Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging Toolbox for U.S. Federal Government Information

Continuing Education Institutions and Resources

Government Agencies Cataloging Resources

Federal Depository Library Program, FDLP.gov

In addition to tutorials, guides, handbooks and standards such as these, the FDLP Academy and FDLP LibGuides share GPO, FDLP, federal agency, and community continuing education on a variety of topics. FDLP is committed to providing additional continuing education on cataloging topics in 2019.

  • The Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program, Section III, Bibliographic Control (page 5) enumerates the actions to be taken to ensure timely access to Federal Depository Library Program resources. Additional guidance is presented in the FDLP Guidance article on Bibliographic Control: "Bibliographic control for items in a depository collection has the greatest impact for users as it increases the exposure to and accessibility of primary resources on a wide variety of topics for information and research purposes. This article will address issues related to bibliographic control and cataloging, classification, piece level-inventory for items in your depository collection and where you can find cataloging records and bibliographic services to assist in the cataloging of items in your collection."
  • Related guidance is given in the articles on Processing Depository Shipments and Access to Collections.
  • GPO’s Cataloging Guidelines are used by staff to create bibliographic and authority records for U.S. Government information but are also intended for use by staff in Federal depository libraries and library staff in other institutions who handle, process, or use these resources.
  • The FDLP Cataloging & Indexing page contains supplementary articles on cataloging and processing policies and procedures
  • For details about the Superintendent of Documents Classification System, check out the resources at Introduction to the Classification Guidelines.

‚ÄčCatalogers Learning Workshop (CLW) provides information professionals training resources related to the organization and classification of bibliographic information. It is also the Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC)'s training portal on a variety of formats for all members of the library community.

Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC) 

PCC is a cooperative cataloging venture. Its members contribute bibliographic records and related data under a common set of standards and conventions. Individual programs and the general website link to cataloging standards, guides, and presentations for the PCC community and all members of the library community. The four PCC Programs are:

  • BIBCO Monographic records
  • CONSER Continuing resource records
  • NACO Name authority records
  • SACO Subject authority records

 

Cataloging Standards Resources

RDA Steering Committee

The RDA Steering Committee (RSC) is responsible for maintaining RDA: Resource Description and Access (RDA). RDA is a package of data elements, guidelines, and instructions for creating library and cultural heritage resource metadata that are well-formed according to international models for user-focused linked data applications. Subscription information and additional webinars are available via the RDA Toolkit Site

  • RDA Toolkit YouTube channel posts videos of some presentations by the RSC beginning in 2016.

 

American Library Association Resources

ALCTS Professional Resources / Core Professional Resources

ALCTSthe Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, is now a part of Core, a division of the American Library Association. Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures is the national association that advances the profession of librarians and information providers in central roles of leadership and management, metadata and collections, and technology. The site provides resources on continuing education opportunities, professional standards, research publications, news of the field, and more. Continuing education for cataloging and classification and other online presentations are available to members via Core's Free Recordings page. The ALCTS Webinar Archive has a variety of recordings up to 2020, as does the ALCTS continuing education YouTube Channel. 

The Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) Education Committee links to processing, cataloging, and collection management guides.

 

Map Cataloging Resources

Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT)

MAGIRT leads and inspires information professionals at all levels of expertise in their work with map and geospatial information resources, collections and technologies in all formats, through community, education and advocacy.

Map Librarians' Toolbox, by the Western Association of Map Libraries

Map Catalogers' Tool Box - an extensive list of resources used in map cataloging created and maintained by a librarian at the University of Buffalo.

NGA Geographic Names Server (GNS)

 

General Cataloging Guidelines by Individual Libraries

 

Cataloguing Cheat Sheets, written by J. McRee Elrod of Special Libraries Cataloging, Victoria, BC, Canada, these address many topics, including government documents. These links still work, but it appears the latest updates were in 2015. The Government Documents sheet was last updated on 20 July 2011.

Cataloging at Yale, Yale University

The clear and thorough procedural documentation found at this site (e.g., Authority Control Workflow for Yale Catalog Librarians) serves as a model for other cataloging departments.

Harvard Library Technical Services provides guidance for general cataloging and cataloging of special collections

Online Resources for Catalogers, University Libraries, University of Georgia lists cataloging standards resources and reference resources for cataloging.