Weird and Wonderful Government Publications: Blog

End of Term Web Archive

End of Term (EOT) Web Archive https://eotarchive.org/

While not a government publication per se, it archives U.S. Federal websites as they stood at the end of a presidential administration.

Site: "The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, and 2024. We have closed the EOT seed nomination form for the 2024 harvest."

The End of Term project works with partners and volunteer contributions.

The page gives directions for accessing the archive. Here are a few examples from the EOT home page- see the site for screenshots and more options!

Viewing the EOT Collections on the Wayback Machine

Content archived as part of the EOT project is being made available by the Internet Archive in their Wayback Machine. To search for and view historical snapshots of government websites:

1. Go to web.archive.org.
2. Scroll to the “Collection Search” area and select your desired End of Term (EOT) collection, such as: “End Of Term (US Gov 2024)” from the dropdown.
3. Type in keywords (for example, a federal agency’s name) or a URL.
4. Hit “SEARCH” and visit the resulting archived web pages.

Viewing the EOT Collections on Webrecorder’s GovArchive.us

GovArchive.us contains archived U.S. government websites crawled with Browsertrix and ArchiveWeb.page as part of the EOT initiative, with a focus on complex and interactive websites. Webrecorder has made the sites available as standalone mirrors hosted on subdomains, to replicate the original site and URL structure as closely as possible. You can read more on Webrecorder’s blog and downloads are available on the Browsertrix Public Gallery.

To view the archived websites:

1. Go to GovArchive.us.
2. Click an image to explore the archived version as a standalone mirror.
3. In each mirror site, the top green banner on top shows the date/time it was archived.
4. To download an archive as a WACZ file, click View on Browsertrix to open the website snapshot, click the right-side menu and select Download Archive.

U.S. Government Web & Data Archive 2025 https://digital2.library.unt.edu/nomination/GWDA-US-2025/

Site: "This collaborative project is an extension of past End of Term projects, intended to document the federal government's web presence by archiving government websites and data. As part of this preservation effort, URLs supplied from partner institutions, as well as nominated by the public, will be crawled regularly to provide an on-going view of federal agencies' web and social media presence."