink
Search for an Offender and determine custody status, operated by VINELink on behalf of the Delaware Department of Corrections.

District of Columbia

DC VINE Inmate Search
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Florida

Inmate Population Information Search
If the inmate is in the state of Florida prison system and not on probation or parole in Florida; in a Florida county jail; in a Federal prison; in prison or jail in another state; or already released from the Florida prison system.

Georgia

Inmate Query
Prisoners may be searched by name, aliases, gender, age, primary offense (incl abuse of gov't office), sentence status, conviction county and more. Prisoner records include photos, offense details, project release dates, and aliases and identifying marks when available.

Hawaii

Hawai‘i Statewide Automated Victim Information & Notification (SAVIN)
Search and Register for Offenders - Hawai‘i SAVIN offers victims and concerned citizens free, anonymous, and confidential access to timely information and notification 24-hours a day, 365 days a year on the custody and parole status of offenders under the jurisdiction of the State Of Hawaii's Department of Public Safety. Search by Offender ID or Offender's First and Last Name and enter the Date of Birth and age range if known.

Idaho

Offender Search (Resident / Client Search)
The Idaho Department of Correction offender search database provides information about offenders currently under IDOC jurisdiction: those incarcerated, on probation or on parole. This includes a listing of felonies for which an offender is serving time.

Illinois

Offender Search
Locate state prisoners by name, control number or date of birth. Records include description, photos, distinguishing marks, project release date, information on conviction leading to current sentence and holding institution.

Indiana

Incarcerated individual Locator
Searchable by first AND last name or by prisoner number. Records include gender, race, facility, charges and more.

Iowa

Offender Search
Prisoner locator service is searchable by name, birth date range, gender, location, offense, and county of commitment. Inmate records include name, offense (while incarcerated), state identification number, holding facility, and projected release date.

Kansas

KASPER Offender Population
After reading/confirming a disclaimer on this Department of Corrections site, databases of offenders, parole absconders, and community corrections absconders can be searched by name and/or KDOC number.

County level prisoner locators

Kentucky

Kentucky Offender Online Lookup (KOOL)
Prisoners may be searched by name, gender, race, conviction county, etc. Search may be limited to death row inmates. Inmate records include photo, sentenced offenses, facility, gender and appearance. From the website "Entries and updates to improve accuracy are done daily in order for the public to have the information that current technology and public resources will allow."

Louisiana

LA Inmate Locator (VINE)
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. Searchable by Name, ID Number or Case Number. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Maine

Maine Adult Resident/Adult Community Corrections Client Search Service
Search for adult prisoners or probationers in the Maine Department of Corrections system. Search by name, gender, race/ethnicity, age, race and a number of physical characteristics.

Maryland

MD Inmate Locator
Find state inmates by name. Records show name and contact information for the prison they are being held at. Inmate Locator does not include people being held in pretrial facilities.

Massachusetts

MA Inmate Locator (VINE)
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. Searchable by Name, ID Number or Case Number. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Michigan

Offender Tracking Informatin System (OTIS)
From the web site: "OTIS is intended to offer information to the public that can then be verified through the Michigan Department of Corrections (MDOC), Michigan Courts, the Michigan State Police or other law enforcement agencies. A search of OTIS will provide information about offenders previously or currently under the jurisdiction or supervision of the MDOC. A search result will provide information about any offender who is, or was, in a Michigan prison, on parole or probation under the supervision of the MDOC, has transferred in or out of Michigan under the Michigan Interstate Compact, or who has escaped or absconded from their sentence." The database can be searched by a number of criteria, including marks, scars and tattoos.

Minnesota

Offender Locator
Public information about adult offenders who have been committed to the Commissioner of Corrections, and who are still under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections

Mississippi

MDOC Inmates
Prisoners searchable only by first and last names. Inmate records include photos, appearance (height, weight, etc), sentenced offenses, projected release date, facility and date of last transfer.

Missouri

Offender Search
Provides information about inmates, probationers, and parolees supervised by the DOC. Allows for name searching (including aliases).

Montana

Montana Offender Search
Search by id or name. Records can include photo, legal record and physical description.

Nebraska

Inmate Information Locator
Inmates are searchable by name or state identification number. Inmate records include photos, sentenced offenses, race, gender, projected release date and aliases.

