Skip to main content

Cataloging Toolbox for U.S. Federal Government Information

Collection Management Information

Under construction 6/19/2019

FDLP.gov, the website of the Federal Depository Library Program

News is delivered under News & Events on the homepage. Users can also subscribe to receive official email notifications related to the FDLP. This is an important source of information about new and changing collections. It replaces the newsletter FDLP Connection which ceased in 2018.

FDLP Requirements & Guidance, Collections & Databases contains information on products and services that are uniquely available to depository libraries. Look for updates in 2019 to the FDLP basic collections and essential titles.

FDLP Academy provides educational resources including conference reports, webinars and webcasts on a wide variety of government information topics for the depository community and the public. It's an excellent source for information about changing collections, databases, and services.

New Depository Coordinators [Tutorials]

An overview of the basics of being a depository coordinator, a list of resources with descriptions of what they are and how they can be used, and more.

Twenty-one Things To Do When Assuming Responsibility for A Federal Depository Library

Now maintained by Bobby Griffith, Melody Kelly originally prepared this list for students taking SLIS 5660, Government Information and Access Service, at the University of North Texas School of Library and Information Sciences (Denton, TX).

LSCM Performance Metrics

Along with monthly reports, the FDLP publishes Cumulative Metrics (FY 2005 - Present) and a LSCM Year in Review. Useful for those interested in monitoring the number of titles and online resources being added to the FDLP.

Federal Depository Library PURL Referrals

For many years, GPO has assisted libraries in their measurement of PURL usage by compiling statistics. In 2010, GPO announced an FDLP PURL Referral Tool (log in using internal FDLP password). Linking to Federal Resources Using Persistent Uniform Resource Locators offers background information and links to a file repository of published data.

GODORT Exchange

Compiled by the GODORT Education Committee, this site includes subject specific handouts and materials, such as collection development policies authored and used in a variety of libraries.

Documents Data Miner 2 (DDM2)

Documents Data Miner 2 is a partnership of Wichita State University, the National Institute for Aviation Research, and the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). Designed to support management of federal depository library collections, DDM2 combines files from the latest version of the List of Classes of United States Government Publications Available for Selection by Depository Libraries, the Inactive and Discontinued List, the Item Lister's Current Item Number Selection Profiles for Depository Libraries, and the Federal Depositories Library Directory.

FDLP Desktop

Many useful FDLP titles are linked from this suite of publications and tools. Those attempting to locate missing documents, or to build a collection retrospectively should not overlook the national Needs and Offers List, listed under "Manage Your Collection."

GovSpeak : A Guide to Government Acronyms & Abbreviations

Lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government, compiled by Kelly Smith. AALL/GODORT Government Documents Tutorial "The purpose of this application is to help library workers understand and implement basic procedures for processing U.S. federal publications and information resources."