LibGuides: Cataloging Toolbox for State & Local Government Information: Wisconsin

Wisconsin Document Depository Program

Wisconsin has had a depository system for state documents since 1901. The Wisconsin Document Depository Program is the official depository system for Wisconsin state documents and is managed by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Division for Libraries and Technology. Documents are deposited with 37 depository libraries and in the Wisconsin Digital Archives.

Contact the Wisconsin Document Depository Program:

Email: statedocuments@dpi.wi.gov; telephone 608-224-6174

Wisconsin Document Depository Program
Wisconsin Digital Archives
Contains documents from the executive and judicial branches from 2001-present
Wisconsin Legislative Reference Bureau Digital Collections
A digital collection of publications and reports by the legislature and the legislative service agencies. It also includes a collection of reports by state agencies mandated by the Wisconsin Statutes. The collections are searchable by statute, agency, subject, date and more.

Wisconsin Cataloging Resources

Wisconsin Historical Society Library
The Wisconsin Historical Society Library has primary responsibility for cataloging state documents. Catalog records for state documents from 1978-present are available in WorldCat.
University of Wisconsin-Madison library catalog
The Wisconsin Historical Society’s Library and Archives collection is found in the University of Wisconsin-Madison library catalog.
Guide to Wisconsin State Agencies and Their Call Numbers
Documents are classified according to the Wisconsin State Document Classification (WIDocs). The Guide to Wisconsin State Agencies and Their Call Numbers is used to classify state publications.

Wisconsin State Government Publications Librarian: Eileen Snyder
Wisconsin Historical Society Library
http://www.wisconsinhistory.org/feedback/1501
608-264-6527

GODORT State Agency Databases: Wisconsin Guide

The GODORT State Agency Databases Wisconsin Guide provides an annotated list of state government agency resources which includes libraries, catalogs, directories and digital collections. These are excellent resources for cataloging and authority work.