It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Texas State Agency Databases
A listing of publicly searchable databases produced by agencies of the State of Texas
From the website, "The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations."
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) provides information for small businesses on continuing education in many types of small business, a list of programs licensed and regulated by TDLR and much more. Most importantly, one can search and/or verify business licenses, violations and projects.
From the Texas State Securities Board, "[One can] search for a certificate by Firm CRD/IARD number, Branch CRD number or TX file number. Click on "Certificate of Registration" to retrieve a printable certificate."
From the website of Texas State Securities Board, “The Authorized Securities search function allows a searcher to search for: Issuers of securities that have been approved for registration pursuant to Sections 7.A, 7.B, or 7.C of the Texas Securities Act; and Notices filed with the State Securities Board claiming an exemption from registration pursuant to Rule 114.4. Please note: The search function is not available for filings on Form D pursuant to Rule 114.4(b)(1).”
Search and obtain online verification of nonprofit and other types of orgaiations that hold state tax exemption from: Sales and Use Tax, Franchise Tax and Hotel Occupancy Tax. Scroll down to see other search options.
The Texas Unclaimed Property website is a division of the Texas Comptroller. From this site, not only one can search for unclaimed property, one can also search for the status of a claim. Hover the computer mouse on the “Claiming Property”, then choose desired search.
For families interested in adopting, this database includes profiles of children or sibling groups waiting to be adopted. Criteria can be searched to help match children with families. The program includes other information related to adoption and foster care.
For those interested in information about manufactured homes in the state of Texas, this database provides records for ownership history, retailer data, tax information, and title, license, and inspection reports.
Search for an offender by providing a name, SID number or current TDCJ number (for previous TDCJ numbers, click the button below.) Click on the View Details link to see more information and to subscribe to notifications on that offender. -- From the website.
From the website, "The Texas Juvenile Probation Directory contains the names and addresses of Texas juvenile probation professionals as reported to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department by the local juvenile probation departments."
The database provides public access to the Department of Public Safety's sex offender registration program as required by the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Six different search categories are included. Not all offenders are available in the database.
Database includes information about species found in freshwater and marine environments in Texas. Sections that detail information for endangered, threatened, and prohibited species are provided. The database features photographs, other names, descriptions, life cycles, and distribution.
From the website, "Find out whether a dry-cleaning facility or drop station is registered with the TCEQ. And, if they are registered, whether they have opted out of the Dry Cleaning Environmental Remediation Fund. Distributors can find out the solvent fees to collect from each registered facility."
From the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) website, one can search this registry for current and historic information and datasets about Petroleum Storage Tank (PST) Records, and known Leaking Petroleum Storage Tanks (LPSTs) data in Texas. “[This registry] will allow you to search for basic information on many of the facilities, organizations and people that the TCEQ regulates.”
From the website: "View over 750 USGS real-time stream, lake, reservoir, precipitation, and groundwater stations in context with current weather and hazard conditions on both desktop and mobile devices."
From the website, "The Water District Database (WDD) is a collection of data from water districts and public drinking water systems that submit information to the TCEQ. Use the WDD to search for the names of districts, their addresses, the counties in which they are located, status of their applications, or maps of their service areas. The WDD also provides a report showing the status of TCEQ reviews of engineering plans and exceptions for public water systems."
Use this interactive map, enter your home address to locate colleges near where you live. It includes 2 year, 4 year, health related Institutions and higher education centers. It will also indicated it is a public or is an independent institution.
From the website, "This tool allows a user to search by one field or a combination of fields to find a degree program(s) offered at one or more public community, technical, or state college, public university, health-related institution, Independent/Private(ICUT) Institution, For Profit Colleges & Universities Authorized by Certificate, or Other Institutions Authorized by Certificate. "
This site contains information organized for policymakers, parents and students, media, institutions and researchers, and educators. It includes forms, maps, charts, graphs and reports. Texas legislative issues related to higher education are included.
From the website -- "Over 150 state agencies and departments serve Texans’ everyday needs, including driver services, public health information, and more. Use our directory below to find an agency that can help you."
From the website, "Using the eGrants website, you can search for and view the details of competitive funding announcements available through dozens of Texas state agencies." Database is searchable by keyword, agency name, geographic focus, eligibility category, funding category, and grant/agreement type. Records include contact information, grant summary and deadline.
From the website, “The State Auditor's Office (SAO) is the independent auditor for Texas state government….The SAO is authorized, by Chapter 321, Texas Government Code, to perform audits, reviews, and investigations of any entity receiving state funds, including state agencies and higher education institutions…. Types of audits the SAO performs include financial statement opinion audits, financial audits, compliance audits, economy and efficiency audits, effectiveness audits, and other special audits.” From the reports tab on top of the page, one can choose to list all the available SAO reports or search report by keywords or report number.
This portal contains statistics for births, deaths, demographics, geographic and survey data on risk factors and disease prevalence, and hospital records within the state. Click on links from left side of screen.
The Bullock Museum Artifact Gallery allows you to search the database for all things Texas, and to read spotlight stories about certain artifacts. The database can be searched by region, time period, or artifact type.
From the website, “The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. In the Portal you may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map.” Scroll down from the search home page, click on “Explore by”, from there you can filter by collection, subject, dates, publication title and many more.
Texas Government Code, Chapter 441.102, establishes TRAIL (Texas Records and Information Locator) "to allow electronic access, including access through the Internet, at the Texas State Library and other depository libraries to state publications that have been made available to the public through the Internet by or on behalf of a state agency."
