LibGuides: Exhibits and Displays: Disasters and Emergencies

Collection suggestions

Introduction to Emergency Management: Instructional Materials Package
Publisher/author: Emergency Management Institute
Publication date: 1984
SuDoc: FEM 1.2:Em 3/5

The Ash Warriors
Publisher/author: Air Force History and Museums Program
Publication date: 2005
SuDoc: D 301.82/7:W 25/2005

An Overview of the Emergency Response Program
Publisher/author: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Emergency and Remedial Response
Publication date: 1992
SuDoc: EP 1.2:Em 3/5

Grandma's Pantry Was Ready: Is Your "Pantry" Ready in Event of Emergency?
Publisher/author: Federal Civil Defense Administration.
Publication date: 1955
SuDoc: FCD 1.2:P 19

Partnerships in Preparedness: A Compendium of Exemplary Practices in Emergency Management
Publisher/author: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Publication date: 1995
SuDoc: FEM 1.2:P 25

Planning for Post-Disaster Recovery and Reconstruction
Publisher/author: American Planning Association
Publication date: 1998
SuDoc: FEM 1.2:P 69/2

State Capability Assessment for Readiness
Publisher/author: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Publication date: 2001
SuDoc: FEM 1.2:R 22

Are You Ready?: A Guide to Citizen Preparedness.
Publisher/author: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Publication date: 2002
SuDoc: FEM 1.8/3:34/2002

A Citizen's Guide to Disaster Assistance.
Publisher/author: Federal Citizen Information Center
Publication date: 2003
SuDoc: GS 11.8:D 62

Emergency Preparedness Atlas: U.S. Nursing Home and Hospital Facilities
Publisher/author: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Publication date: 2007
SuDoc: HE 20.6502:H 43/13

Disaster Response: Promoting Recovery, Hope and a New Beginning
Publisher/author: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Publication date: 1999?
SuDoc: HH 1.2:D 63/56

Natural Disaster Reduction: A Plan for the Nation
Publisher/author: National Science and Technology Council
Publication date: 1997
SuDoc: PREX 1.2:D 63/2

The Federal Response to Hurricane Katrina: Lessons Learned
Publisher/author: Executive Office of the President
Publication date: 2006
SuDoc: PREX 1.2:K 15

Websites

Planning for Disaster

Federal Emergency Management Agency
Information about U.S. government response to disasters including disaster declarations, flood mapping, response planning, and emergency preparedness. The primary mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency is to reduce the loss of life and property and protect the Nation from all hazards, including natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other man-made disasters.
data.gov
Portal for U.S. government datasets related to disasters.
Disaster Information Management Research Center
Health information related a wide variety of types of disasters.
Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters
Data from the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters on human impacts, economic damage, and international aid.

Collective State and Local Emergency Organizations

International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)
IAEM is an association of local (city and county) emergency management officials. Explore information on IAEM activities and membership.Includes issues of the newsletter as well as a bulletin board and discussion lists.
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA)
NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. Their online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees.
Homeland Security & Public Safety Division (HSPS) - National Governors Association
Homeland Security & Public Safety (HSPS) provides governors and their staff with analysis and information about best practices, tailored technical assistance and insights into emerging policy trends across homeland security and public safety. The division provides detailed analysis and technical assistance to governors on all matters related to criminal justice, cybersecurity, emergency management, homeland security and public safety.

Sources for Disaster Information

Preparedness, Response and Recovery Publications - Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Publications supporting our preparedness, response and recovery priority and mission. The publications listed on this page may include reports, plans, strategies, federal register notices or newsletters.
DisasterAssistance.gov
The Disaster Assistance Improvement Program’s (DAIP) mission is to provide disaster survivors with information, support, services, and a means to access and apply for disaster assistance through joint data-sharing efforts between federal, tribal, state, local, and private sector partners.
Ready emergency preparedness publications - FEMA
You can order printed copies of Ready emergency preparedness publications by downloading the "Ready Materials Order Form" (PDF) as well as materials related to individual and community preparedness by downloading the Individual and Community "Preparedness Publication Order Form" (PDF). Also includes electronic brochures/pamphlets.
Emergency Preparedness and Response - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Emergency Preparedness and Response website.

Online Resources

All-hazards preparedness guide.
Publisher/author: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Public Health Preparedness and Response
Publication date: 2013
SuDoc: HE 20.7008:P 91/2
Is your tribe ready? : prepare for emergencies in tribal nations.
Publisher/author: Federal Emergency Management Agency
Publication date: 2011
SuDoc: HS 5.102:T 73/9
Ready--set--prepare! : a disaster preparedness activity book for ages 8-11.
Publisher/author: Federal Emergency Management Agency / American Red Cross
Publication date: 2008
SuDoc: HS 5.102:D 63/8/2008

Collaboration: Content sources or organizations you could work with

National Archives and Records Center: Docs Teach
Primary Source materials on disasters.
Library of Congress: Natural Disasters: Nature's Fury
Teacher-created, classroom-tested lesson plans using primary sources from the Library of Congress. This lesson examines accounts by Americans from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries of their life changing experiences with nature.
Emergency Management Agencies
This page contains contact information for emergency management agencies and offices.