History Day - Government Information Resources

Alabama NHD Affiliate

"Search our database of Alabama history primary sources, curated lesson plans, and activities for your K-12 classroom."

From the website, "The Encyclopedia of Alabama is a free, online reference resource on Alabama’s history, culture, geography, and natural environment."

AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials from 1850-2000 on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Search by keyword or browse by county or date.

This collection contains a sampling of maps from the extensive holdings at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. The maps span 300 years, documenting not only Alabama's geographic past, but also that of the region, nation, and continent.

Search by keyword or browse by county.

Links to teacher resources and kids' page.

Browse or search through over 30 digital collections. Contains photographs, documents, audio, and video material drawn from the vast holdings of the Alabama Deptment of Archives and History.

This database, maintained by the Alabama Department of Archives and History, includes bibliographic records for publications created by Alabama state government entities, such as annual reports, periodicals, leaflets, and strategic plans.

The University of South Alabama State Document Collection is a current collection of links to Alabama Government Documents.