The Texas Workforce Commission provides future employees one of the largest job databases in Texas. The site requires users to register to find and apply for jobs with Texas state agencies or universities. A State Application for Employment can be completed on the site. Employers can post jobs, search resumes, and get labor market information as well.
From the website, “Legislative Reference Library is to satisfy the reference and research needs of the Legislature, its staff, and its committees. Whenever possible within this framework, the library will assist the public and other state agencies with legislative research.” The Legislative Reference Library of Texas website provides a wealth of information on the Texas Legislature. The online collections included but not limited to legislative clips, Code of Criminal Procedure revision guide, past & present Texas Legislators, State budget, Legislative committees, the library’s online catalog for print collections and much more...
"The Texas Administrative Code (TAC) is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. There are 17 titles in the TAC. Each title represents a subject category and related agencies are assigned to the appropriate title." -- From the Texas Administrative Code home page.
One can search for the Texas Constitution and Statutes by code(s), article/chapter, or article/section. One can also search the codes by text and the Statutes are searchable by date. In addition, codes are available for download in various formats.
One can search for status of bills from the 71st Regular Session (1991) to present. Reports representing bills authored, bills sponsored, bills reported to committee, and more... Vote Information can also be searched from this site. Some documents are available for downloads
Search for specific date of committee meetings, for upcoming committee meetings schedules, for committee membership, for committee assignments, for meetings by committee, and conference committee membership by Bill.
The Texas Legislature Online site provides multiple ways to search for bills introduced in sessions since 1989, including text search (best for novice users) and bill search (best for advanced users looking for a specific known item). The site also provides a searchable index to the most current version of the Texas Statutes
"A weekly publication, the Texas Register serves as the journal of state agency rulemaking for Texas. Information published in the Texas Register includes proposed, adopted, withdrawn and emergency rule actions, notices of state agency review of agency rules, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, and miscellaneous documents such as requests for proposals. After adoption, these rulemaking actions are codified into the Texas Administrative Code. Issues are posted to the website no later than 5 p.m. on the publication day. " -- From Texas Register's home page.
From the website: "The State Law Library serves the legal research needs of the Texas Supreme Court, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the Office of the Attorney General, other state agencies and commissions, and the citizens of the state. We are a public law library.
To learn about the library materials available at the State Law Library, see our library resources page. Also see a description of the services we provide to the public. Our library policies are also available. Please contact us if you have any questions about the materials available at the State Law Library."
Within this database, patients, consumers, doctors and other health care professionals can locate health care providers, medical suspensions, various rules and regulations, statistical reports, and practitioner information.
Searchable by License Number, Pharmacy Name, Owner Name, Street Name, City, County, and Zip Code. Records provide participation in state medical programs, whether they accept Internet prescriptions, address and owner information.
Database of mostly self reported data on chiropractors, dentists, optometrists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, podiatrists and psychologists. Searchable by name, city, state and zip code. Fields reported include education, disciplinary actions, number of years as license holder, license number and address.
From the website, "This interactive search form provides access to an index of names, counties of residence, and pension numbers of some 54,634 approved, rejected, and home pensions issued by the Texas government between 1899 and 1975." Searchable by name and county. Records include Claimant Name, Application Number, County, Husband, and Husband's Application Number. Copies of pension applications may be ordered by e-mail.
he Republic Claims series of Comptroller's records includes claims for payment, reimbursement, or restitution submitted by citizens to the Republic of Texas government from 1835 through 1846. It also includes records relating to Republic pensions and claims against the Republic submitted as public debt claims after 1846. The Republic Claims database provides access to more than 48,500 indexed names included in Republic Claims documents. Search results provide links to digital images for each claim found for the individual.
The Service Records Series combines both official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies which contain records related to an individual's service in a military unit. The Service Records database The database provides the name, the military organization, and the call number for approximately 24,000 individuals. Please note that the listing does not include the names of ALL persons who served in Texas military organizations. It indexes only the names of persons who have files in this record series. Digital images of the records are available.
This directory is provided by the Texas Film Commission. One can search the directory for talented Texas freelance individuals, companies and associations from the film, television, commercial, video game and animation industries.
The Texas General Land Office uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS), global positioning systems (GPS) and computer-aided design (CAD) systems to compile, analyze, and distribute information regarding the location of natural and human-made resources. This website offers a collection of GIS mapping data and geodata for energy resources, professional services, and oil and coastal response information. The GLO website also offers interactive mapping capabilities.
The Texas State Archives Map Collection contains original, photoreproduced, and compiled maps covering the period from the early seventeenth through the late twentieth centuries. The Map Collection database contains descriptions of over 8,000 maps. Digital images of some 700 maps are also accessible.
Current year of agendas and minutes of open meetings held by the Railroad Commission of Texas. Previous meetings' agendas and minutes are archived. Webcast of previous meetings are also available from the open meeting home page.
From the site: "Use the drop-down menu below to find contact information for transit providers by county or category. Metropolitan Transit Authorities serve areas with populations of 200,000 or more, Urban Transit Systems serve populations between 50,000 and 200,000 and Rural Transit Systems cover regions with populations below 50,000. Denton County also operates its own transit agency."
From the website, "Who Represents Me provides information about current districts and members of the Texas Senate, Texas House of Representatives, the Texas delegation to the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and the State Board of Education."