LibGuides: Cataloging Toolbox for State & Local Government Information: Kansas

Kansas State Government Documents Depository Program

The Kansas State Library and the Kansas Historical Society are the main depositories for Kansas state publications. Other libraries are designated by statute to receive specific publications.

Contact the State Library of Kansas: slk@ks.gov or 785-296-3296

Kansas Historical Society
The Kansas Historical Society has the most comprehensive collection of Kansas state publications.
ATLAS Catalog
ATLAS is the catalog of the Kansas Historical Society and is shared with other Topeka libraries.

Contact the Kansas Historical Society: kshs.information@ks.gov or 785-272-8681

Kansas Cataloging Resources

Kansapedia (Kansas History Society)
From the website, "Our encyclopedia of Kansas history offers stories of people, places, and a wide range of topics from our state’s past. Most of the articles are written by the Kansas Historical Society; but we invite your submissions to add to these narratives. Browse by people, place, or theme, or several sub-categories."
Kansas Government Documents Classification List
"This list is an arrangement of Kansas state government publications using the classification system originally developed by the State Library of Kansas and Emporia State University WAW Library staff."
Cataloging for Rookies (Kansas)
Handbook for basic cataloging of Kansas state publications.

Kansas Electronic Documents

Kansas Government Information (KGI) Online Library
KGI is "a permanent online archive of state publications issued by Kansas state agencies, commissions and institutions."

GODORT State Agency Databases: Kansas Guide

The GODORT State Agency Databases Kansas Guide provides an annotated list of state government agency resources which includes libraries, catalogs, directories and digital collections. These are excellent resources for cataloging and authority work.