History Day - Government Information Resources

Includes links to a list of Governors of New Jersey, 1776-Present, the Underground Railroad, Documentary Treasures, and more.

Indexes record series, including print records and reels of microfilm held by the State Archives.

Site: "The searchable databases listed below provide access to over 2,350,000 database entries, indexing over 1,500,000 documents and photographs housed at the New Jersey State Archives. Database development is currently focused on 1848-1878 death records, early land records, and the records of the Supreme Court. Archives staff add and edit database entries daily. Please be sure to re-check this site often for new content."

"References many of New Jersey's earliest extant deeds and surveys found in over 120 record books. Both proprietary filings and transactions recorded by the Provincial Secretaries of the colony and the Secretary of State are indexed. Dates range from 1650 through 1996, but the vast majority of records date between 1675 and 1900."

"The index may be searched by any combination of first and/or last name, and limited by county and/or claims made for damage committed by the British or by the Americans."

"Provides access to 82,467 name entries in an electronic version of Adjutant General William S. Stryker's two-volume Record of Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865."

"Includes 15,770 payment receipts for military expenditures and wartime purchases made by the State of New Jersey from 1861 through 1866. It includes soldiers' discharge certificates for final pay, affidavits of family members for pay due to deceased soldiers, and quarterly returns of the counties and cities listing the names of soldiers’ families and dependant mothers who received subsistence pay during their service." Select the relevant database to begin.

Searchable database of more than 1,000 photographs collected by the New Jersey National Guard and ranging in date from the mid-19th century through the 1980s, with the majority taken before 1945.

"Includes electronic New Jersey State government publications along with digital books, photographs and postcards about New Jersey but not published by state government (Jerseyana). This database is designed to address the long-term preservation and access requirements of electronic government publications and other digital material."

"Indexes and displays nearly 4,000 images produced or collected by the Writer’s Project/Program for use as illustrations in their publications. They include original photography depicting New Jersey sites, people and activities in the 1930s-40s as well as copy work. Subjects include historic buildings, local industry (e.g., factory workers in Paterson; shipbuilding in Camden), recreation, famous New Jerseyans, etc. Some localities are more extensively documented than others depending upon the stories and articles published."

Indexes more than 7,000 photographs, and displays more than 2,000, showing all aspects of farming, including events and celebrations, organizations, people, corporations, and more. These Department of Agriculture public information photographs range in date from the 1930s to the 1970s with a few items from as early as the 1880s.

Searchable database of "New Jersey men were killed in action or otherwise died while in United States service during World War I, 1917-1918."

According to the site: "Indexes death records recorded by the New Jersey Department of Health. Records include death certificates, as well as some burial, reburial, transit, and disinterment permits." Select the relevant database to begin.

Search historic newspapers from New Jersey, made available through a collaboration between the Rutgers University Libraries, the New Jersey State Archives, and the New Jersey State Library. Search them alongside other American historic newspapers or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about newspapers published from 1690 to the present.

"An index of all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey."

New Jersey State Library Digital Collections includes electronic New Jersey State government publications along with digital books, photographs and postcards about New Jersey but not published by state government (Jerseyana).