LibGuides: Voting & Elections Toolkits: Home

Voting & Election Toolkits

General Resources on Voting and Elections

Election Protection Hotlines

1-866-OUR-VOTE (866-687-8683)

1-888-VE-Y-VOTA (888-839-8682) (en Español)

1-888-API-VOTE (888-274-8683) (Asian multilingual assistance)

1-844-YALLA-US (844-925-5287) (Arabic)

Voter Registration & Election Day Resources

Can I Vote?
National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS). Created by state election officials with up-to-date national & state-by-state information. Sections: Voter Registration, Find Your Polling Place, Valid Forms of ID, Absentee & Early Voting, Overseas Voters, Election Official Directory, Become a Poll Worker
CIRCLE
Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (Tufts) provides info about voter registration numbers, barriers; oriented toward young people
Fair Elections Legal Network
Guides for voter registration drives in each state.
Federal Voting Assistance Project
Absentee voting assistance and verification for servicemembers & their families and overseas citizens. Plus, links to state/territory-specific election & legislative websites.
National Voter Registration Day
On September 17th, volunteers will conduct voter registration drives to ensure that voters don’t miss registration deadlines.
Overseas Vote
Nonpartisan voter services for U.S. citizens overseas and uniformed services members
U.S. Election Assistance Commission
Support and information for election administrators
U.S. Vote Foundation
Registration & information, FAQs by state and topic.
USA.gov Voting
Registration & information, Election Day resources, election laws, results, process, and history; State & local Election Offices; FAQs
VOTE411
League of Women Voters. Voter registration & voting info for 50 states, candidate info
VoteRiders
VoteRiders offers free assistance for any eligible voter who encounters barriers to securing their ID to vote, including financial and legal help obtaining underlying documents like birth certificates, change of name documentation, etc.

Find useful voter information including:

Local Election Office and Contact Information
Address, Telephone and Email for Local Election Offices
Upcoming Federal Election Dates and Deadlines
Upcoming State Election Dates and Deadlines
Eligibility Requirements
Identification Requirements
Voter Materials Transmission Options
State Lookup Tools – Am I Registered? Where’s my Ballot?

Population-Specific information and Resources

AARP Government & Elections
Information targeted at older voters; covers both federal and state elections
APIAVote (Asian and Pacific Islander American Vote)
A nonpartisan nonprofit dedicated to engaging, educating, and empowering Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) communities to strengthen their voices and create impact.
Military Voters
Federal Voting Assistance Program. Voting assistance for Service members, their families and overseas citizens.
National Center for Transgender Equality: Voting Rights
Information targeted at transgender voters.
National Coalition on Black Civic Participation
National Homeless Coalition
You don't need a home to vote!
Native Vote
Resources for indigenous people in all 50 states
Resources for Voters with Disabilities
From the U.S. Election Assistance Commission.
Rock the Vote
Voter information and engagement resources targeted to the under-30 set, but excellent voter/voting info source for all
State Criminal Re-enfranchisement Laws
A map of state felony disenfranchisement laws.
Student Guides: Campus Vote Project
A voting guide aimed at students.
Study Abroad and Vote! Toolkit
This toolkit provides voter outreach promotional tools and information to American students studying abroad. U.S. students carry their right to vote when they go overseas! Free Overseas Voter Registration and Ballot Request Widget. Includes This toolkit provides voter outreach promotional tools and information to American students studying abroad. U.S. students carry their right to vote when they go overseas! Free Overseas Voter Registration and Ballot Request Widget. Includes a guide for Study Abroad program coordinators with suggestions for use of the toolkit materials.

Voting Rights: Laws, Cases, Policy

American Civil Liberties Union: Voting Rights
Department of Justice Civil Rights: Voting Section
Election Protection
Fact Sheet: Protecting against Voter Intimidation
Details conduct that constitutes voter intimidation and what to do if you experience voter intimidation.
Federal Election Commission
Information about federal election campaign finance law and compliance.
LexisNexis® U.S. Voting Laws & Legislation Center
Website on voting laws and proposed legislation.

Voter Engagement

Libraries2024
The Libraries2024 campaign encourages all Americans to be civically engaged, registered to vote, and informed about issues affecting their communities - especially public and school libraries.
Nonprofit Vote
Resources for non-partisan voter registration drives and engagement
REV UP Voting Campaign
The REV UP Voting Campaign builds the power of the disability vote through a national network of coalitions and organizations.
Vot-ER
Vot-ER develops nonpartisan civic engagement tools and programs for every corner of the healthcare system—from private practitioners to medical schools to hospitals.
Voting Emphasis Weeks
Resources for Military Services and overseas citizens groups to to inform absentee voters of their right to vote and help ensure they are aware of the steps they need to follow.

Voter Education

Ballotpedia: Encyclopedia of American Politics
An encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Provides accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government.
CSPAN: Campaign 2024
Project Vote Smart
Sample Ballots by Zip Code. Elected Officials & Candidates voting records, interest group ratings, speeches, campaign contributions, and contact information, current and past ballot measures by date & issue
VoteLibraries
The VoteLibraries Initiative from the EveryLibrary Institute is designed to assist libraries in their mission to ensure that all citizens who want to vote are registered, informed, and empowered to access the ballot.

Campaign Finance/Funding Information

Federal Election Commission
Information about federal election campaign finance law and compliance.
Open Secrets
Nonpartisan information about the influence of money on politics.
Vote Smart
Elected officials & candidates voting records, interest group ratings, speeches, campaign contributions, and contact information, current and past ballot measures by date & issue

Primary Sources, Lesson Plans & Exhibits

CSPAN Classroom: Elections
Library of Congress- U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide
Library of Congress Themed Resources: Elections
NARA/Federal Register: U.S. Electoral College
Smithsonian - American Democracy: A Great Leap of Faith
Exhibit from the National Museum of American History.

Disclaimer

Librarians from the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT), a Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA), created these reference guides. These guides are intended for informational purposes only and are not in any way intended to be legal advice.

If you have questions or feedback to share about these guides, we encourage you to CONTACT US.

These guides are designated with a Creative Commons license and re-use and modification for educational purposes is encouraged.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.