Skip to Main Content

GODORT 2023 Annual Meetings

GODORT Events planned for the 2023 Annual Conference

RESCHEDULED

*RESCHEDULED* Virtual Program: Classification Process

Guest speaker: John Powers

Agenda:

GODORT International Documents Task Force | 11:15 - 12:15 pm CT

GODORT International Documents Task Force

June 15 | 11:00 - 12:00 pm CT

The International Documents Taskforce (IDTF) focuses attention on problems and concerns related to international and foreign national government information. The IDTF provides a forum for the discussion of ideas, problems, and news in the field; serves as a force for initiating and supporting programs to increase the accessibility and use of this information; and works to improve bibliographic control and collection development for these information resources.

Agenda:

The theme of the meeting is Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives

  • Welcome & Introductions: 5 minutes
  • Reports from vendors:10 minutes, or as needed
  • Total Digital Access to League of Nations Archives (LONTAD). Presentation by Mr. Colin Wells, Knowledge Management Officer United Nations Library & Archives, Geneva, and former Project Manager of LONTAD: 30 - 40 minutes
  • Q&A: 5-10 minutes
Background information from the LONTAD website:
 
"At the end of October 2022, the Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Project (LONTAD) completed its core operations. On time and on budget after five years, the entirety of League of Nations archives was digitized and made freely available (14.2 million pages of materials). 
In addition to the “basic” scanning, the project restored and preserved the original documents, including replacing more than 8,000 boxes. The long-term digital preservation of more that 220 terabytes of data that were generated during its work was also ensured, guaranteeing online digital access long into the future."
 
Mr. Colin Wells will provide an overview of the platform and the information contained in the archives, followed by a short Q&A session.
 

GODORT Legislation Committee Meeting | 12:15 - 1:15 pm CT

GODORT Legislation Committee Meeting

June 15 | 12:15 - 1:15 pm CT

Agenda

  1. Welcome and Introductions

  2. Volunteer notetaker

  3. Approval of minutes from May meeting

  4. Updates on Committee initiatives

    1. GODORT Preservation Award

    2. Federal Depository Library Advocacy Plan for GODORT

  5. Invited speakers: Cindy Etkin and Scott Matheson from GPO will provide an overview of proposed changes to Title 44. The desired outcomes for this session are:

    1. Learn more about the current version of GPO's legislative proposals  (background, rationale, significant changes from prior versions, etc.);

    2. Learn more about the current status of these proposals with respect to the legislative process;

    3. Discuss potential opportunities for ALA/GODORT and its members to engage with the process.

  6. Q&A for speakers

  7. Adjourn

 

Meeting Recording

GODORT Development Committee | 1:30-2:30 pm CT

GODORT Development Committee Meeting

June 15 | 1:30 - 2:30 pm CT

Agenda

  1. Welcome / About the Development Committee
  2. Current Projects
    • 2023 GODORT Readex Silent Auction, bidding closes on July 7!  https://godort.readex.com/ 
      • The silent auction funds the Rozkuszka Scholarship, which provides financial support to individuals working in government documents and pursuing a Master's degree in Library Science. 
      • Testimonials from scholarship recipients and auction winners.
    • Increase visibility of donations
    • Advocating for new donation lines
  3. Future Projects Ideas
  4. Volunteer! Join the Development Committee

 

Meeting Recording

GODORT Federal Documents Interest Group | 2:45-3:45 pm CT

GODORT Federal Documents Interest Group Meeting

June 15 | 2:45 - 3:45 pm CT

Agenda

  1. Welcome and Introductions 
  2. Invited Speaker: Ileana Serrano from the Census Bureau will provide an overview and demonstration of the most used census tools.  
  3. Q&A for Speaker 
  4. Adjourn 

 

Meeting Recording