History Day - Government Information Resources

A searchable and browse-able collection that includes state documents that were received in digital format ("born digital") or have been digitized by the library. Documents are arranged in collections by agency name unless otherwise noted. Additional collections include digitized WWI photographs, real estate atlases, photographs of 19th century legislators, and monographs.

Database of historical articles searchable by keyword, region, and topics including agriculture, immigration, maritime history and recreation.

328 digitized volumes of documents from the Massachusetts Archives, ranging from international affairs to local concerns. A range of documents covers the early statehood period, religious affairs, tax records, judicial actions, legislative activities, and relations with London, other British colonies, the French colonial government, and Indian Nations, and many other things. See the volume descriptions for more information. Volumes are searchable via FamilySearch.org.

MACRIS allows users to search the Massachusetts Historical Commission database for information on historic properties and areas in the Commonwealth. It does not include all properties or reflect all of the information on file at the MHC.

The Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System Maps (MACRIS Maps) tool helps users search the MACRIS database and locate information on historic properties and cultural resources in Mass. Search by ID, municipality, or specific address. Users can also use various inventory and overlay layers when viewing the map.

Birth, death, and marriage records for all of Massachusetts from 1841-1930. Search by first or last name and/or town. Note: searching alternate spellings, e.g., Smith and Smythe recommended.

Record of immigrants who arrived by ship in Boston, MA from 1848-1891. Search by first or last name, name of ship, or date.

Maintained by the MA Board of Library Commissioners, this database is searchable by Region, Municipality, Organization, Library Name, Library Type, Branch Name, Department Name, Individual First Name, Individual Last Name, and Individual Job Function.

The State Library has an extensive collection of materials dealing with the history of Massachusetts and its cities and towns. Resources include papers and photographs of political figures, historical newspapers, maps, and other historical documents dating back to the 1800s.

Lists of searchable digitized historical records that have been made available through the Massachusetts Archives. Collections include vital records, military records, legislative and court records, and more.

Land records, including deeds, declarations of homestead, and liens across the Commonwealth.