Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging Toolbox for State & Local Government Information

About this Toolbox

This Toolbox lists resources for cataloging, classification and processing of state and local government information. These tools are particularly helpful in understanding materials distributed through individual state documents depository programs. Most tools are freely available online.

This guide focuses on state agencies responsible for cataloging and classifying state documents and for providing metadata for state government digital collections. Resources include state documents depository programs, state libraries, and state library catalogs. Bibliographies or checklists of state and local government documents and other manuals and guides are included as they are available. Other state depository libraries and their resources are listed if they are recommended for inclusion. Some libraries may be listed if they have a strong collection of state and/or local government documents.

GODORT State Agency Databases

The GODORT State Agency Databases LibGuide provides an annotated list of state government agency resources which includes some libraries, catalogs, directories and digital collections. These are excellent resources for cataloging and authority work!