History Day - Government Information Resources

Need help with your Florida projects and assignments? Use the links provided to learn about Florida's people from 12,000 years ago to the present, people of all cultures who have made our state their home, and other Florida facts. You can also find out Florida's state symbols like the state bird or the state song.

Designed to help teachers and students use photographs, documents, sound recordings and film footage from the State Library and Archives of Florida to explore history.

From the website, "Featuring over 135,000 digitized photographs from the State Archives of Florida, the Florida Photographic Collection is the most complete online portrait of Florida available--one that draws its strength from family pictures, the homes of Floridians, their work, and their pastimes."

From the FL Dept. of State, Div. of Historical Resources.

Search the Folklife Database "for descriptions of photographs and audio recordings from the Florida Folklife Collection available at the State Archives of Florida. Approximately 46,000 photographic images and approximately 5,000 audio recordings are cataloged."

From the website, "contains correspondence, writings, and other papers of Richard Keith Call and his family, 1788-1916, and Theodore Washington Brevard and Mary Call Brevard and their family, 1820-ca. 1920s."

From the website, "include both veterans' and widows' applications interfiled, although approved and denied claims are filed separately. The veteran's application generally includes his full name, date and place of birth, unit of service, date and place of enlistment, date and place of discharge, brief description of service and/or wounds, proof of service, place and length of residence in Florida, as well as other miscellaneous documentation. The widow's application is filed with that of her husband and includes her full name, date and place of marriage, date and place of her husband's death, her place and length of residence in Florida, and proof of her husband's service. Some early applications also include the widows' date and place of birth. Confederate pensions were awarded to residents of Florida regardless of the state in which their service was rendered."

From the website: "Floripedia is a collection of articles about Florida and Florida history. Most of the articles were written a long time ago. The original source is given at the end of each article. Be sure to notice the date when the article was written. Also keep in mind that the articles were written for a variety of purposes. For example, an article that was originally written to promote a Florida town will most likely emphasize all of the good features of the town and skip over any problems."

From the website, "a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community and general citizenry of Florida." The collections include: Aerial Photography, Eric Eustace Williams Collection, Everglades Digital Library, Florida Environments Online, Florida Geological Survey Publications, Florida Heritage Collection, Florida Historical Legal Documents, Florida Historical Quarterly, Floridiana on the Web, Linking Florida's Natural Heritage, Literature for Children, Miami Metropolitan Archive, Milemarkers: Linking Keys History, Psychological Study of the Arts, Reclaiming the Everglades, Ringling Collection, Sanborn Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida, Southwest Florida Environmental Documents, Type Specimens in the University of Florida Herbarium, United States Virgin Islands History and Culture, West Florida Photo History, Wolfsonian-FIU Modern Dutch Collection, World Map Collections, and Yiddish Children's Books.