History Day - Government Information Resources

Understanding how newspaper databases work is helpful when formulating search strategies.

• Optical Character Recognition (OCR) - Most of the time, the image of a newspaper page is scanned by a computer using OCR and the underlying page text is generated by a computer.
  • If there is a smudge or the print isn't clear, then the computer can't generate accurate text.
  • The database usually searches the full text generated by OCR. This means the search will read the inaccurate OCR generated text.
• Language - The database's search is usually searching the full text of the page (from the text created by OCR). There are rarely related subject terms, or metadata, included in the database to help standardize language and search terms.
  • Use the language of the time - and work with students for trigger warnings.
  • Use euphemisms of the time.
  • Try several different terms and synonyms - as that may reveal different perspectives and because language evolves over time.
• Coverage - Coverage includes dates and areas.
  • Check the dates of coverage when selecting a database
    • In most searches you can limit the date range of a search.
  • Newspapers did not always come out once a day.
    • Some were weekly
    • Some had morning and evening editions
    • Some had different local editions
  • It could take time for a story to appear in a paper - search 3-10 days past the date of an event
  • Most newspapers focused on news of local, state, and nation-wide interest.
    • And yet, a local news story could be picked up by other papers across the country.
      • Start with newspapers for the area. If little is found, then search a broader geographic area.
      • Be aware that the same story could be picked up by several newspapers - they may use all, or part, of the story and may, or may not, change the headline.

These are a few examples of newspaper resources from government agencies.

Library of Congress

Chronicling America

Other Institutions

Your school or local public library may have additional subscription databases available. Check with them and ask how students can access the resources.