History Day - Government Information Resources

The mission of the KSHS is to preserve and share Kansas history. Includes classroom materials, lesson plans, sources for student research, and more.

From the website, "Our encyclopedia of Kansas history offers stories of people, places, and a wide range of topics from our state’s past. Most of the articles are written by the Kansas Historical Society; but we invite your submissions to add to these narratives. Browse by people, place, or theme, or several sub-categories."

The database currently contains over 28,000 names of Union veterans of the Civil War who lived in Kansas after 1865. The names are from rosters or reunion proceedings at the Kansas State Historical Society Library. Searchable by name, county of residence and/or state from which served.

The Kansas State Historical Society's historical collections shared via the Internet include letters, diaries, photographs, government records from the State Archives, maps, museum artifacts, and historic structures in Kansas. These may be searched by keyword, title or author; a subject breakdown is also provided.

KGI is "a permanent online archive of state publications issued by Kansas state agencies, commissions and institutions."

Database of the state's historically significant properties. Properties listed in the National Register are automatically listed, but not all properties in the State Register are included in the National. The same criteria are used but the state register allows more flexibility. The database may be searched by property/district name, city, county, architect and/or category.

ATLAS is the catalog of the Kansas Historical Society and is shared with other Topeka libraries.