LibGuides: South Dakota State Agency Databases: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by South Dakota State Government Agencies listed by database subject. It was last checked for broken links on August 10, 2022.

Return to the State Agency Databases Project home page.

About South Dakota

South Dakota State Government website
The official portal for South Dakota information. Use the search box or tabs at the top to find information on agencies, services and general information.
The South Dakota Department of Tourism's web portal
The Department is made up of two divisions: South Dakota Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. Together, we’re here to serve the people of South Dakota and all who come to meet our Great Faces and explore our Great Places.
South Dakota State Parks Directory
Home to breathtaking scenery, abundant wildlife, and exciting geological wonders, South Dakota offers visitors a range of things to do and see!

Agriculture & Food Sources

Animal Remedy Product Search
Before an animal remedy is distributed in South Dakota, it must be registered with the Agriculture Department, by the manufacturer or by the person responsible for distributing it.
Commercial Feed/Fertilizer Licenses in South Dakota
It is unlawful for any person to manufacture, or distribute as guarantor, commercial feed in the state without first obtaining a license to do so from the SD Department of Agriculture.
Nursery Certificates in South Dakota
Before any person accepts shipment of any nursery stock, decorative plant, annual plant or sod which is intended for resale or redistribution, the shipment must have a valid certificate showing that the contents have been inspected by an official state or federal inspector.
Seed Certificates in SD
Before selling, distributing, advertising, soliciting orders for, offering for sale, exposing for sale, or transporting seed, a person must obtain a seed permit from the Department of Agriculture.

Business, Finance & Economy

Corporate Database Search
Search the Corporate Database.
Fictitious Business Name Registration
From the website, "You are required to file a fictitious name statement if you operate a business as a proprietorship and do not include the last name of each owner in the business name. Corporate entities that are conducting business in South Dakota under any name other than their corporate name are also required to file." Business information, owner information, and registration information may be searched.
Notaries Public Search
Search for Notaries throughout South Dakota.
Public Depository Protection Quarterly Reports
These reports show the bank name, location, public deposits, time & savings accounts, municipal bonds, net loans, domestic deposits, total securities, letters of credit, surety bonds, adequacy of collateral, and maximum liability. Under the column of adequacy of collateral if that figure has parenthesis around it, it means that particular bank was under pledged for that quarter.

Community & Social Services

Child Care Provider Search
Search for registered or licensed child care providers in South Dakota communities.
South Dakota Housing
Locate or list rental housing opportunities in South Dakota.
Victim's Services Resources
If you or someone you know has been a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or another violent crime, your local Victims’ Services agency may be able to help.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

South Dakota Missing Persons
The South Dakota Missing Persons Clearinghouse acts as a liaison for families and law enforcement to provide contacts and resources that can assist in the search for missing persons.
South Dakota Sex Offender Registry
From the website, "This information is being made available on the Internet to facilitate public access to information about persons who have committed sex offenses to enable you to take appropriate precautions to protect yourself and those in your care from possible harm." The format allows for two types of search, text and map.

Earth & the Environment

Contact Hours for Water/Wastewater Treatment Operators
Drinking water program - operator certification resources.
Core and Cuttings Repository
Contains information on sediment cores and cuttings that are stored in the Geological Survey core repository.
DENR Interactive Database Maps Online
A listing of database maps compiled by the SD Department of Environment and Natural Resources.
DENR Searchable Databases and Lists Directory
From the SD Department of Environment and Natural Resources.
Geologic Bibliography of SD
Contains reference sources for publications about the geology and ground water resources of South Dakota.
Lithologic Logs
Contains information on test holes and wells drilled by SDGS and other companies.
Pesticide Commercial Applicator Search
Commercial applicator certification is valid for two years. Applicators must take a test to become initially certified, but can recertify by attending a class.
Pesticide Private Applicator Search
Private Applicator Certification is required before an agricultural producer can purchase or use a restricted use pesticide (RUP).
Pesticide Product Company Search
State law requires that all pesticide products distributed for use in South Dakota be registered with the SDDA.
SDGS Publications
Contains information about each of the GS publications such as reports and maps.
Soil Amendment Product Search
South Dakota Codified Law requires soil amendment products be registered with the South Dakota Department of Agriculture before they can be distributed.
Storm Water Permits
A searchable database of all active storm water permits issued for construction and industrial activities in South Dakota.
Water Quality Database
Contains inorganic, pesticide, VOC, and radioisotope analyses of water samples.

Education

Statistical Digest for South Dakota Schools
From the SD Department of Education. Contains County and District maps.
SD Department of Education Data Center
Information on this page includes school data, district data, financials, SD Indian Education, school report cards, maps, and more.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

South Dakota State Government
Listing of all branches of SD government, as well as state agencies.
Past and Current SD Legislators
This site contains a complete database of all past and current South Dakota Legislators.

