LibGuides: Weird and Wonderful Government Publications: Reference

Government Organization

Agriculture & Food Sources

Agricultural Statistics, USDA Site: "This annual publication includes data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns and is intended as a reference for common use. Foreign agricultural trade statistics of government and non-government shipments from the U.S. to foreign countries are also included in the report. Estimates made for crops, livestock, and poultry are based on a number of sample surveys. The report is divided by sector (e.g. oilseeds, fats and oils, vegetables and melons, dairy and poultry, etc). Farm expenditures and income, insurance, fertilizer and pesticide, consumption, and conservation and forestry statistics are also included in the report."

Business, Finance & Economy

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
USASpending.gov Tracks how federal money is spent in communities across America. U.S. government’s official open data source of federal spending information.
Economic Census "The Economic Census profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. The report will present national statistics for every sector and subsector of the economy.".

Government Finances & Contracts

USASpending.gov Tracks how federal money is spent in communities across America. U.S. government’s official open data source of federal spending information.

Jobs & Unemployment

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Charts and Applications
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject
Demographic Data Sources U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Site: "This interactive table helps you choose the right data source for your needs among the BLS programs that provide information on sex, age, race, and other demographic characteristics of people in the United States."

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Statistical Abstracts of the United States The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published 1878-2011, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Agricultural Statistics, USDA Site: "This annual publication includes data on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns and is intended as a reference for common use. Foreign agricultural trade statistics of government and non-government shipments from the U.S. to foreign countries are also included in the report. Estimates made for crops, livestock, and poultry are based on a number of sample surveys. The report is divided by sector (e.g. oilseeds, fats and oils, vegetables and melons, dairy and poultry, etc). Farm expenditures and income, insurance, fertilizer and pesticide, consumption, and conservation and forestry statistics are also included in the report."
Explore Census Data This is a data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau’s largest data sets.
Health, United States The Health, United States website provides timely digital content in addition to an annual report. Materials will be published online periodically throughout the year, aligning releases with data availability from more than 40 data sources. Use the data finder tool to search indexed trend tables. These trend tables provide data supporting analyses in topic pages, including key findings, featured charts, and trend analyses on a given health topic. The topic pages also contain links to detailed methodology available on a new Sources and Definitions page.

People & Culture

Handbook of Latin American Studies Library of Congress (LOC): "Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America" "Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more."
more...less...
LOC: "This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources."
Handbook of North American Indians Encyclopedic summary of prehistory, history, cultures and political and social aspects of native peoples.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Congress.gov
the official website for U.S. federal legislative information
Congressional Pictorial Directory
SuDoc Y 4.P 93/1:1 P/
United States Statutes at Large The United States Statutes at Large is the collection of every law, public and private, ever enacted by the Congress, published in order of the date of its passage. These laws are codified every six years in the United States Code, but the Statutes at Large remains the official source of legislation. Until 1948, all treaties and international agreements approved by the Senate were also published in the set. In addition, the Statutes at Large includes the text of the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, the Constitution, amendments to the Constitution, treaties with Indians and foreign nations, and presidential proclamations.
United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.
United States Reports : cases adjudged in the Supreme Court The opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States are published officially in the United States Reports.
more...less...
In addition to the Court’s opinions, a volume of the U. S. Reports usually contains a roster of Justices and officers of the Court during the Term; an allotment of Justices by circuit; announcements of Justices’ investitures and retirements; memorial proceedings for deceased Justices; a cumulative table of cases reported; orders in cases decided in summary fashion; reprints of amendments to the Supreme Court’s Rules and the various sets of Federal Rules of Procedure; a topical index; and a statistical table summarizing case activity for the past three Court Terms.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Health, United States The Health, United States website provides timely digital content in addition to an annual report. Materials will be published online periodically throughout the year, aligning releases with data availability from more than 40 data sources. Use the data finder tool to search indexed trend tables. These trend tables provide data supporting analyses in topic pages, including key findings, featured charts, and trend analyses on a given health topic. The topic pages also contain links to detailed methodology available on a new Sources and Definitions page.

Weird and Wonderful Government Publications: Reference

Ready Reference

Ready Reference Resources from government agencies that are now online.

Government Organization

Agriculture & Food Sources

Business, Finance & Economy

Government Finances & Contracts

Jobs & Unemployment

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

People & Culture

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Health, Medicine & Safety