History Day - Government Information Resources

This collection contains information about the service of individual Virginian sailors, though it is not comprehensive. Searchable by keyword (including name), branch of service, and ship name.

From the website, "This collection is comprised of survey records containing information about graves in Blandford Cemetery, located in Petersburg, Virginia. The survey was undertaken by the Historic Blandford Cemetery Foundation from 1987 to 1992 in support of the cemetery's nomination to the National Register of Historic Places." Database may be searched by first name, last name, year of birth, year of death. The survey database is not a complete record of all people buried in the Cemetery and stops at 1992.

The primary purpose of the Virginia Military Dead Database is to honor those Virginians that have given their lives in defense of freedom. It pulls together information from a wide variety of sources and makes that information more accessible. For more information consult the Introduction to the Virginia Military Dead Database and the Source Guides.

Index covers the Will Books and Order Books of 53 VA cities and counties generally to 1800; a few extend beyond that. Full text is not available online. Basic and advanced search are available.

This collection contains information about the service of individual Virginian sailors, though it is not comprehensive. Searchable by keyword (including name), branch of service, and ship name.

From the "about us" page, "Encyclopedia Virginia (EV) is an authoritative and user-friendly resource on the history and culture of Virginia. A project of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities (VFH) in partnership with the Library of Virginia, EV publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars, edited to be accessible to a general audience, and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips, and links to Google Street View tours of historic sites. Content creation is a work in progress, with new entries published regularly."

Search the library's print and selected digital collections.

primary source material from Virginia and West Virginia