Government Finances & Contracts

State of SD Audit Reports
State of SD Audit Reports
Unclaimed Property Database
From the website, "The State Treasurer is holding millions of dollars in unclaimed funds for South Dakotans. The State holds these lost funds until they are claimed by either the original owner or their heirs. They can be claimed at no cost with the proper identification."

Health, Medicine & Safety

SD Department of Health Data Query System
The South Dakota Department of Health created the Data Query System to provider users with a searchable database to gather statistics related to births, deaths, abortion and cancer events. Currently, the database contains information going back to 2000 for births and deaths, 2001 for cancer and 1973 for abortion.
South Dakota Cancer Incidence & Mortality
This tool provided by the South Dakota Cancer Registry (SDCR) allows for quick cancer data comparisons by county. Available data are the five most diagnosed cancers and cancer-related deaths by primary site and county for South Dakota residents.

History, People & Culture

Cemetery Record Search
From the website, "This searchable database includes records that were cataloged as part of the WPA Cemetery Project (pre-1940s) plus any cemetery updates that our office has received. It is not a complete listing of all the burials in South Dakota."
Government Records for State/County Governments
From the website, "As the official repository of state records, the State Archives maintains and preserves the documents produced by the executive, legislative and judicial branches of South Dakota state government. Many counties, municipalities, and townships have transferred historical records to the State Archives. The Archives collection also includes copies of federal records such as censuses, land records, and files of the Bureau of Indian Affairs."
Index to Naturalization First & Second Papers
Naturalization is the process by which a foreign born individual becomes an American citizen. Information such as a person's birth date and location, occupation, immigration year, marital status, and physical description or photographs may be found in this record series.
Index to South Dakota Newspaper holdings at the State Archives
Searchable fields include: Paper Title, Date, County, and City.
Listing of Statues in South Dakota
The South Dakota State Historical Society prepared a list of statues in the state in 2020. “The idea of the list grew out of concern that controversial statues, such as those of Confederate leaders, may exist in the state, but we didn’t find any,” said Jay Vogt, director of the South Dakota State Historical Society and State Historic Preservation Officer.
more...less...
Clicking the link will open an Excel document.
SD State Surname Search
The South Dakota State Archives Surname Research Form will allow you to search through a database of birth, marriage, death, and other notices printed in South Dakota newspapers.

Vital Records

Search for SD Birth Records with Birth Dates Over 100 Years
From the website, "This site contains information from birth records with birth dates of over 100 years of age as required by South Dakota Codified Law 34-25-8. At this time this site contains 150,833 records." Searchable by first and last name of individual or parent, county and document number. Records include date of birth, date of certificate filing, parents and place of birth.

Jobs & Unemployment

SD State Government Job Listings
Search for jobs in South Dakota, or create a profile to apply for an open position with the state.
SD WORKS - South Dakota's largest job database

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Lobbyist Search
Search for Lobbyist information.
South Dakota Administrative Rules
Administrative Rules of the state of South Dakota.
South Dakota State Statutes
SD Constitution, Statutes, and Session Laws.
South Dakota Legal Self-Help
Legal information website from the SD Unified Judicial System.

Licensing

Professional Licensing Boards
Links may or may not include searchable databases or lists of active/inactive licensees.
SD Board of Accountancy Searchable License Database
From the website, "The South Dakota Board of Accountancy maintains a database and portions of this database is made available through this website to provide immediate access for the convenience of interested persons."

Military & Veterans

Resource Information for Helping Homeless Veterans
Scroll to the bottom of the page for resource information. Top of the page has a listing of SD Homeless Shelters.
South Dakota Veterans Memorials
Statewide listings by county.
South Dakota Veterans Service Organizations
Statewide alphabetical listing.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

South Dakota Department of Tourism Web Portal
The Department is made up of two divisions: South Dakota Tourism and the South Dakota Arts Council. Together, we’re here to serve the people of South Dakota and all who come to meet our Great Faces and explore our Great Places.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

SD Labor Market Information Center
The Labor Market Information Center collects, analyzes and provides to the public information on the labor market of the state. This includes information such as employment levels, unemployment rates, wage and earnings data, estimates of available labor, employment projections, business staffing patterns, career planning information, etc.

Transportation

South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicle’s Active Motor Fuel License Search
From the website, "DMV is committed to advocating the South Dakota laws and regulations as they pertain to vehicle ownership."

Voting & Elections

Election Resources and Election History
Election Resources and Election History.

Empty Subjects - Can you help?

As of March 2017, we were unable to locate publicly searchable databases produced by a South Dakota State Agency in these areas:

Science & Technology

If you know of South Dakota produced databases in these or other subjects shown on this page, please use the "email me" link in the Documents Specialist box above to drop us a line.