Nevada

Nevada Offender Tracking Information System
Searchable by inmate name or id. Note this may give a security error as of 6/18/2022. Use your browser's "advanced" button on the message to go to site anyway.

County Level Prisoner Locators

Clark County Inmate Information and Search
Searchable by name or prisoner number. Read intro page for limitations on data. Suggested for people arrested in the greater Las Vegas area.
Washoe County Inmate Search (NV)
Searchable by last name only. Suggested for people arrested in northern Nevada.

New Hampshire

Inmate Locator (NH)
Find a state prisoner by name. Records include Full Name, Birth Year, Book Number , Booked Date, Current Parole Date, Maxed Date, Crime Category and Facility.

New Jersey

Offender Search
This inmate locator offers extensive search options, including hair color, eye color, race, and date of birth or age. Database records include photos, which may be disabled for faster search access.

New Mexico

New Mexico Corrections Department Offender Search
The New Mexico Corrections Department Offender Information is intended to provide law enforcement agencies and the general public with information about offenders who are incarcerated or on probation and/or parole supervision. You must know an offender’s first and/or last name or NMCD Number to begin the search process.

New York

Inmate information
Prisoners may be looked up by name, birth year and state identification numbers. According to the web site, "Everyone sentenced to state prison since the early 1970's is listed in the database, except youthful offenders and those who have had their convictions set aside by a court. There are several reasons for this policy." Records include name, ethnicity, holding facility, crimes of conviction, projected release date and more.

North Carolina

Offender Public Information
Search by name, gender,ethnic group, age range or ID number for public information on inmates, probationers or parolees since 1972. This system allows users to view and download any/all public information from the NC Department of Public Safety database for convicted offenders. Also includes information on inmate releases and escapees.

North Dakota

ND Inmate Locator (VINE)
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. Searchable by Name, ID Number or Case Number. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Ohio

Offender Search
Inmate locater searchable by a number of criteria, including name, whether incarcerated or on parole, parole hearing date or state identification number.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Offender Search
Search by name or ODOC number through the basic search or use any of the specialized searches: alias, appearance, IDs, offense or facility. Maintained by the Oklahoma Department of Corrections.

Oregon

Oregon Offender Search
Search for inmates incarcerated in state institutions.

Pennsylvania

Inmate Locator
Inmate database searchable by number of criteria including name, committing county, citizenship status, date of birth or age. Records by be sorted by name, race, location, inmate number, committing county or date of birth

Rhode Island

RI Public Inmate Search
Searchable by inmate id, name, name type (alias, real), race, sex, age range, last known city/town of residence. Records include sentence and charge history plus age and known aliases.

South Carolina

Inmate Search
The search displays photographs and public information on inmates currently sentenced to and incarcerated in South Carolina prisons.

South Dakota

Offender Locator (ND)
Searchable by inmate number or name. As of 3/11/2022 was "temporalily down"

Tennessee

Felony offender information
Searchable by name, TDOC ID or State ID. Name searches can be filtered by race.

Texas

Offender Information Search
Search for an offender by providing a name, SID number or current TDCJ number (for previous TDCJ numbers, click the button below.) Click on the View Details link to see more information and to subscribe to notifications on that offender. -- From the website.

Utah

Offender Search
Search for an inmate by name or offender number. Records include prisoner number, name, date of birth, description and aliases.

Vermont

JailTracker (VT)
Provides inmate name, jacket number, book date, and facility. Can be searched by name and/or category: current only, released, or all.

Virginia

Inmate Locator
Can search by offender ID number or name to access public record information on currently incarcerated offenders: ID number, name, gender, race, VADOC release date, and location.

Washington

Inmate Search
Searchable by name or Dept. of Corrections id number. Records include name, state id number and holding facility.

West Virginia

WY Inmate Locator (VINE)
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. Searchable by Name, ID Number or Case Number. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.

Wisconsin

Offender Search
Searchable using name, address, ID# and other factors. Provides most recent location, status, release date or other information regarding a convicted offender.

Wyoming

WY Inmate Locator (VINE)
Provides information about whether an inmate is in custody and at which facility. Searchable by Name, ID Number or Case Number. This search is focused on victim notification. Additional information and notification available on registering.